![]() | #646 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Hyundai's 'Made in India' Creta ( variant with 2 Air Bags) gets 4 stars in Latin NCAP Safety Crash test. Car is tested as it goes shortly on sale in LA markets. Not sure if these results could be related to the Indian sold units. Crash weight test given as 1496 Kg. ![]() Quote:
Last edited by volkman10 : 15th December 2015 at 20:25. | |
![]() | ![]() |
|
![]() | #647 | ||
BHPian Join Date: Aug 2013 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() Mod note: Back to back post, use Multi Quote [Quote +] instead. Thanks. Quote:
![]() Today, I was asked to go to the stockyard with a driver and check out my car and okay it for delivery. When I was 2 minutes away from the stockyard, one of the sales personnel asked me to go to one of their other showrooms (not the one I was buying the car from) in that area and not to the stockyard. I smelled a fish and insisted that we go to the stockyard. When I got there, I saw only one grey Creta whose seats were all outside and workers removing seat covers and maybe doing some other work on the car. I was furious because I had never asked for seat covers or any other accessories. I called the sales team and gave them a piece of my mind and rejected the car. The guys there were at least courteous enough to drop me back to my dealership, some 40 kms away. When I arrived at the dealership, I made sure they registered my protest and I asked that my car be rebooked and delivered ASAP. The sales manager agreed and promised to get me my vehicle in a weeks time. Phew! What a buying experience man! Quote:
I called the Hyundai toll free number and got a service request #. Also sent an email to - 'crsales@hmil.net' quoting the service request #. I didn't threaten them will cancellation. What's the point waiting for 90 days and losing? I'd rather persevere and win. Last edited by Jaggu : 15th December 2015 at 20:30. Reason: Back to back post, use Multi Quote [Quote +] instead. Thanks. | ||
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #648 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2015 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Sorry to hear that Suresh. Thats indeed a very bad experience. But dont worry. I am sure you will get it next week. Good luck. Thanks a lot for the pointer. |
![]() |
![]() | #649 | |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
I faintly remember the genuine seat cover options from Hyundai were so lame that even the sales people were recommending to get it done from an outside vendor, through them (or otherwise). Which is not such a bad option after all. There are some branded (custom-made) options available as well and I have heard very good things about them. There is a somewhat wacky thing I have tried on my Creta and it is working well so far! I got good quality Wilson contoured tennis racket grips (4 of them!!) and wrapped them around the wheel. It doesn't look as posh as factory-fitted leather cover but the steering grip is SIMPLY OUT OF THE WORLD to say the least. Ended up spending INR 1500 but it is worth every penny. Been a couple of months and its still good as new. I have sweaty palms and I did not quite like the leather original grips OR any of the after-market options. Can post pics if someone is interested. Last edited by zing : 16th December 2015 at 14:33. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #650 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jul 2015 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #651 | |
BHPian | ![]() Quote:
![]() Kindly do post pictures of the "Tennis Grip Steering". I got some decent art leather seat covers from my dealer which went well with the car interiors.Some snaps ![]() ![]() ![]() Last edited by nkghai : 16th December 2015 at 15:14. Reason: wrong photograph uploaded | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #652 | |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: Gujarat
| ![]() Quote:
First milestone of 1K kms crossed yesterday. No niggles to report. Have got a minor scratch on the rear bumper thanks to an idiot who tried to cut too close. I want to get PPF done in bumpers but 3M is quite far so have not been able to travel there. | |
![]() |
![]() | #653 |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Jun 2008 Location: Ludhiana
| ![]() For the past two months i have been in a liquid state of mind, regarding the choice between Ecosport and Creta, but today something surprising happened, i had been continually asking about the kerb weight of Creta, fro m wherever i could, but was unable to get a satisfactory reply. Today i went to a Hyundai showroom, where I was able to find a link with the GM, asked the same question regarding the weight of Creta, brochures etc were searched, no result found, I suggested him to look in the data they submit to the RTA, for registration of the vehicles, and to my utter surprise, the value of the unlaiden weight, which is equal to the kerb weight, of the top spec SXO, 6 airbags model, with all the bells and whistles, was 1108kg, ![]() Please Creta owners, what is the unlaiden weight mentioned in the Registration certificate. Thanks. |
![]() |
|
![]() | #654 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
My Lazarus (SX+ VTVT) has the following weight numbers, as per official RTO registration: Last edited by RavenAvi : 19th December 2015 at 21:17. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #655 | |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2015 Location: Cochin
| ![]() Quote:
Happy Motoring And Drive Safe ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #656 | |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Unladen Weight - 1360kg Gross weight - 1790kg I hope this clears the doubt. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #657 | |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2007 Location: bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
Here goes... I have used Wilson's contoured grip which takes the gripping a notch higher, although some might contend it compromises on the looks aspect. For an optimal balance between looks and grip, a non-contour grip can be used. However, it will never look as neat and posh as the factory fitted all-leather...although the grip is awesome and I love it. I deliberately decided not to go around the joints and I do not see that as an issue for me during driving. It can be done though. FYI, the grips are all just over a meter each and usually have an adhesive back along with a nice thin and stretchable matt-finish tape for securing the ends. In my case, the tape has 'wilson' printed on it. If you are particular, you can buy plain ones available for cheap from any half-decent sports shop. Last edited by zing : 20th December 2015 at 12:52. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #658 | |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2011 Location: Chennai
Infractions: 0/1 (7) | ![]() Quote:
![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #659 | |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2015 Location: Madurai,Chennai
| ![]() Quote:
![]() ![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #660 | |
BANNED | ![]() Quote:
1108 kgs.. Ludhiana RTO, posted by gsratta 1265 kgs.. posted by RavenAid 1360 kgs..Cochin RTO, posted by naveen.raju 1265 kgs.. Autocar India, posted by RSR Even allowing for some variation in wt. for the different spec. models, this seems rather steep. I mean 1108 or 1265 kgs for an SUV which is 4.27m long (the Ecosport at 3.99m long is almost a foot shorter & weighs in at 1222 kgs) - how does that sound? To me it seems a lot of hype about honey-comb monocoques & NCAP ratings for basically candyfloss structurals. And as I've said elsewhere, all the computer modelling and stress analysis won't convince me that a super-light monocoque has much going for it apart from torsional rigidity (for that "nimble & agile handling"). Certainly not the abuse-friendly rugged strength one expects from an SUV costing upwards of 16 lakhs. And don't forget that missing side-impact NCAP rating! Last edited by shashanka : 20th December 2015 at 19:05. Reason: Typo error! | |
![]() | ![]() |