Old 24th December 2015, 16:35   #676

re: Review: Hyundai Creta (1st-gen)

Is the owners manual available in soft copy format? Would appreciate if someone can post the link/attachment. TIA.

Last edited by sohu9 : 24th December 2015 at 16:36.
Old 24th December 2015, 16:39   #677

Originally Posted by sohu9 View Post
Is the owners manual available in soft copy format? Would appreciate if someone can post the link/attachment. TIA.
Yes it is available on the Hyundai Customer Care website.

The link is http://www.customercare.hyundai.co.i...omerLogin.aspx .

To access it you will have to register your vehicle , which i had done and found my service history also updated. You can then download also.

I have downloaded it in pdf format. Since the document is 7 MB in size , it cannot be posted here as there is a size limit of 5 MB.

In case you cant find it on site, pm me your email id and i would be more than happy to forward it

Last edited by nkghai : 24th December 2015 at 16:47. Reason: added link
nkghai is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th December 2015, 17:00   #678
RSR

Originally Posted by nmenon View Post
Further apologies for being forthright but I would believe that a bit more respect is in order for the Indian Manufacturer who (according to you is only a jugaadineering expert) has managed to manufacture one of the better selling 15 Lakh + UV's in our market, whose products do have a certain following amongst our ranks.
I perfectly understand your post and appreciate it, but please don't take offense at mine.

I don't usually post such comments as the one you've quoted (and I didn't want to do so in this case either), so please understand that I was practically forced to do so. It was meant to be an indirect reply to some other comments on this thread, that's all!

Some posts were perfectly understandably (& deservedly!) deleted by the moderators, but you still may be able to understand the reason for my post, if you go through the page of posts that preceeded mine.

Last edited by RSR : 24th December 2015 at 17:13.
RSR is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th December 2015, 18:12   #679

Originally Posted by RSR View Post
I perfectly understand your post and appreciate it, but please don't take offense at mine.

I don't usually post such comments as the one you've quoted (and I didn't want to do so in this case either), so please understand that I was practically forced to do so. It was meant to be an indirect reply to some other comments on this thread, that's all!

Some posts were perfectly understandably (& deservedly!) deleted by the moderators, but you still may be able to understand the reason for my post, if you go through the page of posts that preceeded mine.
No offence taken Sir.

I appreciate where you're coming from and understand why you said what you said.

Let's continue the healthy discussion.
nmenon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th December 2015, 02:42   #680

Originally Posted by RSR View Post
Although Hyundai have deservedly shaken up this segment with the superb, safe, sound and best all-rounder in this segment in the form of the Creta, I simply must appreciate Renault for bringing in the Duster and creating this wonderful segment of modern, refined and safe SUVs in the first place.

Till the entry of Renault's wonderful Duster, customers in India were being taken for a horrible ride by a certain manufacturer of very crude, shockingly unrefined, dramatically obese and hopelessly outdated utility vehicles based on primitive pick-up truck frames, dating right back to the previous millenium!

Such unrefined, farm tractor-like vehicles were laughably glorified as "sports utility vehicles" when there was absolutely nothing even remotely sporty about the crude machines marketed as "SUVs". Such was the shockingly crude nature of these vehicles, that one of them even used a primitive hand-me-down chassis which was a leftover dating back to the time of Hitler, Mussolini, Stalin & their contemporaries.

The WW II Jeep had been discarded by the company that originally created it. This ancient discard was continuously worked on by the domestic jugaad specialist, whose continuous jugaadineering (i.e. the jugaad version of engineering) lead to their first supposed "SUV". It was tagged so, just because the canvas top was replaced by a factory metal body and had a couple of features like air-conditioning and power steering, which were great feats for the domestic jugaadineering company at that time. The funniest thing about such an "SUV" was that it featured a tractor engine (no kidding at all!) Of course, the farm tractor engine was "treated" to things like direct injection and a turbocharger, before being plonked into the crude and ancient body of the glorified utility vehicle that masqueraded as a supposed "SUV".

The jugaadineered UV's success in the marketplace at that time lead to more such products built on the same principle (i.e. take a crude ladder frame pick-up truck chassis, bolt on a body, plonk in a tricked-up engine based on some pre-historic lump, equip it with some modern convenience features, and market the crude but glorified utility vehicle as a supposed "sport utility vehicle".

