Old 26th March 2022, 10:35   #106

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | Now 10,000 k

@PrasannaDhana,

Does the iRA have privacy settings? Like for instance, if I like the IRa, but don't want my data going out to the tribe groups, is that possible?
Is it also possible to disable or enable iRA completely from the app? I understand, given its security features, they might have built it with the express intent of preventing a disable, even if one had access to the physical car, but wondering if the function exists with an MFA auth (passw+Otp) mechanism.

Thing is I'd like all the diagnostics, the driver score etc, but just wouldn't want someone watch over every trip I make, where I go etc.

Mod Note : Please avoid typing with excessive dots.........like................this.

Last edited by Sheel : 26th March 2022 at 11:29. Reason: Mod note attached.
Old 31st March 2022, 14:18   #107

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | Now 10,000 k

Originally Posted by blitz_nomad View Post
@PrasannaDhana,

Thing is I'd like all the diagnostics, the driver score etc, but just wouldn't want someone watch over every trip I make, where I go etc.
I don't think we have a preference here. May be we can unsubscribe the IRA subscription the next year, but can't have Tata from not monitoring our movements while we are active on IRA. I don't mind though. Not really worried about who is going to focus on my movements.

Last edited by Sheel : 31st March 2022 at 16:10. Reason: Doing away with the mod note. Thanks.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 31st March 2022, 20:08   #108

Completing the month of March with Altroz being used for 3 weeks, while storme and new celerio doing duty for a week.

Usage in March : 2778.4 km

Odo almost at 14,000 km, the car completing 5 months since delivery.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220331_174201.jpg

Wondering why IRA app shows a difference of 400 meters.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220331184322_tata-motors-iramod.jpg

That is almost 3+ whole days spent this month driving the altroz. Definitely not complaining given how pleasurable the 1.5 diesel is to drive.

A good development has happened. The new national highway connecting Trichy - Jayankondam has been opened for traffic and it is absolutely blissful to drive on. Almost 0 traffic and 6 lanes at majority of the stretches. One of my offices is through rural Trichy, an irritatingly slow 45-50 minutes drive of a distance of mere 25 km one way. This highway has replaced 20 kilometers of rural driving with 22 kilometers of triple digit speeds

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img_20220314_183756_855.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220314_094429.jpg

The same roads in the celerio will be painful to drive, specially if you like driving spiritedly. Celerio's K10C is reluctant beyond 100 kmph and the 3 cylinder NVH gets worse too. But if you are someone who likes cruising at 70- 80 kmph, the Maruti will surprise you with 25+ kmpl on the same route.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220325_091908.jpg

Here is the IRA trip stats of the old rural route versus the route through New highway

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220331184724_gallery.jpg

The new highway makes twice the average speed possible, thereby reducing the travel time by half

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220331184656_gallery.jpg

I am lucky that I get to drive on the highway, daily

3 days of the week on the beautiful Trichy - Chennai highway and 3 days on the Trichy - Jayankondam highway.

My birthday happens to be in March. Altroz displayed this beautiful wish on the console. Pretty cool!

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220316_072400.jpg

Meanwhile we also took delivery of an Altroz 1.2 N/A petrol in the extended family. I had spent 30 minutes the previous week doing the PDI. The petrol 1.2 N/A is very adequate as long as you are driving within the city limits. It was an XM+ variant with 16 inch steel wheels. At 8 lakhs OTR price, it did seem pretty value for money. I actually suggested them to buy the Punch, 2 of them being my grandparents, the raised seat height and ingress/egress of Punch would have been much better. They liked how altroz looked and wanted it.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img20220315wa0034.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img20220315wa0037.jpg

March also witnessed an unfortunate incident, where an autorickshaw guy scraped the front bumper of my altroz at a signal stop when the car was stationary. It looked bad initially.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220319_094251.jpg

Luckily, after one firm wipe using a wet cloth, it returned back to its original form

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220310_164554.jpg

I had the opportunity to take my friend's beautiful Volvo V40 diesel for a spin. Absolutely loved the looks, simplistic interior layout and the brilliant, supportive seats.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220311_070257.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220311_070417.jpg

Driving it spiritedly reminded me of one of our cars from the past - The Polo 1.6 GT TDI. The V40, with 150 bhp felt even better. Only gripe was that it was an AT. Manual transmission would have been a lot more fun.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20211030204516_facebook.jpg

Talking about Polos, here is the Altroz with one gorgeous 1.0 TSI Polo in that sporty flash red shade. It will always be one of my most favorite cars. It's a shame VAG gave up on diesels. I even wanted to get the Polo tsi Highline plus when I was looking for a new car last year. The fact that turbo petrols gulp away fuel when driven aggressively made me look elsewhere. Lovely car though!

