Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports

Search this Thread
Old 18th February 2008, 04:55   #1
BHPian

Indica - The best 'small car' for highways

We friends went for a drive this weekend in my friend's indica. Just wanted to write on the experience. I personally own a WagonR and have driven WagonR , Santro and now the Indica. The drive was pretty short - about 200kms on NH4 and some bad roads connecting NH4 with a place called Chikballapur, it also covered a short drive up the hill and down. For people familiar with Karnataka, the route was Bangalore - Namada Chilme - Devarayanadurga - Tumkur - Chikballapur - Skandagiri Hills - Bangalore.

Although I am not an expert driver, I am still very sure to write that among the small cars, when it comes to stability and comfort, indica is a very good car. Especially if your are going at 90+ kmph, suddely spot humps or unevenness, then you have to break hard and go over the humps/ pot holes at 70+ kmph, the car doesnt feel unsafe, it is quite stable at that speed, atleast compared to wagonR or Santro, it is much stabler. Even in hard turnings, a relatively inexperienced driver can turn the car at 60+ kmph without feeling unsafe.

So I 'personally felt' if anyone wants to buy a small car for travelling most of the time on highways, especailly in India where roads are full of surprises, you should probably give indica a serious thought over the other small cars. I am not saying other small cars are bad, every car has its area of strengths and disadvantages, but I just wrote this to share my experience in an indica.
Old 18th February 2008, 11:49   #2
GTO
Team-BHP Support

I agree. The Indica's size and road behaviour make it well suited for highway use. Other big hatches like the Palio, Getz, Swift etc. also add to this list.
Old 18th February 2008, 12:00   #3
Senior - BHPian