Old 28th August 2009, 07:57   #1

Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2

Hi T-Bhp'ns,

Took the Delivery of my i20 Asta 1.2 on 23rd August 2009 (vinayaka chaturthi day) morning from TRIDENT Hyundai, Indira Nagar, Bangalore.

The buying experience was really good and smooth (Courtesy to the exec: RAJESH). I booked my Silver Sleek i20 Asta 1.2 on 27 th July by paying Rs.10000/-. On road price for Asta in Bangalore at that time was Rs.6,68424/- including the insurance amount of Rs.19328/-.

There was no discounts/offers for i20 and dealer was not offering anything and told me that the car will come only after 30 days. I was in search for a good insurance package and with the help of T-Bhp members i got a better offer from Bajaj- Alliaz for Rs.12119/-. Saved Rs.7209/-.

I was applied for car loan for Rs.4Lac through Axis bank and SBI and approval came in a flash from AXIS bank on the next day of applying. As most of the T-Bhp'ns suggested i have waited for the SBI and that extra wait time given me a chance to get a good deal.

On 13th August Loan agreement signed with SBI and i was asked to pay the remaining amount to the dealer and show the receipt of same to SBI for disbursing the cheque to the dealer. After few days i have paid the rest of Rs.235311/- to the dealer and asked the dealer to collect the cheque from the bank.

The Loan amount with SBI applied for is Rs.4 Lac and they have sanctioned Rs403000/- as Rs 3000/- charged for LIFE Insurance Coverage and this was compulsory. Rs.480 was deducted from my SBI a/c for Stamp Duty charges. My first 12 month EMI is Rs.9838/-.

The wait was on as i used to call the dealer exec often and he said he may give the car to me on or before 26th August. To my surprise i got a call from him on 21st August saying that the car is arrived and its in their stock yard at Peniya. As i was out of station i have asked him the details of the Engine and Chassis no and same is given it to me by dealer.

Reached Bangalore next day and by the time the car was arrived at dealer location. The ODO was showing 33 K.M.Done the PDI and everything was OK. There was only a 2mm scratch on the driver door handle side and the dealer said its minor it will go off while polishing. Signed the other documents for registration and asked the Insurance guy to give the cover note to the dealer and the same was done in the afternoon. Opted 1 year extended warranty for Rs.3875/- and done Anti corrosion treatment for Rs.3500/-

Next day registration was completed and and my family and the dealer insisted me to take the delivery on vinayaka chaturthi day. It was a sleepless night as i was driving all the night in dream .

On 23rd Morning -myself, wife, daughter and my dad went to the dealer and the dealer officially handed over the keys to my Dad. ( I still remember the moment when he handed over the Keys to me of a brand new BSA-SLR when i passed the 10th exams.)

The dealer finally given me Floor mats and Mud Flaps for Free.

Went straight to the Temple near Ulsoor for Pooja, unfortunately there was heavy rush. Dad said we will do the pooja in the evening. Driven the vehicle straight away to the nearest Shell Pump and done a full tank from there back home.

The Drive was Butter smooth from dealer location to home although it was under 18 k.m. Shifting gears was easy and i didn't felt any lack of power for my driving style. The seats although is looks great is not giving much cushion effect and may be its c'se of new. Everyone at home including me praised the Look, fit and finish of the i20 and its really look like a big car.

Evening took the car to the temple in the presence of my brother and mom for Pooja.will update the driving experience after i really drive the car as i was out of station from the next day of delivery of the car. Try to bring her out this weekend and will update the same.

Keys
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03440.jpg
i20 Front View
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03435.jpg
i20 Rear View
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03442.jpg
i20 Dash @ flyingspur for me there is no GAPS in Dash as well as Outside Panels
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03459.jpg
i20 Rear AC Vents. Its located Under the Drivers Seat and Front passenger Seat.
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03460.jpg

Last edited by Dippy : 10th February 2010 at 11:51. Reason: Removing one key pic since it shows the serial no.
wildon is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th August 2009, 08:06   #2

Congrats on the delivery.Post some more interior pics.
Does I-20 carries the same eng as I-10 kappa?.Pls confirm
Old 28th August 2009, 08:16   #3

i ll post more pictures if you can specify which part of the car you want. yes its carries the same engine of i10 (1.2 Kappa)
Old 28th August 2009, 09:58   #4

Congrats on the new buy Wildo. Welcome to the club! Looking forward to a more detailed review from you soon.
Old 28th August 2009, 10:41   #5

Originally Posted by wildon View Post
It was a sleepless night as i was driving all the night in dream .
How true! Same here. Congratulations on the beauty. Nice pics.
Old 28th August 2009, 10:42   #6

fantastic! now add a set of tweeters and attach them on the inside of the B-pillars and watch the sound come alive!!! I'm really enjoying my i20 dude..wishing you happy drives in it too!
Old 28th August 2009, 11:17   #7

@Wildon, congrats on your new purchase. Thread is screaming for more pics. Anyways drive safe.
Old 28th August 2009, 20:14   #8

Congrats!! Wildon..Your silver beauty looks really good..
How is the initial FE of your i20? Any plans to upgrade stock tyres/alloys? Howz the AC + audio system? Awaiting your detailed review..
Thanks..