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220305_201101.jpg

First oil replacement is at 15000 km. I have about a 1018 km left. IRA comes in handy to diagnose the vehicle status and also in notifying service due.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220331184343_tata-motors-ira.jpg

Usual Fuel efficiency data for the month:

As per MID : 18.1 kmpl (refer 2nd image of this post)

As per Fuelio tankfull to tankfull calculation : 17.89 kmpl

People considering diesel altroz, please don't take my fuel efficiency figures as a reference. These numbers were after doing some very spirited upper triple digit cruising, every single day, mostly in the range of 3000-3500 RPM & driving in city traffic / slow moving Rural traffic. If you are sedate, the 1.5 diesel easily gives 25 kmpl on the highway. Being sedate also has its cons- infamous DPF clogging. Mine has 0 DPF issues so far, and will never have in the future too.

A few parting pics before the 3rd service update

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220328_071139.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220310_095151.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220316_131823.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220328_130752.jpg

Last edited by Chetan_Rao : 3rd April 2022 at 20:43. Reason: iRA screenshot edited for speed reading. Thanks.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (78) Thanks
Old 3rd April 2022, 21:44   #109

I recently got myself a polo TSI AT 2021 and im getting an average mileage of just 8.0 km/l in the city and around 13 km/l on the highway. Im currently looking for a diesel to run in the city. I believe Altroz diesel will be a good option considering the poor mileage on my Polo AT. Thanks for posting about your car.
Mi2un is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th April 2022, 15:28   #110

It is a delight to read your posts, Prasanna. You remain articulate, to the point, and very helpful. User reviews help a lot too. I have grown to trust Japanese brands like Honda and Toyota - and while I think Tata is the future of India, and I really want it to continue to flourish for all the things they're doing listening to the Indian janta, reliability and niggles is something that concern us - and these are not immediately apparent or visible during test drives. So you sharing your views and ownership means a lot to us!

I guess I have a few questions I'd like to know answers for about the Altroz diesel if you'd be kind enough to answer:

1. Do you see a difference between the ride on 185 vs 195 section tyres?
2. Apart from the efficiency aspect, how different is the driveability of the diesel compared to the turbo petrol? Is there any other aspect you can think of before suggesting one of these 2 engines to a particular demographic?
3. How is the car holding up over all - do you see any changes in quality between your model and the recently manufactured Altroz cars (since you mentioned the NA Altroz purchase, I am seeing if Tata has made any quality of life improvements over time.

Really appreciate all the contribution to the forum, thanks once again!

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Completing the month of March with Altroz being used for 3 weeks, while storme and new celerio doing duty for a week.

Usage in March : 2778.4 km

Odo almost at 14,000 km, the car completing 5 months since delivery.

That is almost 3+ whole days spent this month driving the altroz. Definitely not complaining given how pleasurable the 1.5 diesel is to drive.
chaosengine is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th April 2022, 18:41   #111

15,000 km & 3rd Service Update

I had completed 14923 km and decided to get the car serviced today as my schedule was hectic the rest of the week, specially being Easter weekend/ Tamil New Year.

A gorgeous Dark Altroz was getting ready for delivery when I left the car for service. As beautiful as it may be, I could only imagine how much of care it would demand to maintain the metallic black shade. My brother's dark Harrier needs frequent detailing to maintain the shade.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_100941.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_102913.jpg

This is the first oil replacement for the altroz. Oil filter was also replaced, along with other routine checks. Wheel alignment and wheel balancing were done too. No complaints specified.

