Old 12th November 2015, 19:10   #1

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!

Prologue

My decision to purchase a car wasn't out of impulse, but after months of discussions, negotiations and contemplation. However, there was one thing that arrived on impulse. It was to go for the Ford Ecosport. No doubts about that. And boy, I haven't repented that decision ever since.

Chapter 1

Let's go back a while. December 2014. I had come to Delhi after getting some much needed offs from my engineering classes. My brother stays here, so yeah, Delhi in winters is fine by me. I've spent 16 years of my existence (that includes a majority of my childhood and complete teenage) in a place where people smirk at you if you tell them 7 degrees Celsius is 'cold'. Two days into it, I was bored to my limits. My brother senses it and a sudden plan to visit Bhangarh (Asia's most haunted place) is made. What better than taking a Ford Ecosport from Zoom Car?

That was when I had my first tryst with the Ecosport. It drove like a charm, had a very comfortable driving position for a person of my dimensions (I'm 6'4") and had a host of decent features for it's price. Our journey was brilliant and we returned home with smiles as wide as the Ecosport's front grill. It had really, really impressed us.

1a. The first Ecosport experience.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-1.jpg

1b. Returning the car half-heartedly.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-2.jpg

That was that. We all got busy with our lives. Biking occupies my mind. Brother gets busy with his stuff. Parents with theirs. A short lived love story comes to an end.

Chapter 2

Come June 2015. The Government of India becomes my brother's new employer. His trusted old FZ-16 that he belted during his college days is packed off to him. The government provided vehicle would reach him home in thrice the time the Yamaha would take.

Suddenly the angel appears on my Maa's shoulders.
She tells me - "It's time."
Me - "Already? Let the man enjoy his service and salary."
Maa - "I'm talking about a Car."
Me - "Oh."

You see, being the youngest in the family has it's own pros and cons. The primary con being that if you do not do what is expected of you, you're taunted with it for the rest of the life.
So being a obedient son and a doting younger brother, I open my beloved Team BHP, the "Indian Car Scene" thread and try to make sense of what is being talked about. Wouldn't hate to admit that I actually told my brother to go for a Superbike. (Partially because I would ride it 60% of the time. Ha!)
But that plan was quickly shelved in order to avoid Maa's bangles breaking on my skin.

No superbike. It HAS to be a car.

Chapter 3

Scrolling down the 'Indian Car Scene' posts, I found out that in our budget and requirements, there wouldn't be much options. My parents wanted comfort with luggage space so that whenever they came to Delhi, my brother would be lured into transporting them around. My brother, on the other hand, wanted a good engine, with reliability and good looks - something that could transport everyone (but parents!) around.

After scratching my head immeasurable times and nearly banging my skull open due to the frustration of changing demands, my short-list ended up with this look :

3a. The 'Short'-list.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-3.jpg

1. VW Polo GT TSI :

It was a hatchcback. If I were to sit behind, my head would perhaps rip the roof apart. My brother was sold to the engine but not the egronomics. Would love to own it only if had some more passenger and luggage space. Brilliant, brilliant car.

2. Ford Ecosport :

Compact. Spacious. Refined 91PS Engine (back then!). Really neat features for it's price. Just looked blind from the front (Non-DRL version mind you!).

3. Mahindra TUV :

When I heard it was a Mini XUV, I was excited to see it.
And when I did, I wished I could unsee it.

Was very disappointed by this car. Mahindra, you can do way better!

4. Hyundai Creta :

Although it looked really cool, I wasn't enamoured by it. To start with, it was above our budget. Features were not as expected. Didn't exactly send tongues wagging be it enthusiasts or journalists. Hyundai, after all.

5. Mahindra Thar :

The mere thought of me sitting shotgun in a car with limited leg space and of my parents sitting sideways facing each other sent chills down my spine. Shelved, immediately.

Personally, I love this car. THE perfect car for a bachelor.

6. Mahindra Scorpio :

Had enough of the Scorpio to own it anymore. A fantastic vehicle, no doubt, but not exactly our requirement. Shall be in my garage in the near future.

And that was it. The 'choice' had to be made.
Soon.

