Old 24th August 2009, 12:35   #151

Way to go Toyota, great VFM. 18.45 L is a dream come true for many customers and nightmare for many companies. I am really happy with this and in line with GTO that it has made my Monday too. Where is that "My next car" thread..

Love this picture from toyota site- Toyota - Fortuner

First Drive on the Fortuner EDIT : Launched @ 18.45 lakhs!-fortuner.jpg

Last edited by Ym-enjn : 24th August 2009 at 12:51.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:38   #152

Max Output: 126 kW @ 3600 rpm (171 PS @ 3600 rpm)
Max. Torque: 343 Nm @ 1400-3400 rpm (34.98 kg-m @ 1400-3400 rpm)

Courtesy:
http://www.toyotabharat.com/inen/car...uner/specs.asp

Yes the Fortuner updated Toyota India Web-site is up!
Old 24th August 2009, 12:47   #153

Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
Big negative for me: no automatic.
Automatic will be coming. Best part is, the manuals pricing leaves room for the automatic.

Originally Posted by anekho View Post
However, to me it still makes more sense buying an innova. I know I have no use for a 4wd system daily
As I posted earlier, this can be applied to any 20 lakh SUV vis a vis Innova (not the Fortuner alone). For example, the Innova has better interiors than the Pajero and is pretty evenly matched in onroad performance. It can also seat 7 in better comfort than the Pajero.

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
And agent just informed that bookings are already on 5 month wait?
Toyota better ramp up production. At this price, it will even take away some 20 lakh sedan buyers too, who would have otherwise gone for an Accord.

Originally Posted by freewheelburnin View Post
Pajero should not be affected.
Pajero is purchased only by enthusiasts for whom nothing else will do.
While I do agree that enthusiasts respect the Pajero for its offroadability, they form a very small percentage of buyers who choose the Pajero for its actual 4x4. A large number of Pajero sales come from rural & semi-urban towns (its so popular there) as well as those who want a premium Jap SUV for onroad use (primarily). The Pajero will be affected - big time - by the Fortuner. Just wait for the monthly sales analysis

Originally Posted by anilkalvani View Post
Stuff I like:

- 221 mm of ground clearance!
- 80 L fuel tank
- 343 NM of torque
- 6 CD MP3 + 6 speakers
- 265 patch tyres on 17' wheels
- Split seats on the 2nd as well as 3rd rows.
- Recline adjust on all seats. Seat slide on 2nd row.

Stuff I don't:

- Rear DRUM Brakes! C'mon man.

Last edited by GTO : 24th August 2009 at 12:54.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:48   #154

Further to my previous post, the Fortuner seems like value even compared to the Grand Vitara (16.67 lakhs)
Absolutely, I would have never believed it since we all thought Fortuner would be priced at 22L. At only 10% higher price, you can get lot more with Fortuner. This is going to hit GV really hard, they are better off reducing the price, same as the earlier model.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:50   #155

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
18.45L for Fortuner is a slap in the face for Pajero and Captiva. Way to go Toyota, that's great pricing compared to all other lesser SUVs in the market.

The on-road price in Karnataka will be Rs.22.25L...
and 18.45 lacs delivers a knock out punch on the face of CRV.

Tera kya hoga Honda?

How I wish Toyota launches some thing below Altis with the same kind of aggressive pricing.

Last edited by akj53 : 24th August 2009 at 12:58.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:50   #156

As I had been told by my dealer earlier last month, while booking the vehicle, expected price was 18.5 approx. ex showroom.

Putting some pressure on the dealer to get an early delivery!

Now to get a test drive!
Old 24th August 2009, 12:54   #157

Website says 18.38 ex-showroom for Bangalore. Can't wait to get TD and then push dealer for early delivery.

Called Nandi Toyota, they are still clueless about the pricing. While the rest of the world has caught up on net, Toyota dealers are caught napping here.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:56   #158

Originally Posted by amoghchaphalkar View Post
PUNE PRICING

20 lacs ex-showroom. OTR will be close to 23
How can Pune price be 1.5L more than Delhi price?

Originally Posted by Sawyer View Post
That to my mind, is its one drawback, that it does not have a 2wd mode. Be interesting to see the FE it returns in the real world running 4wd all the time.
Are you kidding? Fulltime 4WD is a freaking boon on bad roads, twisters and rains. I have a fulltime 4WD, so I can speak by experience on this one. Fortuner has central diff with LSD which is a pretty expensive part, Pajero and Captiva don't have it, yet are lot more expensive.
Old 24th August 2009, 12:57   #159

While I do agree that enthusiasts respect the Pajero for its offroadability, they form a very small percentage of buyers who choose the Pajero for its actual 4x4. A large number of Pajero sales come from rural & semi-urban towns (its so popular there) as well as those who want a premium Jap SUV for onroad use (primarily). The Pajero will be affected - big time - by the Fortuner. Just wait for the monthly sales analysis

I had not realized the change in the Paj buyer segment to such an extent - if so, this is the end of the line for the Pajero!
Old 24th August 2009, 13:02   #160

Killer pricing and i told you so, to some!

Toyota has got another winner in its hands, its high time now HM starts selling the Paji at 12 lakh mark
Old 24th August 2009, 13:09   #161

If only the pricing was similar across india. Impressive none the less. Any word on exshowroom price in Bangalore.
P.s- now the only hindrance in booking this SUV is the waiting period :-(
Old 24th August 2009, 13:27   #162

Prices in Mumbai/ Thane as shown on the website. (toyotabharat)
Fortuner w.e.f 24th August 2009
Sl. No. Grade Transmission Ex-Showroom Price Rs
1 FA Manual 1840000
Note:1. All prices are Ex-showroom.2. Local levies, Octroi, Entry tax etc.will be extra as applicable.3. Price ruling at the time of delivery would be applicable.4. Please contact dealer for exact prices.5. Prices are subject to change without notice. 6. Champaign Mica Metallic colour will have an additional premium ( but I didnt see this colour on the website- may be they are still updating the webpage).

Last edited by shatrughna : 24th August 2009 at 13:30. Reason: formatting
Old 24th August 2009, 13:28   #163

Awesome pricing. The decision should be a no-brainer for someone looking at a premium SUV. The amateur Nostradamus in me predicts that Toyota will be able to easily move 400-450 units a month.
Old 24th August 2009, 13:29   #164

Originally Posted by akj53 View Post
and 18.45 lacs delivers a knock out punch on the face of CRV.
Not quite early . CRV is more comfortable & easier to drive. Also has less stiff suspension than Fortuner. CRV win hands down unless if its some serious off-roading or want to seat 7.

Last edited by diabloo : 24th August 2009 at 13:30.
Old 24th August 2009, 13:32   #165

All kudos to toyota price strategy team. They did a good job. The pricing is perfect and is acceptable.