Old 12th September 2009, 00:19   #1

Reluctant Roameo's adventure with buying his first car - The Hyundai i10

Hello BHPians,

I first came across Team-BHP about an year ago when I was looking to buy a car after relocating from Singapore to Bangalore after 7 years. I work in the client support division of a roaming data clearing house for mobile network operators world wide I have been a passive car enthusiast with no real urge to possess one or attempting to learn how to drive one. There were swanky ones on the Singapore roads and liked gawking at them.

Here is the story of how I came to know of Team-BHP and consequently got used to the idea of owning a car and what’s worse, gradually getting hooked to the pleasures of driving out of the city into the beautiful county side.It is pretty much like the story of the reluctant bachelor agreeing to get married due to family pressures and ends up falling in love with the woman to whom he tied the knot.

I thank Team-BHP for accepting my membership to the forum and say a big Hi to all BHPians.

Part 1
HOME AGAIN

The very idea of driving a car in Bangalore was nightmarish and had prompted me to keep postponing buying one for almost 6 months after I relocated from Singapore to Bangalore after 7 years. I managed fine with auto rickshaws. I could sit back and relax listening to music on my MP3 player, enjoying a good smoke as the three wheeled chariot deftly skimmed its way through the chaotic Bangaluru traffic. I got to feel the pulse of the city as most auto drivers are men about town with informative news snippets, juicy rumors and raunchy tales about the city’s holoi poloi as much as the common man. They also recount their life story freely to any passenger willing to lend a patient ear. To say sooth, I actually got used to the din and clatter and these bumpy rides. Occasionally, I rode in a Volvo bus or bumped a ride with colleagues to office and back home. A young beaver at office by the name of Sandy was kind enough to pick and drop me home on most days. I did try car pooling with a couple of colleagues but the arrangement did not work for more than a couple of days due to timing issues.

Soon things started heating up in the family with wife and son gunning for a car. Their soulful pleas fell on deaf ears for a couple of months and I had solid arguments to plead my case:
''What's the need for a car? Auto rickshaws are more convenient. No maintenance costs, no parking ka jhanjat, no EMIs to pay, no stress of city driving. Just pay upon reaching ones destination and walk a free man''.
I sincerely believed this not withstanding the occasional arguments about faulty meter with the auto drivers or the sudden spike up of fares a split second of the clock striking 9 in the evening.

Wife and son had other ideas and must have worked out meticulously planned strategies. It wasn't long before a systematic attack on my nerves was launched:
''Neighbor just bought a new car. It is parked in front of their gate. Did you see?''
'' My cousin called today. Seems their new car is getting delivered today''
''Daddy, I was checking on the net today. Honda City is a nice car to buy. But I like the Skoda Laura. The color black is really classy and it comes with a sunroof'' .
‘’Hey dad, check this out. There is a pre-owned BMW 3 series available for just Rs.18.5 lakhs. It is hardly 2 years old. A new one costs 35 lakhs’’.

Sonny had the pricelist and technical specifications for this whole list of cars. He also had stored links to tons of reviews of different cars the market had to offer. Upon returning home, I found car magazines prominently displayed on my favourite sofa, usually open on carefully selected page. I specifically noticed there were only sedans on his radar.

Then there are these relatives and friends visiting you in their shining, brand new cars. I suspected the purpose of the visit was mostly to show off their latest possession. Over coffee and snacks, they would wax eloquent on the finer points of their bat mobile. Some of these visits would end up with a sample drive round a block or two.I would heave a huge sigh of relief when they finally left and the tail of their cars disappeared round the corner and with a causal gait slink away to the farthest corner of the house carefully avoiding eye contact with my loved ones.

One overcast Saturday, after a particulary unpleasant argument with an auto driver, my wife solemnly swore never to step into an auto rickshaw again, declaring that this experience was the last straw. Sonny lost no time in pouring as much oil as he could into the already raging fire.I was cornered and hapless.

The two months that followed were harrowing. There were few outings and only in taxis. The wave lengths would not match. There were short circuits with sparks threatning to destroy the harmony of a happy family. Each looked to a different God for inspiration.

