Old 7th September 2022, 15:36   #151

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | 23,000 km up

Hi Prasanna, hoping you've recovered well now. Always a pleasure to read your updates, and the car is looking as if it was driven out of the showroom just yesterday!
Waiting for this to become the highest mileage Altroz in the country soon enough
chaksjr is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 30th September 2022, 16:22   #152

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Revotorq Diesel | Ownership Review | 23,000 km up

Month End Update

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220922070638_instagram.jpg

Meeting you all here for the routine month end update. September 2022 has been eventless and smooth.

Odo: 29292 km

September Usage : 2481.5 km

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220930_154725.jpg

Issues to report : None

Fuel Efficiency for the month

As per

MID - 18.3 kmpl

T2T Actual - 17.83 kmpl

Some photos from September

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220930_134650.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220930_112227.jpg

My Kwid 1.0 is sold. It served me well for 6 years and 57,000 km.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220928_171930.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220914_103134.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220929_165258.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220928_123500.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220928_101751.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220926_113008.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220926_105349.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220922_093001.jpg

In another month, Altroz will complete its first year. Next oil service is at 30,000 km which will be done in 2nd week of October

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220917_110019.jpg

Originally Posted by chaksjr View Post
Hi Prasanna, hoping you've recovered well now. Always a pleasure to read your updates, and the car is looking as if it was driven out of the showroom just yesterday!
Waiting for this to become the highest mileage Altroz in the country soon enough
Haha Thanks mate!

I have recovered totally. Believe me, from what I see in altroz ira community, there are people who drive 7000 km a month!!

Last edited by GTO : 29th October 2022 at 11:22. Reason: One pic :)
PrasannaDhana is offline   (10) Thanks
Old 30th September 2022, 16:42   #153

Originally Posted by PrasannaDhana View Post
Month End Update

Haha Thanks mate!

I have recovered totally. Believe me, from what I see in altroz ira community, there are people who drive 7000 km a month!!
7000 a month! That's tough to beat haha
Even at 30k the car looks pristine though. Safe driving!
chaksjr is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 30th September 2022, 16:49   #154

Originally Posted by chaksjr View Post
Even at 30k the car looks pristine though. Safe driving!
Thank you!

I am lucky that all my residences and offices have covered car parks.

This was my ciaz after 5 years and 1,20,000 km of usage

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20220924220216_facebook.jpg

That being said, altroz does have a small 2cm wide black spot on the rear bumper. I first suspected it to be from some 2 wheeler scraping in parking, but then it could also be paint chipping. I will post about it during the 30k km service update.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 25th October 2022, 15:53   #155

I have been facing this recurrent issue with my Altroz('20 petrol). Every other day when I lock the car, it triggers the parametric alarm or honks once even if all the four doors, hatch and bonnet are closed and windows are rolled up. It doesn't let you lock the car properly. And after 2-3 hours it triggers the panic alarm by itself. One has to go unlock-lock the car again. This has become quite annoying considering the alarm triggers at odd hours at times. When i looked up online, a few channels on youtube suggested to unplug the switch under the bonnet for alarm. I am not sure i want to do that.
Has anyone else faced this same issue?
Redline Shooter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 27th October 2022, 22:06   #156

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 1 Year with the 2021 Altroz 1.5 Revotorq Diesel | 32000 km completed

1 Year with the Tata Altroz 1.5 Revotorq Diesel

I took delivery of Altroz on 27th October 2021. A small throwback from the first posts of this ownership thread -

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-fb_img_1666809382247.jpg

Odo was 52 km when I drove out of the showroom. Today marks the first anniversary of my ownership of the little red car. I have driven 32,000 km and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it in the last 12 months

I have driven the storme for 8000 km, Kwid for 4000 km and new celerio for 2000 km in the same period. Altroz has played a major part in lessening the work load on the storme, which would have touched 90,000 km by now if not for the Altroz.

