Old 13th October 2015, 16:36   #31

re: My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 2 Years & 30,000+ Kms. Update: Rusting Issues

Our Ladakh Travelogue is up and you can see what all the Figo saw, by just merely following the link as under :

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...kolkata-7.html

Thanks for Following !!
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th November 2015, 15:59   #32

Completed 22222 Kms a couple of weeks back. Sharing a Picture :

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151106_214047.jpg

Though not a Milestone by any means !!
Old 19th November 2015, 21:11   #33

Have been travelling recently a lot for work within the State of West Bengal. Just sharing some pictures of the short trips done in the Figo to various places in recent times.

Sector : Digha Mohana and interiors of East Midnapore District such as Itaberia & Dewliahat

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_082435.jpg

Enroute Dewliahat :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_114030.jpg

Enroute Itaberia :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_164911.jpg

At the serene Mohana Beach (not open to tourists) :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_131331.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_131404.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151018_131648.jpg

Sector : Debra, Ashari & Gologram in West Midnapore District :

Narrow country roads :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_135913.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_135817.jpg

No road existed and a river was to be crossed :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_135528.jpg

Got onto the Bamboo Bridge to cross the river :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_135452.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_144301.jpg

Some posing around :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_144451.jpg

Sector : Midnapore, Nimpura, Lodhasuli, Manickpara & Khalseuli in West Midnapore District

An evening drive to Midnapore :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151023_164857.jpg

Approaching Lodhasuli on NH-6 :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151024_151249.jpg

Interiors from Lodhasuli :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151024_161501_1.jpg

Approaching Manickpara :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151024_161518.jpg

Return road from Khalseuli which connects to NH-6 on Nimpura :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20151024_185710.jpg

All sorts of roads and all sorts of places. The "Fordy" has been reliable and dependable as always.
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2016, 13:20   #34

This happened a few weeks ago :

My Figo's Bluetooth Connect is having certain Issues and fails to connect to any device. It's a pairing issue. The system is recognizing the device which it is trying to connect with, but at the time of pairing it says Connection Error.

What I have done :
  • Deleted the Saved Connections
  • Tried to re-establish the connections but it does not connect
  • Notified the Ford Authorized Service Centre (FASC) and they have asked me to pay a visit and show them the problem

On further discussions with FASC it was brought to my notice that they will have to send the System to the Vendor in Chennai and that it shall be repaired under warranty.

My query is :
  1. Has anyone faced such a similar issue yet ?
  2. Should it not be replaced under warranty instead getting repaired under warranty ?
Old 2nd February 2016, 17:22   #35

Sometime around Mid JAN 2016 : The pairing issue has been resolved !! Referred to the Audio System Manual given by Ford and unpaired all the devices with the System and a Settings Reset worked. So thankfully no issues and indeed the Manual came in very handy.

Last week of January 2016 after completing 25,000 Kms on the Odo : Did an impromptu Oil Change @ Ganges Ford using the Castrol Edge 5W40 Fully Synthetic Engine Oil. Changed the Oil Filter and Gasket as well. Cost of Oil - MRP Rs.4,820/= (I got it much cheaper being attached to the industry) plus additional labour charges of Rs.640/=. Would be able to comment only after using it for a while.

31st of January 2016 : Had to go to Midnapore to attend a Function at a very close friend's house who has recently been blessed with a Baby Boy. So it was me and my 5 year old daughter who set sail for Midnapore. Enroute I thought of Catching up with the Entire TEAM BHP Kolkata Team @ Gadiara who were put up at the WBTDC accommodation there for our Winter Meet, but could not make it as there was another car who was supposed to follow me to Midnapore that day. Did the good 300 Kms drive that day and on the way back met up with BHPian UltimateChamp @ Kolaghat Express Food Plaza. Did a spirited drive back to Kolkata together !!

The Untold Story :
While heading back home I was on AJC Bose road flyover bound towards Park Circus. I was cruising at a decent speed, when at the last leg of the flyover which has a blind curve, I suddenly saw traffic stalled on it. I did not have any other option left with me rather than applying a sudden brake; which I did. Suddenly, I felt that the LHS brakes had engaged whereas the RHS brake probably did not (as efficiently) as the car started to drift to the right by screeching and there was immense rubber burning with white fumes all around as I was heading straight to the side barrier of the flyover. I counter steered and released the brakes. The car just fishtailed and came back to position and I again applied the brakes to save it from hitting the side barrier and the car ahead of me and parked behind the car ahead uniformly.

It all happened within seconds and thankfully I could control the car avoiding the probable fatal accident that the scenario could have resulted in. I checked my ORVM and could not see a thing behind thanks to the white fumes of the rubber burning.

The best part was a taxi came and parked beside me and said "Dada kya stunt maara hai" and my response to that was

The very next day took the car to Alok Automobiles to find out that the Brake Rotors had overheated and disintegrated.