Last edited by aah78 : 12th September 2009 at 00:24. Reason: SIZE tags removed.
Roameo is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 12th September 2009, 00:33   #2

plus

Fantastic introduction Roameo.

Welcome to Team-BHP!

''Daddy, I was checking on the net today. Honda City is a nice car to buy. But I like the Skoda Laura. The color black is really classy and it comes with a sunroof'' .
‘’Hey dad, check this out. There is a pre-owned BMW 3 series available for just Rs.18.5 lakhs. It is hardly 2 years old. A new one costs 35 lakhs’’.
That reminds me of my childhood. Now I understand what my poor dad had to go through.

I'm sure a lot of other fathers and husbands all over the world will have a story to match yours.
Old 12th September 2009, 00:39   #3

Welcome Reluctant Roameo !

Everyone succumbs, such is the addiction to cars, for reasons of their own. I would like to imagine your son making sensible conversation on cars in his age.

Your narration is work of a specialist.

Have a nice weekend.

The Consultant
A Newbie
Old 12th September 2009, 14:05   #4

Thank you for your kind words. Its a great feeling to see ones first post on the forum.

Part 2
Trials and Tribulations

My point of view was simple. Okay, the idea is to have a car. A something on wheels to take you from point A to point B with independence and in reasonable comfort and protection from natural elements. So an 800 or an Alto or a Zen or a Wagon would amply suffice. We could look for a pre-owned in good condition to keep the investment minimal. After all ‘Small is beautiful’.

Sonny in sharp contrast Thinks Big. Honda City is the least he could settle for. The Verna would be acceptable but theSkoda Laura would be ideal, Even a pre-owned BMW 3 series would be really cool.

Wife seemed more reasonable and chose to walk the middle path. A hatch back would do and apt for city driving, but it had to be imperatively a new one. All her cousins got new ones. She too would like to learn to drive.

Amid vehement protests from sonny and reluctantly I had to agree to a new hatchback. Sonny finally gave in and came around to the idea. A city wide search for a suitable hatchback ensued for the next couple of months.

For some reason, I had since my college days fancied the old Beetle. I had seen a few of them on Singapore roads. They were well maintained and in bright yellow and red colors. The sight of them always put a smile on my face and warmed the cockle of my heart. They amused sonny and my wife referred to it as the ‘frog car’.

Finding an opportune moment, I unfolded my grand plan. A minute of silence followed by 30 seconds of piercing stares, then howls of protest and a flurry of verbal attacks. I promptly retired to a nearby room to nurse my wounds.

Wagon R was dismissed as a Japanese milk van. 800, Zen, Alto were promptly relegated to the background. The Spark they said was boring. The Santro Xing they did not fancy. The Swift was swiftly put on the back burner. I was at my wits end.

Last edited by Jaggu : 12th September 2009 at 14:10. Reason: Removing [Font] tags, avoid copy paste from external font editors. Thanks
Old 13th September 2009, 19:04   #5

Part3
Lessons

Purchase of a car now seemed inevitable. I was now posed with another formidable challenge. It wasn't too long before I had to confront it in the form of a teenaged bundle of energy.

"Appa, now you got to take driving lessons immediaetly!", he ordered, sipping his morning cup of Boost or some similar chocolate flavored beverage i could smell. I normally like chocolate flavor. But now it seemed to take on a different conotation.

Having long concluded that one could get by without a car in life, it logically followed that there was no need to learn how to drive one. When you are about arms length from reaching your mid-forties, the very thought is terrifying. I stared at sonny in horror. He wasn't even looking at me.

"I have been thinking about it", I said, witha serious nod. "But I can't for the next couple of months or so at least. You know, I am working on a big project and will be very busy.I can't let myself be distracted"

The word pity was still not part of his dictionary."Not a problem. Mani Motor Driving School is best" Sonny drawled."It is two minutes away and you need to spare only an hour in the morning. You just need to get up at 6 instead of 7. Don't worry, I will wake you up!" He put down his mug, winked at me and picked up his school bag. Wife patted sonny on his back. It was clear his diabolic plan had her stamp of approval.