These extremely crude, unsafe, shoddy, shockingly unrefined and hopelessly obese triple-cab pick-up trucks were having a gala time in the marketplace only because there was hardly any competiton in this segment. The glorified triple-cab pick-up trucks made hay as long as the sun shined for their maker. On a lighter note, making hay wasn't something exactly new to the vehicles' metal hearts, as the engines were basically tricked-up versions of the crude, ancient lumps powering farm tractors made by the same company.

Anyway, the Renault Duster heralded the entry of modern, refined, safe and sound SUVs in this segment, finally! Yaaay!!! Boy, what a much-needed & welcome change this India-made Franco-Romanian SUV was in this space! Finally, people in India could buy something the rest of the world had been enjoying for a long time - modern, safe, refined SUVs that did not share their chassis with some half-a-century old discard, and powered by engines that did not share their blocks with farm tractors! Finally, proper engineering prowess had entered this segment, instead of the jugaadineering that was the order of the day till then!

It was the Duster that cracked open this segment. The fantastic Ford EcoSport soon followed, although in the sub-4m space. The EcoSport simply annihilated a certain horrendously & hideously ugly jugaadineered product. In keeping with the finely honed art of jugaadineering, this visual disaster of a vehicle was made by chopping off a ladder-frame MPV (that in itself was very ugly to begin with) in order to take on the superbly engineered, safe, sexy & stonking Ford EcoSport. The horrendous visual disaster turned out to be a great sales diasater as well, which is just as well! The Indian market was finally beginning to mature, by welcoming proper modern engineering, and flatly rejecting jugaadineering.

As soon as the Duster & EcoSport prised open the segment for products of modern engineering, others followed. The Duster's twin came out wearing the badge of the French company's alliance partner. Then came the Maruti Suzuki S-Cross and of course, the Hyundai Creta.

All these modern, safe, solid, refined, high quality products of 21st century engineering need to thank Renault, which is turning out to be a super courageous company that's changing the game in several ways and in several segments!

Hyundai thoroughly deserve to celebrate the well-deserved success of their super hit product Creta. But this success would not have been possible if it were not for the wonderful Duster. The manufacturers of the Creta, S-Cross, Terrano and even the EcoSport must not forget the pioneering efforts of Renault's Duster, which turned out to be a hero in the Indian automotive scene, by courageously liberating the SUV segment from the vice-like stranglehold that jugaadineering had on this space! My respect to Renault India for their great deeds which actually paved the way for products like the thoroughly deserved winner of the prestigious ICOTY 2016!
Why are you sounding like a TOI paid advertorial?? Other than good suspension, what else does the Duster actually have that can be construed as relevant to a dynamic market. Duster, Terrano and Go come all from the same family, and nothing more typifies that than the interior of these cars. Which, btw, is old and staid and very much like a hand-me-down version of cars which were sold in Europe in the early nineties. I am not a big fan of Mahindras and Tatas, but atleast they are trying to improve, whereas, some of the international brands in India are just treating the Indian as a third world customer. Money is money, and at this point in time, the indian manufacturers are more bang-for-the-buck than any of the other khalifas of global repute. Renaut, Fiat, Volkswagen, Skoda - they simply don't have a India centric strategy as they are not delivering the right product. As yet!
ubermeow is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th December 2015, 07:36   #681
RSR

Originally Posted by ubermeow View Post
Why are you sounding like a TOI paid advertorial??
Please take a look at my reply to nmenon above.

My post is a perfectly legitimate response to some recent comments on this thread that sounded like a deliberate attempt to blindly bash all rival products of a certain manufacturer.

I just let it be known through my post that this thread is not a one-way street to those who assumed otherwise, and I'm prepared to do the same again (should the need arise).

I assume you haven't understood the peculiar context in which I was forced to type the post you've quoted (which is quite understandable if you had read the said post in isolation). Hence, I don't think it's necessary to reply to the merits and demerits of the products and manufacturers you've mentioned in your response.

Last edited by RSR : 25th December 2015 at 08:02.
RSR is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th December 2015, 21:17   #682

Just completed first outstation trip on my Creta AT. Highway performance was top notch. Rough roads were also handled very well. Trip meter is at 766.2 kms and the fuel indicator still has two bars! We were four on board with 3 medium sized bags. ACC was on 70% of the time. Will post the FE figures after I visit the gas station in a day or two.

