Team-BHP - Why did I buy a 12 Year old Toyota Corolla - My experience

-   Long-Term Ownership Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/)
-   -   Why did I buy a 12 Year old Toyota Corolla - My experience (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/long-term-ownership-reviews/167791-why-did-i-buy-12-year-old-toyota-corolla-my-experience-7.html)

^^ KK,

Originally Posted by KK_HakunaMatata (Post 3894371)
my clutch is bit harder after driving my BILs Punto Diesel. I felt that being petrol car, clutch in my car should be smoother than the diesel vehicles

The 2003-08 Corolla clutch is quite tough to operate - by design ; but you will get used to it. This will strengthen your calf muscles for free.

I have driven the Altis 1.4 diesel and that has a way more easy clutch.

Originally Posted by dr. sen (Post 3894339)
Hello, Swami Ji,

Where is the update. It seems you are enjoying 'Nirvana', which all Toyota users are use to. Please do put a monthly report atleast, which will keep the thread going.:)

dr. sen

Dr.Sen thank for the interest and updates in the next post

Originally Posted by vivek.ks (Post 3894345)

I purchased a Dec 2003 Corolla yesterday from one of my colleague who had too many cars to handle.

Car is 105000 driven and engine is in good shape. There are few dents and scratches throughout but I can live with them. I was looking around for a suitable second car and had my eye on corolla ever since I read this thread.

Took this car for a trial. Liked the stability and sense of security it provided. Clutch is getting hard but I guess will last me another 10k, same with tyres.

Steering wheel is something which is the only uncomfortable bit for me. It gives me proper road feedback and after driving on EPS for so long, I guess this is natural.

Talked to swami in between and asked for his advice as well. Since I was paying a decent amount 2.01 had less questions and was more or less convinced.

This is 2003 Dec, 1.8J Model which incidentally falls into Toyota's Airbag related recall. Need to call toyota for replacement.

Congratulations and would like to soon see some photos of your car

Originally Posted by KK_HakunaMatata (Post 3894371)
Congrats on your acquisition. Corolla is a very good choice and I am enjoying mine. Guess more people are inspired to buy pre-owned Corollas after this thread is started (including me).

Even I am feeling that my clutch is bit harder after driving my BILs Punto Diesel. I felt that being petrol car, clutch in my car should be smoother than the diesel vehicles. Checked this the SA during my recent annual service and he said it is fine there is no problem with the clutch (even he owns a Corolla).

Not sure if the clutch is generally harder in Corollas. Any other owner can confirm on this.

Many people have said that the clutch is little harder. But, to me it seems OK as probably I am comparing it with my other drive Thar.

Originally Posted by vigsom (Post 3890892)
Having owned a 2003 H4 Automatic ...

Curious, what is the FE that you get in the AT ?

Looking at this thread & the updates, I sometimes feel I could have got one of these or the Honda City AT. However, the requirement of a small car made me for the A-Star AT.

I actually wanted to follow the rules of giving an update, but unfortunately never thought the update is going to be too long and hence delayed it. I am not going to cut a long story short, going to give a long story :)

It was great fun and enjoyment with my Toyota Corolla until the day of December 1st in Chennai.

December 1st evening at around 10.00 p.m., most of my neighbours assembled in our stilt level car park to check the water levels and talk about the pouring rains. It was ankle deep in our car park and we wisely sealed our exhausts with taught plastic covers and went to sleep and then it happened :Shockked:

At around 2.30 a.m. started hearing various alarms from the car park and I peeped out from my 1st floor balcony. I could see the row of cars in the opposite block in that time of the night with their lights blinking. Oh my god ! the water has risen to the level of Window sils and most of the cars were alarmed !

I got down to my lobby level and there was 3.5 feet of water and slowly waded through the water with a torch to find the status of my vehicles.

Only a small portion of the handle bar was seen on my Honda Activa
Speedo was visible in my Thunderbird
Up to the metal fender on my Thar
Up to window on my Corolla

I threw some light inside the windows and the entire car was full of water. In my Jeep it has covered the floor by 4 inches. Went back home with a heavy heart and convinced myself that it will settle down.

On December 3rd morning, the water completely receded, but I did not go near my cars as I had community work of getting the EB meters blown dry, getting the apartments connected, working with the maintenance staff to get the Pneumatic pumps and its panels working etc., (ex-secretary). On the 4th morning, I did the following (right or wrong, i do not know)

Inserted Key for Thunderbird, speedo light came on, Kicked it and IT STARTED. Wow. Unbelievable. I ran it for a couple of minutes and switched it off for a good look later.