I had asked the service advisor to not apply polish on the dash. As usual, the wash quality was strictly average.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_170910.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_163105.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_163052.jpg

Total service bill was 5300 rupees. Next oil replacement is at 30,000 km. Good to see fully synthetic engine oil being used, given the 15000 km replacement intervals.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_165157.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_165342.jpg

Altroz with the super-comfy Hexa

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220411_162536.jpg

And a few more pics

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220406_160051.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220406_155036.jpg

Originally Posted by Mi2un View Post
I recently got myself a polo TSI AT 2021 and im getting an average mileage of just 8.0 km/l in the city and around 13 km/l on the highway. Im currently looking for a diesel to run in the city. I believe Altroz diesel will be a good option considering the poor mileage on my Polo AT. Thanks for posting about your car.
Congratulations on the Polo TSI. It is one of my most favorite cars. I have driven the 1.0 tsi MT. The 6 speed gearbox and the 1.0 tsi with its superb dynamics was a delight to drive.

I will not recommend the Altroz diesel, or any BS6 diesel for that matter for city usage. The service advisor told me mine was the only diesel altroz that he has attended to, which hasn't had any DPF clogging. I was wondering how nexons diesels have much lower number of dpf complaints than the altroz diesel, both running on the same 1.5 diesel mill, albeit in a different tune. I think a new car purchase negates any savings that you might make on fuel expenses. Enjoy the Polo tsi

Originally Posted by chaosengine View Post
I guess I have a few questions I'd like to know answers for about the Altroz diesel if you'd be kind enough to answer:

1. Do you see a difference between the ride on 185 vs 195 section tyres?
2. Apart from the efficiency aspect, how different is the driveability of the diesel compared to the turbo petrol? Is there any other aspect you can think of before suggesting one of these 2 engines to a particular demographic?
3. How is the car holding up over all - do you see any changes in quality between your model and the recently manufactured Altroz cars (since you mentioned the NA Altroz purchase, I am seeing if Tata has made any quality of life improvements over time.
1. Diesel altroz is sold with 185 section tyres, even in the top variant XZ+. From my experience in using both 185 as well as 195 section tyres in our Polo and Ciaz, I find 195 sections to add a little more heft to the steering. It is good with handling perspective. Ride quality saw no big difference. But with an increase in sidewall height (195/60 vs 195/65), the ride got plusher. It did have its negatives,- handling got affected slightly. So it's about your priority.

2. I have not driven the turbo. I have started to discourage people from buying diesel altroz, especially if they are sedate or overly concerned about fuel efficiency. DPF issues are a pain. As for your query about driveability, i think the diesel will be better as it pushes out more torque at lesser RPM when compared to the turbo petrol

3. Both the cars in our circle, mine (November 2021) and my grandparents'(March 2021) feel the same. No complaints to report after 15,000 km / 5 months 2 weeks of usage.

Anyone who is considering Altroz should be very clear about the 2 areas where there is scope for a lot of improvement the Altroz

1. Stiff ride quality at low speeds

2. NVH - the diesel engine is refined up to 110 kmph. I find the petrol N/A worse when it comes to engine refinement. Beyond the engine, the tyres make a ruckus at highway speeds and the car gives an impression that road noise insulation could have been better. It isn't a concern to me personally as I always drive with music and enjoy the engine note when driving fast. I will be replacing the noisy Goodyears with Michelin Primacy 4ST (195/65 R16 - for better ride quality) at the 40k km mark. Let's see if that makes it any better. Michelin P4ST did make a lot of difference in my Ciaz. So if refinement is one of your priorities, it is going to be the i20 that will suit your needs perfectly.

Last edited by Turbanator : 12th April 2022 at 17:30. Reason: As requested.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 13th April 2022, 00:30   #112

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | 15,000 km up

Many congrats for the milestone!

Wish you a pleasant DPF free experience going forward as well.

With prices rising of everything, how close was the estimate from TMSC app with the actual bill?

And do you not use the gold club booklet. It gives some discount on labor/parts etc.
rd18 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th April 2022, 12:21   #113

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | 15,000 km up

Hey PrassanaDhana,

Was a silent reader of your thread, till I got my membership approved recently. I like the way you present. Honestly, your car is a looker too (especially in one of the earlier posts where it was beside a Polo).

I hope you and your Altroz share miles and miles of trouble free experience.
subie_socal is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th April 2022, 21:15   #114

6 Months Update of the Altroz 1.5 diesel

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_111633.jpg

This post is going to be about

* Usual Month end update
* Kodaikanal Trip & an unfortunate incident

April Report

Odo : 16,530 km

April has been a hectic month to me. I had to travel a lot for work. I usually drive 3500 - 4200 km a month(all my 3 cars - Altroz/Storme/Celerio combined, Kwid is being used by dad). This month, I have crossed the 5000 km mark in monthly driving.

