|
![]() |
Search this Thread | ![]() 8,480 views |
![]() | #1 |
Newbie ![]() Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: Vancouver
| 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Prologue - A Two-Year Love Story![]() Back in 2020, when Ford’s "Reborn Bronco" teaser videos first hit YouTube, I was watching them from my desk in India and silently wishing the company would do a right-hand-drive launch for our market. Every clip of the SUV crawling over Moab’s red rocks only deepened the craving. Of course, Ford exited India soon after, so the dream went into cold storage. Fate, however, had other plans. My family shifted to Vancouver in late 2023, and suddenly the idea of parking a Bronco in my own driveway went from fantasy to a plausible spreadsheet item. I initially flirted with the Subaru WRX because of its rally pedigree, but the real-world car felt more low-slung sports saloon than gravel-muncher. I wanted an all-weather daily driver that could still double as a weekend toy, and the WRX’s tiny boot and tight ride did not fit that brief. Convincing my better half took another two years of gentle persuasion and Canadian winter logic. Spreadsheets were drawn, pros and cons discussed, and finally, once she was satisfied that a ladder-frame SUV would be safer in snow and roomier for Costco runs, the green light appeared. One test-drive later, a Velocity Blue Big Bend with a Getrag seven-speed manual was booked, and a long-standing itch was about to be scratched. 1. Finding the Right Horse for the Stable![]() I considered three contenders in earnest. The Jeep Wrangler offered legendary heritage but demanded eye-watering money and served up a pogo-stick ride on patched asphalt. The Subaru WRX was tempting on paper but too low, too stiff and too limited on cargo room. The Toyota Tacoma TRD with its sweet turbo 4 and six-speed manual felt close, yet the "knees-to-chin" driving position and kid-unfriendly rear bench killed the vibe. The Bronco, on the other hand, ticked every box: genuine 4×4 hardware, family-friendly cabin, a proper stick shift and a price that, while steep, did not trigger cardiac arrest. 2. Booking, Delivery, and First Impressions![]() Brown Bros Ford of Vancouver handled the order. They quoted seven weeks from booking to delivery and, to their credit, delivered on the nose. On-road price worked out to CAD 63,500, call it roughly ₹38 lakh in home-currency thinking, no discounts because Broncos sell at sticker here. I added a factory hood deflector, a hard-wired Thinkware 4K/1080p dash-cam, and rubber floor mats. The accessories arrived five weeks late (more on that in the niggles section), but the dealer made up by letting me perform a full DIY pre-delivery inspection with a torque wrench and paint-depth gauge, pure BHPian joy. 3. Everyday Usage PatternSo far, the odometer reads 1,200 kilometres. My daily grind involves a 25 km round-trip that mixes bumper-to-bumper city traffic with a 90 km/h ring-road blast. Weekends usually see a dash up the Sea-to-Sky Highway towards Whistler or a poke down a forest road just to keep the diffs exercised. The regular crew consists of two adults, one extremely excited four-year-old, and whatever camping or Costco cargo the day demands. 4. Street Presence & Build , The Long VersionEven on a gloomy, rain-soaked Vancouver morning, the Velocity Blue paintwork catches the eye; more than once, I have seen pedestrians stop mid-crosswalk to admire the truck. With its squared-off fenders, exposed door hinges, and near-vertical windscreen, the Bronco projects an unapologetically utilitarian attitude that reminds me of an oversized Tonka toy. Yet for all the retro cues, the build quality is anything but old-school. My paint meter shows between 130 and 150 microns across the bodywork, and the tightest panel gaps I found would barely accept a credit card. Ford’s modular philosophy is not marketing fluff. Armed with a T40 Torx bit and a cordless driver, I can remove both front doors, the rear doors, and the two roof panels in under ten minutes, working solo. The doors are lighter than they look, and the built-in caps protect the wiring when everything is stowed in the garage. The truck rolls out of Michigan on 255/70 R17 Goodyear Territory all-terrain tyres. These remain civilised up to about 110 km/h, producing only a faint hum, yet they bite confidently through slush, loose gravel, and shallow mud. I plan to buy a dedicated winter set, but for three-season duty, the stock rubber feels perfectly matched. The dealer finally fitted the hood deflector after a five-week delay, and it has already earned its keep by pinging some marble-sized stones skyward. Unfortunately, a pebble found the windshield before the deflector arrived; the resin repair cost CAD 80, a cheap reminder that upright glass needs all the help it can get. Underneath, Big Bend trim includes stamped-steel bumpers and basic skid plates for the oil pan and transfer case. No surface rust is visible yet, and the factory e-coat on the frame rails appears thick and even. Overall, the Bronco looks and feels as sturdy as its heritage promises. 