All family members enjoyed the ride and gave a big thumbs up to the new ride.
sohu9 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th December 2015, 22:30   #683

During our TD of Creta 1.6 SX+, I liked the drive-ability of the engine in stop & go traffic. Though, finally bought an S Cross 1.6
Old 28th December 2015, 00:50   #684

Did a 570 kilometers single day trip from Chandigarh to Meerut to and fro a couple of days back in my Dad's Creta 1.6 SX+ CRDI. Left quite early in the morning and the roads were pretty much empty and had my first opportunity to stretch the car a little. Did speeds of about 130kmph on empty patch of tarmac(6 lane empty highway road) and Creta did those figures without much of a hustle. But I somehow felt the 5th gear is very short in its range and quite useless as I had to immediately up-shift to 6th gear while accelerating.

Had driven on the same road from Chandigarh to Delhi a few days back in my Polo 1.2 TDI and I don't know if its because I'm used to driving the Polo for quite a long time, I enjoyed pushing the Polo much more out on the highway than the Creta. Higher stance does take away the fun factor, plus Hyundai's were never known to be a drivers delight anyways. But the good part was, the moment we left the NH1 and took a turn from Sonipat towards Meerut via Baghpat, I realized how useful the added ground clearance is on those crater filled U.P roads. The car glides over potholes and I did manage to jump over a couple of unmarked speed-breakers on the middle of the highway roads in U.P, and thankfully the car never lost its composure. Another thing which I'd like to highlight here is the steering feedback. Although, it doesn't feel very connected as a Ford or a VW, it certainly does weigh up decently at triple digit speeds which was not the case in our previous Hyundai, i.e. the Fluidic Verna.

What impressed me about the Creta was the fuel efficiency figures, as I managed to extract about 18.1 kmpl via tankful method, even after driving mostly at some insane speeds. Our Creta has done 14k kms in 5 months now and there have been no niggles faced as of yet, not even a punctured tyre to report. Only sour experience till date has been our dealing with Berkley Hyundai Chandigarh right from the day of pre-booking to delivery and even the 10k kms service. If I were to rate them, would probably give them a minus 1 on a scale of 0-10. Will be surely heading to KLG Hyundai Chandigarh from now on for service or any other work of the car.
GameOfCars is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th December 2015, 12:14   #685

Can anyone help me understand the realistic waiting time for Creta SX AT please? My cousin booked on in the month of August (@Grand Hyundai, Palakkad, Kerala) and he still has no clue when the vehicle will come! Dealership is pushing him to go for MT high end instead of AT. Is there anyway to understand the size of the queue?
Old 30th December 2015, 15:36   #686

Would the wheels & alloys of the SX(O) variant classify under Hyundai genuine accessories? Can the change be requested during booking the SX+ AT? How much would the swap cost? Or is it better to install aftermarket alloys? Not too happy with the plain jane alloys of the AT variant and I guess wider rubber would enhance the overall look as well.
Old 31st December 2015, 10:53   #687

Originally Posted by sohu9 View Post
Just completed first outstation trip on my Creta AT. Highway performance was top notch. Rough roads were also handled very well. Trip meter is at 766.2 kms and the fuel indicator still has two bars! We were four on board with 3 medium sized bags. ACC was on 70% of the time. Will post the FE figures after I visit the gas station in a day or two.

All family members enjoyed the ride and gave a big thumbs up to the new ride.
Update: using tank-full method, the FE for the trip came to 16.02.
Old 31st December 2015, 12:10   #688

Question: How do you enable auto fill when you type in an address in navigation?

This was there when I got the car but somehow couldnt find it now. This is when you type in a place or address. The system auto fills the input as we type(like google). This is so helpful since you dont need to type in the whole name and later find out that the place isnt available.

Suggestions please guys.
Old 31st December 2015, 16:25   #689

Originally Posted by 9thsphinx View Post
Can the change be requested during booking the SX+ AT? How much would the swap cost? Or is it better to install aftermarket alloys?.
We had booked our AT before the launch thus it was very difficult to get the dealer to promise the upgrade to the alloy of the SXO. I would recommend that you look out for aftermarket alloy designs and there are a lot of options to choose from.
The swap cost Will depend on the price you manage to get for your existing alloys and tyres. My alloys got sold just a couple of days ago for 22k and my tyres were bought back by the tyre dealer for a measly 8k (4 tyres)
The Goan is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st December 2015, 17:04   #690

Originally Posted by naveen.raju View Post
Question: How do you enable auto fill when you type in an address in navigation?

This was there when I got the car but somehow couldnt find it now. This is when you type in a place or address. The system auto fills the input as we type(like google). This is so helpful since you dont need to type in the whole name and later find out that the place isnt available.

Suggestions please guys.
It used to work for me as well. I haven't checked recently though. Did your dealer do the AVN software upgrade at your last visit?