Altroz obviously being my primary ride, has been driven the most - 2676 km in April.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220430153359_fuelio.jpg

Monthly stats so far

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220430181712_fuelio.jpg

I had about a week of driving around with 5/6 on board this month. Storme was put to good use those times. Since the purchase of Altroz diesel, Storme was used only about 500 km on an average every month. This month the storme got used like last year - 2108 km in April

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220430200859_fuelio.jpg

Monthly Stats of Storme

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220430181722_fuelio.jpg

Finally, the new comer, 2021 Celerio was driven a few times for the gym runs and farm visits, clocking just 350 km in April.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220430200921_fuelio.jpg

Fuel Efficiency for April 2022

Fuel Efficiency as per MID - 18.1 kmpl
Fuel Efficiency as per tankfull to tankfull method- 17.5 kmpl

I experienced the first puncture in Altroz. I always have tyre inflator in my boot. Since I was also using the Storme frequently this month, I had kept the inflator in the storme. This gave way for me to change the tyre the good old way Only when I took out the spare tyre did I realize that it was a 14 inch tyre. 165/80 R14 with a max.
speed limit displayed on a sticker on it as 80 kmph.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_122247.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_123137.jpg

I must admit, it was a horrible sight to seethe 14 inch tyres in the front along with the 16 inch ones at the rear.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_144307.jpg

I rotated the tyres when I got the puncture rectified at the FNG.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_150430.jpg

Issues if any, after 6 months of usage - None!

I had the chance to test drive the Slavia 1.0 TSI MT this month.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220415_170202.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220415_171319.jpg

My observations are posted here - https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/offic...ml#post5298136 (Skoda Slavia Review)

I liked the car. It is spacious, very comfortable and that engine is superb.

Kodaikanal Trip & An unfortunate incident

A lot of work + driving + extremely hot weather in Central Tamilnadu demanded a small break. I decided to make a trip to Kodaikanal. Altroz diesel was the preferred ride, obviously as it's extremely fun to drive on ghats.

It's a short 230 km drive one way, which usually takes about 3 hours as the roads are perfect. Trichy - Dindugul - Batlagundu - Kodaikanal was the route taken. Upto Dindugul, the roads are 4 lane highways which allows good cruising speeds.

For the most part, the cruise control was set to 120 kmph (pic shot by shotgun)

Name:  IMG20220429WA0008.jpg
Views: 1148
Size:  54.2 KB

The roads were totally free. High speed stability of Altroz is commendable and it masks the speeds so well.

Only when village intersections are ahead, I dropped the speeds and got back to CC speed once the roads cleared. At one such area, while I was doing ~100 kmph, a dog jumped on the road from the central median. I could not emergency brake as I had other vehicles following me. I did tried braking, but there wasn't much to avoid the impact. The poor dog hesitated a moment, else it might have escaped the car. The impact must have happened at 80-90 kmph, but surprisingly it ran away after the incident. It was the first thing I checked after the event. I hope it survived the impact eventually.

I stopped ahead at the intersection to check for the damages. Luckily there weren't any damages. The number plate got dislodged from the frame which I took and placed in my boot, to be screwed back at the hotel later that day.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220429_181029.jpg

LHS clamps of the front fender got misaligned. It took just about a minute to clip them back to their original form.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_090304.jpg

The incident did steal the joy for quite a while. Road from Batlagundu to Kodaikanal foothills is two lanes only, but very smooth. It was a pleasure to drive on it.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220429_101941.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img20220430wa0018.jpg

The resort was located in one of the top most points of the town. I had to drive over some extremely steep inclines, the worst part being the absolute pathetic.roads filled with potholes and boulders.