5. Living Room on Tyres, Interior, Ergonomics & Tech![]() ![]() ![]() Step inside and you will not find soft-touch plastics or piano-black trims. Instead, Ford gives you marine-grade vinyl on high-wear areas, rubber-sealed switches, and proper floor drains. The cabin basically begs you to bring in some mud. Nothing rattles so far. The front seats could do with lumbar support, but they hold my six-foot-one frame comfortably, and the pedal box has just the right spacing for heel-and-toe, once I convince the ECU to stop playing nanny with its forced rev-matching. The rear bench is genuinely adult-friendly, and my daughter can climb in unaided, buckle up, and shout " Rocket Blue Truck, blast-off!" The boot swallows a stroller plus a week’s groceries with no Tetris required. From the driver’s seat, you sit high and proud, with the bonnet corners clearly visible, a gift during parallel parking downtown. The dashboard sees a set of fighter-jet toggles for diff locks and hazard lights, big enough to grip with winter gloves. The digital cluster shows boost pressure, coolant temperature, and tyre pressures in one thumb-scroll. Ford’s Sync 4 infotainment, displayed on a 12-inch portrait screen, is buttery smooth, and wireless CarPlay connects before I finish fastening the seatbelt. 6. Powertrain, Heart and Soul of the Beast |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 59 BHPians Thank sumodhkrishna for this useful post: | 14000rpm, aah78, Aditya, amoi, anivy, AnkitHJain7, AZT, BusCar, CalvinHobbes, comfortablynumb, CrusingSoul, dailydriver, DasAuto1985, DDISclatters, deep1cisco, digitalnirvana, download2live, FlankerFury, FocusAssist, frankmehta, FueledbyFury, gauravdgr8, GForceEnjoyer, GTO, g_sanjib, Harjot37, Ikran, InControl, jpm, ketan007, kgt.v8, Klub Class, knightrider_7, Mukunthan91, neelkumar, Newtown, pavannagaraja, PrasunBannerjee, PreludeSH, Puneet0051, rajvardhanraje, ramnaresh_2000, Rehaan, saleem_k, sanjayrozario, Shreyas Aterkar, SithDefender, SmartCat, SR-71, sridhar-v, SRISRI_90, SS338, Ssquare, swe.desi, Tgo, Utopian, vignesh207, Vinod_nair, Wolfieee |
![]() | #2 |
Team-BHP Support ![]() | re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Thread moved out from the Assembly Line. Thanks for sharing! |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 4 BHPians Thank Aditya for this useful post: | digitalnirvana, GTO, Rehaan, sumodhkrishna |
![]() | #3 |
BHPian ![]() | Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Congrats on your Bronco, sure does look like a mammoth (in a good way). Great color choice, I wonder why many Indian automakers ignore this color. It is interesting to see that it generates different power based on different kind of fuel. I have never heard such functionality here in India. Many automakers either suggest 91 or 95 RON, but never hybrid. Can you elaborate on this? |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks ramnaresh_2000 for this useful post: | sumodhkrishna |
![]() | #4 |
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Thank you! Yes, the Bronco does look like a beast, really commanding on the road. I went with the blue, and it pops beautifully, especially under natural light. Surprised more manufacturers don’t offer bold colors like this by default. About the fuel-dependent power figures: the 2.3L EcoBoost engine in the Bronco is designed to adapt based on the octane rating of the fuel. It’s engineered to run on both regular (87 octane) and premium (91+ octane) fuel, using advanced engine management and knock sensors. If you use regular fuel, the ECU pulls back the ignition timing and reduces boost slightly to prevent engine knock. This keeps things safe, but results in a bit less power. With premium fuel, the engine can advance timing and increase boost safely, pushing output by extra ~30 hp. It’s not something we often see in India, where engines are usually tuned for a specific fuel grade (like 91 or 95 RON) and don’t dynamically adjust power output. But with modern turbo-petrol engines becoming more common, I think we’ll start seeing similar setups back home too. So, it’s not a dual-fuel system, just an intelligent ECU that adjusts performance based on what you feed it. Pretty neat, actually! |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks sumodhkrishna for this useful post: | digitalnirvana |
