re: Preview: Hyundai Creta

Ground Clearance is 190mm.

Source - The Automotive India forum
http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/fo...-creta-37.html
Old 21st July 2015, 16:19   #902

I think Hyundai understands that they have a modern, competent and feature-laden product, and therefore have priced it as such. I fail to understand the disappointment over the pricing. There is nothing really like it in our market.

The S-Cross is a weird mishmash, in my opinion, and not really an SUV. The Ecosport is much smaller. The Duster is an old, cheap platform from Europe, priced at a premium in India. Other 5-seater monocoque SUVs like the CR-V (albeit larger) and the Yeti are atrociously priced. When you compare the Creta to the Yeti (the only other modern vehicle I can think of in the category), suddenly it looks value for money.

Not to mention what the previous smallish SUV from Hyundai, the Tuscon, used to cost years ago. I think the Creta will do well and more importantly it'll bring some much needed honesty to pricing in this category.

Last edited by StarScream : 21st July 2015 at 16:20.
StarScream is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:21   #903

Originally Posted by anshuman_v View Post
This will be an interesting perspective:

XUV500 w8 pluses over Creta Sx(o)
  • Proven ruggedness
  • 7 seater, proper SUV - so 2 more seats
  • Micro hybrid technology
  • Light sensing headlamps
  • Rain sensing wipers
  • 8 way power adjustable seats
  • Rear disc brakes
  • Cruise control
  • Tyretronics (not sure if Creta has it to be honest)

All this at just about 70K more!

Creta sx(o) pluses over XUV500 w8
  • Brand New, so wow factor
  • Maybe better A.S.S.
  • Priced around 70k less
  • Better warranty
Power adjustable seats only available in W10 that too its 6 way power adjustable seats.
Hyundai A.S.S is way better than Mahindra anyday
LionX is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:22   #904

Originally Posted by anshuman_v View Post
This will be an interesting perspective:

XUV500 w8 pluses over Creta Sx(o)
  • Proven ruggedness
  • 7 seater, proper SUV - so 2 more seats
  • Micro hybrid technology
  • Light sensing headlamps
  • Rain sensing wipers
  • 8 way power adjustable seats
  • Rear disc brakes
  • Cruise control
  • Tyretronics (not sure if Creta has it to be honest)

All this at just about 70K more!

Creta sx(o) pluses over XUV500 w8
  • Brand New, so wow factor
  • Maybe better A.S.S.
  • Priced around 70k less
  • Better warranty
That's just talking features alone. You are the forgetting that wicked 2.2L under the hood which is way beyond the 1.6 diesel offered in the Creta. On paper, they seem close - but the extra displacement makes a huge difference on the road.

XUV looks brilliant VFM after looking at the pricing of Duster and Creta.

PS- My impressions are based on the Verna 1.6 diesel.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 21st July 2015 at 16:25.
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:26   #905

There are set of people in the Indian market who wants a good petrol SUV. Currently there are almost none. Main option we have is only Honda CRV, but its way too overpriced and its FE is horrible. My friend has one and he confirmed that it gives around 5 kmpl in city. I know Ford EcoSport is there but its sub 4 m and little too small to call it as a SUV. It cannot accomodate 5 adults properly as well and Ford petrol engines are not popular in India, heard that they are very bad in fuel efficiency department as well. So for such petrol enthusiastic people Creta with 1.6 L petrol engine is a good option for sure. Its pricing is also not bad, within budget for sure. Only thing is need to check complete feature list and need to wait confirmation from T-BHP review about how it behaves on road. I hope it will not be that bad considering its basically is a Verna engine. Need to confirm on how the dynamics are as its a taller vehicle and how the ride quality is.

I am sure Creta will take away some buyers from Honda City, Vento, Verna etc. Hope we will get review soon

Last edited by aniketi : 21st July 2015 at 16:27.
aniketi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:26   #906

With bated breath I waited for thee.
With pockets stretched I planned to spree.
You show no mercy and trounce my expectations with glee
You are smaller and unmuscular unlike the XUVee
The Duster and Terrano were never for me
Forsaking all the time spent on you with great inputs from RavenAvi
I break up with you, Creta and S Cross, now I look forward to thee

That probably sums my emotional hit after seeing the pricing
Travelator is offline   (66) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:26   #907

IMO the key point is that Renault got away with their pricing due to lack of competition. And that is now encouraging other manufacturers to price these sky high to cash in on the SUV craze.

This thing is easily overpriced by a lakh.

Creta *will* not be written off like a jazz even though its priced badly, because there is huge opportunity in this space. Maybe it will settle down to 2-3K numbers few months down the line.

The question is who will lose share? Scorpio's have their own fan base. XUV is a much better value. Duster is doing okay with it's discounts. And a price difference of 1.5 lacs will make you think twice. Ecosport is priced better in comparison to this.

