Old 18th August 2009, 21:55   #511

Vinay, I had same experience while cleaning my car.
However, it does click back into place easily.

I was worried it might come loose in some hi-speed wiping and infact initial few days in rain, I never used hi-speed wipers too
But till now it stayed there no issues!

Originally Posted by vinay.pillai View Post
Last Sunday at Shell petrol pump Mysore, the person was cleaning my windshield and suddenly the driver side wiper rubber came off the wiper. He took it out and cleaned it and put it back, very easily and its locked again.
Not sure how it came out, Later on my way from Mysore to B'lore, it was raining heavily and I was worried that it might come out but wiper worked perfectly without any issues.
Old 19th August 2009, 09:15   #512

I am getting a screeching noise while doing so.I checked some other linea too.
Yes i too get the screetching noise. it was not there before.

Shivashara

it is not when it is dry . it happens when it rains cats and dogs!!!
Old 20th August 2009, 13:27   #513

Originally Posted by geeash View Post
Yes i too get the screetching noise. it was not there before.

Shivashara

it is not when it is dry . it happens when it rains cats and dogs!!!
It happens irrespective of cars to any car.

I think it happens when the wiper thoroughly cleans the glass & there is no water-layer or even a drop between Glass & wiper blade. It also happens when the wiper blade pressure on the glass is more than what is ideally required. Though these are only common logic/ guesswork
Old 21st August 2009, 10:01   #514

I think it happens when the wiper thoroughly cleans the glass & there is no water-layer or even a drop between Glass & wiper blade. It also happens when the wiper blade pressure on the glass is more than what is ideally required. Though these are only common logic/ guesswork
i wonder how come that can happen when it is raining. The wiper is still wobbly. It has been a while since i went to TASS. Have got a few issues
1. wobbling wiper
2. seat height issue
3. Rattling left rear door ( comes back each time it is fixed).
4. Alloy rim ( i know i have been posting this for long. Just that i dont find time)

have to get all these resolved soon.

I am more reluctant to go to TASS these days as i fear they dont have a proper expertise to do things. It has crept up to my mind and refused to go out. I dont want to take my car to concorde to resolve one issue and get back with 2 different issues.
Old 21st August 2009, 11:35   #515

The rattling rear door is due to play in the rear door.
This was shown to me by the TASS mechanic.

He applied few rounds of black tape (used in electrical wiring) on the black thing in the door hook. This will reduce play.

see photo.

3. Rattling left rear door ( comes back each time it is fixed).
Fiat Linea - 2nd Birthday !!!-seatfront.jpg  

Old 21st August 2009, 11:45   #516

Originally Posted by neotraveller View Post

He applied few rounds of black tape (used in electrical wiring) on the black thing in the door hook. This will reduce play.

see photo.
Are you happy with this solution? I don't think this is an acceptable solution for a new car.
Old 21st August 2009, 12:50   #517

yes this is a practice in TASS with indica's and other tata cars.they use the same way for 10laks cars too (
they simply use some plastic piece or a cushioning material or two way sticker to stop the rattling.
They never mind about the route cause or problematic parts.
Old 21st August 2009, 13:41   #518

He applied few rounds of black tape (used in electrical wiring) on the black thing in the door hook. This will reduce play
What?!!

Is this my 8 lac car or a autorickshaw?

what will happen if the tape falls off? am i supposed to get a tape all by myself and tape the thingy?.

God. this is weird. utterly stupid.

Neo dont let them get away with such answers..........
Old 21st August 2009, 13:55   #519

What?!!

Is this my 8 lac car or a autorickshaw?

what will happen if the tape falls off? am i supposed to get a tape all by myself and tape the thingy?.

God. this is weird. utterly stupid.

Neo dont let them get away with such answers..........
Actually I liked it. Its street-smartness. And if it removes rattles, why not do it for sometime temporarily (most times after such temporary measures, the issue goes away after some time even if such tapes/ packing is removed)? In the meanwhile, one can always explore for permanent solution - may be related to changing some rubber gaskets inside the lock etc etc whatever is the root cause?
Old 21st August 2009, 14:14   #520

well, as long as it works AND it isn't very visible that it was a "jugaad" fix. Iam fine.
I could have asked for permanent solution and result would have been ...
They will "order" parts and i will have to wait forever till they come and add to that 1 more visit to TASS.

As soon as I told rattle in left oor ... he was like yeah i know how to fix it.
That mechanic told me many Lineas have this.

Also think of it this way.
You just asked them to fix rattles. They fixed it.
How do you think other Honda/Maruti are doing it. I don't think no one has a patience to sit around service center watching how they fix it.
It's only us Lineans who do it because of our mistrust of TASS/Love for Linea.

Last edited by neotraveller : 21st August 2009 at 14:16.
Old 21st August 2009, 15:22   #521

As soon as I told rattle in left oor ... he was like yeah i know how to fix it.
This statement has made me split into uncontrolable laugh

Also think of it this way.
You just asked them to fix rattles. They fixed it.
How do you think other Honda/Maruti are doing it. I don't think no one has a patience to sit around service center watching how they fix it.
It's only us Lineans who do it because of our mistrust of TASS/Love for Linea.
Every Electronic/ Mechanical/ Electrical technician does such things. Forget technicians we all do it at home. Ever faced a problem of window-AC at home slightly making jarring noise due to vibration because of the gap between AC & the Window panel? Ever put a newspaper packing sheet there or under the legs of heavy table / Almari because of uneven floor surface?
Old 21st August 2009, 16:49   #522

Every Electronic/ Mechanical/ Electrical technician does such things. Forget technicians we all do it at home. Ever faced a problem of window-AC at home slightly making jarring noise due to vibration because of the gap between AC & the Window panel? Ever put a newspaper packing sheet there or under the legs of heavy table / Almari because of uneven floor surface
I agree. we all do this. but i havents seen a door clip taped in my whole life

this is like glueing a broken tubelight with feviquick or fixing a cracked lcd tv with a fevicol rather ( sorry couldnt think of some right examples).

If tomorrow the headlight comes out. They might stick that too with a tape?
Old 21st August 2009, 17:13   #523

I agree. we all do this. but i havents seen a door clip taped in my whole life

this is like glueing a broken tubelight with feviquick or fixing a cracked lcd tv with a fevicol rather ( sorry couldnt think of some right examples).

If tomorrow the headlight comes out. They might stick that too with a tape?
Hey Ashwin

This is too good. Double Rolling laugher. Simply uncontrollable
Old 21st August 2009, 17:37   #524

Hey Ashwin

This is too good. Double Rolling laugher. Simply uncontrollable
i hope you understand my predicament. we are all in a precarious situation now.......
Old 21st August 2009, 18:27   #525

here i Am! ratling from the door...??? job is very simple. all the TASS has to do is loosen the screws on that locking metal and rescrew it back after setting the door so that it doesnt rattle!. this is because if you observe the part displayed above properly the holes or the screw are oval and not round, so as to allow fine tuning of the part to suit the requirements of the lock on the door! tape is a temporary solution.