![]() | #5 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2010 Location: New Delhi
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review This is one of the most good looking cars, ever and the Blue color makes the package even better. Although, if I look at your car from the front and compare it with the earlier commercials, there is some difference in the hood styling. Is yours a different variant? I never knew that about this clever ECU adjustments for fuel. I think something similar can be built for E20/Non-E20 fuels as well for India. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Utopian for this useful post: | sumodhkrishna |
![]() | #6 | |
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Quote:
As for the hood styling, good observation, mine is the 2025 Bronco Big Bend trim, which comes with a more subtle, functional hood design compared to the aggressive one you usually see in ads and promo videos. Most of those feature the Bronco Raptor, which has a completely different front-end design with a vented hood, fender flares, and a unique grille. It’s a different beast altogether, both in performance and in looks. Also, just to clarify, Bronco Sport is often confused with the Bronco, but it’s a completely different vehicle. The Sport is built on a crossover platform (same as the Ford Escape), while the Bronco is a full-frame SUV meant for serious off-roading. They only share the "Bronco" badge, nothing else, not the platform, capability, or even the design philosophy. Regarding fuel, yes, the Bronco's 2.3L EcoBoost engine adjusts its output depending on whether you're using regular (87 octane) or premium (91+ octane) fuel, thanks to ECU calibration. Something similar for E20 vs non-E20 fuels in India would definitely be a smart move, especially considering the fuel infrastructure shift coming up. | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank sumodhkrishna for this useful post: | digitalnirvana, Utopian |
![]() | #7 |
BHPian Join Date: Feb 2013 Location: BOM, SFO
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Congratulations on the new ride! I was one of the early reservation holders when Ford launched the reservation page in July 2020. I remember the excitement, frustration, hope, more frustration, and then elation when I finally took delivery over Thanksgiving 2021. Mine was also a Big Bend, but with 2-doors and the 2.7L. I'm guessing they've resolved the roof delamination issue by now, and maybe even figured out how to make the cabin quieter. The forums will have a lot of info on mods and improvements, and I highly encourage you to accessorize and upgrade. The new roof options are incredible and I wish they were available when I owned mine. Slap on some better trail-worthy rubber and get her dirty! |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank kinetic for this useful post: | digitalnirvana, sumodhkrishna |
![]() | #8 | |
You’re right about the roof concerns. From what I’ve heard and read on the forums, the hard-top cracking and delamination issues persisted up until the 2024 models. Ford apparently redesigned the hard top around August 2024, so the newer builds, like mine, are supposed to be more robust and better sealed. The cabin definitely feels tighter and quieter than I expected. I’m already eyeing a few mods, especially tires and some trail protection. Can’t wait to get it dirty soon! | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #9 |
Newbie Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Milpitas, CA
