Old 29th September 2020, 18:02   #151

Re: Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive

Last bid at 2 sec prior to close was 1,11,00,000 by someone in chikmagalur. That's some money spent on the first Thar.

Now let's see what is in store for smaller souls like us who can only afford the lakhs part of the bid. Hope Mahindra does not get carried away with auction success.
justwheels is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 18:05   #152

Originally Posted by justwheels View Post
Last bid at 2 sec prior to close was 1,11,00,000 by someone in chikmagalur. That's some money spent on the first Thar.
I was watching it live, did not see this reflect on the site. Also this would mean two people placed bid of 25k each. Anyhow will know by Friday I guess.
Old 29th September 2020, 18:15   #153

I bet that Income Tax sleuths are closely watching the top bidders. The IT department used to audit Daewoo Cielo owners in the 1990s by getting RC lists from RTOs countrywide, in case you're wondering how (un)real my thought is.
locusjag is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 18:17   #154

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I was watching it live, did not see this reflect on the site. Also this would mean two people placed bid of 25k each. Anyhow will know by Friday I guess.
I managed to grab the below screenshot. And now after you said, I realised the name changed. This is interesting. Seems it was a refresh lag. It is from Delhi, correct. (I have a feeling the person is related to the "Minda" industries, the big auto parts supplier).

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-screenshot_20200929180001_chrome.jpg

Last edited by justwheels : 29th September 2020 at 18:19.
justwheels is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 18:19   #155

By the way, I called up the Mahindra showroom near my place (Bommanahalli

Anyone else has any info on TD vehicles ?
Sometime in Sept , I had received a call from a M&M run customer contact centre at Mumbai , and this call was in response to the interest I had shown on their website during their Unveil.

I got a call from the same number today evening checking if I would need a test drive ( is that even a question &#128522. She then confirmed some details and told me to expect a call from their dealer at Mysore Road.

Lets see if the showroom calls. Else , I shall be visiting the one at Bommanahalli.
jkrishnakj is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 18:39   #156

I managed to grab the below screenshot. And now after you said, I realised the name changed. This is interesting. Seems it was a refresh lag. It is from Delhi, correct. (I have a feeling the person is related to the "Minda" industries, the big auto parts supplier).

Attachment 2060771
I guess so, NDTV news pop up came on my phone with same info. Web search says there is an Aakash Minda who is MD of Minda the company
Jaggu is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 18:40   #157

Hope this 1.1 crore bid doesn't result in pricing overconfidence by Mahindra.

For sure it has given a boost to the desirability factor of the launch. The final bid screenshots are getting circulated in WhatsApp groups- and instead of the earlier 'Wrangler copy' discussions - it has now become 'Why pay more than a Wrangler?' discussions.

Last edited by CrAzY dRiVeR : 29th September 2020 at 18:56. Reason: Typo
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 19:41   #158

It's official! Thar #1 has fetched a whopping 1,11,000,00 INR at the 'Give to Get' auction.

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-screenshot_20200929193717_chrome.jpg

Mahindra will match the amount raised at the auction and the entire proceeds (excluding the on-road price of the vehicle) will be donated. ~2 crores for a good cause!

Additionally, Thar #1 will come with a customized badge with the winner's initials, serial number 1 on the decorative VIN plate on the dashboard and leatherette seats.

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-mahindrathar2020_09_22_17_10.jpg

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-mahindrathar2020_09_29_17_21.jpg
CrAzY dRiVeR is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 20:15   #159

Eagerly waiting for the price to be released.
Hope M&M don't disappoint!

The auction price was crazy, and like someone mentioned, I can afford the Lakh part of it only!
I'll make a trip to Bommanahalli M&M showroom this weekend to check out the vehicle for real.
Sanjivvohra is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 20:31   #160

Originally Posted by Dry Ice View Post
Sorry to nitpick, but BD was the last person to recommend a jugaad. He was a sucker for OE specs and always wanted to keep things stock. Though there were "upgrades" he often recommended but even these were only with OE parts bin.
Fair enough, I stand corrected, not jugged, but "improvements" out side the normal
Old 29th September 2020, 20:34   #161

Originally Posted by Sanjivvohra View Post
I'll make a trip to Bommanahalli M&M showroom this weekend to check out the vehicle for real.
Stay home, the vehicle will not be there this weekend.

If you are talking about Sireesh Auto, Silk board, they said they are not going to have the TD vehicle before mid-oct. Or did someone confirm you it will be available this weekend?
Old 29th September 2020, 20:44   #162

Originally Posted by Sanjivvohra View Post
Eagerly waiting for the price to be released.
Hope M&M don't disappoint!

The auction price was crazy, and like someone mentioned, I can afford the Lakh part of it only!
Originally Posted by balenoed_ View Post
Stay home, the vehicle will not be there this weekend.

If you are talking about Sireesh Auto, Silk board, they said they are not going to have the TD vehicle before mid-oct. Or did someone confirm you it will be available this weekend?
Even I have my doubts with Shireesh Auto Bommanahalli. When I called today, they weren't sure and told that they will call back once they have info. Obviously things can change in the next 2 days, but I doubt.
It's strange because with such an anticipated launch, people will flock to the showroom only to get disappointed. This could have been the best use of a long weekend.
Old 29th September 2020, 22:18   #163

Originally Posted by highwaypatrol View Post
The most amazing filmy villain entry would be GTO pitching in with 1,07,25,000 and closing the bid with a thunderous applauds from all of us!

The same GTO who evangelizes pre-worshipped route?
Except for a couple of Mercs last decade and a Sunny has steadfastly bought depreciated used cars.
And has proclaimed he would wait for TWO years before buying a Thar, that too when he is so smitten by the Thar that he did the unbelievable, planning to sell off his old jeep!!!!

Originally Posted by Venku2015 View Post
Lol, but why villian entry, I would call it a business tycoon entry and seal the last bid in his favor GTO is the hero!
Nah, if he does that like @highwaypatrol said, he would definitely be the real plot twist villain.

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 30th September 2020 at 00:20. Reason: Typo.
DicKy is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 29th September 2020, 22:19   #164

All those accessories, but NO Snorkel ?
Old 29th September 2020, 22:38   #165

New Thar launch webcast on October 2nd at 12:30 PM

Mahindra Thar Review : First Drive-20200929_223615.jpg

https://twitter.com/Mahindra_Thar/st...928809984?s=19
Venkatesh is offline   (9) Thanks