Old 8th October 2020, 13:03   #16

re: The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update

Originally Posted by ron82x3 View Post
Owning a car and using it to it's fullest is an achievement vs frequently buying cars and not using them at all. Fortunately most BHPians lead by example, and you sir have been an inspiration.
However, I don't agree with one of your points where you mentioned the older generation looks better
Thanks for the good words ron82x3, but frankly, you are being too kind. And yes, since you mentioned, I will make an exception here and say that your flaming red Ecosport is indeed better looking than the one I have with me. Wish you many miles with your looker.

Originally Posted by Fordlover88 View Post
Great review combined with stunning pictures of Baahon. My upgrade scenario was same as yours. I upgraded from prefacelift figo diesel to ecosport tdci & hence agree to most of the points in your review. No wonder ecosport is a natural upgrade from figo for most of the owners.
Thanks Saurav, it’s indeed a reliable vehicle to have. You have traversed enough already to know the car inside out and enjoying its capabilities. Wish you many miles with your car. Your pictures in snow clad Sikkim are wonderful, thanks for sharing.

Originally Posted by Mango View Post
Amazing report on your car, I have been greatly inspired by your travelogues and our steed has also given us happy 99k kms and it'll soon cross 1 lac kms after which i'll compile my own ownership reports of the car.
Thanks Mango, glad to know that your’s Ecosport was one of the first cars in India. Will be looking forward to your review.

Originally Posted by gishu View Post
Your photographs can easily go into the sales brochure for Ecosport. Nicely done.

I moved from a Ford Fiesta 2012 to an Ecosport 2019 - primarily for the engine and the GC. Once you go Ford....
Thanks for the good words gishu, the global Fiesta was one of my favourite cars. It’s a shame that the car did not do well in India. And yes, once you go Ford ... it’s difficult to let go.

Originally Posted by 07CR View Post
Such a wonderful ownership review. Ecosport is such a car that tugs to the heart way more than the head.
We recently purchased a pre owned Ecosport S and the experience has been splendid.
Thanks 07CR, it’s indeed all heart as well as head for me. Your Ecosport S has got one of the most beautiful OEM alloy designs according to me. Enjoy your beauty, wish you many miles.

Originally Posted by Samba View Post
Great review Dada. Rated 5*

Your car can give complex to trucks written 'All India Permit' on it!

I was fortunate enough to get a small ride in Baahon and I must say, after 95,000 km it runs like new. You have maintained the car in an excellent way.
You have the gift of gab Samba but ‘All India Permit’ is too early for Baahon. Coming from you about the condition of the car, it’s wonderful to know that you found the car to acceptable standards. Knowing how much you care for your cars, it’s a compliment. Thanks again, will be waiting for a drive alongside the red thunder.

Originally Posted by TheGearBox View Post
Nicely written review. Wish you many more miles with the car.
Thanks much TheGearBox

Originally Posted by kanishka88 View Post
What a wonderful thread, and what epic photos by everyone. An amazing way to enter the weekend
Thanks much kanishka88, I am sure you will be back soon to drive away all your blues with the car you love.

Originally Posted by Vibhav-Van View Post
Lovely ownership report of a truly amazing machine.
The Ecosport is still the best driver's C-SUV today, despite being the oldest in its segment.
Rightly put Vibhav-Van, it always puts a grin on our faces. Enjoy the fun and wishing you many more miles.

Originally Posted by haisaikat View Post
Excellent review Abhi for an awesome car, rates 5 stars for the first hand ownership review and the excellent pictures. Your experience can very well be a case study for Ford Ecosport and I am truly serious.

Beyond build quality and engine what I liked most in the EcoSport is the adventurous design in fitting the spare on the tailgate. In fact I like the version without the spare wheel cover like yours.

The car has sorted dynamics and I believe has one of the best power to weight ratio in its segment making it probably the fastest.

From your review two things stood out to me
1. The low service cost, will give Maruti owners goosebumps
2. 90K KM on stock tyres, wonder if its the MRFs or your careful driving
You are being too kind haisaikat, it’s true that Ecosport has got sorted dynamics. The handling is still the best among a plethora of cars and brings a smile everytime you floor it.

