Old 16th August 2011, 19:08   #1
v&v

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011

It had been over 2 years since we visited Haridwar. Our last visit was somewhere around in March 2009. My favourite place to stay there is the UP Tourism hotel Alaknanda, as it on the banks of river ganga and has its ghat too. Luckily got the room via online booking for one night. We planned to leave delhi on sunday morning and be back by monday evening.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011913.jpg

Started early by 5:30 am and being a sunday the roads were empty. We quickly reached NH-24 in just 30 minutes. Just after crossing the hindon river there is a NH-58 by pass which goes via raj nagar extension. The road is 4 laned and in good condition. This road merges with NH58 13 kms ahead. The road then till meerut bypass has patches of bad road and of course big pot holes. Traffic in this section was slow with a fair amount of cars & trucks.

Once we hit meerut bypass, things changed, the roads were 4 laned and we could mantain a consistent speed of 100+. Meerut to Muzaffarnagar may be around 55 odd kms with a toll of Rs 45, took hardly 40 minutes to cross. Just after Muzaffarnagar again back to single lane undivided road. By 08:45 we reached Roorkee. Took our breakfast break at Radision Dhaba. Hot Aalu paratha and tea was refreshing.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4709.jpg

After a break of 45 mins resumed the journey by 10:15 we are at Hotel Alaknanda.

View from Hotel Alaknanda.
Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011947.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011929.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011926.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011927.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011928.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011936.jpg
Old 16th August 2011, 19:21   #2
v&v

Re: Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011

Had to wait for 30 mins as the rooms were not ready - the check in time was 12:00 hrs. It was cloudy with a slight drizzle now and then. The mighty Ganges was in its mighty form, muddy and ofcourse icy. It was not a deterrent for our water enthusiast kids as they changed and plunged in the water, pulling us in too. Spent a good 2 hrs.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4759.jpg

Kids were absolutely fearless they were swimming along with the current.
Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4755.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4756.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4757.jpg

After the bath we had a walk along the ghats to reach Chotiwala restaurant in the market. The roads were crowded which signalled that there is quite a downpour of tourists this weekend. The food as usual was enjoyable, and the menu as in any case was fixed - deluxe thali.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011942.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011943.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011941.jpg

Last edited by v&v : 16th August 2011 at 19:24.
Old 16th August 2011, 21:30   #3
v&v

The ropeway to Mansa devi was choked and it had to be stopped said a friend of ours whom we co-incidently met in the market waiting for some black tickets to be arranged by the guide. We didnt venture much into the market as again it was crowded and humid.

Some shots at market

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011946.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4735.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4736.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4738.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4740.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4747.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4748.jpg

Back had a nap and decided not to make it to the Ganga arti at Har ki pauri instead have a visit to the nearest ghat (Makarvahini Ganga Devi Mandir) and attended the arti.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011937.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4728.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011948.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4770.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4772.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4787a.jpg

Last edited by v&v : 16th August 2011 at 22:10.
Old 16th August 2011, 22:01   #4
v&v

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4774.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4778.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4790.jpg

After the arti we walked to har ki pauri assuming the rush would have cooled down by now. Had our dinner at Mohanji puriwale. Their Puri - chole, malpua - halwa are simply awesome. Had a cycle rikshaw back to the hotel room.

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4804.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4806.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-img_4807.jpg

Name:  IMG_4811.JPG
Views: 1977
Size:  69.0 KB

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011956.jpg

Quick Trip : Dev Bhoomi - Haridwar - 14-15 Aug 2011-14082011959.jpg

The next day morning it was raining, hence we thought it wise to leave as soon as possible. After breakfast at around 10.00 we started our return journey and the entire stretch was raining. Reached Delhi at 02:20 pm.
v&v is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th August 2011, 11:45   #5

Some old memory refreshed. Nice captures. Har ki pauri is a nice place to spend entire evening.
Old 17th August 2011, 16:38   #6

Fantastic snaps. Brings back the fond memories of my visit.

Thanks for sharing.
Old 17th August 2011, 20:29   #7

Nice pictures; especially of the Ganga aarti where the flame is like an arc out of the water. Brought back some very fond memories. Though we didn't stay in Haridwar and went ahead to Rishikesh to stay for the night at the Kaali Kamli Ashram. The Chotiwala at Rishikesh is better..

Feel like going to Haridwar..