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Congrats man! Hello from the SF Bay Area! Absolutely loving my 2024 Big Bend Sasquatch. My first car was a Tornado-red Golf GTI. Returned to the familiar color (Race Red) with the Bronco. Here's a picture off-road with my buddies: ![]() Your write-up reminded me of myself. Just like you, I had multiple entrants in my Google sheets. Coming from a slew of hot hatches (FK8 Type R followed the GTI), a truck-based off-roader was unknown territory for me. Had some experience soft-roading in my wife'e Subie, but this was a different ballgame. It finally came down to this, versus a Gladiator. I had my reasons against a Wrangler: - Solid axle up-front. It's a PITA for daily driving. The long wheelbase Gladiator is much smoother over tarmac. - Also, Wrangers are too common around where I live. Mostly driven by folks who would never take it off-road. A long-running email thread of about 61 emails sent to myself finally nailed it down for me. The Bronco is such a sweet balance of on-road and off-road prowess. Doesn't hurt that it's an absolute icon. Also, wife wasn't ready for a truck with bed, given that we just had a baby. Here's wishing a lot of miles and smiles with the Bronco! ![]() PS: My wife drives an Area 51 Bronco Sport Badlands. So, we are one big Bronco family now ![]() NOTE FROM T-BHP SUPPORT: Only 2 (TWO) emoticons are permitted per post. Please read the Announcements carefully before proceeding. Last edited by suhaas307 : 17th June 2025 at 12:49. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 3 BHPians Thank deep1cisco for this useful post: | digitalnirvana, sumodhkrishna, Utopian |
![]() | #10 | |
Totally relate to your journey, my Excel Sheet had more rows and columns than some office budgets. The Gladiator was on my list, too, but that solid front axle and the fact that Wranglers are everywhere just didn’t sit right with me. The Bronco felt like the perfect balance between on-road civility and off-road muscle, plus, it’s a freakin’ icon. And most importantly, the 7-speed stick shift. That was the clincher for me. In a world full of automatics, there’s something special about rowing your own gears, especially in a truck that’s meant to be driven, not just cruised. It’s engaging, raw, and reminds you why you love driving in the first place. You’ve got a full Bronco family with that Badlands Sport, too, respect! Wishing you and the crew plenty of trail time and unforgettable adventures. Maybe we’ll cross paths out there someday. P.S. That 61-email thread? You’re not alone. Mine looked like a conspiracy board by the end Last edited by KarthikK : 17th June 2025 at 22:09. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting a full, long post inconveniences our mobile readers. Thanks! | |
![]() | ![]() |
The following 2 BHPians Thank sumodhkrishna for this useful post: | deep1cisco, digitalnirvana |
![]() | #11 |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2020 Location: panjim
| Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Very nice colour! Congratulations on the car. I was curious about the auto-blipping feature. It's an odd thing to add to a stick shift car, presumably as the customer for a manual is deliberately looking for a shifting and driving experience they have full control over. I have noticed online that American manual drivers are obsessed with rev-matching and blipping the throttle while downshifting (even while driving casually) while drivers in most other countries are quite content to release the clutch more slowly and let the revs adjust on their own. I drive a manual and I'm trying to envision how I'd feel if the car automatically blipped the throttle while I downshift. I think I can see why it'd be annoying (irrespective of whether it's the "right" way to shift). I am just curious as your experience with it and why you find it unpleasant. |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks karanddd for this useful post: | sumodhkrishna |
|
![]() | #12 | |
As someone who genuinely enjoys driving a manual, I personally prefer to rev-match myself rather than relying on the truck to do it for me. There’s a certain satisfaction in nailing a smooth downshift; it’s part of the engagement I look for when I choose to drive stick. Especially in a truck like the Bronco, which is meant to be a rugged, driver-focused machine, I'd expect full control over such nuances. What bothers me about revmatch is not that it’s technically wrong, it's actually very precise, but that it takes away an element of driver skill and personal rhythm. At the very least, Ford should have provided an option to disable it, so it becomes a choice, not a mandate. As things stand, it feels like the truck is overriding a fundamental part of manual driving. From a technical standpoint, I get why North American manufacturers lean toward it, especially with the rise in rev-matching being fetishized in the U.S. driving community. A lot of American drivers obsess over keeping shifts smooth, and many grew up driving manuals in performance-focused scenarios (track, drag, etc.), where downshift smoothness can affect balance and drivetrain wear. Auto-rev matching ensures consistency and reduces the learning curve, which is probably why it’s marketed as a "helpful" feature here. That said, manual should mean manual. And to me, that includes the freedom to choose how and when to blip, or not. Let the driver decide, not the ECU. | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #13 |