Chapter 4

While showing the Google Image printouts of all the vehicles to my parents, they seemed to love the Ecosport the most, but had reservations about the rear comfort. My brother was sold on it and so was I. Nevertheless, me being the most automobile literate person in our family of 4, the decision was left to me.

Ford Ecosport 1.5 (Diesel). Titanium. Done, sir.

Called up all the showrooms in Delhi, Gurgaon and Noida out of excitement to get quotations. Only to repent. They made life miserable for me for the next 1 month. They sent texts at unearthly hours. Why wouldn't they? They had old stock to clear. The new facelifted version was coming in and they slyly didn't tell me about it. None of them. Here again, TeamBHP turned out to be my saviour.

The decision was put on hold. Just a few months more. Let the new one come!

Life went back to normal. Excitement died down. Probably my brother was cursing me for sending him back to the FZ-16 which was already on life support.

We were waiting. For the right time.

Chapter 5

The right time came when I learnt I'm heading to Delhi. Permanently.

The news of the facelifted Ecosport was gathering more wind as days passed. Saw the scoop photos. Didn't exactly send jitters. Then, I saw the one with DRLs and in a different paint shade. There, that did it. Sent me into a trip, just as I had expected it to.

After initial dissent, BLACK was the unanimous choice from the 4 of us. Nothing beats Black when it comes to class, graciousness and muscle.

Called up Noida Ford first. They sent me their quotation. Confirmed dates for a demo drive and advanced discussions. Dad flew in specifically for this. Yes, he was as eager and keen as me.

Noida Ford isn't exactly a showroom. It's a warehouse built on top of a dilapidated service center. There was no signboard guiding us to the showroom and no display car on the window panes. Well, how were we to know if it indeed was a showroom?

Anyway, reached the place somehow. Couple of cars on display. The new Figo appealed visually the most to me. Looked really good.

The conversation with me and the salesman can be summed up as follows :

Me - Hi. I had a chat with you on the phone. I am looking for the 1.5 Diesel Titanium.
SA - Sir, old model or new model?
Me - New.
SA - Sir, take the old one. I can get you Rs. 60k worth of discounts.
Me - No. I prefer the new one.
SA - Colour, Sir?
Me - Black.
SA - Sir, in Black we have old model Titanium. New model Titanium in Black will take a month. We have a Black Titanium Plus, Sir. Take that.
Me - No. I want ONLY the Titanium. I'm not paying a lakh more for fancy unnecessary features.
SA - Sir, then only option for you is to go for old model or wait.

Old trick, mate.

My father intervened and demanded a demo. Me and my brother went for it. Out came a horribly maintained 91PS Ecosport Trend (No Titanium for TD, apparently). Grunting and Panting, the car managed to give us an embarassment free test ride of barely 2 kilometres.

We took the quotations from Noida Ford in paper. The difference between the on road prices of Noida and Delhi was of 18k! The price was 'lesser' in Noida.

Little did we know we were being conned. In a very, very smart way.

Chapter 6

The very evening me and Dad headed to Delhi Ford in Safdarjung. Our Ford experience so far had been an ABSOLUTE DISASTER.

Noida Ford wasn't even fit to wipe the glass doors of Delhi Ford, if you ask me. The difference in behaviour and approach was gigantic, pleasant and wonderful.

The 1.5 (D) Titanium (NEW MODEL) was immediately brought out for a test ride. A brand new car with barely 300kms, this. Took it for a detailed test ride and immediately felt the difference that 10PS can make. Beautiful features, including the keyless entry and keyless start. Was bowled over, again.

Here's the fun part.

Noida Ford tried to scam us by giving us a wrongly printed quotation of Delhi Ecosport prices on the opposite page of their own quotation. As I said earlier, the difference of the two on road prices was 18k. It wasn't.

In fact, the on road price in Delhi was CHEAPER than that of Noida and not expensive as the Noida guys tried to potray. That did it. Noida Ford was blacklisted by me.

The finances were discussed. We went with HDFC which offered a good 90%/7 year deal considering my brother's sarkari salary. We were satisfied with everything. The deal was struck.

The Black Ecosport 1.5 (D) Titanium was to be delivered on 9th November, 2015 on the wonderful occasion of Dhanteras - a day of new purchases for Hindus all around the world.

