Old 12th February 2008, 10:25   #1

Swift DDiS vs. Getz CRDi or Verna CRDi??? Help!!!!

Hi Team-BHP,

Yes, I am a noob to this forum!!!!!

I've been following this forum for the past 6 months since I started planning returning to India and purchasing a car.

I thought I could get some opinion and suggestions from the experts we have here.

Mods - This might be off topic, but please let me retain this topic for the sake of all new joiners and the ones contemplating on buying a car of the choice I've mentioned.

My requirements are:

1 - A good vehicle to commute and maneuver around Bangalore (Yes, in the garden city with traffic that beats Thailand)
2 - Diesel - For low running cost and good FE
3 - Budget - 5-6 L
4 - Speed - need to have some serious torque to see some painful drivers on our roads disappear in the RVM
5 - Good control in high speeds (not breakneck speeds, but 130-150 kmph as some of you fellow members have tried out on our roads)

I did read some excellent reviews and expert opinions from the users such as Jaggu / GeekSrik / s0uljah / BUSA et all.

Could you please help me with:

1 - What would be a better choice between Swift DDiS and Getz CRDi
The waiting period for Swift (ABS) is around 4-5 months in Bangalore and Getz is 90 days
2 - FE, which one is better amongst these two
3 - Which model amongst the 2 in Swift is recommended? LDi or VDi (ABS)
Considering we could get the car fitted with the missing features post purchase (although, i would prefer to get it done at the showroom itself as I would be taking it on a company car lease)
4 - Could we fit ABS separately post purchase?

I know someone at MUL and he mentioned he could try to get me a Swift DDiS with ABS in about 2 months (fingers crossed)

PS: I was initially thinking of a Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi and then changed my mind for a Swift or Getz. I've mentioned Verna because I was also considering it...

Your help would be very helpful.
Old 12th February 2008, 12:26   #2

firsly its best if this thread is in what car. next off, here are my answers to you roadwarrior!

My requirements are:

1 - A good vehicle to commute and maneuver around Bangalore (Yes, in the garden city with traffic that beats Thailand)

The Getz CRDI has much better overall visibility compared to swift or perhaps verna, so getz it is

Swift is the best in terms of diesel mileage while Getz comes in second and then Verna

3 - Budget - 5-6 L
for this budget, swift is the only car you will get in diesels. if you stretch one lakh more then Getz D (i would prefer you stretch if you got cash) and for 1 more lakh, verna should be yours

4 - Speed - need to have some serious torque to see some painful drivers on our roads disappear in the RVM
torque is not for sending painful drivers disappear, but TURBO is for it. the swift packs the punch only in midranges 1.5-2k rpm while getz is more linear w.r.t to this stuff. personally initially it was like roller coasters for me with the Swift, but I dont fancy that kind of thing anymore since I get dizzy often. however i have mended my driving to suit my car and me best. the getz must be much more linear according to reports but with the caveat of lower mileage (~14kmpl)

5 - Good control in high speeds (not breakneck speeds, but 130-150 kmph as some of you fellow members have tried out on our roads)
Swift is commendable upto 140+ and perhaps verna will do better at 150. not sure about the getz though. Personally again, I wish people just stick to 100-120 as that the best driveable speed without compomising the people with you, or visibility or decision making on time and for smooth rides.

on your other queries:

The waiting period for Swift (ABS) is around 4-5 months in Bangalore and Getz is 90 days
for me if i had 1 lakh more, i would have gone for GETZ. the swift build quality is horrible with rattles and stuff and I cannot excuse maruti for this even if the same car were to be available for 2 lacs. less cost does not mean less quality at any time! i am unable to accept that! the new palio has lots of parts issues which is what is making me skeptical about a fiat car till date. the old palio was much sturdy and i never had problems when i owned one. 2 - FE, which one is better amongst these two
swift is the best here. and its obvious, more torque and power only mean lesser mileage. getz should give 14kmpl. but always remember that diesel is more polluting than petrol. with swift i ve stopped bothering about fuel charges anymore.