I am guessing this will eat into Verna sales more than anything.
Ph03nix is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:27   #908

Originally Posted by LionX View Post
Power adjustable seats only available in W10 that too its 6 way power adjustable seats.
Hyundai A.S.S is way better than Mahindra anyday
Well I would not say A.S.S of Hyundai is way better. I have seen instances of very bad A.S.S from Maruti/Hyundai and very good A.S.S from VW. It solely depends on your relationship with service/showroom guys and boils down to individual dealer.
The place where Hyundai(and Maruti) scores is in terms coverage, they have larger number of showrooms and hence larger presence.
PrideRed is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:30   #909

All right. Enough about the price. I am disappointed. But well, what can you do about it. No point beating around that.

Now on to the car itself. Had gone to the dealer in the morning. Took some photos as well.

What I liked:
- It is big. At one position ( it is taller than me. (I am 5'7").
- Loaded with features (SXO).
- The front grille looks really nice.
- Rear chrome grill didn't look out of place.
- Boot space is sufficient.
- Full alloy spare wheel.
- Good rear seat legroom.
- Rear AC vents.
- Leather seats look good.
- Height adjustable seat belts.
- Red looks really hot from the front.

What I did not like:
- Rear seats. Would not fit 3. I rejected Ecosport because of this reason a year ago. Deal breaker for me.
- Windows are too high. Kids would hate it. So would adults who are short.
- Getting in and out of the drivers seat was an effort for me. Maybe because of the height.
- Chrome in the rear stands out on other colors. Looks odd.
Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_121930.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122024.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122052.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122100.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122152.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122250.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122304.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122722.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_122727.jpg  

Preview: Hyundai Creta-img_20150721_123814.jpg  

Last edited by sngautam : 21st July 2015 at 16:35. Reason: correction
sngautam is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:41   #910

Originally Posted by KSH7777 View Post
Can anybody explain why the 1.4 Diesel S+ is priced at 11.45L and 1.6 Diesel SX is priced at 11.59L. I am actually wondering what on earth went wrong with these guys while they were pricing the models. Why would anybody buy the 1.4 S+ and not pay just 14k more and enjoy a better engine and much added features

I booked the 1.6 petrol, then thought of moving for 1.4 D and now planning to go for 1.6 D SX. Too confused
I understand your frustration.

See the comparison chart below for what is different between 1.4 S+ and 1.6 SX.

S+ gets Parking Assist, Navigation System, Shark Fin Antenna
SX does not get those, but has Auto AC compared to Manual in S+ and various other improvements.

Preview: Hyundai Creta-creta-03-s-plus-vs-sx.jpg

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Let's wait for the full review. If this will also 'ride' well like a Duster, I guess the extra might be worth. I also would like to see side by side pix of Duster/Creta/SCross/Scorpio/Safari.
I really doubt if we are going to have a full review unless our reviewers review one of the owner's cars. I don't think Hyundai will plan a separate full media review other than the preview that they conducted last month.

Mods, please delete this comment if a full review is already cooking or is planned.

Last edited by mrbaddy : 21st July 2015 at 16:58. Reason: Added response for jkdas
Old 21st July 2015, 16:41   #911

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post

The S-Cross is a weird mishmash, in my opinion, and not really an SUV.
So are the Ecosport, Duster and (ahem) Creta.
The Ecosport is much smaller.
Ecosport's length(internationally) is same as Creta. Just that they made a crude joke on our ridiculous 4m regulations here.

The Duster is an old, cheap platform from Europe, priced at a premium in India.
Nevertheless it is the most dependable among all the crossovers sold here. Utility written all over it.

When you compare the Creta to the Yeti (the only other modern vehicle I can think of in the category), suddenly it looks value for money.
IMHO, it is exactly the reverse. Creta's 'introductory' pricing tells me suddenly that the Skoda is a better buy. The analogy is akin to how last year's flagship phone is a much better buy than current mid-segment phones.
ramzsys is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 16:55   #912

These are the Bangalore prices :

Preview: Hyundai Creta-20150721_1630481.jpg
PearlJam is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 21st July 2015, 17:02   #913

can anyone confirm if the AT version comes with 4" Audio-only or 7" AVN system?
Old 21st July 2015, 17:07   #914

Very disappointed. I have booked the AT variant but am now seriously considering Ecosport AT. Have read that Ford will be launching a facelift Ecosport soon. Is that true?

Also, can someone please point me to a comparison between Creta AT and Ecosport AT?
Old 21st July 2015, 17:08   #915

As mentioned by many on the thread, the prices are on the higher side. However, in hindsight the prices we all were (self included!!) expecting were not realistic.

It is actually brave from Hyundai to put in a full spec product in the Indian market without tweaking just for the excise regulations/pricing constraints. They could well have gone the Ford way and fit the Creta to 4m and enjoyed the benefits. Instead they have gone the best way with a proper size vehicle, excellent fit finish and good engine options. The 1.6 Petrol and diesel powertrains will have a steep 30% excise duty as compared to 12.5% for a EcoSport which makes a huge difference.
nikhil_d1106 is offline   (2) Thanks