Next in order was Activa - I did not touch this as there was a 2 wheeler mechanic already doing rounds in the complex and repairing them for Rs. 400 flat. I gave it to him and he got it ready in 30 minutes. I did the Filter changes little later

Then, I thought I should check our my Thar - Opened the bonnet and looked for the water level. Fortunately Air Filters, Ignition, Fuses etc., were safe. Removed the dip stick and there were no traces of any water. Then, I boldly put the key in the slot and did the first turn and all the warning lights lit as usual. Then, without any second thoughts, I just cranked it -- you know what, it Started ! Absolutely no difference except that the A/C compressor was constantly ON and the pipe was getting frozen. I quickly went under the vehicle, looked for any discrepancies and applied WD40 in vantage points like hand brake etc., etc., and ran it for the day. The A/C stuff cleared itself off on its own. Later had it briefly check with Mahindra and they said, it is fine and we can handle any stuff in the next service due as everything looks normal.

Now, comes the COROLLA for Dec 5th :

Finally I started working on the Corolla by removing water using mugs, squeezing it using sponges etc., I did not try any trick with this Vehicle. By noon time, a neighbour brought a Mechanic to test his car and by chance, he checked mine as well. He looked at the engine bay and removed the dip stick and there was No Water. As usual, he said, Sir, this seems to have lesser problems and I can tow it now and probably shall return it in the evening. Wow, that was a quick and satisfying assurance. I got it towed and went along with him.

At the garage, they removed the spark plugs, ignition coils and hand cranked it and there was no water or anything in the engine. It was clean. Then he cranked it normally, but there was No Sparks in the plugs. There, things were getting little complicated.

He started removing the dash board and removed the Fuse/relay integration unit and the ECM - the ECM was gone ! Probably on a 12 year old, there was this usual corrosion and flood added, many links were broken, the IC was burnt (probably due to active battery shorted during the water level rise). Then the wait started.

He tried some old ECM from Pudupet, but it did not work. Then, in the meantime, he cleaned up the wiring harness, adapters etc., and he ordered for a ECM replacement from a specialist. The specialist gave back an ECM configured for my car with all the Immobiliser and Security controls programmed. It took 10 days to get this done.

Once we received it, carefully checked the connectivity for Fuel Pump, Ignition Coil and other basic stuff and attached the ECM, cranked it - Power was coming through, but only upto Starter Motor.

Then, removed the starter motor and the whole thing was Jammed including the Bendex. Quickly they dismantled the motor, cleaned everything, applied necessary Oil and Grease and tested it - It started working flawlessly.

Fixed it back, Changed the Oil, Oil filter and cranked, Voila ! it started and you should see the much awaited relief in my face.

Tested the other connections - Headlights, Horns, Indicators, Washer Wiper, parking lights - All were working perfectly fine. I guess the water did not touch these Wiper and Light stocks. The power steering was behaving normally. There was a problem with the A/C controls, it was not working. We checked the control touch panel and its PCB and found few capacitors loose. Took it to a TV technician and got all those 5 capacitors changed, cleaned the board thoroughly, dried and put it back and the A/C came back to life.

He took the next two days to put back the dash board and also clean the Radiator Fan motor. The alternator was working fine and charging correctly.

My new double DIN audio system was working perfect as I think it escaped the water level. You know something - the paper cone door speakers were soaked in water for 1 full day and after the natural drying of 20 days, it was sounding immaculate. It atleast gives me pleasure that I do not need to work on these things now.

Did a good test drive and I did not want to leave the car for more and I said, I will first take it back, get the interiors checked and bring it back for any problems.

Straight away, I took the car to VV Car Decor and they removed all the seats, removed the carpet carefully and gave it back to me for cleaning. I brought them home and started the work of cleaning and drying :

Carpet completely washed with Surf and good amount of water. All the noise reducing sponges removed from the carpet. It nicely dried in 2 days time.

The seat covers were pulled to max (Skin fit) and dried for 4 days in the roof top terrace.

Removed all the plastic panels (A,B,C pillars, Door trims, Door panels) and completely washed inside out.

