Old 4th May 2010, 03:53   #61

@mustang - Go for the Fiesta 1.6 LE. Seems like a terrific deal!
@Kiku - Glad to see that your Ikon and Fiesta are performing well.
@Willeys - bro, I really wish you had posted earlier. We had an Ikon 1.6 with us, which was a joy to drive, but faced all the exact same problems you had mentioned. If I had read your post, we might have kept the car longer as the engine was perfect! However, we ended up selling it for Rs 90K.
Old 4th May 2010, 08:57   #62

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
The ikon photos were good. Guess what? I own an Ikon too. And I'm crazy about it. Rain in chennai on 3rd May? Sounds cool!
Thanks MX6. Excited to know that the Ikon has so many fans
It rained on 30th Apr and 1st May.

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
@mustang - Go for the Fiesta 1.6 LE. Seems like a terrific deal!
@Kiku - Glad to see that your Ikon and Fiesta are performing well.
@Willeys - bro, I really wish you had posted earlier. We had an Ikon 1.6 with us, which was a joy to drive, but faced all the exact same problems you had mentioned. If I had read your post, we might have kept the car longer as the engine was perfect! However, we ended up selling it for Rs 90K.
Mustang informed that he would be getting the Fiesta 1.6 ZXi this month.

Last edited by kiku007 : 4th May 2010 at 08:58.
Old 4th May 2010, 12:33   #63

Nice Pic Kiku! It must have been a relief (the rain ie. )!
Old 4th May 2010, 17:10   #64

i picked up a 1.6 zxi, sea grey on the 30th of april. pretty awesome.
Old 5th May 2010, 18:03   #65

Originally Posted by madan80 View Post
i picked up a 1.6 zxi, sea grey on the 30th of april. pretty awesome.
Superb! Congratulations Madan. Where's the report?

Suggestion from my side - If the interior door handles are of beige colout change them to the aluminium finish like in the Sxi. Enhances the looks! Costs only Rs.1100.
Old 9th May 2010, 12:23   #66

Upgrade's Time!

Guys

It's upgrade time! I always drool over the Fiesta 1.6S, but sadly made a compromise during the purchase.

Now it's time for the cosmetic upgrade of my 1.6 ZXi to 1.6S

To pick from the 1.6S
  1. 15" Alloy wheels + Tires - Need to recalibrate the ECU? Warranty void issues?
  2. Rear Spoiler
  3. Body Kit
I would appreciate any help on this - sourcing the parts, installation, advice etc etc!
Old 10th May 2010, 10:11   #67

Originally Posted by kiku007 View Post
Guys

It's upgrade time! I always drool over the Fiesta 1.6S, but sadly made a compromise during the purchase.

Now it's time for the cosmetic upgrade of my 1.6 ZXi to 1.6S

To pick from the 1.6S
  1. 15" Alloy wheels + Tires - Need to recalibrate the ECU? Warranty void issues?
  2. Rear Spoiler
  3. Body Kit
I would appreciate any help on this - sourcing the parts, installation, advice etc etc!
Kiku, you dont need to replicate the Fiesta S. Get alloys of a different design, but do try and source the spoiler and body kit off the Fiesta S. Also, the rear bumper will need to be changed, IIRC.
Old 10th May 2010, 10:39   #68

benbsb29

I like the 1.6S alloys a lot. Offlate trrk's Figo Alloys also attracted me.

The rear bumper just needs to have a blackened portion at the bottom right?
Old 10th May 2010, 11:50   #69

Fiesta sent to Chennai Ford Service Centre for the following issues:
  1. Rubber/Oil burning smell from the car's front side. Noticed esp when parking the car on a steep slope in my apartment due to may be use of half clutch or brake. But this was also noticed when taking the car on the highway (ECR).
  2. Car wasn't smooth in the 2nd gear with low revs, it would jerk.
  3. Idling noise was unusually high. Not as much as the TDCi but then it wasn't in the i10/Ikon territory either.
Reported to Chennai Ford. Car taken up for check-up today. Received a call that they were able to reproduce issues 2 & 3 and would rectify it (Why it came in the first place and how it is going to be rectified needs answers). They need more time to reproduce issue#1.
Hi, Driving an Uncles Ikon which has now crossed 1lac kms. I'm also facing the jerking issue you've described in point 2 of your post above. It jerks only at low rpm's, otherwise the car drives fine. Pickup and top speed are excellent. Did you figure out what the problem was in your car? And how did they fix it? Cost to rectify it?

Old 10th May 2010, 12:03   #70

Originally Posted by Lalvaz View Post
Hi, Driving an Uncles Ikon which has now crossed 1lac kms. I'm also facing the jerking issue you've described in point 2 of your post above. It jerks only at low rpm's, otherwise the car drives fine. Pickup and top speed are excellent. Did you figure out what the problem was in your car? And how did they fix it? Cost to rectify it?
For the jerking, do check if the ignition coil is firing properly. I had similar issues when the coil was on its last legs, and firing one cylinder less. Got it replaced, and the issue was resolved, making the car really smooth. Between, i had this issue around the 40k kms mark, so 1 lakh kms is way too far.
Old 10th May 2010, 12:05   #71

Originally Posted by Lalvaz View Post

Lalvaz

The Chennai Ford people swore that they didn't do anything to solve the issue. But mysteriously it was solved.

Typically people would suggest to check the injectors. Try using IFTEX System-G along with the petrol may be?

benbsb29, if the ignition coil's gone bust then it'll show in the entire power band. I've changed more than 2 in the Ikon

Last edited by kiku007 : 10th May 2010 at 12:07.
Old 10th May 2010, 15:01   #72

Lalvaz

The Chennai Ford people swore that they didn't do anything to solve the issue. But mysteriously it was solved.

Typically people would suggest to check the injectors. Try using IFTEX System-G along with the petrol may be?

benbsb29, if the ignition coil's gone bust then it'll show in the entire power band. I've changed more than 2 in the Ikon
Bensbsb29 - I'm inclined to agree that its not an ignition coil issue, cos the jerking is only at low rpm's. When the rpm goes below 1000, thats when it jerks. Normally I'd say that it would require a tune up, however the jerking occurs only in the 2nd and 3rd gear, so not sure.

I think I'll try using System -G and see if that helps.

Thanks!!!
Old 30th May 2010, 22:29   #73

Time to bid goodbye to the Ikon!

People at home want a no frills small car for,
  1. Ease of driving and parking in the city
  2. Good FE even in small runs
  3. Trouble free maintenance
So the Ikon is up for sale! Spark PS should be giving company to the Fiesta soon.

Classifieds Link.

Team-BHP Classifieds - 2003 Ford Ikon 1.3 CLXi NXT-Chennai - Powered by PhotoPost Classifieds
Old 30th May 2010, 22:36   #74

do the points 1,2,3 not apply for your Ikon?
Old 31st May 2010, 12:03   #75

Originally Posted by abhipuru16 View Post
do the points 1,2,3 not apply for your Ikon?
Here's why it doesn't,

People at home want a no frills small car for,
  1. Ease of driving and parking in the city
    For my 59 year old Dad and my First Time car driver wife a hatch is more easy to drive and park
  2. Good FE even in small runs
    Ikon Petrol: 8-9 KmpL; Hatch: > 10 KmpL
  3. Trouble free maintenance
I have spent more than 2L to maintain the Ikon.
And anyways I have the we have the fiesta right?