Old 8th October 2014, 15:32   #46

Re: Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?

It amazes me to see the number of posts across sites complaining about the poor service. Fortunately, I have owned a Fabia and a Laura DSG L&K and loved every bit of the experience, including the service. Maybe I was lucky. Except for one instance of the air con throwing hot air and another of one ABS signal failure, I had zero problems with the L&K which I proudly owned for more than 45 months.
Khushrav is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th October 2014, 22:28   #47

This was my colour of choice when I was declined a Race Blue. Later I was left with no choice but Silver or Black, so I went with Black
This shade looks so cool! the perfect blend of sport and luxury, wish we could still have the freedom to get decent window tints, hide those beige interiors !
First, mandatory, compulsive question I ask all Octavians, "ORVM avaaz karta hai kya??" Gosh hope they fixed it after almost a year since launch. I hoped they would start giving the three spoke steering after one year, for cost savings, part sharing with Superb, but no, may be in the facelift.
If I had this colour, I would:
1) paint the rims Gun-metal Grey
2) Wrap the front grill gloss black 3M Scotch Film.
3) Wrap the spoiler and diffuser in Carbon Fibre finish, 3M.
4) 3D mats as soon as available, I have still not got them, apparently there are none in Ahmedabad at least. The guy just tries to keep selling me the ones for the Laura.
5) VRS badges front and back.
6) de-badge "skoda" and "octavia" nomenclature.
7) change all bulbs in the interior to LED. ( I still can't find good ones in Ahmedabad )

Hope you get the flat bottom steering wheel with paddles later! I am still contemplating on that! All the best with the beast, hope you get to drive it more across the week!
adi_petrolhead is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2014, 00:49   #48

Thanks guys.

The vRS wheel would be a great, but I'm not sure about it just yet.

Thankfully, the ORVMs don't make too much noise when being folded. I'll keep an ear out for that.

I like your suggestions. The smoked allows would probably look good and I'd like to consider that at some point. I'd stick with the chrome in the grille. I never thought I'd say that. I'm not big on chrome, but I love it here. It's not over the top. Subtle, yet gives the grill definition. I may want to wrap that little portion between the sunroof and the rear windshield though.

LEDs in the interior are a good idea, I'd definitely consider that.

I'm going to stay away from vRS badges. I would have thought about it on the blue, red or even black. But this colour exudes elegance and may not carry it off. Besides, I'm over the whole 'badge' thing. Off late, I've felt that if isn't a vRS, AMG, M or a S car, it shouldn't be adorning the badges.
suhaas307 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th October 2014, 07:04   #49

Originally Posted by suhaas307 View Post
LEDs in the interior are a good idea, I'd definitely consider that.
Congrats suhaas, enjoy the beast. Wishing you miles and miles of happy motoring.
I changed all interior lights to LED and its really amazing.

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-20140810_194501.jpg
In the above pic, left one is LED and other is normal bulb.

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-20140915-19.09.31.jpg

Last edited by B747 : 9th October 2014 at 07:06.
B747 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2014, 09:02   #50

Suhas, Congrats! That's a nice comprehensive review. Over these years I have come to know that Skoda cars somehow appeal to your heart and the enthusiast in you. If only they improve their gearbox and reputation... Just like your case, an exactly similar case happened with the SVP of our company around a year ago. He too had a Civic, booked an Altis; then did a u turn and got himself a Laura TSi.

Wish you many happy kilometers in your new car!
W.A.G.7 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th October 2014, 16:14   #51

Wonderful!

I have not test driven this car, but this would be the car if I have to change my Cruze now and I could afford the price of the 1.8TSI. The fuel-economy has got to be bad, how can you get that 177BHP otherwise?
deb_majumdar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2014, 06:50   #52

Congratulations Suhaas! Excellent review there.

The Octavia looks so elegant in this shade. With that potent 1.8TSI motor, its like a hooligan in a tuxedo. The only bit that I dislike is the faux wood inserts and beige interiors.
Enjoy the drive (whenever you can)!
vb-saan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2014, 07:12   #53

Congrats Suhaas, an excellent and useful review!
My own 1.8 TSI is getting ready for delivery here in Mumbai, but registration is delayed as the upcoming election has closed our RTO until the 16th Oct. Hope to have it delivered by 20th.
What accessories would you recommend from the available ones? Your experience would be helpful for me to make a decision. I am looking at the 3D floor mats , but am not sure about the grip they will provide;they are not rubber,but woven nylon fabric. And how about the scratch protection kit? Costs Rs.6500/- for a 14 piece kit.Any thoughts?

rgds,
Bala
abgpal is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2014, 14:41   #54

Originally Posted by abgpal View Post
What accessories would you recommend from the available ones? Your experience would be helpful for me to make a decision. I am looking at the 3D floor mats , but am not sure about the grip they will provide;they are not rubber,but woven nylon fabric. And how about the scratch protection kit? Costs Rs.6500/- for a 14 piece kit.Any thoughts?

rgds,
Bala
Front Mud flaps
Door Sill plates
Rear under trunk plate
Skoda rubber mats front and rear
Rear rubber boot mats
Audio Cables USB (or iphone) and Aux
Car Cover if needed

Don't know how well the scratch protection kit will wear in the Bombay Summers, if it becomes dull and yellow, it will look worse than the scratches it will protect against
merve_extreme is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th October 2014, 15:15   #55

My 1.8TSI is finally home.
A few pics that I took today after the first real spin!!
Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp1.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp2.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp3.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp4.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp5.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp6.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp7.jpg  

Our Skoda Octavia 1.8 TSI - Were we 'Simply Clever'?-tbhp8.jpg  

abgpal is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 24th October 2014, 17:33   #56

Wow what color is that ? I don't think i have seen it before this.
Old 24th October 2014, 17:37   #57

Hello nik_kapur,
This is " Metal Grey".
I was told by the dealer ( Senator Motors , Goregaon. ) that mine was the first one delivered in this color!
Old 24th October 2014, 18:31   #58

The 1.8TSI is just a GEM. Went on a spin in my 1.8TSI 6MT today after a month and floored the pedal. And it just goes and goes and goes. And the straight line stability and handling on one finger just amazes me even after 2 and half years of ownership. Whoah, that's what I call a real driver's car...
Old 24th October 2014, 20:45   #59

I agree with dkaile. 1.8 TSi is a gem of an engine. Small yet frugal. It's nearly the perfect petrol engine for Indian roads. Adequate power and acceptable fuel economy.
Reading the comments made me nostalgic about the pull of my Superb DSG(which is currently at Nawab Motors, Noida since past 3 weeks for an accidental claim and clutch pack replacement under warranty due to excessive clutch wear)
Can't wait to get my hands back on "her"

Off-topic: Does anybody know that whether the DSG oil change (from synthetic to mineral) under VW global DSG recall is applicable for all 7 speed DSGs or for some specific cars?
Old 25th October 2014, 00:49   #60

Hello Suhaas!
A tad late (?) but congratulations on your new Octavia. I'm aiming to own it and i hope to get there someday.
Love the color. Looks neat.
Wish you many pleasant miles on it.

HR.
humbleroadster is offline   (1) Thanks