Old 5th February 2008, 18:11   #1

I got my Getz

I had been driving Santro since 2001 and recently planned to change. I don't go on highway and my family is just 2+1 so I didn't need a huge car. After driving all possible cars available in India, I zeroed in on Mitsubishi Cedia and Hyundai Getz. Cedia is the most under-rated but super high performance car, the handling is superb and sports model is to die for but after lot of thinking, I decided to go for Getz because I rarely goto highways, my city drive is 30 KM at an average per day. I sent my Santro to Delhi to be used there and booked Getz and just when I was all set to get my new Getz, the dealer told me that he had only 2007 models but I wanted 2008 only so I waited til 1st Feb 2008. Finally, I got my 1.3 GLS Dynasty Red Getz. Dealer told me that I'd have it at 10 AM but finally got the delivery at 3 PM. Anyway, I drove it back to home and was totally pleased with the way my car was dealing with suspensions. In last four days, I've driven close to 120 KMs and I'm very very happy with the performance. I've got petrol tank filled up to check the FE. So far my experience with the vehicle is:
Pros:
  1. luxurious appeal and comfortable in driving
  2. AC Very effective and no effect on pick up
  3. Powerful engine, great pick up
  4. Very nice interior and too much of space
  5. Very smooth gear shift
  6. Very quite engine
Cons
  1. Not too many features like ABS (GLX is not value for money), Airbags or collapsible steering.
  2. Nothing else
I've yet to get my tank empty so can't comment clearly on FE but the trend so far is giving me an impression that I'll get 10 KPL FE which I hope will improve after first service. I'm not overtaking or playing with my car the way I used to do with my santro.

I got a pioneer MP3 player with USB and iPOD support installed. I don't want to touch the exterior for at least an year and then I'll see how I can get this modded.
btw I got 18K discount, free keyless entry, mudflaps, seat covers (ordinary ones, need to be changed), Teflon coating (After first free service), mats and 15K loyalty discount.
Here are the pics:
http://bp3.blogger.com/_TzRq4J9pPNM/R6hYA0IuR8I/AAAAAAAAAAY/4McvNxkyCx8/s1600-h/New+Car+012.jpg
New+Car+056.jpg (image)
New+Car+007.jpg (image)

Old 5th February 2008, 21:15   #2

Congrats. Its an excellent choice. I am in love with this car. Enjoy!!

The only shortcoming for me is the under thigh support. I am 6'2" tall.
Old 5th February 2008, 23:23   #3

Congrats on the new car. I'm sure you will have a great time with it. You must be enjoying the ride quality of the Getz after the Santro.

However I'm a little curious abou the initial comparison between the Cedia and the Getz since the two cars are in completely different segments. Did you also consider the Getz CRDI? Though I have not Test driven it myself (TD car not available in Mumbai!) I hear it is quite a road rocket and has diesel economy to boot.
Old 5th February 2008, 23:29   #4

Congrats! The car looks really good in that colour.
Old 5th February 2008, 23:38   #5

congrats bro for your purchase,Welcome to be another member of Getz you will love..and wont regrete with your decision.. lovely colour and yess the prime looks like a beast from front Drive safe bro.. cheers

Ramie
Old 6th February 2008, 08:03   #6

rajandroid,

can you please share with us what was the deal you got?
Like what was the OTR and what freebies you got?

Also I have read here lot of people say GLX is not VFM.

I found from the hyundai website that GLX is 35K more than GLS
and GLX has ABS and Alloy Wheels with broader tyres over GLS.
I'm sure ABS would cost 20K and Alloy Wheels with broader tyres nearly 15K.
Then May I know, why do you guys think GLX is not a good value?

Please let me know your opinion guys.

Regards!
Old 6th February 2008, 09:06   #7

Hi rajandroid,

Congratulations on your new car. Can you let us know the OTR?
The 18K discount includes the 15K discount OR you got 18 + 15 K discount?

Also, let me know why you think GLX is not VFM?
ABS [around 20K] and Alloy Wheels [around 15K] should be reasonable right?

Your answers might help me deciding my First Car too.

Regards!

Mods, My previous post disappeared. I have no idea why.
If some MOD is deleting it, kindly let me know why. If there is anything wrong with my post, you should let me know why, rather than just deleting the posts. I'm not violating any rules to the best of my knowledge. I'm not being rude to any one or using any abusive language. I'm only here to learn and you should Correct me if I'm wrong. It really hurts to see the post disappear/deleted after some time.
Old 6th February 2008, 12:43   #8

Thanks Guyz

Thanks to all of you. I'm actually enjoying the ride, it's just too comfortable and does everything what I command.

@Strangerintown
I had a budget of 10-12 Lacs so money was not the issue. I just thought of exploring everything above Santro so you can understand how many test drives I've taken. The most expensive was Civic. After all those test drives, I finalized Cedia but I just did an inner check if I needed that car because I have a small family, I didn't want to show off and I don't go on highways (once in a year and that too 100-200 KMs) so I thought of saving money and getting a premium hatchback with good ride quality and practical in approach. I got everything in Getz (The closest rival Fabia is too overpriced and ground clearance is too bad). I would rather get few more gadgets for my car in that money. I have always been happy with Hyundai service. While I was typing, I got a call from Hyundai Dealer asking for feedback and I love to give these feedbacks
I got Satnav GPS PND today.
Old 6th February 2008, 14:10   #9

Hi Nithi
I got 18K + 15K discount. 15K is yet to come because this comes straight from the company (as my dealer says).
GLS is on road 5.42 W/O Discounts
GLX is on road 5.81 (Alloy wheels and ABS extra)

The difference is not much but generally the alloys provided are of not very high quality and you can easily get very good Alloys from outside and ABS is not all that costly and ABS helps you immensely on highways where I don't go. I could go for GLX if Airbag option could have been there.

btw to know more about ABS: Tips for Driving with ABS (Anti-Lock Brake Systems) - NSC
Old 6th February 2008, 16:09   #10

Hi Android Raja,

Welcome to the club of Getz. Its an excellent choice and I am sure you'll enjoy the ownership of this car.

Do post your unbaised view on the experience with Getz.

Anju
Old 6th February 2008, 16:17   #11

Nice review. Since it was launched, I have always liked the looks of the Getz, but somehow I could not buy it. Even now, I would not be averse to buy a Getz, if it had an automatic.
Old 6th February 2008, 18:53   #12

Congratulations..

Car looks awesome in that colour.
Old 6th February 2008, 21:46   #13

Congrats on the new buy. The colour you have choose is also good. Do some mods on the vehicle. My neighbour has the same but white colour. He has done the mods and the car looks absolutely stunning.
Old 6th February 2008, 21:58   #14

Originally Posted by nithi View Post
rajandroid,

can you please share with us what was the deal you got?
Like what was the OTR and what freebies you got?

Also I have read here lot of people say GLX is not VFM.

I found from the hyundai website that GLX is 35K more than GLS
and GLX has ABS and Alloy Wheels with broader tyres over GLS.
I'm sure ABS would cost 20K and Alloy Wheels with broader tyres nearly 15K.
Then May I know, why do you guys think GLX is not a good value?

Please let me know your opinion guys.

Regards!
I have GLX version and the extra 35K is really worth for ABS, Alloy wheel and broader tyres.
Old 6th February 2008, 22:01   #15

My congratulations on the purchase of an excellent car. Good Luck!