Although the showroom guys demanded lots of papers from our end and eventually made me travel to and fro from the showroom a couple of times, it all proved to be worthwhile.

I noticed that their insurance and handling charges were very inflated and immediately demanded they be brought down. To my surprise, the on road price was brought down by 48k and an extra year of warranty added.

A new acquisition was coming in. Very, very soon.

Chapter 7

The PDI was scheduled on 8th of November, 2015. It was a bright chilly Sunday when I walked into Delhi Ford and was promptly escorted by my Assistant Sales Guy to the yard which was 8 kms away. A Ford Aspire (Automatic) Test Drive vehicle was the transport provided to me.

Reached the yard. Armed with the Team BHP PDI checklist and VIN decoder, I conducted the PDI. Took me a total of 1 hour. The sales guy and yard manager didn't even scowl to the numerous demands I put in. Took the car for a 3 km demo drive as well.

7a. After completing the PDI.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-4.jpg

Perfecto.

The 9th of November was a hectic day. Reached the showroom gasping for breath in a self driven Voler Car XUV 5OO. While the family went inside the showroom excitement, I scourged for a parking spot and found one around 800 metres away from the showroom.

7b. Being readied for delivery.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-dsc00660.jpg

Everyone inside the showroom seemed to be running here and there. Dhanteras day. 56 scheduled deliveries. It was understandable.

Yet, in spite of their busy schedule and chaos, we were attended to well. The balance payment was made and registration of the vehicle immediately done. The number came up instantly and thankfully it was a number that all of us loved.

The showroom hierarchy came out for the delivery ceremony. The car was polished until it was gleaming, ribbons and garlands were put and people clapped as the key was handed to us. A big packet of chocolate cookies and a bouquet followed with many cameras facing us. Yes, it was a beautiful moment.

7c. All decked up and ready to roll.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-5.jpg

7d. After Maa completed her Puja.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-6.jpg

Chapter 8

The Experience So Far :

Complete booking & delivery experience with the dealership.

While Noida Ford made a mess out of it, Delhi Ford was way more customer friendly and efficient. Their SAs Mr. Gaurav and Mr. Yashwant handled the issue perfectly and ensure all of my requests were entertained. The vehicle was available in their yard from the very first day but we had to postpone the delivery to the said date for obvious reasons. The negotiation to bring down the On Road Price was fruitful too and they gladly struck out whatever I thought was inflated. Brilliant service, this.

The delivery experience was wonderful. As I said earlier, the entire showroom hierarchy, right from the cleaners to the GM had come down and ensured we got a beautiful moment to cherish. There were six people attending to the car prior to delivery. That says enough about Delhi Ford's commitment to it's customers.

The only downside here was that they hadn't installed the rear bumper and scuff plates as I had requested them to do so prior to delivery. They even took the payment of it. On realising that in that chaos they forgot to do so, they profusely apologised and asked me to come over on coming Monday.

Extended warranties & service packages.

The warranty was extended by a year as a offer by Ford India on Dhanteras (apparently!). The total warranty now stands at 3 years. The first service is scheduled for 2500kms or 3 months, whichever earlier. Oil Change shall be at 12 months from date of purchase.

Why 1.5 Diesel (Titanium)?

To be honest, me and my brother have grown up driving Diesel cars on hilly terrains where the fog wouldn't allow you to even see the bonnet properly. We know the Torque that Diesel engines offer very well. Another thing was that it would be pretty much economical for us as well. Hence, Diesel it was.

While initially I thought that Titanium+ was our vehicle, I brought it down to Titanium. The SA himself said it's wiser to go for Titanium and so did every Ecosport owner I know. It makes no sense to pay a lakh more for 4 fancy features that would barely make a difference for me.

Safety & related equipment.

The car comes with ABS + EBD + ECS (any many other safety gizmos). It also has driver and passenger airbags. Emergency assist is a boon here. There's an on-board speed controller as well. The reverse parking sensor is the most accurate I've ever seen in a car.

Number of kms at the time of writing my review.

The car was delivered with 20kms on the odo. As of now, the odo shows 780 kms.

Usage?

