Old 25th March 2008, 00:43   #16

Yaar, What is the plan on ICE department ??
Old 25th March 2008, 00:50   #17

Congrats to ur mom ..... nice car and even better color choice

hey how is the exhaust noise of i10 .... yesterday i was coming from the office on my bike and one guy in front was flooring a new i10 in every gear, i was quit surprised with the exhaust noise it was really good ....
Old 25th March 2008, 01:37   #18

Originally Posted by srikat View Post
What's NVH?
Noise, Vibration, Harshness.

Originally Posted by rev_hard View Post
That's a real nice color you chose. Those interiors look high quality too.

My mom got a Swift early last year and I must say, the FE of the swift is really not as bad as what it's made out to be. I had the car with me for about 4 months in '07 and constantly got 14-16 kmpl on my commute from EOK to Karol Bagh.
Thanks Anuj! Yeah, the colour was picked considering what would go with the interiors best!

And well I know the Swift FE is not bad but you know how mother's are! Kinda hard to convince about certain things!!

Originally Posted by nikhilb2008 View Post
she must travel a lot. 3,000 kms in 3 months is a lot !!
Thanks! Both of us do quite like to travel actually! So I know from where the bug bit me!!

And she's done 3,000 kms in two months, not three!!

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
But your mom really uses the vehicle a lot----wouldn't a diesel have made sense?
Originally Posted by narayan View Post
for your kind of mileage - why didnt u consider a diesel ?
She does about 20-25k kms. a year so the benefits are negligible. But the more important point is how do you convince your mother to buy a car which is not only louder inside the cabin but also more tiring to drive because of the heavier clutch??

I lost the battle there!!

Originally Posted by Dippy View Post
Looks like all your cars cross the magic 1,00,000 km mark . Congratulations to your mother. I really liked the colour you chose. Nice contrast to the beige interiors. Hope your mom has many years of driving pleasure. Do keep this thread updated regularly.
Thanks Dippy! Of late it seems that even my mother's cars are covering more kms than usual! And yes the colour was picked after much deliberation to ensure it match the interiors well!

Will do my best to keep this thread up to date.

Originally Posted by Karandeep81 View Post
congrats buddy. no ICE for mum?
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Yaar, What is the plan on ICE department ??
ICE??? ICE???? You know what, the day I went to book the car, my mother put her foot down & said, "No stereo what so ever, does the car come with speakers?" I said No it doesn't, and she replied "Then don't even think of fitting a stereo in it"!!!

And as a result you can see even the radio antenna has already been removed from the car as it was serving no purpose!!

And thanks to KaranRaheja, Nitin, aZa, Ramie, Payam, Rahulkool for their kind wishes!

Last edited by iraghava : 25th March 2008 at 01:45.
Old 25th March 2008, 01:44   #19

Originally Posted by jkdas View Post
Rim size is same as Santro's?
No the Santro's had 4.5J. As for the rest of your queries, answers are below:

2. Engine is decent but not as peppy in the low-wnd as the Santro. However, FE is better than the Santro with the car consistently giving 15 kmpl in city driving. Thats new news. Havent driven one yet and hence donno
Yup, better FE is certainly there but then low-end response is not that good either.

3. Excellent A/C but real test will be in the months of May/June. Hows it when you compare with Santro's?
Much better much more effective. Marked difference.

5. Boot comes with built-in light making it easier to put in/take out stuff in the dark. Thats a nice feature.
1. 155/80 R13 tyres on a 4B rim means upsizing is difficult especially as shifting to 175/70 would mean Alloys & a loss of FE (Important for my mother). So no upgrade???
Nope, none possible. Which is a shame because just before we were about to drive out of the showroom even my mother asked me whether I was going to get the tyres on her new car upgraded & sadly I had to say no. Even she was surprised!

Originally Posted by payam View Post
No michelin for her?
No man! Maybe next time around!

Originally Posted by Rahulkool View Post
hey how is the exhaust noise of i10 .... yesterday i was coming from the office on my bike and one guy in front was flooring a new i10 in every gear, i was quit surprised with the exhaust noise it was really good ....
Agreed, like the Santro the exhaust not is actually pretty good!

Last edited by iraghava : 25th March 2008 at 01:46.
Old 25th March 2008, 03:50   #20

Originally Posted by srikat View Post
Convey my congrats to your mom. I might buy this soon.

What's NVH
?
NVH stands for Noise, Vibration and Harshness.

Ishan great choice. Congratulations to Aunty!! The i10 is a brilliant small car. I would have waited for another month and convinced her to get the auto version expected around that time but I know, she had FE issues. Cant argue with that. Give her a test drive of an auto for a day and watch her priorities change.
Good choice of colour and trim. Wish her all the best.
Now whats gonna replace Ol' Dhanno?

Last edited by V-16 : 25th March 2008 at 03:52.
Old 25th March 2008, 08:48   #21

Congrats to you & aunty Ishan, so finally the thread comes up

Nice color hope it is a long & pleasurable driving experience!
Old 25th March 2008, 10:02   #22

Congratulations!

To borrow one of GTO's quotes - from a Santro to an i10, no one speaks the truth purer than a return customer.
Old 25th March 2008, 11:24   #23

Congratulations. The best thing about this car has to be it's interiors.
Old 25th March 2008, 11:31   #24

Originally Posted by metropolis View Post
Congrats Ishaan Wishing your mom all the best and safe driving. Nice car and awesome pictures.
Congrats to your mom.Nice car,nice color and the interiors of i10 is excellent for a small car.
Old 25th March 2008, 12:06   #25

NO tape ??? very strange. I think I have to come to Muradabad then.
Old 25th March 2008, 19:27   #26

Seriously? And as pointed out by LBM (low bass makker), not even a tape? i mean not even a radio with tape? You wont drive this car, will you?

Last edited by Karandeep81 : 25th March 2008 at 19:29.
Old 25th March 2008, 19:37   #27

Congrats Ishan! Nice choice amongst the small cars!

Did you check out Chevy Spark?
Old 25th March 2008, 19:44   #28

Congrates mate on the new car but ICE ?
Old 25th March 2008, 19:49   #29

Congratulations to your Mom & you
Nice colour !
Old 25th March 2008, 20:15   #30

Congrats to your Mom, Ishan! Thanks for the snaps. Gives a very good idea about the car.

I really like the colour. And the interiors are really nice. I'm not a fan of beige (in general), though.

No ICE? *shaking head*