Team-BHP - First Drive: Nissan Teana

-   Test-Drives & Initial Ownership Reports (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/)
-   -   First Drive: Nissan Teana (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/test-drives-initial-ownership-reports/65649-first-drive-nissan-teana-2.html)

Great looking car, but I think the interior is a bit too beige

great review Sid! The car looks great from the outside but there's too muh beige on the inside. However, the center console looks neat. And, congrats on the Honda Jazz!

Originally Posted by flyingspur (Post 1490391)
Sometimes I wonder what Nissan and Volvo dealers must be thinking. How do they make money?

Best of luck finding a new one at that price.

i meant 20-21-22. lacs man. i know its not exactly 20 lacs. :p

lolz but do take back what i said earlier

the camry price W4 Automatic, RS. 2,328,480 ex showroom Delhi.

stupid:. camry is also expensive given the trim levels and features.

compared to what teana is offering in terms of features. those 5 star sofa seats come at a price i guesss :p

so superb is truly value for money. but ofcourse if you are comfortable with skoda A.S.S!!

but you guys will agree that at 20 lacs the base variant is pricey and for the 25 lac you have other v6 cars which are very powerful and sporty!! superb v6 and accord v6.

btw they are building a nissan showroom in ahmedabad here. so a dealership is going to come here soon.

@ Caramelo all I meant was that it's sometimes misleading to go by ex-showroom prices that's all. For example, in Mumbai, the Accord V6 is 28.x OTR and the Camry is similarly priced for the A/T version. Even the Superb D works out to about 25L OTR Mumbai.

Originally Posted by karanraheja (Post 1488615)
Doesnt the Teana look a tad like Hyundai i40 from front:-

Actually Hyundai i40 copied looks from Teana(as this Teana was launched along ago)

Originally Posted by sidindica (Post 1489565)
The dealers are themselves not happy with the pricing and think the car could have been priced at least Rs. 3 lakhs less. Just wait for 7 months, discounts will start.

Why did you specify 7 months only?

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 1491426)
For the chauffeur-driven, this CVT make actually turn out to be an advantage (seamless power delivery).

But then what about its Rubber Band effect-it sounds alot as it sometimes sticks to same gear and then produce noise?

Originally Posted by rageshgr (Post 1491434)
Great looking car, but I think the interior is a bit too beige

But the Colour combination is toooooooooo goood:)

Great review Sid. The interiors reek of quality all around. I hope it does a lot better than the previous model.

Originally Posted by flyingspur (Post 1492212)
@ Caramelo all I meant was that it's sometimes misleading to go by ex-showroom prices that's all. For example, in Mumbai, the Accord V6 is 28.x OTR and the Camry is similarly priced for the A/T version. Even the Superb D works out to about 25L OTR Mumbai.

yeah!! these babies are pricey and especially when you go take the total onroad cost.

hey so if its CBU then on-road cost is higher than the CKD ,i know there is difference of ex showroom prices for ex. accord and camry.

what i wanna know is thatregistrtion taxes stuff etc.would be treated differntly?? or what how does it work. i have no idea!

Originally Posted by Caramelo (Post 1493207)
what i wanna know is thatregistrtion taxes stuff etc.would be treated differntly?? or what how does it work. i have no idea!

What I've heard, is that for Individual registration the rate is 7% and for company registration it's [either 14% or 21%] for a car manufactured / asembled in India (I'm talking about MH regn). However, for a CBU vehicle, the rate to be paid is the higher rate regardless of whether the registration is individual or on the name of the company.

Nice review and photos!

Originally Posted by GTO (Post 1491426)
Teana sales over the last 6 months = 108 vs 141 for the Camry.

Thats very good sales figure for Teana as Nissan has only 5 Dealers at present and Toyota has nearly 100 Dealers.

Does it have a real Stop-Start Kit or just a Electronic Start Button for the keyless entry.

Congrats Sid. You really are a distinguished Team BHPian.

Great Review Sid. But the car doesn't seem to give a private buyer the confidence with its depreciation, lesser than average warranty, service n/w and the brand name. But the pictures show quite a classy car.

Isn't it based on Samsung SM5 / Renault Safrane?

Being a CBU, which is the Country of Origin?

This car is a bigger cousin of my car, the Nissan Altima and I can see that there are a few common interior parts too (ingnition button, power window controls, key fob, speedo dials, foot operated parking brake, HU Display to name a few)

Sid, in the specs, it is mentioned that the HU is a 6cd changer (the picture also shows the same) but in your description you have mentioned that it is a single CD MP3 unit. Missed it, perhaps? I feel they should have included the BOSE package too.

One thing which I am surprised about is that the gearbox of the Teana is the same 6 speed XCVT gearbox as in my Altima but here, I do not see an option for manual mode as present in my car.

Beige has been used too extensively in the front cabin making it look slightly gawdy.

Originally Posted by Dhar's (Post 1566865)
Isn't it based on Samsung SM5 / Renault Safrane?

Being a CBU, which is the Country of Origin?

I believe it is the other way round. The SM5 & Safrane are built based on the Teana. I think that the Nissan Teana is imported from Thailand.