The car is to be used by my brother for his to and fro to office, which basically is around 30 kms a day. I expect a slightly higher usage on weekends. Also, it shall serve as the backup car during some of weekend long rides on my beloved Austrian.

Exterior Styling and Design.

The exterior styling is trendy and urbane. I admit it doesn't have the brute look from the front, but the rear compensates for it. I feel this car has been engineered well, because of the interior space it offers as compared to it's size. The sideways look is pretty good as visible by the ground clearance. They just needed to sculpt the bonnet a tad better.

Overall build quality, fit & finish, paint quality and panel gaps.

The build quality is up to my satisfaction. There are some places that could have had better finishing. One such place is the one below the steering where you insert the key in normal cars. The dash seems to be finely laid out and the screen is readable as well (initially I though it was too small). Would have loved a larger screen, though. There are some subtle and not-so-detectable panel gaps in the front grill.

Wheels & tyres.

It would be prudent to note that the Ford Ecosport Titanium comes with 3 tyre brands. MRF, Good Year and Apollo. My car was initially fitted with MRFs. I made it abundantly clear to the SA that I would not accept the car with MRF tyres and hence got it changed to brand new Good Years (including spare wheel) prior to delivery at the yard itself. For some reason, I don't trust the MRFs much. Post changing of the tyre, the difference is ride quality is very, very visible.

Interior design & quality.

The interior is crafted of good quality. The fabric seats blend in really well with the overall character of the car. The leather wrapped steering wheel is soft and looks to be made of high quality. The mats provided by the showroom (free of cost) seem to be upmarket as well. The cabin is quiet, very quiet.

The place where the tow cable, wheel jack and tool kit is kept in the boot is very clever. They have finished that area of the car really well and have used some high quality stuff for the same. Shall be purchasing anti-theft wheel nuts soon.

Driving position, ergonomics, controls & MID.

It's commanding. You basically get a really good view of the road. Taking turns might prove to be nervous because the front left of the bonnet is like a blind spot. A flag post or marker here is a MUST, at least for me. I'm 6'4" and I found the driving position to me comfy and comfortable. Would hate to admit that while the driver's seat is full backed up, there is barely and space for the person sitting behind. That doesn't bother me, because we'll have a fully occupied car perhaps once in a blue moon.

The controls are driver friendly. I would have preferred the power button to be positioned a bit higher, but I'm now used to it. The headlamp toggle (to dipper and back) is flimsy and needs to be used gently.

Initially, I found the central locking confusing. But one read of the manual took away all the confusion. Just don't put your thumb on the sensors while locking/unlocking the car via the remote.

Visibility & size of mirrors.

Owning a motorcycle where the the RVMs have shown me either my paunch or my backpack most of the time, the mirrors of the Ecosport seemed like heaven. A really good view of the rear with controls of both the mirrors on the driver's console. Visibility is at a premium.

Would have like auto-folding mirrors, though.

Air conditioner cooling & effectiveness.

The AC is cools the cabin really, really fast. Although it makes a racket while on full throttle, you don't need to put the blower on full very often. Set the blower on half and the cabin shall be chilly even before you imagine.

The climate control is decent enough. I don't engage it much as I prefer to go completely manual when it comes to cooling the cabin.

Audio system & sound quality.

Mighty impressed by the Microsoft Sync that has worked like a charm so far. It's Ford's very own Siri, methinks.

However, I'm not as impressed by the sound system yet. For it's price, a better audio system could have been provided. I wouldn't say I'm disappointed by it, just a bit surprised. Oh, Volkswagen! What have you done to me?

Interior storage, practicality & boot space.

The glove box offers good space. Bottle holders could've been better positioned, I feel. Front armrest only for the driver. Could have had one for the front passenger as there's ample space.

Boot space is decent enough for two bachelors going out on a weekend drive. Family people might have reservations about this, but I reckon that as soon as the rear tray comes out, the boot can handle everyone's expectations.

Engine performance & driveability in the city.

Really, really good. The presence of torque is visible outright from the very beginning. Pulls up from the lower gears too (did it purposely once, only to check). While making a U-Turn it turned in a shorter span than I imagined it to. I was surprised, to say the least. Should be really fun to drive it in the hills. Very nimble to handle, in general. That's where this car gets it's 'Super Hatchback' tag.