A pic from today, in one of my farms

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img_20221027_185112_527.jpg

Odo on the first anniversary:

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221027_183010.jpg

This post will highlight the following :

* 30,000 km service

* Ayudha Pooja

* Highest Actual T2T Fuel Efficiency Obtained during the recent Peravurani trip

* Overall Cost of Ownership - Fuel, Maintenance & Misc

* Overall Fuel Efficiency

* Niggles

* What could have been better

30,000 km Service

I have always been meticulous about getting my cars serviced before the deadline. This time I was busy and crossed the deadline by a very little margin. The car wouldn't let it go though, the MID kept throwing the Service Overdue message continuously. IRA app too spams with service notifications every hour.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221006_101415.jpg

It's the 5th Service Overall- 1000 km, 7500 km, 15000 km which were free services, last two services at 22500 km & 30000 km are paid ones.

As usual, the service went smoothly at Kaveri Tata, Trichy. Glad they are opening up another outlet just 2 km from my home. The current one is 15km away.

Notice the EV charging outlet which is open for all EV customers. Trichy has 2 such EV fast charging stations, one at each Kaveri Tata dealership

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221006_103210.jpg

This service included oil replacement, filter replacement, AC disinfecting, wheel alignment and balancing, along with other routine checks. The service bill was INR 73xx.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221006_171509.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221006_171523.jpg

Car after the service

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221006_170317.jpg

Next service will be at 37,500 km which will just be a check up and next oil replacement/brake pad replacement will be at 45,000 km.

Ayudha Pooja

It is a tradition in our family to pray and show gratitude during the day if Ayudha Pooja, by performing Pooja in our agricultural farms, farm equipments, school equipments, school vehicles and personal vehicles. I make it a point that I was all my personal use cars myself before the Pooja. This time, it was just 3 cars as Kwid 1.0 was sold a week before the Pooja.

Storme took me a good 2 hours to wash, Altroz an hour and the new celerio took 45 minutes. Despite the time and effort, the satisfactionthat comes from the task is profound.
Pics of the personal cars on the day of Pooja

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221004_085056.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221004_085102.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221004_084851.jpg

Highest Actual Fuel Efficiency Obtained

I drove to my wife's native Peravurani for a get-together. It is a 244 km round trip. I was pretty sedate compared to my usual style of driving. It was 60% highways 40% rural SH. I had the cruise control set at 90 kmph on the highways.

The MID showed 24.4 kmpl. I was hoping I would get around 23.5 to 24 kmpl from Tankfull to tankfull method. After refueling, I was surprised that the actual fuel efficiency was bang on same as the MID figure.

24.39 kmpl

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221002_161100.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20221027201749_fuelio.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221002_131713.jpg

With the legendary Amby

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221002_134004.jpg

Overall Cost of Ownership in 1 year & 32,000 km

This includes the running cost & maintenance costs

Total Cost of Ownership: INR 1,91,611

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20221027200415_fuelio.jpg

Of which,

Total Cost of Fuel : INR 1,66,711

Total Maintenance Cost (including insurance renewal) : INR 24,900

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20221027200452_fuelio.jpg

Overall Actual Fuel Efficiency

Actual Overall FE : 18.19 kmpl

I am more than happy with that! My usage is 60 : 40 - Highways : City/Rural

Highest FE - 24.39 kmpl

Lowest FE - 15.26 kmpl

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20221027200556_fuelio.jpg

Of the 100+ tank refills, 97 of them have been done at my usual BP bunk

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-screenshot_20221027200540_fuelio.jpg

DPF Issues- None!

Niggles

There haven't been any major niggles though. I have faced 2 minor ones

AC fresh air recirculation flap - Doesnt close fully I guess, letting some outside air inside even when the AC mode is set to recirculation

The next one isn't a niggle, but a small Battle scar - a small area where paint has chipped away

A small area, approximately 1 inch wide on the rear bumper. I am not sure if it was some two wheeler giving that scar or it is paint chipping. Anyways, I used the teambhp url sticker to cover it, not to cover it up aesthetically, but to cover the area and avoid further chipping

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221012_175009.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221012_175310.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221012_175424.jpg

Both these minor issues don't affect the user experience and hence decided to get the 1st issue sorted during next service.

What could have been better ?

After using the altroz diesel for a good mileage over the last 12 months, I am more than happy with the torquey engine, solid build quality, excellent high speed & overall handling dynamics - well calibrated steering with good feel and feedback + sorted suspension, features, very good fuel efficiency and nominal service costs.

