Old 9th January 2012, 12:15   #1

Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)

I work between holidays.

One gloomy morning at office, was mulling over my next holiday destinations. With leaves vetoed against by manager, was not left with much options but still wanted to get out for a long drive, as its a common itch with most bhpians.

So, I make a call:
Me: Kya be, kaisa hai? (How are you?)
Him: Abey, call kaise kiya? You generally do not talk on phone
Me(sheepishly): Haan, its better to banter f2f than in a virtual world. Sun, tera kuchh plan hai last week of Dec? (Do you have any plans for last week of Dec?)
Him: Kab aa raha hai, bol? (Tell me, when are you coming?)
Me(grinning): Abey! (How do you know?)
Him: Tu Hyd aa raha hai, samjha main, chaar saal tere saath bitaya hoon, so I can understand (I have been with you for 4 yrs, so I know)
Me: Was thinking of visiting college
Him: Oh teri, sahi hai, main bhi nahi gaya abtak (I have also never visited after passing out)
Me: Kya be *#&$^#*$&^, tu itna paas mein hai phir bhi nahi gaya abtak? (You stay so near, why havent you visited even once?)
Him: Tu nahi aaya na, kaise jaata (You didnt come)
Me: Bakwaas bund kar, sun main 24th ko Hyd pahunchta hoon, phir 25th Dec we'll start for college. (Shut up, will reach Hyd on 24th and then on 25th Dec will start for college)
<Now the usual drama with all bhpians>
Him: Sahi hai, train station mere ghar ke paas mein hi hai (Train station is near my house)
Me: Train se nahi aa raha hoon (Am not travelling by train)
Him: Oh, bada aadmi, Pune to Hyd flight, anyways, airport se... (Then flight?)
Me: Its gonna be a drive
Him: What the...

Some teasers of the trip!

The main gate
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3639_01.jpg

Flower inside the campus
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-csc_3810.jpg

Cruze @ NITW Guest house
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3614_01.jpg

Stork? welcoming us inside the campus
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3618_01.jpg

The tree showcasing how much we missed the college
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3621_01.jpg

Bed of red leaves on the way
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3715_01.jpg

Rear view - a metaphor
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3907_01.jpg

Last edited by rahul_sinha : 9th January 2012 at 20:30.
rahul_sinha is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 9th January 2012, 14:16   #2

Re: Trip down the memory lane - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)

We knew it would be winter vacation in the college, so no chance to meet any profs, but still hoped we would be allowed to enter the premises.

So buckled up, and started my journey with wife and kiddo on 24th Dec 6am. In no time, was on NH9 after crossing Hadapsar flyover. Real shocker started after the toll booth. NH9 is being constructed for past 3-4 yrs, and looks its in store for a few more years. In my opinion, this highway should be de-classified till the construction is complete. One of the most horrible stretches. Trucks, sugarcane carts, bad roads(doable though) and jams. Reached Solapur by 1230pm, with sedate driving throughout. Had light lunch at a dingy restaurant - curd rice, veg pulao with curd.
From then on, wifey took over the wheels for a couple of hours, hoping for a 4-laned road but there was none. Still road quality improved tremendously from Solapur, even though it was a single carriage. Reached Hyd by 530pm.
Shockingly did not spot a single two-wheeler driver with helmet. The route is devoid of any kind of scenic beauty, or maybe my expectations were dampened by the state of NH9.
(Some snaps of the way)
Somewhere along the NH9
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3889_01.jpg

Railway crossing on the way
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3900_01.jpg

Cause of traffic snarls
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3928_01.jpg

Had a good reunion with my friend, who I met after 5 years. The children and our wives got friendly with each other and post dinner all went for a nice walk nearby.

Next day, woke up late. By 9am started for Warangal. Fed the destination to MMI, and followed instructions like an obedient pupil. Hyd traffic is disgusting even in morning hours, lesser said the better. Again, Hyd-Warangal stretch is being constructed, so got a rerun of NH9.

But, when we were nearing Kazipet, the dusted memories started peeling out. I forgot completely about the pains in the journey and a child like enthusiasm got induced.

Initial plan was to check in a hotel room and then visit college in the evening. But the enthusiasm took over, and we directly went inside. Took a tour of the college, spotted many places - Academic building, Ladies Hostel, Auditorium, First Year classrooms, Old hostels, Mess, the jungle et al. Was dumbfounded for sometime, I was in my alma mater after 11 years 7 months!!

