Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 30th June 2012, 12:31   #1
BANNED

Mangalore - Chikmangalur - Shimoga

Made a road trip to Mangalore, Chikmangalur and Shimoga from Bangalore. Just wanted to share my experince and the breath taking sceneries with you all.

Well for a brief introduction of mine, I work as a Sales Manager and my job involves a lot of traveling in and around Karnataka. Very recently I have been transferred to Karnataka from Andhra.

On my last visit to Mangalore, last month, I heard from my local executives that the view enroute B'lore - M'lore is really awesome and also that one of executives was getting married on Sunday the 24th made a perfect reason for me to take my own vehicle and tour these markets

Started on Tuesday 19th of June from Banglore in my Grande Punto at 5:00 clock in the morning. The road till Hassan was a breeze and after that the ghats started. Many asked me about the quality of the road in Ghats, and i felt it was pretty good for a hilly terrain. I was more amazed by the view than the road. Reached around 11'o Clock to Mangalore. Met the executives and was involved in the work from then on

Wednesday 20th, visited Kundapur on work itself

Thursday 21st, visited Udipi on work itself

Friday 22nd, drove from Mangalore to Chikmangalur. The maps in iPhone indicated that the journey of 150 kms between these two will take around 2 and half hours, but the view made me stop at every turn while climbing the hills. It was the best view I ever had in my life. Started at 6:00 from Mangalore and reached Chikmangalur by 10:00. Then went on work and in the evening visited the highest point in Karnataka. (Sorry!! Dont remember the name)

Saturday 23rd drove from Chikmangalur to Shimoga. The journey was mostly downhill and for the first time in 4 days i saw some sunlight shinning on me.