Went and bought the same noise dampening material from Pycrofts road, using the old sponge template, cut the new one, used Rubber Adhesive and pasted it back to the carpets and doors.

During this exercise, I had the car one day of bare metal to say ! Completely washed the car's floor, drained all the water through drain holes, applied grease wherever it is required.

Put back all the dried items including the seats and back to VV car decor. He took 4 hours to nicely put them back and the car looked as if it was bought today (atleast the interiors).

In the course of floods, my headlights were full of water and I used this chance to buy 2 new DEPO headlight dooms from GP road and fixed them.

Costing so far :

For the third party garage work which includes : Towing, Cleaning of the wiring, ECM replace and reconfigure, A/C board work, Starter Motor service, Radiator Fan service, Dash board removal and replacement and other work they did - Rs. 44000
New Headlights - Rs. 4800
Removal of Interiors and refitting - Rs. 2000

Pending issues :

Check Engine light - error code for 02 sensor
Central locking not working
Driver Side Power Window not working

Now it was time to take it to Toyota for a Check up and replacing 02 sensor.

Toyota replaced it with a new sensor, but still same error code. They suspect some little wiring problem on this and I need to check it out. They are very busy and I think sincerely they are unable to spend time in issue where it required diagnosing. I am OK with that and will wait for some time.

Since I had been to Toyota, I thought I would replace the pending issues, which were non-flood related.

Changed the rear right Shock Absorber
Changed both the rear brake discs (below the thickness tolerances)
Skimmed the front brake discs
Replaced all the spark plugs
Changed the Engine Oil and Oil Filter
Checked and corrected the wiring harnesses

Spent approx Rs. 20000 for all this plus a full inspection and water wash etc.,

I have decided to do the following :

Central Locking - Instead of diagnosing and replacing the actuator from Toyota, I would go for an Auto Cop or something which is a remote central locking. This would work out much cheaper with more features. Only thing, I won't be able to use THAT particular switch in the right door panel to lock the car.

Power Window front right - Similarly I will change the motor of this window and make it work.

The car is back in shape and I will get the other small niggles corrected in the due course as it runs beautifully as usual.

New India Assurance Offered me a Cash Loss option of Rs. 1.20 Lakhs for this car and I took it by taking a huge risk and chance. In this option, there are no bills, no receipts asked, it is purely based on a rough estimate and their offer - if we like it we can take it or else, we can go some other route like repair and claim or total loss etc., I WANTED this car back and hence never thought of totalling it. As you can see, so far, fortunately for me, I could get some old pending repairs also done using this money and left with some more. But, I am sure, I will have more expenses coming shortly where I need to spend this buffer, but I will be happy if it all ends within what the insurance has given me.

I know it is quite a long post, but thought of sharing my journey over this. But, one thing for sure - This situation has given me a fantastic opportunity to enrich my knowledge on this car and in general about automobile as I literally spent several hours in the garage looking at my car and the work done on other flood affected cars. Man, it is complex, but logical and very interesting.

Let me know of any question and suggestions/comments.

Swami

^^ Replacement of the right door power window motor may not be necessary ; servicing the motor and the switch should suffice.

Please check the owners manual if there is a fuse dedicated for this one power window motor only.If yes,please check that too.

Originally Posted by swami69 (Post 3897092)

Power Window front right - Similarly I will change the motor of this window and make it work.

Soon after I got my Corolla, the power window on front right started giving me trouble. It use to stop working and again automatically would work after few hours. Got it checked at Toyota and they said motor is to be replaced.

I didn't wanted to spend money on changing the motor, and in the meanwhile my dad got hold of one local garage person who was referred by a known cab driver who owns Etios. My dad took the car to him and it seems he opened and worked on the door assembly 3 to 4 times to make it work and glad to say he did it. It costed 500 Rs. Actually I don't know what work he did, since I was not present. He also mentioned that this may work for another year and if problem pops up I may have to change motor. Still fine with that.

So, suggest you to get this checked with any local garage who is trust worthy, before you decide on spending motor.

KK

Dear Swami Ji, My Heartiest Well Wishes and Congratulations for the beautiful job done on all your pet vehicles, including the Toyota. It takes immense patience, time (time is money, right !), deep pockets and a real love and affection to retrieve a 'near dead'; comatose patient, back to on its running shoes. And which you indeed did, in record time, all the more praiseworthy.