Suddenly realized that college is open and there were many students loafing around, like we used to during our wonder years! Went to the guest house within the campus, and checked into couple of rooms, booked one more for a senior who called us up to inform he too is arriving. More the merrier.

The guest house where we stayed
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3642_01.jpg

After taking out the luggage, all went to our favorite joint, Hotel Ashoka. Its actually a restaurant-complex. Kanishka and Kadambari being the veg and non-veg restaurants, Classic bar nestled in between them and a conference hall, where our freshers were organized eons ago. This used to be our favorite hotel, as it was near to REC(prior to NITW, it was called RECW), meaning less fare to auto-rickshaw.

Car Parked @Ashoka (Far right is Kadambari)
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3624_01.jpg
The car parking area is very limited though. When the security told me not to park at a vacant spot, reserved for hotel owner, I told, "Look at my number plate, I have come here after 11 years all the way from Pune, as I have some great memories with this place, if you dont allow me to park, I will have to scout for some other place, and my quest will be unfulfilled". He immediately allowed.

My friend, Ashutosh @Hotel Ashoka
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3625_01.jpg

I, Me, Myself @Kanishka (Veg)
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3627_01.jpg

Conference Hall
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3628_01.jpg

I am a compulsive non-vegetarian , so we took our seats at Kadambari. The decor and the default aroma of the hotel brought back some great memories of college life, didnt look like anything had changed since then.
Our better halves: We want to eat Andhra meals
Me & my friend: No no, lets have lunch here.
My wife: No, we want to taste Andhra food (her first trip to Andhra)
Me & my friend: <looking at each other>
Me & my friend: Ok, you both go alongwith the kids to Kanishka (veg), we'll have our lunch here.

Sometimes some complex problems have simple solutions.

We ordered the staple of yonder times: Butter-chicken and Masala kulcha. The first bite, stirred the nerves of memory, man, it tasted the same, as it tasted 11 yrs ago. We were feeling foolishly nostalgic. Devoured the dish!

Butter-chicken with Masala Kulcha
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3623_01.jpg

The veg fare was bit higher on the spicy side, so the ladies were jealous of us. Promised them to take to Kadambari at a later time. Impromptu plan of watching a night show movie (Don2) was made, just to relive the college times.

Came back to guest house. The ladies and kids were a tad bit tired after the proceedings. But not me and my friend. So, we again! ditched them and went in search of an ice cream parlour called NICE and "Dilpasand".

During our time, NICE was an ice-cream factory and it used to be housed inside a garden. Man, we had so much time for us! Dilpasand is a baked sweet: cherries stuffed inside a bun.

Was driving very slowly when we spotted a very small ice cream "shop" NICE. The board was SAME. I and my friend went inside and ordered Cassatta and Fruit Salad. In those days, 4 people would share one ice-cream, now we felt filthy rich Again devoured it!

NICE Board
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3630_01.jpg

Fruit Salad
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3634_01.jpg

Cassatta
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3635_01.jpg

Since Dilpasand is ubiquitous, and our senior had also arrived, we dropped the plan and went back to college. Took a tour of the college.
Few snaps

Auditorium
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3655_01.jpg

First Year Classroom
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3658_01.jpg

Room where I was interviewed at
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3661_01.jpg

Entrance to the college
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3640_01.jpg

New Hostels - view from water tank
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3677_01.jpg

First Year hostel terrace
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3679_01.jpg

Mess
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3690_01.nef.jpg

Since our "NICE" venture was scoffed upon by the rest, we had to treat them with ice creams (newly opened) within the campus. We were the first ones in our batch to buy ice creams within campus. Simple pleasures of achievement!

Back at guest house, general catch up with each other followed. Good reunion.
For dinner we went to Hotel Ratna. Man, we were indeed filthy rich. This is the hotel, which we had visited maybe twice or thrice during our 4 yrs of study. Primarily owing to proximity. In HALF a day, we had been to Ashoka, NICE, Ratna and watched movie! None of my batchmates have ever done that.