Low service cost is a reality that many in the country are yet to experience about Ford. The company still carries the baggage of the IKon days and which is a shame actually. Regarding the tyres, they actually outran their welcome, perks of being a friend of a guy who works for a tyre major
ABHI_1512 is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 24th November 2020, 20:25   #17

re: The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update

Okay, so Baahon is nearing the one lakh mark after making two trips to the hills up north of Bengal. The first one was during the early part of October and the car had to endure some real bad roads for substantial part of the journey.

An empty Darjeeling was a sight to the sore eyes and it was a Darjeeling that I hardly ever saw during the past two decades.

Some pictures:

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-3ac89f9e55ae4c178724334342ef6697.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a129b511961d4d00a5d2adbdd675f3af.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-1df088534f3248669191877740b9d0d1.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-6917c4ce0306472ea5b7970e802befd6.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-97029a4a18014b38850f1b488c3a05a8.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-f516d89a86f14a35a45f5289b3fa6c82.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-9b52d8785cba45d595f98966bbc4bcb6.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ba7fb442c7ee4a41933e4f1457577cf2.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-3e554790b05c49909bbce86c478e484a.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-6cd3eaac92274910a21b143160b6e527.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-1e4f6369eea347dfb054c6e282d2cdb3.jpeg

It was a surreal feeling to see two iconic places of Darjeeling bereft of tourists and people. Although Keventer’s and Glenary’s couldn’t escape our hungry souls.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-097849a9501346df97109cbea9d57ea5.jpeg

This reading was before the second trip to the hills. Baahon deserved some pampering after the beating it took from the trip in October. Went into the only 3M outlet in Calcutta and opted for a complete detailing session including paint correction. The owners are enthusiastic enough to hear your concerns and come up with solutions for the same.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-2ace9dff7d2f41e1a4ff7f4b0efe5c74.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-aefd8f546f8846bea94bd63c4060296c.jpeg

The men in action and they indeed gave Baahon a real twist. Superb workmanship resulted in this :

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4351a531bc6b40ecbc2eab32a6d1fcf9.jpeg

Baahon also had a battery replacement done for the next trip to the hills. The battery costed ₹ 5000 after a buyback of ₹ 500 with a warranty of two years. This was the second replacement for Baahon in the course of five year’s. Baahon is due for the service after the one lakh mark and I will update the thread again to let you all know whether any replacement of parts is required or not.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 26th November 2020, 15:06   #18

Nice review. I am a proud owner of Ecosport Titanium Petrol (2017). The car is a real pleasure to drive on highways and higher ground clearance helps me to drive on rough surfaces as well. I am really happy with its performance so far and looking forward to hitting the 1L oddo mark.

Sharing a pic of one of the drives:
The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-img_9854.jpg
ketan007 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 12:16   #19

Originally Posted by ketan007 View Post
Nice review. I am a proud owner of Ecosport Titanium Petrol (2017). The car is a real pleasure to drive on highways and higher ground clearance helps me to drive on rough surfaces as well. I am really happy with its performance so far and looking forward to hitting the 1L oddo mark.
Thank you, indeed the car is a real highway cruiser in every sense of term. That’s a great picture, wish you more miles and will look forward to your 1lac review.

Regards.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 27th November 2020, 12:23   #20

Great review with lots of details! Wish you a continued trouble free and rewarding ownership experience.

I am expecting delivery of our Lightning Blue TDCI S tomorrow (the registration process is taking place as I type this), and couldn't be more excited. Have always loved the Ecosport for its various attributes, but could not pick it up due to certain reasons the last time I was in the market for a car purchase. As luck would have it, when the time came to replace the second car in our garage, the Ecosport persistently raised its head again and we finally succumbed to its charms
arindambasu13 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th November 2020, 09:42   #21

Originally Posted by arindambasu13 View Post
Great review with lots of details! Wish you a continued trouble free and rewarding ownership experience.

I am expecting delivery of our Lightning Blue TDCI S tomorrow (the registration process is taking place as I type this), and couldn't be more excited. Have always loved the Ecosport for its various attributes, but could not pick it up due to certain reasons the last time I was in the market for a car purchase. As luck would have it, when the time came to replace the second car in our garage, the Ecosport persistently raised its head again and we finally succumbed to its charms
Congratulations, the S trim has all the bells and whistles and I am sure you will have fun taking the lovely machine for a spin. It sure brings a smile to my face and I am sure it will do the same for you too.