I would be curious to know, frankly speaking, all the readers of this post would, too like to know, the following:

1. Why did the famed toyota, croaked like this. Had to be ripped to the bone, while the jeep, enfield, activa, started with one crank.

a. Was it because of its age. ( same type of water in all parts, to all parts, in all vehicles (if immersed to same height, subjected to same duration of time) would, do same extent of damage . Right. Please enlighten, if the vehicles parked in your area suffered the same consequences, like the toyota.

b. Any idea if similar aged vehicles, suffered same fate, as yours, in chennai. Just for knowledge.

c. Would, de-linking the earthing; would have saved the day.

d. Since there was no rusting, where did the water entered into the cabin. The floor, the the door rubber gasket failed, or the widow sill, or the wind shield gasket, failed. I will assume, all floor drains were plugged.

e. would taking away of all the fuse, would have served any purpose, with respect to shorting and other electrical malfunctioning.

f. I was advised to use warm, oil and moisture free compressed air to clean all connection, before, even connecting the keys and battery. And it had worked. My vehicle was submerged in the basement, for 5 days, in the parking, during a sudden rain, which had surprised the whole of jaipur (i think it was 2004).

my was a maruti 800, 1993 model with a/c. Since the building was under construction, a lot of mud and filth had entered the vehicle.

All the 15 or odd vehicles, were towed to the nearby factory compound of our colleagues friend, where pressurized air as well as water was available. we had created a make shift MS ramp made up of MS angles and RE-bar, (taken from the construction site, and free of cost, as the same would be, returned, after the work).

A 4 ' feet high ramp was created, on the site, next to the boundary wall drain. All vehicles were pulled and pushed to the ramp, after welding a pulley 4'6" above the ground, between the two legs of the ramp. This reduced the effort of pulling and pushing the suv's.

After taking out all the indoor fixtures and fitting including the speakers, seats, window pads etc, and the taking out the fuses, battery, head light casings, all the vehicles were thoroughly washed, inside out, with high pressure water. immediately after the wet wash, a prolong dry warm air was used to dry the underside, including engine bay. Since we had called the road side mechanics and electricians to supervise the effort, i had asked the electricians to loosen the joints and connections, so as to completely dry all the connections and electrical couplings. Hope i am able to explain the process clearly, and the same understood by fellow brethren.

After about 20 minutes of dry air / vehicle (approx) the vehicle would be brought down the ramp, and made to park in rows with bonnet, dickey, and ll the 4/5 doors ajar, for complete sun / air ventilation and ease of working.

after another round of dry clothe wiping of all points, contacts, and dry air, this time from, house vacuum cleaner :); we set upon, putting all the jig saw puzzle (for us !) in place. Lastly The terminals of the battery were vaselineized, the keys were put, and engines were cranked.

We had decided, to replace, air, filter, diesel/ petrol, oil filter en-masse.

The tow in the incline of the ramp had taken out whatever water was there in the exhaust.

Plus, all the exhaust were open from the engine connection, and new gaskets were put.

All radiator water cleaned and changed (though not advised by the mechanic.; but out of mental block, like ganga snnan or shuddhi karan!:))

We had called the factory workers to clean the seat upholsteries with surf and then ezee. Then a dry clean guy was called to put perfume, and other stain remover. Again a ganga snan type shuddhi karan !

Except a zen, a honda city 1st gen, and a indica, all had started and never faced any problems, in the coming months, as we all were colleagues and knew each other for next 2-3 years.

The total cost was around 25-30k for the 15 or odd vehicle, (including the dry cleaning guy). The consumables were bought and paid separately. Though the engine oil was unanimously, selected as Castrol, and bought in 20 litre cans and paid according to consumption !

Man, was it fun, and cheap. we all were scared shit. thinking of ruining our monthly house hold budgets, children school fees, insurance claims, total loss, daily mode of conveyance to the office and home, the school pick ups of kids, the hospital / office drops of the missus, etc, etc.

Since I had supervised the 1st car, and mine had started, without any hiccups; i had seldom seen anywhere in the whole world, so many cheering and smiling faces, on starting of other person's vehicle !

Actually, my childhood days of washing and caring (source of weekly pocket money) of my various maternal and paternal uncle's vicky moped ! priya scooters, yezdi, jawas, and then later, graduating to padminis, ambys, jeep, 800; had taught me to cover anything and everything, with polythene bag, all the electrical points and connections; during any engine area, washing !