To tackle speed breakers gently, shifting to the 2nd gear is a must. The turbo doesn't push you back on the seat and clicks in very elegantly. This car is anything but a rowdy.

For the record, I hit 100 kmph in the 5th gear at 2150 RPM. Brought back Harley Davidson memories. Heh! Haven't done the RPM-Speed comparison yet but shall do so in my next highway outing.

As I've mentioned, I found it very nimble and driver friendly in the city. However, there is absence of initial range power, so don't expect to do any wheel spin-offs at traffic signals. To be crude, it feels lethargic initially but the fun begins soon. Mid range kicks in earlier than expected.

The engine is quiter than you would expect it to and as a SUV aficionado, I find that disappointing. Does make some noise in 3 digits, though.

Engine performance & driveability on the highway.

I have taken it for a near 200km spin on the expressway and I fell in love further with this car. For it's dimensions, it abnormally stays planted even at high speeds and there is none of that infamous SUV 'vibration'. It doesn't grunt and pant to set the needle running and that's quite surprising, honestly.

Overtaking in 5th gear was much fun and it did the task effortlessly. No vibrations or funny noises. Incredible to drive on highways.

The steering is lighter than you'd expect and that on highways can take it's toll unless you're cent percent alert.

Gearshift & clutch.

I have driven SUVs for 98% of my driving career and hence the gearshift of the Ecosport seems comfortable for me. It clicks really well and the clutch is tolerant as well. The gear throw is short and slick and doesn't require much stretching of the hand. The arm rest has been positioned keeping this in mind as I found it extremely comfortable to rest my hand and shift at the same time.

The clutch however, is on the harder side. Expect a painful left leg on long drives if you're new to SUVs.

Suspension & ride quality.

The suspension means business. Minimal jerking if you keep the pressures right. In fact, it handled speed breakers and small potholes really well. Stays planted even at high speeds.

Personally, I felt a great difference between the Titanium (and +) models and the ones below it when it came to ride quality. This is to do with the difference in tyre and alloy sizes.
The models below Titanium get 15 inch alloys whereas the Titanium (and +) gets 16 inch alloys and bigger tyres.

Seats are kind of hard and rigif, though and I'm sure the ladies shall make a fuss about it.

Braking.

I feel the brakes could do with a tad more initial bite. They're good, but could have been better. I'm letting the brake pads wear down a bit to know the proper character of the brakes.

The handbrake has proven to be upto the task during the numerous times I have used it. No complaints in this department.

Additional comments on the engine.

It's not revv happy, to be honest. I find it more calmer than it's contemporaries. Does what's expected of it without any fuss.
And yes, it does speeds you think it wouldn't be capable of doing. The 204 nm of torque is monastic and performs it's duty at the right time with the right element of surprise.

The word I would use to describe the engine would be 'subtle'. For it's size and duties, the engine is well crafted and tuned, I feel and so far haven't been able to see any downside to it. Yes, the initial and the mid range could be a bit more peppier but this being Diesel, I give it the benefit of doubt.

Mileage so far has been excellent and upto my expectations. During the expressway run, it showed me a healthy 21 kmpl.

Overall NVH levels.

Engine is too quiet for a diesel. Barely any vibrations felt.
Weirdly, let down the front two windows 30% at say a speed of 80kmph and there's chaos inside. Found this intriguing. Never happened in any of my previous cars.

The cabin is quiet, very quiet and it takes a keen ear to observe that the Air Con has been left on. The tyres have remained silent so far.

Fuel efficiency : City and Highway.

Although I haven't checked it, but my estimate dictates that in city rides I get around 17 kmpl.

The highway ride yielded me 21 kmpl.

Steering.

It's light at high speeds. Precariously light, I feel. At slow speeds, it is as it should be, light and comfortable.

The steering controls are near impossible to operate when the the steering is in rotation, though.

Braking.

I wish they had a tad more initial bite. The pedal is perfect and invokes security. At times of hard braking, the ABS did it's job really well without making a racket.

I have contemplated to go for a brake upgrade, but considering the car is brand new, I have decided to give it some time before I fiddle with it. The brakes are good, but could have been way better.

Ground clearance.