At the resort parking

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220429_120320.jpg

On the return leg of the journey, I stopped at Batlagundu for a few pics. Honestly the pics dont do justice to how beautiful the region is

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_111741.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_111647.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_111442.jpg

After the number plate and front fender were put in place

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_111712.jpg

Android Auto was useful and the navigation on both the TFT screen as well as LCD display was immensely useful

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_120143.jpg

The car delivered a very good fuel efficiency of 19.1 kmpl for the entire trip

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220430_150041.jpg

I spotted my previous primary ride (2013 - 2016) Chevrolet Beat diesel this month. It was such a sweet moment to see the car again after 6 years. I sold it after a very reliable 93,000 km of usage
Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220421_163658.jpg

A few pics as usual

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_105145.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220420_104857.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220416_103345.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220428_124613.jpg

One of my current cars that I actually miss driving - the Kwid 1.0

New celerio was bought as a replacement to my dad's celerio. But now he has found Kwid better suited to his usage and the new celerio has become my secondary car.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220412_132124.jpg

Originally Posted by rd18 View Post
Many congrats for the milestone!

Wish you a pleasant DPF free experience going forward as well.

With prices rising of everything, how close was the estimate from TMSC app with the actual bill?

And do you not use the gold club booklet. It gives some discount on labor/parts etc.
Thank you!

TMSC app did not show the bill estimate. I think the Golden club booklet is for only the car that it has been billed to. So I couldn't use it for the Altroz as I got it for Storme.

Originally Posted by subie_socal View Post
Hey PrassanaDhana,

Was a silent reader of your thread, till I got my membership approved recently. I like the way you present. Honestly, your car is a looker too (especially in one of the earlier posts where it was beside a Polo).

I hope you and your Altroz share miles and miles of trouble free experience.
Thank you!

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 30th April 2022 at 21:32.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2022, 00:37   #115

This is really informative and really well written with almost all real-life situations and everything covered. Really helped me in deciding for the ALTROZ DIESEL, as I was also in the situation of buying 1 and your thread really helped me and answered all the questions that i had.
Batman_ab is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2022, 07:25   #116

A very well written, informative and practical post. For anyone looking for an all encompassing review of Altroz, this is definitely helpful! Wishing you plenty of happy miles ahead!
LeoChakraborthy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2022, 12:06   #117

You're really lucky with the damages from the hit. Once my brother was driving from Thiruvallur to Chennai in our Tata Nano, we had a similar incident and our right foglamp was damaged and was fell off the housing. Upon inspecting the damage with TASS, the AC condenser was damaged and had to be replaced and they gave an estimate of Rs.15,000 for the same.

Last edited by 5haS_0209 : 3rd May 2022 at 12:12. Reason: I wrote radiator instead of condenser.
5haS_0209 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2022, 18:12   #118

My nightmare coming true - I've always dreaded imagining the spare 14" steel rim wheels on a gorgeous Altroz with 16" alloys. Would Tata provide us with a spare alloy wheel if we paid for it? Also does the boot allow for a 16" spare wheel of the right size to be fit in it?

I must admit, it was a horrible sight to seethe 14 inch tyres in the front along with the 16 inch ones at the rear.
Awesome! I currently own a Beat and I have been looking to own an Altroz too, what are the odds! My parents joke that they are wouldn't need to get used to finding the rear door handles on the rear door of the car since they're used to the ones on Beat.

I spotted my previous primary ride (2013 - 2016) Chevrolet Beat diesel this month. It was such a sweet moment to see the car again after 6 years. I sold it after a very reliable 93,000 km of usage
chaosengine is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd May 2022, 21:33   #119

Road from Batlagundu to Kodaikanal foothills is two lanes only, but very smooth. It was a pleasure to drive on it.

On the return leg of the journey, I stopped at Batlagundu for a few pics. Honestly the pics dont do justice to how beautiful the region is
@PrasannaDhana - Thank you Bro for your post about the Altroz. When i decide to come back home, I will need 2 cars for me. I made up my mind that one car will be Altroz D based on your reviews & usage reports. I love the way you maintain the cars and documenting it. Kudos.

I am from Batlagundu and feeling nostalgic about the Batalagundu and Kodaikanal when I read the post. Looking forward to travel in the road which I last drove 17 yrs back in bike.
Navinprakash is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th May 2022, 12:22   #120

Incident about the dog's road crossing
Dindigul Velu Biryani
It looks like it happens more with Tata cars. Our Tiago suffered a dog hit and the fender was bent. You pull hard enough and it slaps back into position with a loud click sound. And the dog survived the ordeal. The fenders are designed well in the sense that they survive and the small animals also survive.

How was the Biryani in the Velu ?