Team-BHP - Test drive - Toyota Land Cruiser Prado TX Diesel

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   Test drive - Toyota Land Cruiser Prado TX Diesel (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/23015-test-drive-toyota-land-cruiser-prado-tx-diesel-2.html)

Originally Posted by manikjeet (Post 409771)
Hey man one thing whats the price of this one after all the duties and etc.

54 L is petrol .. 60+ is diesel ( Prices on road in Bangalore).. I believe the diesel is a longer version..
Also i liked the skirtings on it..
I have the V6 petrol... Is it possible to install those on my Prado.. Is it a bolt on type??

Godfather

Originally Posted by Godfather (Post 410013)
54 L is petrol .. 60+ is diesel ( Prices on road in Bangalore).. I believe the diesel is a longer version..
Also i liked the skirtings on it..
I have the V6 petrol... Is it possible to install those on my Prado.. Is it a bolt on type??

Godfather

Am sure of what am saying , its 54 lacs. Its a car of one of our family memeber. Yes you can install those on your V6.

Originally Posted by maxbhp (Post 410039)
Am sure of what am saying , its 54 lacs. Its a car of one of our family memeber. Yes you can install those on your V6.

I know bro.. In bangalore because of all the high taxes:Frustrati i paid close to 54 for the Petrol V6 that i have.. and i also heard that the Diesel is more expensive here..

Godfather

Originally Posted by maxbhp (Post 410039)

at rs.54 lacs...is the diesel prado good value 4 money..or is it the petrol model which is the better choice.

Originally Posted by Anand123 (Post 661503)
at rs.54 lacs...is the diesel prado good value 4 money..or is it the petrol model which is the better choice.

Both are expensive and cant be termed "value for money":D

That said, I feel that the Prado is more VFM than the E class.

I hope I m not trespassing and its not blasphemy but the Monterro at around 42 lakhs is more VFM than the Prado. At 62L the M Class/Audi/Porsche/Beemer/even the VOLVO SUV would actually make more Sense then Toyota.
Enlighten me If I am Wrong, I m sure i will be ....stupid:

Originally Posted by rohitgaur (Post 665451)
I hope I m not trespassing and its not blasphemy but the Monterro at around 42 lakhs is more VFM than the Prado. At 62L the M Class/Audi/Porsche/Beemer/even the VOLVO SUV would actually make more Sense then Toyota.
Enlighten me If I am Wrong, I m sure i will be ....stupid:

Well the owner is getting a brand new Audi Q7 in a week :), so a test drive is coming soon with some mouth watering pics.

Any reviews regarding Toyota Landcruiser Prado ?.Not the newly launched vehicle.The petrol model Prado :).

Is it worthy to spend 50L on Prado ? and is it good for beginners ?

Please give your valuable suggestions on this.

Not me. BIL owns one with manual GB in DBX.

It is 2.X L engine, with 4x4. Came with factory fitted power windows, audio, etc. They got it as a used vehicle. BIL covers more than 250 KM per day (they work in different towns ). Has done close to 2L KM. Service interval is 5K KM - and they need to visit the service center almost monthly. Approx costs per service (Toyota A/S/S) is approx 1K DHs. And keeps mounting as the vehicle gets older. FE, again, is approx 1KM per liter. (err. I did the conversion based on casual conversation)

No - they have not taken the vehicle of road.

All this is based on casual conversation - they are not exactly car enthus. Let me know if you need specific info.

In india, they stuck to the Amby due to their height, till about 3 years back, when they got a wagonR which was crampted for them, and 9 months back they upgraded to the dzire.

They got the prado because BIL is tall - close to 6ft. Other considerations being resale value, service costs and relaibility (typical Indian, hun?). His earlier vehicle was a RAV4.

Is the prado available in India?

Originally Posted by BaCkSeAtDrIVeR (Post 1348480)
Not me. BIL owns one with manual GB in DBX.