Regards.
ABHI_1512 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd January 2021, 12:15   #22

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-c4ac9ab9b3684fb0a1e824d0441a40ac.jpeg

Well, Baahon crossed the one lakh mark recently and the subsequent visit to the service center resulted in some new parts and changes to the suspension set up specially the front. There was noise emanating from the front and the ensuing check came up with these results:

1. The lower arms of front suspension setup went kaput.
2. The shock absorbers also needed to be changed since they have hardened resulting in suspension not working properly.
3. The stabiliser bar bushes needed to be changed too.
4. Two seat springs needed to be changed from the rear shock absorbers.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ecc43b94a44c45f1a74974ddfc59566f.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4afe0c2ad3654bd989f62ff9bb42f1b8.jpeg

These all apart from the one lakh kilometer service which included:

1. Change of engine oil
2. Change of air filter
3. Change of oil filter
4. Change of AC filter

The parts changed included the two front lower arms and shock absorbers. Apart from the above mentioned things, the wiper motor and pump was also replaced since somehow it had malfunctioned.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4fe2b88f69554f999ba906332c694bbe.jpeg

The total cost including the service came to around ₹18,900 after getting a small discount. The one lakh service cost was ₹2467 excluding the price of air filter, oil filter, AC filter and engine oil which came to around ₹1550.

I have always found the parts and services cost of Ford extremely pocket friendly and even less than the many car makers who pride themselves in less service cost.

The car is back to its pristine condition and to mark the occasion, made a drive to Puri and back. Met BHPian haisaikat along the way as well but unfortunately don’t have a picture. It was nice to catch up with him on more than one occasion. Some pictures from the drive:

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d29d7a5346984053a887d8b0c9fb44d9.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-c01532904d1445f5ace04335b1870820.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-ccff589f8a2e4e31b4f5f82679f714b2.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-d1fe5985a2ff41f0918328d905025a1d.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-952b5e2c968c40299ed0045333296341.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-e4bc51a808114c1a9102b3be405b0231.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-4467c89616a745f6b586c37ba24f39d8.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a9c11abbd7594623a20d1d2a36e3fa1a.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-2c174f360c154228992e30af51c5db67.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-3df0ee9026d947f9a2b0e1986f3ec4c5.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-9ebc965a068e4eab9ff801777198766f.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-201245b156b5460c94e63c0bd323c86f.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-7a290159e84546e1896faeb78d82c834.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-63c2db27b3914a96a501b3f73fdac5fe.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-208740461896441dbf0d6233e5275cf2.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-1ed81bebe13e4b5299045c5cb3d2d49a.jpeg

As the talk of Ford leaving India is speculated much, I am contend with the present and enjoying this wonderful vehicle very much. The service part of Ford is just as good and I hope this continues this way and further. Here’s to the next year.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-0420df91df404a7b8aaa8d21f4963bd9.jpeg
ABHI_1512 is offline   (17) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 22:17   #23

Nice review and lovely pictures. Wish you many more exciting miles on the ES.

I was curious to know if the hotel in Puri was the BNR Hotel? It looks very familiar.
vnabhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th February 2021, 23:12   #24

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Nice review and lovely pictures. Wish you many more exciting miles on the ES.

I was curious to know if the hotel in Puri was the BNR Hotel? It looks very familiar.
Thanks for the kind words, yes, the journey has been wonderful one till today and I hope it stays this way in the years to come.

Regarding your curiosity, the hotel is indeed BNR Puri. It has been my preferred hotel since very long and totally love the property as a whole
Old 4th February 2021, 23:29   #25

Originally Posted by ABHI_1512 View Post
Thanks for the kind words, yes, the journey has been wonderful one till today and I hope it stays this way in the years to come.

Regarding your curiosity, the hotel is indeed BNR Puri. It has been my preferred hotel since very long and totally love the property as a whole
Thanks for your quick response. I'd loved my stay in BNR Puri way back in 1974, when I was a teenager. The hotel looks the same now, going by your pictures. I wonder if they still serve Byculla Souffle?
vnabhi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th February 2021, 23:02   #26

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Thanks for your quick response. I'd loved my stay in BNR Puri way back in 1974, when I was a teenager. The hotel looks the same now, going by your pictures. I wonder if they still serve Byculla Souffle?
BNR Puri still retains the old world charm and that itself is wonderful in this age of social media. The hotel is still the same and almost has the same menu that has been a hallmark of their culinary folklore.