The ground clearance is one of the beauties of the car. During my 1st Ecosport drive to the deserts, I had to navigate some slushy village roads and mini sand dunes, where the vehicle performed brilliantly. This is one area of the car I am completely satisfied with.

Would like to concisely list down some of my observations so far.

Pros :
  • Looks insanely beautiful in black. Eye turner.
  • DRLs. Love them.
  • Keyless entry and keyless ignition.
  • Cosy interiors.
  • Fabric quality is pretty good.
  • The Microsoft Sync is brilliant and works like a charm.
  • Reverse parking sensor is very accurate.
  • Decent and loud horn.
  • Loads of torque.

Cons :
  • Could have had better finishing in some areas, such as below the steering.
  • The audio system could have been way better. It's good, but not great. (Or maybe I drool over the one on the Polo too much?)
  • Gear shifting is NOT sedan/hatchback like (that's what most prospective owners perceive). I have driven mostly SUVs all my life and I felt at home. Can't say the same about others.
  • Uneven sloping of the bonnet invokes nervousness in negotiating tight turns. The front left of the hood is literally invisible for a tall person as me.
  • Brakes need more initial bite.
  • You need to start the car even if you have to roll a window down and that happens only when the clutch is engaged!
  • MRFs on this car are a strict no-no.
  • Auto-Folding mirrors missing. It's a must have in this retarded Delhi traffic.
  • Black needs maintenance. It requires a very patient and doting owner.

Price Breakup :

Ex-Showroom = Rs. 989844
Insurance = Rs. 19300
Registration = Rs. 91540
Handling Charges = Free Of Cost
Essential Kit = Free Of Cost

On Road Price = Rs. 1100684.

Upcoming Accessories :

1. Spare Wheel Cover.
2. Chrome Set.
3. HUD System.

3M Car Treatment :

Got the car pampered at 3M, Green Park a couple of days. The things done were dry wash of the body, polishing and waxing. The interior was vaccum cleaned and polished. I was very happy by their service, as the job was done in less than an hour by 8 efficient technicians. The total damage was around Rs. 1600. Car came out just as it was when it was delivered.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-22.jpg

Epilogue

I have found the vehicle to exceed my expectations in every department. I'm loving every bit of it and so is my brother, who has fallen in love with it. Rightly so, because it's something chosen by his younger brother.

Thank you for reading this long a post. It would be my pleasure to help out other prospective Ecosport owners.

Big credit and hug to bhpians outofthebox and Rachit.K.Dogra for helping me with my doubts, queries and giving me priceless suggestions regarding the vehicle. They have been of immense help.

Team BHP has also been of wonderful help to me. Be it the ownership threads or the the PDI Checklist, Team BHP has come to my rescue at times when I was short of people to enquire and seek advice from. This is a wonderful community and I feel privileged to be a part of it.

Would be really glad if existing Ecosport owners can share their tips on maintaining and running the car on all pistons.

I intend to go for Paint Protection Film treatment but have been warned by many as to avoid it. Any help in this regard shall be much appreciated.

God bless all!

Last edited by barcalad : 23rd November 2015 at 18:37.
barcalad is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 12th November 2015, 19:38   #2

Congrats on the black beauty! Wishing you loads of (s)miles!

The first 2015 Ford EcoSport ownership review. So did you find the "indianised" ergonomics better compared to previous gen EcoSport

Last edited by Shanksta : 12th November 2015 at 19:40.
Shanksta is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th November 2015, 22:03   #3

re: Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!

Congrats barcalad!! The car looks stunning. Don't forget to add pictures of the interiors. Look forward to seeing this in person.

Drive safe!