It is 2.X L engine, with 4x4. Came with factory fitted power windows, audio, etc. They got it as a used vehicle. BIL covers more than 250 KM per day (they work in different towns ). Has done close to 2L KM. Service interval is 5K KM - and they need to visit the service center almost monthly. Approx costs per service (Toyota A/S/S) is approx 1K DHs. And keeps mounting as the vehicle gets older. FE, again, is approx 1KM per liter. (err. I did the conversion based on casual conversation)

You sure of that ?

Rude7; the Prado V6 for beginners for?

Originally Posted by jkdas (Post 1348801)
You sure of that ?

Rude7; the Prado V6 for beginners for?

I did not understand what is this ?

I am asking reviews about Toyota Prado.Not the 81 Lakh model,I am asking about 50Lakh petrol model.I think it's Prado GX comes with 5 speed automatic.

And beginners in the sense,I am just a newbie in driving :deadhorse

jkdas - as I said, I did a rough estimate based on casual talk. The data was:-

1. "one tankful is X gallons".
2. "a tankful takes us Y kms".

So I I make a conversion of gallons to KM, and find that it is somewhere between 1 and 2 KMPL, more close to 1 and 2. I forgot the exact figures. Ok, I know, this is the worst way to calculate FE. ;-)

And they mentioned that petrol is cheaper in DXB than diesel, and keep on using the word "gasoline", so I presume that it is a petrol vehicle. Give me a couple of weeks, and I will confirm.

And should confess that I did not know the difference between a LandCruiser and a Prado till a couple of days back.

Rude7 - how "newbie" are you? Even a small graze and the other guy is not gonna spare you, if you are in an exotic car. Reconsider. Get drive a vehicle for a few Ks of Kms before even considering driving an exotic.

@maxbhp - the vehicle you posted - is it the one I see frequently at Penta Menaka?

Landcruiser Prado is a very capable vehicle off road and in the city too. I had bought a Landcruiser 90 Series Prado V6,LWB, 3400 cc A/T with the petrol 5VZFE engine way back in 1999, and drove it for 287,000 km in 7 years without a blemish, driving it in extreme offroad situations every weekend. The vehicle gave yeoman service. It was a full time 4 WD with central diff locks, lsd in the rear, IFS and low transfer case.

In 2007 I exchanged it for a 1998 model SWB 2 door version, M/T which had done only 155,000 km. This was a bomb.

In 2004, the present model Prado 120 NG was launched with a lot more refinements. I have driven many of them in the city and in extreme off road conditions. The new Petrol IGRFE engine 4000 cc develops a whopping 262 bhp and has an amazing torque. The LWB is very comfortable and the SWB, well its a wild colt that climbs any dune in the world. Not enough praise for this vehicle. Montero ( Pajero in other countries ) is nowhere close to a prado 120 NG in comparision. Take my word for it, I have driven Prados of various types for over 350,000 km about 200,000 of it off road.

Shahid

On the mpg or km/l front a Toyota Prado does about 6.5 Kmpl in the city with the A/C on ( Petrol versions ).

Yes Diesel is more expensive in Dubai. 98 Octane Petrol costs Indian Rs. 19.44 per litre while Diesel costs Indian Rs. 36.05 / litre

Service interval is 5K KM.

To my knowledge its 8-10K KMS for petrol variants.

1KM per liter.

So, ever calculated how much your BIL must shell out for a day's use? As desertfox stated 98 octane costs 19.xx INR. So putting it this way makes it about 5000 INR per day :Shockked:. That's serious money brother. Again on this 250 KM per day, have you ever thought about how many times a day he must care about refuelling? The point here I am trying to make is that why would you even care about listening to these kind of so called "claims". Atleast you could have avoided posting it here.

Originally Posted by desertfox (Post 1350893)
On the mpg or km/l front a Toyota Prado does about 6.5 Kmpl in the city with the A/C on ( Petrol versions ).

Yes brother, I owns a prado and the best FE was 10 km/l and the worst was 4.5 km/l. on an average basis its giving a range of 6 - 8 km/l in the city with the AC ON.