For the next few days work was made to expand to fit the more than available time. I returned home later than usual and slumped on the sofa putting on a tired demeanor."It's getting so hectic at office. Can you make me a strong cup of coffee? I need it."

This seemed to be working. There was no mention of car nor driving. I naturally was quick to forget that such disturbing conversations ever took place. I was at peace with the world and normalcy seemed to have returned. Or so I thought.

One Friday ( don't remember if it was the 13th) evening,I had come home earlier than usual looking forward to a long and lazy weekend. Sonny and wife were dressed up to go out. "Going somewhere?" I asked.'Sure. And you are joining us", Sonny smiled back. There was a pimple or two beginning to appear on his face and nose and a ever so faint shadow of a moustache. His smile now somehow looked particularly wicked. He wasn't my same innocent child any more. "We are going to Mani Motor Driving School to sign up for your driving lessons."

And that's how I started taking driving lessons a week later.
Old 13th September 2009, 23:16   #6

man oh man! great intro - It really reminds me of what I put my dad through!

great stuff, can't wait for the rest!

PS: Welcome to T-BHP!
Old 14th September 2009, 11:03   #7

Can't stand the suspense!

Originally Posted by Roameo View Post
Wife seemed more reasonable and chose to walk the middle path. A hatch back would do and apt for city driving, but it had to be imperatively a new one. All her cousins got new ones. She too would like to learn to drive.
It reminds of the "mahabharat" in my house!

Unfortunately, my wife learnt driving before me, that too in an Amby, no less!!

So, it had to be a new car which had to be in front of the house, does not matter what I had to go through.

And when the second ( or rather, third ) hand M800 was taken delivery having made the big decision (unilaterally!), she was adamant that she will never sit behind the steering - who wants to put her hands what has been "pre-owned" ( and not second hand!) car?!!

Can never forget the travails I had to go through to finally convince her that this was only temporary and it will be replaced shortly!

And when I did change it - to a much yearned for Palio - a similar cold shoulder treatment, because nobody else in the family has such a beast!!

Of course, now it is she who likes to drive it more than me - and really appreciates its virtues

Welcome to team-bhp!

I'll make it a point to read all your posts!!
Old 14th September 2009, 11:18   #8

Thats a very not so Reluctant intro there Roameo. Made for some nice reading. I love your way with and some interesting stories there. You have sure come to the right place. Cant wait to read what happened next

Welcome to Team BHP and do go through the rules section before heading over to the threads.

Last edited by Dippy : 14th September 2009 at 12:26.
Old 14th September 2009, 12:17   #9

Wow that's a 5 Star Intro

Welcome to Team-Bhp Mr Roameo.

Waiting for the other parts especially the concluding one.
Old 14th September 2009, 12:36   #10

Great Intro there Roameo, put a smile onto my face as I was going through it. Welcome to Team-BHP.

Looking forward to the rest of the story and to lots more from your end in the future.
Old 14th September 2009, 13:06   #11
ram17bhp

Your introduction is more like an ownership thread sir . Welcome to Team BHP , so what car it is ? eagerly waiting for ur post.

Old 14th September 2009, 14:23   #12

Great intro there Roameo. Waiting for details on your further travails
Old 14th September 2009, 14:48   #13

Welcome to TBHP Mr.roameo.Very nice intro to start with in TBHP.I think we are all waiting for the next series to come up.You know we are all impatient so please make it fast.
Old 14th September 2009, 14:50   #14

Great Intro there. Welcome to TBHP. Should i guess which hatch you finally bought?

Is it the i10 Asta?. Sorry if i spoiled any suspense
Old 14th September 2009, 14:53   #15

Man.. you stick out like a sore thumb amongst us. Most of us couldn't wait for our first car or bike.

Welcome to Team-BHP, this is a very different intro thread, more like a multi-part travelogue. I like your style of writing, you will do well here.