Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 2nd March 2012, 15:03   #1
BHPian

Bandhavgarh - A Different Perspective

The tiger is one of the most recognisable wild animal worlds over. Presently, it occupies only about 7 per cent of its original range. It is the road to extinction, because we do not know enough about it. Because we aren’t interested in it. Many of us get paranoid when we thought of visiting a jungle and see wild animals especially tiger. Till the time i saw a tiger in the wild, i was of the same impression but the desire to see a tiger in the wild was much more than the fear about it.

Therefore, i decided to go to Bandhavgrah Tiger Reserve to see the tigers in the wild, which is one of the finest tiger reserves of India.

I have been visiting Bandhavgarh since November 2010. So, far i have visited four times [November 2010 (five rounds), January 2011 (10 rounds), May 2011 (6 rounds) and the current one in February 2012 for 9 rounds.

It was long-time, i wanted to visit there and finally decided to visit in February 2012 for 10 rounds. Though, tiger is the special attraction at Bandhavgarh but you can see many more things, if you do not see tigers. So, i will try to show you tigers as well as some new things which i got this time.
There are lots of information available here about Bandhavgarh, so i will try not to write them but anybody wants any information about the route, accomodations, safari bookins etc. i will be happy to provide them.
Here, i will try to share more pictures than writeups.

This is a typical Jackle kill.

Bandhavgarh - A Different Perspective-deer-kill-13-copy.jpg

The Ghost Eye: Brown Fish Owl

Bandhavgarh - A Different Perspective-fish-owl171-copy.jpg

Bandhavgarh - A Different Perspective-fish-owl-feb-201252-copy.jpg

Pic 1: Langur Close up, Pic 2: Langur family and pic 3: Langur eating mud because they get salt from it.