Old 19th September 2011, 16:54   #91

re: Humbleh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himacal Pradesh)

Originally Posted by LongDrive lover View Post
No problems with different speeds as long as write-ups are coming. Enjoying this convoy log. BUT, Lalulks, you can't escape from writing your own versions of the stories, just because others are chipping-in. Your job is two-fold, narrating, as well as, bringing out your SLR outputs soon!!
Thank you sir, for the understanding. Once Jeepcaptain updates the account we are ready to roll to the third day.

From Day 03 onwards, the real expedition begins. We'll be seeing the beautiful greens near Sangla and Chitkul.

Look forward to no_enthu_da's pictures. They are surely going to be amazing.
Old 19th September 2011, 18:45   #92

Wow that swifty has got a lot of photo coverage. Great shots. and a crazy trip. I thnk everyday of my life these guys are going to taunt me " You shouldve come" Great drive boys.
Old 19th September 2011, 18:54   #93

Going very well. I envy the team.

Waiting for more!!!
Old 19th September 2011, 20:25   #94

Am glued to this. Guys, Updates please!

Wish i had known you guys were crossing through here, we could have given you an escort through.
Old 19th September 2011, 21:38   #95

While JeepCaptain gets his story ready some more pictures from Day 02.

Solan
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-solan.jpg

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-solan2.jpg

Some teasers of what is yet to come.....

TSK this is for you...Tso Morriri
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-tso-morriri1.jpg
laluks is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 07:12   #96

Guys sorry for the late post.

Trip name Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition.........
Start - Adoor Kerala.
Destination - Delhi.

Start Date -Aug 8 2011

No. of Travel days 4
Distance to be travelled 3185 kms.
Passengers - Two
Equipment -Bolero SLX 2009 DI Turbo
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-01-start-trip.jpg

Accompanying - Bolero STINGER SLX 4x4 ( From Bangalore)
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-009-bolero-4x4-joined.jpg

Starting Point ,Adoor, Kerala.

Name:  001 Adoor.JPG
Views: 8782
Size:  342.7 KB

Way Points- Route Planning and Live GPS Support - HVK Sir

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-002-adoor-delhi-waypoints.jpg

Route Plan

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-003-adoor-delhi-cities-distance.jpg

Final Route

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-004-adoor-delhi-route.jpg

To be continued..
JeepCaptain is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 07:31   #97

Originally Posted by JeepCaptain View Post
No. of Travel days 4
Distance to be travelled 3185 kms.
Passengers - Two
Equipment -Bolero SLX 2009 DI Turbo
@Jeepcaptain - While you complete your post couldn't resist asking - Why were the cops attracted to your jeep? Was it because of the KL registration?
Old 20th September 2011, 08:47   #98

Originally Posted by amitwlele View Post
@Jeepcaptain - While you complete your post couldn't resist asking - Why were the cops attracted to your jeep? Was it because of the KL registration?
From what I know, his Bolero was stopped by cops for a variety of reasons all over India through his trip - out-of-state registration, dark sun film, stickers of Discovery/Nat Geo. We saw double standards by cops in Panchkula - stopping our cars for sun film when every other local car had sun film too!
hvkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 11:32   #99

Originally Posted by hvkumar View Post
From what I know, his Bolero was stopped by cops for a variety of reasons all over India through his trip - out-of-state registration, dark sun film, stickers of Discovery/Nat Geo. We saw double standards by cops in Panchkula - stopping our cars for sun film when every other local car had sun film too!
That's very normal.
One of the best ways to avoid all this is have a 'Press' sticker. Generally the cops are a bit hesitant about stopping media cars for some weird unknown reason.
Old 20th September 2011, 12:01   #100

Originally Posted by krazydriver84 View Post
That's very normal.
One of the best ways to avoid all this is have a 'Press' sticker. Generally the cops are a bit hesitant about stopping media cars for some weird unknown reason.
Thats a fast one. But, some smart cops ask for the Press ID too.
I used to manage with a Visiting Card of one of my Press Acquaintance.
When ever I was stopped, I used to open my vallet in pretext of taking money out and Indirectly flash the card with huge PRESS printed in RED. They simply used to say " Saab Aap Press se ho.. Tho Pehle kyun nahi bataye? Pls go on"
This worked in Pune, Mumbai and even NCR.
Unfortunately lost that Vallet and the card too.
Maverick79 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 12:28   #101

Ok so before we move further let me give you a pictorial description of the progress of the team on 13th Aug 2011 EOD.

