Old 15th March 2011, 11:25   #1

Premier Rio : Quick drive!

This is what i call Luck by chance.

Just returning back after picking my kid from school, i saw this a little overgrown hatch sitting at the corner of my neighborhood all in RED

Though this is not a comprehensive Test Drive report, but the little TD that i could do impressed me a little about this MINI MUV.

Whats the reason i call it an MUV...?

Well, its just bigger than the Wagon R (MAV)

I will not call it an SUV, NO..... Just big tyres and a SUV'ish design does not make it a SUV.

Its just an OUTGROWN Hatchback

What i liked :
1) Fresh Look
2) Rear Design is Awesome
3) Leg Room
4) Frugal 1.5L Diesel Engine (Though its dated)
5) Ride Height
6) Ride Quality was very nice for city commute
7) Effecient cooling from the Air conditioner
8) I dont know what variant i drove, but it had all 4 power windows
9) It had a well designed integrated music system and 4 speakers

What i Disliked:
1) Fit and Finish is just average.
2) NVH Levels a bit more, comparable to that in the Swift
3) Rear seat design is a bit awkward, making seating position for longer drives a bit troublesome, but wonderful for city conditions
4) Front Grille is a big let-down
5) Dashboard design is plane jane, not inspiring.

All in all, its good for some college going kids.

A little bit of modifications , it can be an executive car too.

What it could do with:
1) Re-Designed Dashboard
2) Re-Designed Front grille
3) Re-Designed doorpads and seat upholstery

Would i buy it.

Heck... yes.

Maybe i will buy it someday and modify the front and make it look better.

I would have certainly got hold of it, if it ever had a 4x4.
Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2892.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2891.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2896.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2895.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2897.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2901.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2893.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2894.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2903.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2899.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2898.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2890.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-imag_2904.jpg  

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 15th March 2011 at 11:33.
Old 15th March 2011, 11:29   #2
MAS

re: Premier Rio : Quick drive!

Short and crisp review Pavan. Surprised to see so many Positives in the Premier Rio. I have seen the Rio a few times, the car did look good.

Last edited by MAS : 15th March 2011 at 12:11.
Old 15th March 2011, 11:41   #3

Great crisp report there

it looks ok for city use and the occasional highway run; but airbags are not available on any variant
How the service part works remains to be seen

Last edited by selfdrive : 15th March 2011 at 11:45.
Old 15th March 2011, 11:43   #4
SDP

A pleasant surprise indeed. I had sort of written off this car as 'chinese'. Saw one in Mumbai while driving and was put off by the look of the black/grey bumper material.

What is surprising is there is hardly any advertisement for this car, in any media. Saw a couple of ads in print in some auto magazine a few months back and thats about it.
Old 15th March 2011, 11:49   #5

I think it has been launched.
I saw it at the Autoexpo, so thats time enough.
First thing i saw was the pricetag:then they had said 5.5L, i think thats about what its out for.
next thing i saw was 65bhp, so i turned away.
but i really like the car and the effort.
I mean, considering its ancestary, its a big development.
more power, 4x4, and i think genuine enthusiasts can really use this as a base car.
Old 15th March 2011, 12:05   #6

It looks better built now and does it pass BSIV norms?

Mods please merge.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...page-10-a.html
Old 15th March 2011, 12:20   #7

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post
What it could do with:
1) Re-Designed Dashboard
2) Re-Designed Front grille
3) Re-Designed doorpads and seat upholstery
All you want is this. Check out Zotye Nomad II. Rio is Zotye Nomad.
Premier Rio : Quick drive!-71.jpg  

Premier Rio : Quick drive!-zotye.jpg  

Old 15th March 2011, 12:31   #8

This Chinese derivative would have done well with a Chevy badge. It's looks good and fit and finish from the pics at least look not too bad. The old 1.5 TUD5 won't pass muster in the metro's. Yet to see one in Chennai.
Old 15th March 2011, 12:32   #9

Pavan thats a neat review!

Am not sure what it is priced at but the design is really inviting! if its in 5lac range then with some good promo and assurance of service back this baby will rock!

Seems to be a very practical car for a small family! but the price will be the key factor here!
Old 15th March 2011, 12:37   #10

There are horads of such vehicles running in malaysia with name Perodua Kembara. Originally Daihatsu Terios.

It came with 4 cylinder SOHC 16v. Maximum power 61kW and 105Nm of torque, In 2003, Perodua shut the critics by introducing 4 cylinder, 1.3 DOHC 16v DVVT Engine with 63kW. Maximum Torque for DVVT Kembara stands at 120Nm.

Now the Indian version @ 43 kW seems a way bit underpowered. Also puerly looking at the pictures the fit and finish of the malaysian ones are a notch above.