Distinguished - BHPian ![]() | Re: 2025 Ford Bronco Big Bend (7-MT) Ownership Review Thanks for this write up. Very interesting. Great colour. I must admit I like the Bronco a lot. Its available in the Netherlands from about Euro 160000 upwards. Which is totally ridiculous. That is the same starting base price for a Range Rover! Here it comes it comes equipped with the 2, 7L twin turbo V6 and a 10 speed auto box. Sorry, but having a 2, 2l Ecoboost engine is simply not good enough for a car like this. ![]() As a Classic Jeep Cherokee owner I like the boxy design. But a car likes this needs at least a 4L engine and nothing too fancy either. Its not the horsepower that counts. It how that power is delivered. The Americans used to built ridiculous big lumps of engine producing relatively low power but decent torque. That made them last for ever. My Jeep Cherokee has done wel over 340k kilometers and counting! Just a remark regarding the octane ratings used. The Americans have a different system from everybody else. Their premium 91 is roughly the equivalent of what everybody else calls RON 95 octane. I am not so sure about this engine management system. The American 87 Octane needs a very low compression. Everybody gets obsessed about ECUs and adjusting the ignition. But the key factor is always the compression ratio, that determines in what band the ignition can be adjusted. You can always out a higher octane fuel in any car. Whether you get any benefits from it is debatable. You can't put lower octane in a high(er) octance engine. The reason Ford had to do this is some heat specific to their 87/91 Octane availability. US octane 87 is roughly RON 91. In Europe you wont find RON 91. Jeroen |
![]() | ![]() |
The following BHPian Thanks Jeroen for this useful post: | sumodhkrishna |
![]() | #14 | |
Thanks Jeroen! Totally agree, €160,000 for a Bronco is just outrageous. Over here in Canada, it’s priced much more reasonably, thankfully. About the engine, I understand the skepticism. A 2.3L four-cylinder in a truck like this doesn’t sound like much on paper. But the 2.3L EcoBoost puts out 300 HP and 325 lb-ft of torque on premium fuel, and 275 HP / 315 lb-ft on regular. I drive the 7-speed manual version, and honestly, it feels surprisingly torquey and responsive, especially off-road. In terms of fuel, the engine dynamically adjusts performance using a Knock Octane Modifier (KOM). It constantly evaluates knock and adjusts timing and boost accordingly. It takes a bit of time after each fill-up to adapt, but once it settles in, the difference with premium fuel is noticeable. The turbo spools faster, throttle response is sharper, and the engine just feels more alive. On regular fuel, there’s a slight increase in turbo lag, the boost builds more slowly, especially under quick acceleration. With premium, it’s more immediate and predictable. That said, for everyday driving or light cruising, you won’t notice much difference. But when pushing it, especially on inclines or quick highway merges, the premium definitely brings out the best in the engine. For me, the Bronco struck the right balance. I loved the boxy, rugged aesthetic, very much in the spirit of the old Cherokee, but I didn’t want to deal with the mechanical and electrical gremlins that have been plaguing the latest Jeeps. The Bronco offers that same raw, mechanical vibe but with more polish and fewer headaches (so far!). Your Cherokee doing 340k km is a serious badge of honour, those old-school engines were built differently. But for a modern take that still respects the "driver’s SUV" spirit, I’ve been very happy with what Ford has done here. Cheers from Canada! | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() | #15 | |
Newbie Join Date: Jun 2010 Location: Milpitas, CA
![]() | |
![]() | ![]() |
![]() |