Last edited by gd1418 : 17th August 2011 at 20:30.
Old 17th August 2011, 22:49   #8

That's a quick trip you had there!
Originally Posted by v&v View Post
Once we hit meerut bypass, things changed, the roads were 4 laned and we could mantain a consistent speed of 100+. Meerut to Muzaffarnagar may be around 55 odd kms with a toll of Rs 45, took hardly 40 minutes to cross.
Good to know the Meerut-Muzaffarnagar section is that good. Not been that way since it became operational, and it was nice to read your report of it.
Old 18th August 2011, 09:29   #9
v&v

Originally Posted by Subrat Seet View Post
Some old memory refreshed. Nice captures. Har ki pauri is a nice place to spend entire evening.
Thanks. I too like to spend time at Harkipauri after 9 pm, when is quite crowd free and peaceful.

Originally Posted by Indian Ranger View Post
Fantastic snaps. Brings back the fond memories of my visit.

Thanks for sharing.
Thanks. One of the favourite destination of ours too. Dont know how many time we have visited here.

Originally Posted by gd1418 View Post
Nice pictures; especially of the Ganga aarti where the flame is like an arc out of the water. Brought back some very fond memories. Though we didn't stay in Haridwar and went ahead to Rishikesh to stay for the night at the Kaali Kamli Ashram. The Chotiwala at Rishikesh is better..

Feel like going to Haridwar..
Thanks GD bhai. We too prefer Rishikesh over Haridwar. Our usual stay is at GMVN Muni ki reti. Thali at Chotiwala at Rishikesh is best veg thali i have eaten.

Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
That's a quick trip you had there!

Good to know the Meerut-Muzaffarnagar section is that good. Not been that way since it became operational, and it was nice to read your report of it.
Thanks doc. Even this road was a surprise to me too. Even though we miss Cheetal Grand but it saved a good 1 hr. Hope the road extends till Roorkee.

Last edited by v&v : 18th August 2011 at 09:30.
Old 28th August 2011, 18:36   #10

Hey v&v,

Beautifully captured pics of my town Haridwar ! Do drop in whenever you are here the next time....

Old 28th August 2011, 20:34   #11
v&v

Originally Posted by rock22 View Post
Hey v&v,

Beautifully captured pics of my town Haridwar ! Do drop in whenever you are here the next time....

Thanks rakesh. Next time for sure.
Old 30th August 2011, 16:39   #12

Nice quick trip. During those holidays, we were also thinking to take a similar trip, but, didn't materialize due to several factors.
Old 21st September 2011, 21:14   #13

Team-BHP is awesome. I'm planning a trip up to Haridwar this weekend and check into T-BHP to see the travelogues and find a post from member V&V from just last month.

Thanks, V&V. Your pictorial travelogue was most helpful.

I'm going to be travelling with my wife, who is currently 15 weeks pregnant. Hope the roads are suitable enough for her.

Also, are there any places with decent restrooms along the way, other than in places like Roorkee? Its very important that she be able to stop along the way.

We intend to do the same thing you did - start early in the morning, stay there overnight at the Alaknanda, and return the next morning.
Old 22nd September 2011, 12:06   #14
v&v

Originally Posted by LongDrive lover View Post
Nice quick trip. During those holidays, we were also thinking to take a similar trip, but, didn't materialize due to several factors.
Thanks LDL. Our Lucknow trip is on cards. Will update you as soon as it materialises.

Originally Posted by Pacifica View Post
Team-BHP is awesome. I'm planning a trip up to Haridwar this weekend and check into T-BHP to see the travelogues and find a post from member V&V from just last month.

Thanks, V&V. Your pictorial travelogue was most helpful.

I'm going to be travelling with my wife, who is currently 15 weeks pregnant. Hope the roads are suitable enough for her.

Also, are there any places with decent restrooms along the way, other than in places like Roorkee? Its very important that she be able to stop along the way.

We intend to do the same thing you did - start early in the morning, stay there overnight at the Alaknanda, and return the next morning.

Thanks Pacifica. The roads are good. Only Modi nagar - Meerut stretch is bad otherwise the whole roads from Meerut is good. There are lots of dhabas enroute and in case of good restrooms before roorkee , you will have to take a detour for Cheetal Grand (One of our favourite stop overs), which is now bypassed (Khatauli).

As for Alaknanda , Do you booking in advance , at times its full at weekends. You can book online.

All the best for you trip and drive safe.