The Team -
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-iphe-team-13th-aug.jpg
Mumbai Roadsters –
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-mr-team13th-aug.jpg

Like i said earlier, we were targeting Rampur on 14th Aug....but still we were going to be one full days drive behind the rest.
KSM-Vtec is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 13:38   #102

Originally Posted by Maverick79 View Post
Thats a fast one. But, some smart cops ask for the Press ID too.
I used to manage with a Visiting Card of one of my Press Acquaintance.
When ever I was stopped, I used to open my vallet in pretext of taking money out and Indirectly flash the card with huge PRESS printed in RED. They simply used to say " Saab Aap Press se ho.. Tho Pehle kyun nahi bataye? Pls go on"
This worked in Pune, Mumbai and even NCR.
Unfortunately lost that Vallet and the card too.
Lol. yep that's the way to do it. Either you have a friend's visiting card, or you have a visiting card of your own with words 'Media' written somewhere on it.
Old 20th September 2011, 14:25   #103

Took a while to realize this is 'the trip'! Have been waiting for this since heard about the journey from Jeepcaptain. Great beginning and looking forward to the real adventure.
Old 20th September 2011, 16:42   #104

Kerala to Delhi in Boleros
On August 8 th 2 team members of the Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition team started their Expedition. NJ my bro started the Expedition from my home town Adoor, Kerala NJ is the one who is going to be travelling and driving for the longest distance among all of us in this Expedition.. About 12,000 + kilometers of travel in 31 days. He was expected to be back home only on September 8th after completing the Expedition.
VE another team member from Trichur, Kerala joined NJ in the Bolero from Trichur and they started to Bangalore to join with SPK and his Bolero Stinger 4x4.
So there were 3 team members in 2 Bolero's coming to Delhi. One 4x4 and one 2WD. All the three of the were travelling to Delhi by road for the first time and they were guided by our chief HV Kumar on the phone throughout their trip.From time to time I was also checking their progress over the phone.
They had a wonderful drive from Bangalore all the way to Delhi. It was raining in most of the places in Karnataka, Maharashtra, Gujarat and Rajastan. So the photography possibilities were limited. However they managed to click some good pics which I will share it with you here.

Now let the pic speaks

Start of a Dream Expedition!

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-0-miles-go.jpg

ODO Reading @ Trichur. Another 12,000 km to go in 31 days.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-001-odo-reading-tcr.jpg

Somewhere in the outskirts of Coimbatore.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-003-after-cbe.jpg

Self Service by VE. Look what we have got on the Bolero's rear window.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-005-vinod-self-service.jpg

Wonderful Roads in Tamil Nadu.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-006a.jpg

Photo stop by NJ somewhere near Krishnagiri.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-006b.jpg

Before nightfall they reached Bangalore.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-adoor-bangalore.jpg

Small pitstop and meeting with Bangalore Bolero Club friend's Jeevan & Thomas.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-008b.jpg

@ Bangalore - The Bolero STINGER 4x4 joins the Expedition.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-010.jpg

The Trio decided to drive through the night and to Halt at Kolhapur

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-011-ka-highways.jpg

Driving through beautiful roads in Karnataka in a beautiful weather.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-011b.jpg

Bangalore to Kolhapur Drive

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-bangalore-kolhapur.jpg

Halted at Kolhapur, slept for few hours and then started again.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9656.jpg

Tunnels
HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9718.jpg

Refuel stop. First pic of BOLERO Brothers.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9716.jpg

Mumbai Here we come.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9742.jpg

Zipped though numerous Tunnels.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9761.jpg

Foggy weather in between.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9806.jpg

Beautiful Weather in Western Ghats.

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9813.jpg

AMCHI Mumbai

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9830.jpg

After crossing Mumbai city... the Expedition continues Chalo Delhi!!

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9839.jpg

Next Stop Gujarat

HumbLeh'd II (Indo Polish Himalayan Expedition to Ladakh & Himachal Pradesh)-100_9863.jpg

To be continued....
JeepCaptain is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 20th September 2011, 16:49   #105

Post deleted by the Team-BHP Support : Please do NOT post one-liners that add little or no informational value to the thread. We need your co-operation to maintain the overall quality of this forum.

Please read our rules before proceeding any further.

Last edited by GTO : 22nd September 2011 at 16:28.
krazydriver84 is offline   Received Infraction