There are 2 areas Tata can improve Altroz on

* NVH - Specially at triple digit speeds. Road insulation could have been better. Add to that, lack of 6th gear means the engine isn't as relaxed at 120 kmph as it is on my storme or i20 which have the 6th cog. The NVH isn't bad per se, but if it was lower, it would have made altroz diesel a perfect highway car. I also believe the OE Goodyear Assurance tyres play a role with the NVH. I am wondering if I have to go with Michelin P4ST for absolutely silent & comfy ride or with Continental UC6 which has great grip but isn't as silent as the Michelin.

* Stiff Low Speed ride - I have spoken about it numerous times in this thread.

I would have added a 3rd point about giving the 1.5 diesel in Nexon's tune. All the 3 improvements would have made it a perfect car. Sadly, Altroz may not even have a diesel mill next year.

Other than these 2 areas of improvement, Altroz diesel has proven to be an absolute workhorse

The Need :

A good-looking, safe, fuel-efficient, comfortable & spacious, manual transmission, punchy diesel car that also handles well

Comfortable driver seats, front armrests and good ergonomics are non-negotiable

Usage :

30000 - 36000 km per year / 100 km daily

7 years / 2 lakh km minimum
90% of usage
Need perfectly satisfied!

Tyre replacement is planned in February 2023. OE tyres have about 30% life left and will last 10000 more km.

A few more pics

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221021_110443.jpg

With our Safari 2.0 AT, which had its front RHS suspension replaced fully under warranty. Not exactly
the best way to inspire confidence in buyers who spent 28.6 lakhs on your flagship product Tata.

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img20221026wa0002.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-img20221026wa0003.jpg

With a BHPian's Punto in a highway restaurant parking

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221019_123852.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221027_094518.jpg

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221013_093457.jpg

Almost 90 days of 365 days behind the wheel of the altroz, it makes you know it's dimensions to the precision of last cm

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20220930_112227.jpg

With Hyundai pulling the plug on i20 diesel, I am sure Tata will also stop Altroz 1.5 diesel. Gives me more reasons to hold the efficient & peppy 1.5 diesel atleast for 6 more years.

Last 2 diesel hatchbacks on sale

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221009_161849.jpg

Last edited by Zappo : 28th October 2022 at 01:18.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (43) Thanks
Old 28th October 2022, 12:25   #157
RGK

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 1 Year with the 2021 Altroz 1.5 Revotorq Diesel | 32000 km completed

A few more pics
Congratulations on your anniversary with Altroz. Your review provides convincing evidence of Tata's quality improvement in the hatchback models.

Happy and Safe Motoring.

Seems the first photo was taken at Parvathi Bhavan's parking.

Last edited by RGK : 28th October 2022 at 12:29.
RGK is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 28th October 2022, 13:03   #158

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 1 Year with the 2021 Altroz 1.5 Revotorq Diesel | 32000 km completed

That was a wonderful summary for the Altroz.

On the below point of a 6th gear - I found that driving up to 120kmph in 5th gear is more fuel efficient than 120kmph in 6th gear, in my SCross 1.6. I am not sure if you noticed similar behaviour in your Storme or i20.

I understand your requirement of refinement. Maybe the upcoming tyre change and adding some sound insulation will help.

1 Year with the Tata Altroz 1.5 Revotorq Diesel

* NVH - Specially at triple digit speeds. Road insulation could have been better. Add to that, lack of 6th gear means the engine isn't as relaxed at 120 kmph as it is on my storme or i20 which have the 6th cog.
pugram is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th October 2022, 14:22   #159

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 1 year & 32,000 km up

I recommend you insist on the service centre to NOT put silly charges like cotton cloth and washer fluid on the bill. As is a tissue box refill at Maruti.
I recently had my Tiago in for the 3rd service, and they billed me ₹75 for "cotton cloth". This was an item on a service bill which I'd never seen before, at other marquees. I knew for a fact they were using a scrap from an old saree to wipe hands and bits in the engine. I stood by the car throughout the servicing. Instead of the ₹75, I offered them a beautiful, and pricey microfiber from my boot. Embarrassed thoroughly, they deleted it.

Same goes for washer fluid. A simple concoction of RO water and some car shampoo is adequate and literally free of cost.

