Team-BHP > Travelogues

Closed Thread
  Search this Thread
Old 5th October 2011, 22:21   #1
BHPian

Why Not A SaddleSore?

The ‘Iron Butt’ Ride: Saddle Sore 1600k - 1650 Kilometers in 19.5 Hours!

31-July-2011 : 2:55 AM to 10:35 PM - 1650 Kilometers - 19.5 Hours!

Good things always come at a price, and at its own pace. And i got my price by buying a *Pre Worshipped* Kawasaki Ninja 250R, which helped me successfully complete the Saddle Sore ride. There is some thing called Riding, and also something known as Endurance Riding. I was induced to the term “World’s Toughest Motorcycle Riders” some 5 years back while browsing ADV Rider forum. I was not a fan of endurance riding and always thought riding was for fun and should not be burdened.

Fast forward to 2011, I can say I’m more of a tourer, the little biker in me sometimes aggravates and tries to show off. After buying the Ninja 250R, I wanted to start up the riding season in a better, bigger and unusual way. I was a Ninja newbie, Don't know how the electrical’s work, where the radiator is located, nor the simple DIY to diagnose issues with the bike. It was one fine Saturday morning, I was at work seeing video’s on Facebook (that’s what ever one does at work is it not?) I chanced upon a video of a guy explaining what a KLR 650 is capable of & why he rides and mentioned “Ride Safe. Travel Far. Do it Soon” The riding fantasy stuck me badly. I have not had a bigger trip on the Ninja yet (in the first week of owning it) - I had an off next day (Sunday), but had to be back on Monday for work. A quick search on recent travelogues in the forum had a new fashion called “Saddlesore” - So many senior (serious) tourers have accomplished or wanted to accomplish the feat. I browsed through few logs, and i asked myself “Why not a SaddleSore?