Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 27th October 2021, 00:06   #1
BHPian

Tata Safari Storme Varicor 320 4x2 Ownership Review | Bought a pre-worshipped beast

MY EXPERIENCE BEHIND THE WHEEL

I have been driving a 2010 i20 Sportz CRDI for almost 11 years and have already clocked a happy 130K kms in it. Prior to this, my family had a STD M800, which we owned for 10 years/70K kms, driven equally by me and my mom. So overall i have an experience of driving for more than 20 years and ~165K kms.

This is my i20 after 11 years/130K kms
Name:  i20Combined.jpg
Views: 1794
Size:  98.2 KB

EXPERIENCE WITH THE LITTLE BEAST - i20 CRDI SPORTZ
Having graduated from a classic M800 STD, i20 CRDI initially felt like a jet. But the fact is, even today after 11 years it is the same beast. The 1.4 Ltr CRDI engine is one thar puts many bigger sedans to shame. It’s straight line acceleration brings a wide grin on my face every time the turbo spools up.

Things which I enjoyed thoroughly with her
  1. Straight line acceleration
  2. The 6th gear is fun to drive. A century and a half on the speedometer is effortless
  3. Feather light steering to drive within the city limits
  4. Can munch miles at lengths -> have driven her for 700+kms in a single day
  5. Very practical and excellent quality interiors -> No rattles even today, easy accessibility of all the controls, storage for all necessary items, driver side one-touch down as well as one touch up (this one is very rare but extremely important IMO, don’t know why we don’t find this very common), cooled glovebox, under-the-seat rear AC vents, etc.
Things which did not quite grow up on me over these years
  1. Turbo lag -> It's a beast when the turbo spools up at ~2000 rpm. But until you reach that mark it feels like eternity
  2. No ABS -> One of the biggest sore points !