The service reminder can be reset on your own, irrespective of the service done or due. Plenty of YouTube videos to demonstrate the same, including my own for the Tiago. I'm sure the same applies on the Altroz as well

lemedico is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th October 2022, 13:05   #160

Re: Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | 1 year & 32,000 km up

Really happy to see you enjoying your drives with the altroz. And thanks for the regular updates about your cars here.

I really hope that TATA don't pull the plug on the altroz diesel with the upcoming RDE emission norms. With Hyundai also out of the picture, TATA can have the market to themselves, even if it comes with a stiffer price tag.

Now if only they pair a nice TC or the DCA to the diesel, it'll be the best hatch for people with higher usage. One hopes that TATA will see the light someday.
Kumaran93R is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 29th October 2022, 21:03   #161

A year already! Congrats.
You have had quite a run for a year. 32k!

Anyone looking for Altroz must see this thread. Well updated with all details.

Question- does the Fuellio app also lets you record ownership cost like service charges? Or is it some other app?
rd18 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 31st October 2022, 19:10   #162

Nexon tune with 6speed would have made altroz a proper replacement to the now dead GT TDI
Whiteburner is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd November 2022, 08:17   #163

[b]Fuel Efficiency for the month

As per
MID - 18.3 kmpl
T2T Actual - 17.83 kmpl
Thanks for sharing this vital information. Please help me with one doubt.

I have booked Altroz XZ+ Petrol for now. I was recently watching a YouTube video on owner experience. The service center people seems to have told the owner that better FE kicks in after 3000-4000KMs. There will be only 8/9 combined KMPL before that.

Is that true as per your experience too? I believe 4000KM would be a stretch for me cause I don't drive that much.

Last edited by libranof1987 : 23rd November 2022 at 16:16. Reason: Trimming quoted post. Kindly quote only relevant sections of the post.
Old 23rd November 2022, 15:57   #164

Originally Posted by confusedbuyer80 View Post

I have booked Altroz XZ+ Petrol for now. I was recently watching a YouTube video on owner experience. The service center people seems to have told the owner that better FE kicks in after 3000-4000KMs. There will be only 8/9 combined KMPL before that.

Is that true as per your experience too? I believe 4000KM would be a stretch for me cause I don't drive that much.
I drive a 2020 Altroz XZ+ P. In the initial part of the ownership I was getting 10-11kmpl with a heavy foot. So if you drive more cautiously you can get 12-13 too in the early days.
Redline Shooter is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th November 2022, 22:34   #165

Month end Update

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221124_112911.jpg

Odo : 34383 km

November Usage : 2418 km

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221130_220620.jpg

I have employed my driver again. Dad met with 2 minor accidents in New celerio, both times it was the mistake of the other motorist. I didn't want to risk it anymore. Storme is being put to good use again. In November, storme has been driven 2000 km. Celerio has done 500 km.

Fuel efficiency for November 2022

MID FE : 19.3 kmpl

T2T FE : 18.58 kmpl

Everything smooth with Altroz. No news to be mentioned.

The 33333 km milestone

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221118_150410.jpg

With the Volvo v40

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221114_170333.jpg

I took delivery of a new school bus today SML 42 Seater BS6

Name:  IMG_20221130_190026_196.jpg
Views: 807
Size:  49.6 KB

Prassy's 1st Small Tata | 2021 Altroz XZ+ 1.5L Diesel | Ownership Review | EDIT: 2 yrs/58k km update-20221130_175740.jpg

Originally Posted by rd18 View Post
A year already! Congrats.
You have had quite a run for a year. 32k!

Anyone looking for Altroz must see this thread. Well updated with all details.

Question- does the Fuellio app also lets you record ownership cost like service charges? Or is it some other app?
Thank you!

If not for the other 3 cars, Altroz would have done 50k km in the first year

Fuelio allows us to record all other charges too.

Originally Posted by confusedbuyer80 View Post

Fuel efficiency does not improve much after engine breaking in. May be upto 0.5 kmpl improvement can be possible.

I also have an altroz petrol in the extended family. 11 to 13 kmpl is normal.

Last edited by PrasannaDhana : 30th November 2022 at 22:36.
PrasannaDhana is offline   (8) Thanks