Hotel Ratna
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3704_01.jpg

The gang @Ratna
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3702_01.jpg

Panjab chicken @Ratna
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3699_01.jpg

Coming up: Surprise meeting with professors

Last edited by rahul_sinha : 9th January 2012 at 23:56.
rahul_sinha is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 16:00   #3

Re: Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)

Brilliant thread! Moved from the Assembly Line to the Travelogues Section. Thanks for sharing!
Old 11th January 2012, 16:13   #4

Fantastic write up! I can feel the nostalgia!
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 16:24   #5

I was surprise to see your snap in front of a veg restaurant. Do minute laga, "Munda bigad gaya hein" Nice travelogue.
adalvi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 16:27   #6

Originally Posted by adalvi View Post
I was surprise to see your snap in front of a veg restaurant. Do minute laga, "Munda bigad gaya hein" Nice travelogue.
Thats why I wrote the disclaimer earlier that I am a compulsive non-vegetarian
Old 11th January 2012, 16:27   #7

Awesome pictures, nice trip back to the past. Loved the way your friend reacted, upon mentioning you are going to drive down to HYD. Can feel the love and affection that you have towards the town and college.

Last edited by mayankjha1806 : 11th January 2012 at 16:29.
mayankjha1806 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 16:39   #8
MX6

11 years and 7 months is a very long time. Am sure you'd have seen a sea change in your alma mater.
I used to regularly go down to mine even after graduating. However, when I went abroad, there was a gap of over 6 years during which I couldn't go to my college. Eventually when I did go after 6 years, I was amazed and shocked at a lot of changes I saw. Also when I heard many of my teachers had left and some even passed away, there was a huge sense of despondency.

Anyway, since then I've been going down there once a year atleast and spend time with students and teachers.

BTW, your car looks amazing.
MX6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 16:56   #9

Originally Posted by MX6 View Post
11 years and 7 months is a very long time. Am sure you'd have seen a sea change in your alma mater.
I used to regularly go down to mine even after graduating. However, when I went abroad, there was a gap of over 6 years during which I couldn't go to my college. Eventually when I did go after 6 years, I was amazed and shocked at a lot of changes I saw. Also when I heard many of my teachers had left and some even passed away, there was a huge sense of despondency.

Anyway, since then I've been going down there once a year atleast and spend time with students and teachers.

BTW, your car looks amazing.
Thanks MX6, in my case, I was more than overwhelmed just to visit once more and still many things were intact.

Regarding teachers, true, many left, couple of them for heavenly abode, but I was close to only one professor, who I met in this visit.

I remember reading your T-log about your visit with a leg cast in plaster, not sure I would recommend, but a great inspiration nonetheless.
Old 11th January 2012, 21:26   #10

Re: Trip down the memory lane - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)

Originally Posted by rahul_sinha View Post
Coming up: Surprise meeting with professors
Generally I wake up very early but the next day morning, we woke up late - typically college ishtyle (and miss the breakfast of mess).

So, promptly, rushed to canteen for pet pooja

NIT Canteen, Katrina Kaif has replaced Madhuri
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3734_01.jpg

Had poori-bhaaji, masala dosa, mysore bonda, 2 cups of tea, and what not. Each of us had breakfast of atleast 2-2.5 persons. Tummy full now.

Umpteenth plate of poori bhaaji
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3736_01.jpg

First Year hostels, heard its of 14 floors with capsule lift, didnt check out
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3731_01.jpg

There were lot of anti-ragging literature and we had a senior with us, who had indulged in it a bit, so took his impromptu photo with the hoarding

My senior endorsing anti-ragging now
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3798_01.jpg

The computer center, which was more of a chappal changing center, back then
Name:  DSC_3799_01.JPG
Views: 3986
Size:  557.0 KB

A bit of indulgence in the history of college:

CC inaugrated by Shri PV Narsimha Rao
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3801_01.jpg

College inaugrated by Shri Jawaharlal Nehru
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3811_01.jpg

Due to Telangana issue college was open during winter, our luck, else we would have gone without meeting anyone.

In front of Academic(Main) building
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3849_01.jpg

Central Library
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3851_01.jpg

Went to my department,
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3789_01.jpg

Was thoroughly surprised to know that my favorite prof is now the current HOD. Had a heart-tugging meeting with him. Came to know that Telangana issue has hurt the campus scenario a bit. Would have loved to give some pep talk to the guys, but they were having semester exams (so thats the reason why college was open)

With my favorite professor, Dr. P Suryaprakash Rao
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3741_01.jpg

Visited the labs, felt a gush of memories, thoroughly immersed in nostalgia, as I am of the similar breed who ditched the 4 yrs of engg study for software. Dont want to start the debate, but felt something very very amiss