The Main being - the induction coil, plugs in the mopeds/scooter/motorcycles and the same in cars, those being ----------- the distributor, the contact breaker, the fuse box clipped to the fire wall, the battery points, the relay, the solenoid, the plugs. And any and all wire joints, including headlight / parking/ side indicator etc; All THESE needed to be cleaned with dry clothes before and after a dry air wash !

Hope i had been able to give an account of as to how to start an operation cleanup, after each and every immersion of our beloved vehicle in water; which is quite frequently in Kolkata, like the annual immersion of goddesses durga, kali, jaga-dhatri, saraswati, vishwakarma, karthik and of-course lord ganesha. Wew ! thats uite a number of total immersion per annum.

Hope that was helpful.

dr. se

Originally Posted by dr. sen (Post 3897263)
Dear Swami Ji, My Heartiest Well Wishes and Congratulations for the beautiful job done on all your pet vehicles, including the Toyota. It takes immense patience, time (time is money, right !), deep pockets and a real love and affection to retrieve a 'near dead'; comatose patient, back to on its running shoes. And which you indeed did, in record time, all the more praiseworthy.

I would be curious to know, frankly speaking, all the readers of this post would, too like to know, the following:

1. Why did the famed toyota, croaked like this. Had to be ripped to the bone, while the jeep, enfield, activa, started with one crank.

I would be very happy to share my thoughts on this.

Enfield - This was a Surprise Surprise. This was the only 2 wheeled vehicle in the whole complex of 172 apartments started with just one kick. I am not exagerrating. It was just one kick. The battery never drained and the self motor kicked in after few kms of ride.. I do not know what to say, logically it should have given problems.

Activa - Here the mechanic cleaned up few parts and made it to work. Then I changed the Air Filter.

Jeep - I think most of the electronics were above water in this case and it started in first crank.

Toyota - Even if you see here, it was all a case of Electronics failure in this car. The main one was ECM, then the A/C control board. Then we had couple of electricals like Starter Motor, Raidator fan which did not work after 20 days of halt at the garage. But, when he cranked the first day, starter motor did its job, but the spark plug did not due to the ECM failure. But, the whole stripping was done for cleaning and refurbishing purposes of the interiors. The mechanical components did not have much problems or atleast not noticed until today after few checks at Toyota. So, I would say the Corolla maintained it balance but unfortunately it gave electronics issue.

a. Was it because of its age. ( same type of water in all parts, to all parts, in all vehicles (if immersed to same height, subjected to same duration of time) would, do same extent of damage . Right. Please enlighten, if the vehicles parked in your area suffered the same consequences, like the toyota.

Many people have gone in for total loss. After 45 days, I do not see any vehicle which has gone to ASS has come back repaired expect for one Renault Duster which had little problems. The few vehicles which came back repaired were done at similar Third party garages and had similar ECM, PCM, Throttle sensor issues. Nothing big mechanically except for Engine drain and clean up. So, I would say they all had similar problems and moreover all of them had water in their engine, but my Corolla did not.

b. Any idea if similar aged vehicles, suffered same fate, as yours, in chennai. Just for knowledge.

Not sure about it as I do not still believe it has got anything to do with age unless the quality originally is so poor. When I stripped the interiors of my Corolla completely and scanned the whole stuff, I could not see a single rust spot either due to this flood or due to its age. It was looking fantastic with all its originality. Remember, I stripped the interiors after 20 days with soaked carpet and other stuff, but still nothing happened. Only the support bar inside the dash board had rust which was the case even my cousins new Punto.

c. Would, de-linking the earthing; would have saved the day.

It would have, probably. Because as I learnt, due to the security system, the voltage is active always in the car. So, when the battery terminals got levelled with water, few things would have shorted. I should have removed the whole battery OUT of the car and not just the -ve terminal which could have saved.

d. Since there was no rusting, where did the water entered into the cabin. The floor, the the door rubber gasket failed, or the widow sill, or the wind shield gasket, failed. I will assume, all floor drains were plugged.

Once the water level increases above the floor level, I think it just enters from the engine compartment through fire wall, Steering joints, Pedal holes etc., and I am sure the cabin is no way water proof. All the cars had water inside including BMWs and Audis.

e. would taking away of all the fuse, would have served any purpose, with respect to shorting and other electrical malfunctioning.

