Old 20th January 2007, 12:03   #16

I own a Laura manual , it is a real pleasure to drive thanks to its SLICK gearshift .
speaking in terms of TORQU well the car can do 45km/h in the 5th gear too without the knocking sound of the engine.
and in terms of flooring the accelerator , the laura is not behind either ,
the in gear acceration is as follows ;
1st - 45
2nd - 80
3rd - 120
4th - 160
5th - just over 200
the ride quality is not as good as the OCTAVIA because the laura is running on 55 profile tyres whereas the OCTY on 65 , so the ride quality is a bit hampered .
Overall the LAURA is a good PACKAGE and is packing a few more features like Xenons etc which arent present on the C-class ...........
Old 1st April 2007, 20:43   #17

The Laura is a Volkswagen Passat (VW owns Skoda and is largely responsible for making it feel like a semi-luxury marque) underneath that minimalist-studied-workhorse styling. I'm not sure if the VW Passat would command a price tag of close to 19 Lakhs in its home country, leave alone the Czech republic. At that price, isnt the new accord a better buy? And VW is on 2nd generation common rail on all its diesels. Why are Skoda still persisting with plain direct injection? Yes, it works great, but there's something available that is even better.
Old 1st April 2007, 21:06   #18

Originally Posted by wizardofid View Post
The Laura is a Volkswagen Passat (VW owns Skoda and is largely responsible for making it feel like a semi-luxury marque) underneath that minimalist-studied-workhorse styling. I'm not sure if the VW Passat would command a price tag of close to 19 Lakhs in its home country, leave alone the Czech republic. At that price, isnt the new accord a better buy? And VW is on 2nd generation common rail on all its diesels. Why are Skoda still persisting with plain direct injection? Yes, it works great, but there's something available that is even better.
VW is designing a all new diesel engine which will be released by 2008 in EUROPE. The current Pumpe Duse Tdi is pretty expensive to make and also it will be difficult to conform to the stricter emission norms with the current engine. Hence, a all new Crdi or Common Rail Direct Injection diesel engine (much like the MPFI or fuel injection technology in gas cars) is being designed and all VW and group company cars will be slowly fitted with this new engine.

Good News i guess
Old 1st April 2007, 21:40   #19

The Laura is a Volkswagen Passat
I thought the Skoda Superb was built on the VW Passat, the old Octavia on the previous gen Golf and the new Octavia (Laura) on the current generation Golf. Correct me if I'm wrong here.
Old 1st April 2007, 21:56   #20

The Laura is a Volkswagen Passat .
Wrong, based on the Golf Mark 5 platform, although new Passat is a extended version of the same
Old 2nd April 2007, 01:06   #21

Originally Posted by Insane Devil View Post
so still ppl think that the Laura is overpriced!

Well GTO, u are right, that a powerful engine should compliment the Laura, which is why they are launching the vRS in diesel too! 170bhp!
When and are you sure, it will be a diesel 170 horses Laura ?
Old 2nd April 2007, 01:13   #22

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
it will be a diesel 170 horses Laura ?
the 170 horses will be fine if complemented with a good gear box... diesel would be charm to drive...........
Old 2nd April 2007, 11:47   #23

Originally Posted by dipen View Post
When and are you sure, it will be a diesel 170 horses Laura ?
Yes it coming in June with 17inch wheels and a body kit
Old 2nd April 2007, 14:19   #24

Nicely written with good info. thanks
Old 3rd April 2007, 14:56   #25

Originally Posted by BUSA View Post
Yes it coming in June with 17inch wheels and a body kit
AWESOME is the word. I am thirsty...
Old 5th April 2007, 09:59   #26

ahh!! approximate pricing would be awesome.
Old 5th April 2007, 14:25   #27

Originally Posted by babhishek View Post
ahh!! approximate pricing would be awesome.
Taking SKODA previous pricing history and its a RS i will say like 16 lac
Old 5th April 2007, 16:37   #28

16 lacs???

The regular Laura is for 20 lakhs+ on Road!!! This will be at least 1.5-2 lacs higher.
Old 5th April 2007, 17:21   #29

The Laura-MT is 16.5 (ex-showroom mumbai) and the AT (17.3). So should cost around 19+ lakhs. Surely the diesel is gonna cost more.

I don't have any issues with the car, but its rather diabolical on the part of Skoda. The European Octavia being sold here as Laura and having a ridiculous price tag. Since you have only the Accord in that range, I guess they thought they'll eat into that segment.
Old 6th April 2007, 00:56   #30

Originally Posted by ST7677 View Post
16 lacs???

The regular Laura is for 20 lakhs+ on Road!!! This will be at least 1.5-2 lacs higher.
My apologies. I meant to type 9 but pressed 6 on numeric keypad.