Considering we could get the car fitted with the missing features post purchase (although, i would prefer to get it done at the showroom itself as I would be taking it on a company car lease)
VDI - ABS, safety first. 4 - Could we fit ABS separately post purchase?
NO>>> Lastly if you have the 1 lakh more, go for getz diesel. yes mileage will be less, but power will be more, you have a good car minus the rattles, and overall it should be an enjoyable experience. cars will come and go, we will keep changing them by being able to afford more and more disposable income, but most times we dont make great choices for ourselves for one or the other reason. i know people out here who bought the Chevy UVA and have no regrets about not buying swift till date so follow your heart and make a memorable purchase.

my next car would be getz D (skoda fabia is out, punto, linea and palio MJD are in the queue, but so is tata's service levels in my thought process). if meanwhile toyota or honda launch small cars with auto trannys, i might consider them too.

ALWAYS TEST DRIVE ANY VEHICLE BEFORE DECIDING!
Old 12th February 2008, 12:28   #3

With a budget of 5-6 lakhs Siwft DDIS is the only car you can get. GETZ CRDI is at least 6.5 while Verna is 7.5 +.
Old 12th February 2008, 12:47   #4

Welcome to the forum warrior. I think this thread should be in the What Car section !

I am a VDI ABS owner so will share my experience with it.

Swift for more refinement and handling. Getz for better straight line acceleration, space and build quality.

Swift definitely.

I think the VDI - ABS is the best bet.

ABS cannot be retro-fitted. At least not possible without nullifying the warranty.

Last edited by Eddy : 12th February 2008 at 12:48.
Old 12th February 2008, 12:51   #5

Originally Posted by roadwarrior View Post
My requirements are:

3 - Budget - 5-6 L
Sawasdee khrub!!

The Getz and Swift are both great hatches. Neither can be considered as sheer VFM. On the other hand the both offer something unique that neither can match in the specific price point.

City running look no further than the Swift.

If your extremely FE conscious (FE being your ONLY criteria) then the Swift LDi is the winner. Between the two even when driven with a HEAVY foot the DDiS will return in the range of 14-15.

3) BUDGET : With an indicated budget of 5-6Lakh On road (OTR) your options would be the Swift LDi / Swift VDi + ABS (6.04L) / Indica Dicor.

Getz CRDI would fall in the range of 6.60 otr. Hyundai is going to offer the ABS option very soon. I reckon it would cost another 20k for that.

So the real clincher here is how much your willing to spend towards the OTR cost of a vehicle.

For the Swift DDiS as well as Getz CRDI please factor in the cost of 20-30k on better rubber+rims. Which would be an aftermarket expenditure.

4+5) SPEED / HANDLING : It is debatable as to which is better. For me it is the Swift. With slightly better tires you can throw her in the corners with such ease it amazes!

Getz CRDi has sheer trainlike torque which would run circles around a Swift DDiS even if it was PETE'd. That much torque is wasted in the city for day time commuters.

If your going to drive a lot in the nights and also on the highway, the Getz is a no brainer.

I did read some excellent reviews and expert opinions from the users such as Jaggu / GeekSrik / s0uljah / BUSA et all.

Better would depend on your requirements. Each have their list of Pro's and Con's.

Swift DDiS.

3 - Which model amongst the 2 in Swift is recommended? LDi or VDi (ABS). Considering we could get the car fitted with the missing features post purchase (although, i would prefer to get it done at the showroom itself as I would be taking it on a company car lease)
Keeping what you say in mind, the VDi. Power windows, tacho etc are best when OEM integrated.

AFAIK it cannot. Even if the option is available I would think it is suspect. Messing with braking in the aftermarket is a dicey job.

PS: I was initially thinking of a Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi and then changed my mind for a Swift or Getz.
The Fiesta 1.4 TDCi is in a different league alltogether. If you can afford it and dont mind having to deal with a sedan in the city, Go Fida !!

Last edited by s0uljah : 12th February 2008 at 12:52.
Old 12th February 2008, 13:03   #6

@roadwarrior: Geeksrik has explained it very elaborately.