Sting
Sting is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 18th November 2015, 18:48   #4

INTERIOR PHOTOS

1. Overview of the centre console.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-1.jpg

2. The Display which shows a host of things. Also acts as de facto screen of your phone when connected.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-2.jpg

3. The main console. Subtle and well illuminated. Would've preferred the fuel gauge to have a better position.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-3.jpg

4. The steering mounted controls.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-4.jpg

5. Only driver side armrest provided. Didn't hinder me while changing gears at all. Note the adjuster.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-5.jpg

6. The gear stick. Made of fine material. Note the USB slot and AUX port below it, which I found way too low and backwards.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-6.jpg

7. Passenger side vanity mirror. The light is exclusively for this purpose and illuminates pretty well. Stays hidden behind the sun shades at all times.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-7.jpg

8. The front cabin light and Sync microphone. During the few on board calls I made, it worked really well with the opposite side reporting clear and audible voice.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-8.jpg

9. Sunglass storage area, the interiors of which seem to be of some good material. Well padded.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-9.jpg

10. My favourite feature of this car. Keyless ignition.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-10.jpg

11. Driver's side window controls. Driver's side window gets Auto mode.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-11.jpg

12. The lamp controls with the adjuster. Brilliant finishing.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-12.jpg

13. Driver's side mirror adjuster and speaker.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-13.jpg

14. The rear from the front seat. Thick C & D pillars make reversing difficult if you have a short height.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-14.jpg

15. Passenger side AC vent and Airbag.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-15.jpg

16. The sensor leads the way on the dashboard!

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-16.jpg

17. The AC controls. Fine sculpting with no flimsiness.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-17.jpg

18. The Sync badging just below the AC controls.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-18.jpg

19. Wouldn't expect this sort of finishing in such a car!

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-19.jpg

20. Contents of the glove box at delivery.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20.jpg

21. There's a tray inside the glove box in which the thinner documents fit in really well. Great place to keep fuel/toll bills during long drives.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-21.jpg

Last edited by barcalad : 22nd November 2015 at 16:57.
barcalad is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 22nd November 2015, 12:18   #5

EXTERIOR PHOTOS

1. Oh, those eyes!

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_060159.jpg

2. At the break of dawn.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_064200.jpg

3. The rear left profile.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_064217.jpg

4. Beautiful and Brute at the same time.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_064237.jpg

5. Here comes the sun.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_064312.jpg

6. The animal within.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_064407.jpg

7. Buenos Dias.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_085525.jpg

8. Can we hit the road already?

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_085621.jpg

9. The heart of the matter.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-img20151122wa0006.jpg

10. Signing off, for now.

Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!-20151122_085725.jpg
barcalad is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 09:40   #6

Re: Rarest of the rare - My Black Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi Titanium!

Thread moved from the Assembly Line to the Initial Ownership Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 24th November 2015, 18:27   #7

Congratulations, mate. A very well written detailed review - I think this is the first in TeamBHP for the face lifted model.

The black color looks stunning.

The rear bull bar - is it bolted on to the chassis? I have an inherent dislike to bull bars like these, so pardon me saying so, but the car looked better without the bull bar.

Any plans to upgrade the audio setup?

--Anoop
theexperthand is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 20:49   #8

Originally Posted by Shanksta View Post
Congrats on the black beauty! Wishing you loads of (s)miles!

The first 2015 Ford EcoSport ownership review. So did you find the "indianised" ergonomics better compared to previous gen EcoSport
Thanks a lot!

Well yes, there's a noticeable difference in the egronomics. I won't call them 'indianised' but rather 'upgraded'. Everything has been upto my satisfaction so far.

Originally Posted by Sting View Post
Congrats barcalad!! The car looks stunning. Don't forget to add pictures of the interiors. Look forward to seeing this in person.

Drive safe!

Sting
Thank you very much, S!

The interior pictures have been provided for your eyes to feast on!

As for seeing it in person, who knows, maybe one fine morning it might just be our backup car.

Originally Posted by theexperthand View Post
Congratulations, mate. A very well written detailed review - I think this is the first in TeamBHP for the face lifted model.

The black color looks stunning.

The rear bull bar - is it bolted on to the chassis? I have an inherent dislike to bull bars like these, so pardon me saying so, but the car looked better without the bull bar.

Any plans to upgrade the audio setup?

--Anoop
Thank you, Anoop. Yes, this is the first face lifted model on TeamBHP.

The bull bar has been installed just as would be in any other car. Nothing special in that. There's a short story behind me going for it.

10 minutes after taking delivery, I was at a traffic junction, when I saw a greenish Ecosport making a U-Turn when a Auto hit him bang on the spot which the bull bar would ideally cover. Hence, the decision to go for the bull bar just got boosted. Moreover, I feel it adds to the appeal of the car.

