Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 21st December 2015, 16:16   #1
BHPian

My Soul'mate' - Kia Soul 1.6L CRDi

My Soul'mate' - Kia Soul 1.6L CRDi-dsc01062.jpg

Hello Everyone !
I would like to make it very clear that it is my first attempt to write anything so pardon me if I get boring.
Also I would like to start with a bit of honesty that this car actually belongs to my brother who lives in Nepal and thus I might not be able to be with the car always.
This is the ownership thread of our KIA SOUL. The car is with a us for quite a while now and it has covered around 45000kms. I know its late to start an ownership thread but I got through the membership process recently and then I thought "Better late than Never."

What I like about it :
  • Punchy diesel engine which never disappoints.
  • Spacious and comfortable interiors.
  • Fuel efficiency is high despite of the fast and torquey engine.
  • Pliant ride soaks potholes well.
  • Very practical car with lots of storage spaces.

What I don't like about it :
  • Low ground clearance is a pain over bad roads and speed breakers.
  • The boot space is too less (maybe to liberate more room for the passengers).
  • The touchscreen music system has merely 4.3' TFT display.

A bit of boring part (History) :
The need for a new car was realised last to last year when the work for a new business setup was going on. There was no requirement at that moment. Any car would work irrespective of SUV, sedan or hatchback as long as we like it .
In Nepal, one doesn't get too many options for car in a particular price band and prices of vehicles are way too high owing to the insane tax rates in Nepal on automobiles. Take this, the cheapest car in the world costed around 7 lakh Nepal rupees (about Rs 5 lakh) in 2011, the humble swift zxi costs around 30 lakhs nepali rupees. After that, prices have only increased.

This left us with the following options in our hand :-