Probably yes as Battery. This could have saved my ECM.

dr. se

I have inserted my replies above.

Doctor Sahab,

Once the water level rises, there is no way one can prevent water from getting into the car.

Having restored a flood affected car in 1998 and several ECMs in 2006, here are my views in line.

I appreciate Swami's untiring efforts in bringing his loved one back to life.

Originally Posted by dr. sen (Post 3897263)

1. Why did the famed toyota, croaked like this. Had to be ripped to the bone, while the jeep, enfield, activa, started with one crank - it is always important to power off all electricals before water rises and power on ONLY after electeicals and electronics are serviced.Electronics must be cleaned with isopropyl alcohol and dried before powering on.

c. Would, de-linking the earthing; would have saved the day. Yes .Although a painstaking job, every single electrical and electronic component of the car(motors ,ECM,BCM,switches,transponder,etc. would have sprung back to life if powered on only after cleaning.It would have taken 3-4 weeks but would have been error free. It is always better to remove the battery because water over the level of the battery can also contaminate the electrolyte by ingressing through battery vents.I faced this problem in 1998.

e. would taking away of all the fuse, would have served any purpose, with respect to shorting and other electrical malfunctioning. Of course yes

f. I was advised to use warm, oil and moisture free compressed air to clean all connection, before, even connecting the keys and battery. And it had worked. My vehicle was submerged in the basement, for 5 days, in the parking, during a sudden rain, which had surprised the whole of jaipur (i think it was 2004). Isopropyl alcohol is the best , Dada

We had decided, to replace, air, filter, diesel/ petrol, oil filter en-masse. Absolutely

Plus, all the exhaust were open from the engine connection, and new gaskets were put. Absolutely right

The total cost was around 25-30k for the 15 or odd vehicle, (including the dry cleaning guy). ! I spent just Rs.3500 for starter and alternator servicing , the air filter,oil filter,flushing oil , superior engine oil,headlamp assembly pair,clutch and clutch replacement labour to restore my flood affected Premier Padmini in 1998.This was an a.c. car with electronics in the console plus a stereo too. Needless to mention, I saved approx Rs.1000 since I restored the car myself.

like the annual immersion of goddesses durga, kali, jaga-dhatri, saraswati, vishwakarma, karthik and of-course lord ganesha. Wew ! thats uite a number of total immersion per annum. :)

Swamy, hat's off to your dedication in bringing this machine back to its working condition. I hope it serves you well in coming years.

Regarding power window a simple cleaning/greasing job should help as it did for my corolla.

My 2003 corolla is having some suspension noise from up front. Got it checked today and look's like front suspension needs overhaul.

Contacted PitStop.In who are sending mechanic for overall inspection.

Requesting help if members have details of Few trusted FNG where this work can be done .

Hi Swami69. How is your car doing after the repairs? Reading your thread is making me miss my Corolla. I handed her over to the new owner on the 1st of this month. Already getting withdrawals :uncontrol.

I need some help. The front suspension noise has increased and also steering has become pretty hard, so took car to ASS.

I was handed over a bill of 33k with these major replacements

1. Front LH Shock Absorber
2. Lower Arm replacements - Both

I am fine with replacing shock absorber. I had got it opened and noticed that that piston was moving quickly once pressed.

However both lower arms are expensive costing 10k each. I am attaching few pics. Should i get both replaced right now ?

Team - has anyone got input on lower arm replacement in Corolla. I called us ASS just now and got confirmation that rubber bush part is simply not available and whole of lower arm needs to be replaced.

Originally Posted by vivek.ks (Post 3939642)
Team - has anyone got input on lower arm replacement in Corolla. I called us ASS just now and got confirmation that rubber bush part is simply not available and whole of lower arm needs to be replaced.

Yes that's true you can't just replace the bush you need to replace the entire lower arm.
Even for my innova the same applies. My bush had gone bust at 1,20,000km. The ASC quoted 9,000 for each arm. The car was making a rickety sound like a metallic clank while going over potholes and turning. The ASC guys applied oil to lubricate the bushes at no cost and the issue was fixed. Again at 1,50,000 the same issue cropped up, this time I myself applied some oil on the bushes and the noise went away. Now whenever the car does 1,000km in 2-3 days the noise comes back and I use the same remedy. There is no effect on handling or comfort whatsoever. My car is now at 1,92,000 km.