It will be Swift for FE, within your budget (with more rattles) & A** is better; Getz CRDi-Performance, Low mileage; Verna - Looks not good. Performance good. Out or budget.

Swift Dzire getting released next month. You can have a look in this too. If looks doesn't matter.

Take your pick.
Old 12th February 2008, 14:33   #7

Hey Roadwarrier for 5-6L, you have the Swift VDi in your budget.

The waiting period for Swift (ABS) is around 4-5 months in Bangalore and Getz is 90 days - IMO both the Swift and the Getz are extremely good hatches. The Getz offers loads of power more then the Swift, more space, better build quality, better ride, more comfort. The Swift offers slightly more kms/liter compared to the Getz, better handling, better A.S.S
2 - FE, which one is better amongst these two - Swift
Considering we could get the car fitted with the missing features post purchase (although, i would prefer to get it done at the showroom itself as I would be taking it on a company car lease) Its is better to get a VDi rather then a LDi and then put the features, things like tachometer will be difficult to source from outside and wont work as well as the stock company provided one.
4 - Could we fit ABS separately post purchase? No, not yet.
I would say if you could stretch your budget, then get the getz, that would be my pick too
Old 12th February 2008, 16:58   #8

thanks a bunch BUSA / geeksrik / Dieselfan / eddy / S0uljah / snaronikar.

5 - 6L was ideal, but I could stretch the budget to accomodate a Getz CRDi. But with your views and considering I would be taking it extensively in the city and also over the weekends (keeping in mind our not to straight roads), i leaning a bit towards Swift.

Point noted sriky, "torque is not for sending painful drivers disappear". Please pardon this biker who is now graduating into a driver on Indian roads. Amongst the other car I've owned while living outside, i took it for granted that all cars have turbo! my apologies.

I challenged a Maruti expert on swift rattling, and he assured me that it is not there in the ones being delivered since the last month. Maybe this could be because MUL have read your reviews and have taken the time to correct them in the 2008 models.

For the rims and bigger hoofs, could we not manage to do that from the showroom itself? I am trying to get everything done at one go instead of taking it to various places and have it dealt with.

thanks again guys...
Old 12th February 2008, 17:47   #9

For the rims and bigger hoofs, could we not manage to do that from the showroom itself? I am trying to get everything done at one go instead of taking it to various places and have it dealt with.
Yes the showroom guys will upsize the tires for you. Just ask them for it.

And MSIL has been promosing about no rattles since quite a long time
Old 12th February 2008, 17:49   #10

bu upsize, do you mean they would replace it to a 195/60/15 or something similar?

Wonder if the 2008 ones have steering integrated player controls...
Old 12th February 2008, 19:17   #11

I challenged a Maruti expert on swift rattling, and he assured me that it is not there in the ones being delivered since the last month. Maybe this could be because MUL have read your reviews and have taken the time to correct them in the 2008 models.

thanks again guys...
My Swift is a 2008 LDI delivered on 31st Jan. Heard the first rattle on Sunday - still need to figure out the cause. So be prepared to live with them if you're buying a Swift - its a matter of luck whether you get any or not. BUSA's started a thread asking Swift owners for their rattiling experience - the poll shows more than half have had rattling problems.

On the rims and tyres, the maruti showroom would be more expensive and also wouldn't have a wide range. Its better to get it done from a specialist outside. The same holds true for the ICE as well.
Old 12th February 2008, 20:59   #12

Could you please help me with:

1. No idea since i havent tried Diesel Getz
2. No data available
3. If you want the features go for Vdi, and yes get that ABS even if its more waiting.
4. Dont even bother, coz its close to impossible.
Old 12th February 2008, 23:59   #13

bu upsize, do you mean they would replace it to a 195/60/15 or something similar?

Wonder if the 2008 ones have steering integrated player controls...
No, 185/70/14

As Jaibir rightly said, get the wheels and ICE done from outside will be more cheaper and you will have more variety.