- Vish
Old 29th August 2009, 14:42   #9

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
Congrats on the new buy Wildo. Welcome to the club! Looking forward to a more detailed review from you soon.
Thanks, will update the detailed review soon

Originally Posted by pachchu View Post
How true! Same here. Congratulations on the beauty. Nice pics.

Originally Posted by reppy View Post
fantastic! now add a set of tweeters and attach them on the inside of the B-pillars and watch the sound come alive!!! I'm really enjoying my i20 dude..wishing you happy drives in it too!
i20 Asta already having 2 tweeters near to the inside door open levers at front.
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03468.jpg

Originally Posted by PaglaGoru View Post
Wildon congrats on this wonderful purchase and welcome to the exclusive i20 Bangalore club

On a second note please blur the key serial number and Key ID image. Particularly publishing the Key Id image can get you into real trouble. Marked it in the pic...
Thanks.. Thanks for the suggestion.. can MODS can do something on that?
Originally Posted by prince_pervez View Post
@Wildon, congrats on your new purchase. Thread is screaming for more pics. Anyways drive safe.
Thanks ..surely update with more pictures

Originally Posted by vishwask82 View Post
Congrats!! Wildon..Your silver beauty looks really good..
How is the initial FE of your i20? Any plans to upgrade stock tyres/alloys? Howz the AC + audio system? Awaiting your detailed review..
Thanks..

- Vish
Just filled the tank on the first day only.. now crossed 200 k.m will update the FE after the topup.

H logo on Steering Wheel
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03471.jpg
ODO Meter
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03472.jpg
OBD and Bonet open lever
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03473.jpg
Aux- iPod - USB Box
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03475.jpg
Multi Display Unit (MDU)
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03477.jpg
Roof Light
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03478.jpg
Boot Light
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03480.jpg
Boot Logo
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03462.jpg
i20
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03463.jpg
Hyundai Front Logo
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03464.jpg
Driver side controls
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03466.jpg
Steering Wheel
Feels like i'm 20 now - Hyundai i20 Asta 1.2-dsc03467.jpg

Last edited by wildon : 29th August 2009 at 14:59.
wildon is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2009, 15:51   #10

Congrats, Wildon. Could you explain the functions of the various steering-mounted controls, please?
Old 29th August 2009, 17:18   #11

Originally Posted by Perakath View Post
Congrats, Wildon. Could you explain the functions of the various steering-mounted controls, please?
Well, let me answer that question---I just got back from a TD of the CRDI i20. The controls on the left of the steering are for volume and mute, while the ones on the right are for changing channels and tuning.

Since I had a Maruti 800 long back, I pressed the mute button twice when I wanted to honk ---can't blame Hyundai for it, but just an old habit that is hard to discard.

Wildon, can you please let me know what is the front most button on the arm rest for? I am referring to the one in front of the ORVM adjustment buttons.
Old 29th August 2009, 17:26   #12

Originally Posted by vnabhi View Post
Wildon, can you please let me know what is the front most button on the arm rest for? I am referring to the one in front of the ORVM adjustment buttons.
That is the electrically operated ORVM's power switch, for the motors to be operational I guess, or is it for the folding of the ORVM's?

Last edited by suren181 : 29th August 2009 at 17:28.
Old 29th August 2009, 17:31   #13

Originally Posted by suren181 View Post
That is the electrically operated ORVM's power switch, for the motors to be operational I guess, or is it for the folding of the ORVM's?
Bingo---it is for the retractable ORVM---I remember seeing one in the Sonata Embera.
Thanks Suren.
Old 29th August 2009, 18:02   #14

Nice car! Congrats!

I hope Fiat gave the remote boot release on the key fob too!
Old 29th August 2009, 18:20   #15

Originally Posted by amit View Post
Nice car! Congrats!

I hope Fiat gave the remote boot release on the key fob too!
its not there on the i10 asta either. Sigh!