Work Performed :
  • Got the Brake Pads replaced installed BOSCH Brake Pads
  • Resurfacing of the Brake Discs done
  • Rear Brake Drums & Brake Shoe cleaned which was found to be immensely dusty
Cost of the Work Done - Rs.2,600/=

Got 16 New Wheel Lug Nuts from Alok Automobiles as while opening the wheels, a couple of the wheel nuts just refused to open. At the end had to heat up the nut in order to melt it down and get the wheel out.
Cost of the Wheel Nuts - Rs.1,600/=

Sharing some pictures :
My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160202_115510.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160202_115605.jpg

I do not know whether I saved the Figo or the Figo saved us in the above situation. But, whatever it is, all is well that ends well with no scars on either the man or the car. Considering that my 5 year old daughter was also on board with me, the recollection of the incident really does shake me up !!

Leaving behind what happened, the Figo is ready to Rock On again and so am I. Sharing that customary snap of the Figo for the miles to come it's way.

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160125_095325_1.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160115_092351_1_1.jpg
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2016, 01:17   #36

Originally Posted by AJ-got-BHP View Post
Last week of January 2016 after completing 25,000 Kms on the Odo : Did an impromptu Oil Change @ Ganges Ford using the Castrol Edge 5W40 Fully Synthetic Engine Oil. Changed the Oil Filter and Gasket as well. Cost of Oil - MRP Rs.4,820/= (I got it much cheaper being attached to the industry) plus additional labour charges of Rs.640/=. Would be able to comment only after using it for a while.

The Untold Story :
Suddenly, I felt that the LHS brakes had engaged whereas the RHS brake probably did not (as efficiently) as the car started to drift to the right by screeching and there was immense rubber burning with white fumes all around as I was heading straight to the side barrier of the flyover

The very next day took the car to Alok Automobiles to find out that the Brake Rotors had overheated and disintegrated.

Work Performed :
  • Got the Brake Pads replaced installed BOSCH Brake Pads
  • Resurfacing of the Brake Discs done
  • Rear Brake Drums & Brake Shoe cleaned which was found to be immensely dusty
Cost of the Work Done - Rs.2,600/=

Got 16 New Wheel Lug Nuts from Alok Automobiles as while opening the wheels, a couple of the wheel nuts just refused to open. At the end had to heat up the nut in order to melt it down and get the wheel out.
Cost of the Wheel Nuts - Rs.1,600/=
This is very scary, thank god nothing happened You never know when critical parts like brakes & tyres give way. Any reason for fixing the issue from Alok automobiles rather than Ford workshop ? Also hows the fully synthetic oil performing. Is it worth 4 times premium over the one which ford uses ?
Samfromindia is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd February 2016, 12:08   #37

Originally Posted by Samfromindia View Post
This is very scary, thank god nothing happened You never know when critical parts like brakes & tyres give way. Any reason for fixing the issue from Alok automobiles rather than Ford workshop ? Also hows the fully synthetic oil performing. Is it worth 4 times premium over the one which ford uses ?
Sam,

I have been using Semi Synthetic Oil previously also of other brands with which I was extremely satisfied. I wanted to try Castrol Edge 5W40 Fully Synthetic Engine Oil, just for the experience

However, I personally feel that it was a let down and I find it to be a little too Over Hyped w.r.t. the performance benefits that it provides. The previous Semi Synthetic 5W30 Engine Oil was a better performer with which I did my Ladakh Trip. Though the Castrol EDGE is better than the Mineral 5W30 Oil that Ford usually uses. This is available at FASS as well.

I went to Alok Automobiles to get the car checked. The observation was that changing the Brake Pads and resurfacing the Discs would have sorted the issue. Had i gone to FASS, they would have asked me to change the Brake Pads as well as the Brake Disc/ Rotors as they do not have any provision for resurfacing the Brake Discs. Who likes an unnecessary pocket pinch ?
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th February 2016, 23:27   #38

Nice update Arav.

Wasn't aware of the incident you had on AJC Bose Road fly-over after our drive on NH-6. So glad you, your daughter and your car is ok.
Was it only because of dust in rear drum and brake shoe ? Or the heated brake rotors that were at fault ? Or a combination of worn out pads,rusted rotors due to cleaning with water and dusty shoe and drum,all together ?
Drive safe dude
Old 10th February 2016, 18:52   #39

Originally Posted by ultimatechamp View Post
Nice update Arav.