They do serve some kind of Soufflé but don’t exactly remember the name. One thing that I admire, is their fantastic Caramel Custard. I am sure their menu hasn’t changed too much over the years.

Next time I go, I will surely lookout for the name of the Soufflé
Old 30th June 2021, 18:05   #27

Originally Posted by ron82x3 View Post
Owning a car and using it to it's fullest is an achievement vs frequently buying cars and not using them at all.
=====
Attachment 2061956
Yes, the top of the line S variant with those HID (low beam) lights looks the best as of now.
Fastdriver is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2021, 09:51   #28

Baahon crossed the next milestone and the current odometer reads at 112500 kms. It’s been a fuss free experience of six years and counting now. With the talks of Ford leaving the country rumours in full overdrive, I can only enjoy the vehicle which is truly Ford’s biggest success story in India apart from the first generation Figo.

Due to the lockdown since last March 2020, the wonderful motor didn’t get to see as much tarmac as it would have liked. Managed though within the small windows of eased restrictions whenever the itch was too overpowering to ignore

The scheduled maintenance at 110000 kms was done at the ASC, Calcutta and the service charges came to around 2500 for labour. The fan went kaput and had to be changed including the Resistor motor. The total cost of the entire operation came to around ₹13100 which included replacement of the fan motor assembly and resistor motor, labour charges, engine oil and change of the air filter. I have nothing but admiration for Ford just for keeping the servicing costs so low when the so called market leaders charge a bomb for even the cars which are priced at one third price of an Ecosport. The ASC was kind enough to provide 10% discount on labour and 5% discount on parts since the warranty period is over.

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-7ee0d94470ff479295b9fb8730a2a7cd.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-07e713a3273c41e3b91e33f24d79b1c2.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a207bc61b7324b458c482da4c1bb8402.jpeg

Next in line would be the belts and hoses which would need replacement at 120000 kms service. After the scheduled service, Baahon made a trip to the hills of Kalimpong and which has been already documented in the forum.

Some pictures after a good session of cleaning and shining

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-10f839ca38764fdbbf12e6b6afa61b30.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-95d015f7d5a642249f8f05aff8120a64.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-a663a70cf2664a63baa8f2604c01ee17.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-756f5cc289944dfcafa117ff48fdf959.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-67ae7b7b05f34a1aaeb41b20d53959e9.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-66e8fb805b4243b198b6e89211506f44.jpeg

The story of Baahon, my Ford EcoSport 1.5 TDCi | EDIT: 1,74,500 km service update-66c7d4580a8e495cb27d6ff5dd6cdffa.jpeg
ABHI_1512 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th September 2021, 10:07   #29

Baahon crossed the next milestone and the current odometer reads at 112500 kms. It’s been a fuss free experience of six years and counting now. With the talks of Ford leaving the country rumours in full overdrive, I can only enjoy the vehicle which is truly Ford’s biggest success story in India apart from the first generation Figo.
Lovely, your car looks absolutely pristine. Great job on maintaining the car so well Only hope that I am able to do this good a job on my Ecosport over the years. Those are a serious number of miles on the clock, too - this car loves the expressway and is a true blooded mile muncher for sure!

Happy to hear that the maintenance costs continue to be reasonable for what is a powerful motor and solid mechanicals. Kudos to Ford for rationalisig maintenance and service costs.
arindambasu13 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 8th September 2021, 23:19   #30

Baahon crossed the next milestone and the current odometer reads at 112500 kms. It’s been a fuss free experience of six years and counting now. With the talks of Ford leaving the country rumours in full overdrive, I can only enjoy the vehicle which is truly Ford’s biggest success story in India apart from the first generation Figo. [/ATTACH]
Wow the car is looking as good as new Just curious, did you change your timing belt kit now that you crossed 1L milestone or giving it a pass ?

More details here:
https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post4764521 (Ford EcoSport : Official Review)

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/techn...ml#post4977304 (Timing Belt Change: Should I also get the tensioners & pulleys replaced?)
Samfromindia is offline   (2) Thanks