I won't be upgrading the audio setup anytime soon. Since this car is electronically dominated, I shall give it some time before I chance upon a decision. The stock ones are decent enough to give me the bass trips just when I want them. Ha!
barcalad is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th November 2015, 23:18   #9

Originally Posted by barcalad View Post
However, I'm not as impressed by the sound system yet. For it's price, a better audio system could have been provided. I wouldn't say I'm disappointed by it, just a bit surprised. Oh, Volkswagen! What have you done to me?
I am a bit surprised with that comment. I consider myself a bit of an audio enthusiast, not an audiophile.I loved the audio system, I felt it was one of the best OEM provided one at this price range. Anything specific you didnt like about it. Meanwhile congrats on the new car and have a great and safe drive.

PS: I own a petrol ecosport and guess what its also black
nitheeshsreeram is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th November 2015, 01:42   #10

Heartiest Congratulations brother..

The black with DRLs really looks class!!

I will be keeping an eye on your ownership thread as my dad is also looking to upgrade to ecosport from his fiesta diesel.

Wish you many many miles with her.

Rachit
Rachit.K.Dogra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th November 2015, 05:18   #11

Congratulations Barca!! That was a good review and I'm sure a lot of would be buyers would benefit from this. Nice choice of colour there man. The Black makes the Eco Sport look more menacing than it already is.
Instead of getting a 3M PPF, have you thought about getting a 3M Paint sealant done on the exteriors?
Snehal Sekhar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th November 2015, 11:27   #12

Originally Posted by nitheeshsreeram View Post
I am a bit surprised with that comment. I consider myself a bit of an audio enthusiast, not an audiophile.I loved the audio system, I felt it was one of the best OEM provided one at this price range. Anything specific you didnt like about it. Meanwhile congrats on the new car and have a great and safe drive.

PS: I own a petrol ecosport and guess what its also black
Thank you!

What I don't like is it's not as boomy or bassy as I expected. I blame the German OEMs here who have worked their magic on me, terribly.

The Titanium + gets a tweeter or two extra, and I guess that might make a difference.

Originally Posted by Rachit.K.Dogra View Post
Heartiest Congratulations brother..

The black with DRLs really looks class!!

I will be keeping an eye on your ownership thread as my dad is also looking to upgrade to ecosport from his fiesta diesel.

Wish you many many miles with her.

Rachit
Thank you, Rachit bhai. DRLs suit no other colour better than Black, methinks.

Sure. The whole purpose of writing so much and providing the best photos was to help prospective owners and enthusiasts into making a decision.

I am a catalyst.

Originally Posted by Snehal Sekhar View Post
Congratulations Barca!! That was a good review and I'm sure a lot of would be buyers would benefit from this. Nice choice of colour there man. The Black makes the Eco Sport look more menacing than it already is.
Instead of getting a 3M PPF, have you thought about getting a 3M Paint sealant done on the exteriors?
Thanks, Chief. Black it always was.

I didn't get the 3M PPF done yet as many have warned me against it. I shall be getting the paint treatment done soon as it's black - the most difficult colour to maintain.
Old 25th November 2015, 12:18   #13

Originally Posted by barcalad View Post
Thank you!

What I don't like is it's not as boomy or bassy as I expected. I blame the German OEMs here who have worked their magic on me, terribly.

The Titanium + gets a tweeter or two extra, and I guess that might make a difference.

Oh I thought the car had really good bass and sometimes it masked the vocals, I drive the pre facelift one, wonder if there is a difference. Tweeters will not affect the bass, it has more effect on treble.
Old 25th November 2015, 12:21   #14

Originally Posted by Snehal Sekhar View Post
Hi Snehal I have got the sealant done on my car, can you just explain what exactly the difference is between sealant and ppf.
Old 25th November 2015, 14:23   #15

Originally Posted by nitheeshsreeram View Post
Oh I thought the car had really good bass and sometimes it masked the vocals, I drive the pre facelift one, wonder if there is a difference. Tweeters will not affect the bass, it has more effect on treble.
Yep, I know that. But I feel that the sound could have been thrown in a different way as that 'punch' is missing.
I'm a Klipsch fan and that might be one of my future upgrades.