Old 22nd April 2014, 14:45   #31

re: Autobiography of a Mahindra XUV500 - Satin White

Hi Dhanush,

You have put the Soul in the Cheetah and It could not have thanked its almighty more.
Now, Thank You Cheetah for your lovely story.

Do keep your ears alert for noise during braking, specially on a long highway drive. We had problem with our W8. But I am sure with time they have been taken care.
Wanderers is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2014, 15:35   #32

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
Many congratulations Dhanush for the XUV.
Fantastic way to bring out your ownership log and thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Wish you many happy mile with the XUV and an absolutely niggle free performance.
Drive safe.
Thanks a lot sommos.
I do hope to go forth many miles niggle free.
Mr D takes good care of me towards that.

Originally Posted by Wanderers View Post
Hi Dhanush,

You have put the Soul in the Cheetah and It could not have thanked its almighty more.
Now, Thank You Cheetah for your lovely story.

Do keep your ears alert for noise during braking, specially on a long highway drive. We had problem with our W8. But I am sure with time they have been taken care.
Thanks Wanderers for the tip.
Mr D keeps his eyes and ears peeled out for niggles I should say.
The noise from suspension and braking have been addressed with the latest lot AFAIK.
Thanks for the heads up.
Old 22nd April 2014, 17:00   #33

Originally Posted by dhanushmenon View Post
For the Py registration, it isn't as simple Sree_hari82 and mistakenguy.
As per MVD and govt rules, any citizen of India can buy a car from anywhere in the country.
However, the catch is that you have to re- register the vehicle to the state in which you are driving it within a period of one year.
My owner and I are getting relocated to Goa within a couple of months and Mr D intend changing the registration to 'GA' once he reaches there.
Yes, it is a pain to register and re-register the vehicles each and every time you get transferred.
Does this rule apply for the armed force personnel also. I had a close relative in the Army Medical Corps and I've never seen him change his car registration. I always thought that since the army personnel are transferred frequently, this rule does not apply to them.
Sommos is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 22nd April 2014, 18:04   #34

That's one super ownership report Dhanush. Loved the narration and style of approach. A well deserved 5 star rating. Please do keep the thread updated.
naveen.raju is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 10:05   #35

Re: Autobiography of a Mahindra XUV500 - Satin White

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 29th April 2014, 10:09   #36

Originally Posted by Sommos View Post
Does this rule apply for the armed force personnel also. I had a close relative in the Army Medical Corps and I've never seen him change his car registration. I always thought that since the army personnel are transferred frequently, this rule does not apply to them.
Yes. This rule applies to Armed forces personnel too.
Only that the police people are considerate towards Armed Forces people bacuse they also know that they get transferred every two or three years and it is very unfair to change the registration in each and every new state.

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
That's one super ownership report Dhanush. Loved the narration and style of approach. A well deserved 5 star rating. Please do keep the thread updated.
Thanks Naveen.
Old 29th April 2014, 10:29   #37

Yes. This rule applies to Armed forces personnel too.
Only that the police people are considerate towards Armed Forces people bacuse they also know that they get transferred every two or three years and it is very unfair to change the registration in each and every new state.
I would like to differ on this. Being armed forces personnel there is no requirement to register and re-register the vehicle. Will update with relevant authority. But this is confirmed.
TaureanBull is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 11:10   #38

Originally Posted by TaureanBull View Post
I would like to differ on this. Being armed forces personnel there is no requirement to register and re-register the vehicle. Will update with relevant authority. But this is confirmed.

Even I also thought that the armed forces personnel are exempted.
But when I checked with an advocate and local police, I was told otherwise.

Kindly post the relevant authority so that I can add that print out to my documents in the car.
I would love not to be harassed by the police walas asking for explanation every now and then.

Recently, I've heard that personnel in Bangalore and Port Blair too are getting pestered for the same
Old 29th April 2014, 12:20   #39

Congrats Dhanush.
A very different way of writing ownership report. Saw the thread on TBHP FB page and was able to read it half few days back, then suddenly it disappeared. I guess you moved to assembly line. Just finished reading the rest, do keep us posted.
mpksuhas is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 12:47   #40

Even I also thought that the armed forces personnel are exempted.
But when I checked with an advocate and local police, I was told otherwise.

Kindly post the relevant authority so that I can add that print out to my documents in the car.
I would love not to be harassed by the police walas asking for explanation every now and then.

Recently, I've heard that personnel in Bangalore and Port Blair too are getting pestered for the same
Dhanush here is a circular for the state of AP.
I hope there is different circulars for different States.

EXEMPTION OF LIFE TAX IN RESPECT OF VEHICLES OWNED BY DEFENCE PERSONNEL

Payment of Tax to Andhra Pradesh state in respect of vehicles owned by Indian Defence Personnel of other States migrated to Andhra Pradesh state.

TRANSPORT, ROADS AND BUILDINGS (Tr.II)

G.O.Ms.No.224 Dated:10.11.1993

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section(1) of Section 9 of the Andhra Pradesh Motor Vehicles Taxation Act, 1963 (act 5 of 1963), the Governor of Andhra Pradesh orders that in respect of Motor Cars and Motor Cycles owned by serving Defence Personnel and used for their own private use only and registered in other states and being brought on the rolls of Andhra Pradesh State on transfer of the personnel.

1.No tax be paid in cases where life tax has already been paid in other states.
2.Tax shall be levied annually, in cases where no life tax was paid in other States, after the expiry of the validity of the tax already paid in other States
Sommos is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 14:13   #41

Amazing write up Dhanush!!! I was actually visualising a car talking while reading your article. The XUV 5oo is definitely a good choice!
Wish you a happy and safe time with the XUV 5oo.
Old 29th April 2014, 14:34   #42

A good refreshing review of the XUV500. Very nicely written, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. Congrats on your new car! This review of an XUV came up after a long time; I don't remember reading many XUV ownership reports for a long time. PY registration means which state/territory? Drive safe!
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 15:20   #43

A lovely review
right from the Horse's mouth (140 of them) i say
InControl is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 15:32   #44

Very well narrated autobiography "5-WOW-WOW". Also congratulations on finding yourself an enthusiast boss and munching miles with him.

I think very soon, I need to make sure your sibling finds me and get a royal treatment and treat me the same way, when he joins me

PS: Awesome narration Dhanush. Kudos to your writing skills buddy.

Originally Posted by W.A.G.7 View Post
PY registration means which state/territory?
PY registration is for PONDICHERRY
fusionbang is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th April 2014, 15:34   #45

Congratulations. Nice narration. Will sure make many prospective W6 buyers to change their mind and spend additional 2 Lakhs and go for W8. All the best and wish many miles with XUV FIVE O.. O..
Seran Manian is offline   (1) Thanks