Ye Kahan Aa Gaye Hum
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3755_01.jpg

Sand Rammer
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3763_01.jpg

Foundry lab
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3765_01.jpg

Stress testing of sheet metal
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3778_01.jpg

My daughter at Mineral Dressing Lab
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3782_01.jpg

My daughter looking at mineral structure in a microscope
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3750_01.jpg

On the way back to guest house, had a chance encounter with an iguana
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3869_01.jpg

How can the journey be complete without dilpasand? I think its available in Iyengar Bakery in Pune.
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3932_01.jpg

The steeds for the trip - Cruze and i10
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3875_01.jpg

While returning, took to NH9 till Solapur, but ditched it after Indapur. Loved the vistas of Baramati and have made a note to visit it for Agro tourism, for sure. Till NH9 is not ready, its better to go via Solapur-Indapur-Baramati-Patas-Pune or Solapur-Indapur-Baramati-Saswad-Jejuri-NH4-Pune. In my opinion second route is better, if done during daytime.

Some parting shots

Sunrise on the way back
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3887_01.jpg

Front view of academic building
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3854_01.jpg

Some random flora
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3841_01.jpg

Glimpse of what used to happen in past
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3808_01.jpg

View from the top of academic building
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3822_01.jpg

We walked down our memory lane
Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-dsc_3719_01.jpg
rahul_sinha is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 21:37   #11

Oh! A beautiful thread!

I happen to be in my final year and you already have evoked nostalgia in me!!

Note to self: After reading this thread,I have promised myself that I would visit my college often after I pass out

EDIT: And a mechie too :-)

Last edited by sachinj12 : 11th January 2012 at 21:39.
sachinj12 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 21:47   #12
MX6

Thanks MX6, in my case, I was more than overwhelmed just to visit once more and still many things were intact.
Yes. I know that feeling.

I remember reading your T-log about your visit with a leg cast in plaster, not sure I would recommend, but a great inspiration nonetheless.
Yes. Even I wouldn't recommend. But then that was a trip that I had to do at any cost. And that trip ended up in changing the course of my life by a huge margin because I went looking for some answers. And I found the same!

But earlier trip (the one that was a week before where I broke my leg!), it was for this. Hope you don't mind me sharing.

Trip down the memory - visit to my alma mater (NIT Warangal)-1.jpg

That's my father behind holding the crutches while I received a nice shawl as garland. Worst of the appearance as I'd just broken my leg the second time the night before while travelling 800 kms in a bus.
MX6 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th January 2012, 22:10   #13

I will repeat myself: Awesome thread! I passed out of my engg college just 3.5 years ago but the pics of the foundry and metallurgy lab evoked some nostalgic feelings in me too! I'm a mech engineer who is now doing his MBA :P
Nikhilb2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th January 2012, 09:56   #14

Originally Posted by sachinj12 View Post
Oh! A beautiful thread!

I happen to be in my final year and you already have evoked nostalgia in me!!

Note to self: After reading this thread,I have promised myself that I would visit my college often after I pass out

EDIT: And a mechie too :-)
Sachin,
You should. In my case, I missed out on golden jubilee celebration of college way back in 2009. Even though we are in touch with college friends through various modes, it is the college, where you laid the foundation of the friendships, not to forget, the small and big things, that make you a man to face the world.

Once in job, whether you love your job or not, you get sucked into it and then life twists and turns, and one day you realize, its been a long time.

Preferably visit the college when it is open, and with your friends. In my case, I was even open to visit alone, but thankful to my friends who made the trip immensely cherish-able.
Old 18th December 2014, 23:37   #15

Dear Rahul,
I'd heard about your Cruze from Viru Dewangan (I used to meet him in ITPL and I think he also used to work for GM) .But the biggest surprise is to meet a fellow REC-ian on tbhp. Lovely thread. I visited myself in 2009 and was part of a team which went hired freshers .The trip was'nt as long as this - and I did'nt have the chance to move around much as I was bound by the interview schedules. I did meet the first year Maths teacher Mr. Kasi Viswanadham and some Hostel "saaru" dudes in a walk around the campus. But the rush of nostalgia was the same and I'm glad you went back to campus. The new hostels were great but our hostels were dilapidated.. Great thread! I should have climbed the water tank - wonder how you managed that - A bit of 3 idiots' style there..
In case you are wondering who this is,
http://www.facebook.com/narayan25

rpmx1000