Wasn't aware of the incident you had on AJC Bose Road fly-over after our drive on NH-6. So glad you, your daughter and your car is ok.
Was it only because of dust in rear drum and brake shoe ? Or the heated brake rotors that were at fault ? Or a combination of worn out pads,rusted rotors due to cleaning with water and dusty shoe and drum,all together ?
Drive safe dude
The car was all fine that day as it did a 300 Kms run. Don't know what went wrong where, but I am glad I could manage to control it safely. The LHS wheel locked and the RHS did not.
Old 29th March 2016, 13:03   #40

Wishing everyone a Very Happy Holi !!!! Sharing a snap of the Figo with a Colourful Backdrop

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160316_005734_1-2.jpg
Old 29th March 2016, 15:34   #41

@Arav dada, where did you get your Aux lights fixed. I mean not the place of workshop but the place of fixing them inside the bumper. I have installed them from the lower side of the bumper and not much happy with the focus.

Please post pix if you have any which were shot while getting them installed.
Old 30th March 2016, 12:05   #42

Originally Posted by G V Krishna View Post
@Arav dada, where did you get your Aux lights fixed. I mean not the place of workshop but the place of fixing them inside the bumper. I have installed them from the lower side of the bumper and not much happy with the focus.

Please post pix if you have any which were shot while getting them installed.
Sorry brother No Pics to Share for your referral.

An inverted "L" Clamp has been welded to the Front Cross Beam Behind the Number Plate. Two small cuts have been made on the Bumper from where the clamps jut out; on which the Hella(s) have been installed.

The focus of my ones are perfect though with this setting !! Hope this helps !!
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th May 2016, 18:55   #43

Have been travelling extensively in remote places within Rural Bengal in recent times and would like to share some pictures of the Figo in Action. These are all random pictures from the West Midnapore District in West Bengal covering places like Belda, Rohini, Gopiballabhpur, Chandrakona Road, Garhbeta, Amlagora, Humgarh and others in the vicinity.

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-1.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-2.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-3.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-4.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-5.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-6.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-7.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-8.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-9.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-10.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-11.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-12.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-13.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-14.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-15.jpg

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-16.jpg

However, have faced some issues with the Set of Horns installed earlier and have had to shift to BOSCH (Windtone type) pair of horns which indeed shouts pretty well. Cost Rs.550/= (including Wiring)

Furthermore, while on tour, the RHS Hella somehow got damaged as the Hella plastic casing got cracked and the Glass Unit with the reflector was disengaged with the casing and was hanging with the help of the wiring. I had to put the Hella Covers on and drive through the night.

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160510_222932_1.jpg

Another Rs.5,000/= for the Hella On the contrary, got plastic soldering done to the Plastic Casing of the Hella and it is all set again. Cost Rs.50/= including opening, soldering and fitting. What a Deal !!

Also, thanks to my daughter's naughtiness which managed to break the previous Mobile Holder, was compelled to buy a new one. Cost Rs.300/= (of Universal brand). This one is more sturdy, neater and better by all means for the buck.

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160511_125347.jpg

Basically, all spent on the Add-Ons and the accessories for the Figo and nothing on the mechanical as it is running perfectly fine so far.
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 19th May 2016, 17:57   #44

Re: My Diesel Ford Figo ZXI EDIT: 28,000 km update

16th of May 2016 : The RHS HeadLamp Bulb went off a few days back while I was returning to Kolkata from a business trip last week. So, got the HeadLight Bulbs replaced having the same configuration. Sharing a picture :

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160514_151727_1.jpg
Cost - Rs.590/=

19th of May 2016 : Sent the Car to the Ganges Ford Workshop today for a General Check Up as might plan a Roadtrip to the Himalayas sometime next week. I felt that it was time that the AC Filter was checked once. Got it checked and replaced too. A picture of the Old one :

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160519_161933.jpg

Job Performed :
  • Quick Service
  • Replaced 1 Brake Light Bulb
  • Replaced AC Filter
  • Cleaning of the Cabin Filter
  • Battery Health Check Up Done - No Cost
  • Rear LHS Door handle was not functioning properly - got that fixed under warranty
  • Windshield Washer Spray Jet Nozzles cleaned - No Cost

Overall Vehicle Check Up (comes with a Report Card) :

My Diesel Ford Figo Zxi - 3 years, 64,000 km and gone-p_20160519_161858.jpg

Total Charges Paid at Ford Authorized Service Centre - Rs.958/=
AJ-got-BHP is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th June 2016, 11:33   #45

@aj-got-bhp: That's an awesome log of your Figo! I just read that entire thing and you've done some amazing trips with the car! Keep munching on those miles!

I couldn't agree with you more about how brilliant the Figo is. I own a petrol 2012 EXi and love driving it, especially on the highways.

I did take special notice to the mods that you did on yours, focusing on the headlamp relay kit and the high power bulbs. How are they holding up? Apart from changing the bulb, have you had any other maintenance tasks or problems? And considering that you do a lot of night driving, you'd be best to recommend a solution.

I am really keen on upgrading mine too. Any advice from you would be super helpful! I'll probably take a call this week on what you advise.

Thanks again
qr20de is offline   (1) Thanks