Interestingly the company Perodua have also introduced the recent version of the Terios. Which is a more modern design and should have been introduced in India too.
Old 15th March 2011, 12:40   #11

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

I dont know what variant i drove, but it had all 4 power windows
I dont see any power window in rear door. Am i missing something?
Old 15th March 2011, 13:25   #12

Ya, only front doors seem to have power windows.

I've seen a black Rio in Hyderabad and the only part I did not like is the front end, a little tweak to the front will make it look far better.

The car is mated with a Peugeot TUD5 engine. This is the same engine that powered the Peugeots in India, Zen and Esteem diesels, First generation Accent diesel(dls model). Premier still holds the right to produce these engines. They retuned the engine for slightly more power mated it with a Chinese shell. The engine itself is a bullet proof engine and very reliable. Low tech engine with no electronics involved. Being an old generation diesel the sound is definitely on the higher side. Though the engine is reliable, how reliable is the overall Rio package is a question.

Another intersting point about the the Rio is its rear seat, . The rear seat is split and it reclines(remember the first generation WagonR) - happy back seat passengers.
Old 15th March 2011, 14:36   #13

Re: Premier Rio : Quick drive!

Lets leave the looks aside, as design is anyways a subjective matter.

There is no other way to say this : The Premier RIO is R-U-B-B-I-S-H. A jugaad vehicle by a jugaad car manufacturer. A car made in China by a new automotive company that in all probability knows nothing about car making, sold in India by a brand that has previously duped their buyers, powered by a 20 year old reworked diesel engine which now has a turbocharger bolted on by an inexistent R&D department.

At the same price, you can buy a Swift, i10, Ritz, Figo, Vista, Polo and others....cars which are more modern, have 10X superior build / finish / quality, quicker performers, safer, offer excellent ride, handling or both and are known to last 1,00,000 kms. Whoever has bought the Rio is crying today because of frequent problems and nearly zero parts support.

Originally Posted by selfdrive View Post
but airbags are not available on any variant
Please don't use the term "airbags' so loosely. Do you think adding airbags to my 15 year old Jeep or an Ambassador will make it safe? More important than airbags is the safety structure, crumple zones and impact-absorbing capability of the vehicle. Let me assure you that any other modern hatchback will be much safer than this piece of junk. Airbags or no airbags.

Originally Posted by mayankk View Post
more power, 4x4, and i think genuine enthusiasts can really use this as a base car.
4x4? Do you seriously think the Rio will even benefit from the 4x4? Who in their right minds will ever take a Rio 4wheeling?!!

And which enthusiasts would want to buy such a slow car, that can't handle to save its life? I don't see any "enthusiastic" side to a Rio with 4x4 and / or more power.
Old 15th March 2011, 15:25   #14

4x4? Do you seriously think the Rio will even benefit from the 4x4? Who in their right minds will ever take a Rio 4wheeling?!!

And which enthusiasts would want to buy such a slow car, that can't handle to save its life? I don't see any "enthusiastic" side to a Rio with 4x4 and / or more power.
I wouldnt be so dismissive.
People have taken up worse cars as projects.
capabilities are definitely there.
---[Manteros]---: My Off-Road Perodua Kembara
Old 15th March 2011, 15:47   #15

Lets leave the looks aside, as design is anyways a subjective matter.

There is no other way to say this : The Premier RIO is R-U-B-B-I-S-H. A jugaad vehicle by a jugaad car manufacturer. A car made in China by a new automotive company that in all probability knows nothing about car making, sold in India by a brand that has previously duped their buyers, powered by a 20 year old reworked diesel engine which now has a turbocharger bolted on by an inexistent R&D department.

At the same price, you can buy a Swift, i10, Ritz, Figo, Vista, Polo and others....cars which are more modern, have 10X superior build / finish / quality, quicker performers, safer, offer excellent ride, handling or both and are known to last 1,00,000 kms. Whoever has bought the Rio is crying today because of frequent problems and nearly zero parts support.

Please don't use the term "airbags' so loosely. Do you think adding airbags to my 15 year old Jeep or an Ambassador will make it safe? More important than airbags is the safety structure, crumple zones and impact-absorbing capability of the vehicle. Let me assure you that any other modern hatchback will be much safer than this piece of junk. Airbags or no airbags.

Looks like GTO is not impressed at all by the RIO.

Look at the other side of the world, The Rio if priced well can be a competition to a few Hatchbacks.

I actually liked the no nonsense engine, fantastic suspension and ride quality.

Its good for city commute, agree fully about the safety concerns.

Hope no one should forget, we have been driving the HAZARDOUSLY UNSAFE Maruti's for decades, did we complain.

Sir, we guys are used to worse cars than the Rio.

Myself being and OLD CAR guy, like the no nonsense approach by Premier for this effort.

Its drawing too much flak, and we better have this thread CLOSED, in order to save the ethics of this forum for not being biased towards any Auto manufacturer.

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 15th March 2011 at 15:54.
PAVAN KADAM is offline   (1) Thanks