continued...
laluks is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2013, 21:41   #92

Re: Civved : Masinagudi

Day 03
13th April 2013
Masinagudi

After a quick lunch at a small hotel in Masinagudi we went towards Singara in search of the stream.

Ins search of the stream
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7500edit.jpg

We found it

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7510edit.jpg

It was nice and cold

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7511edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7515edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7519editedit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7608edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7611edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7624edit.jpg

This fellows were having a gala time!
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7627edit.jpg

Natural lawn!
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7568edit.jpg

PPGs at Singara

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7571edit.jpg

Jr. PPG was so happy to run around

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7574edit.jpg

Civvy was waiting for us

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7618edit.jpg

continued...
Old 19th May 2013, 21:58   #93

Nice travelogue, your photography has improved a lot.

I have been to Masinagudi and we stayed in Monarch. The natural lawn at the dead end of the road to Monarch looks familiar. Thanks for sharing the travelogue, it has given me a few more places to explore next time.

Where exactly is the stream in Singur?
PatienceWins is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th May 2013, 22:06   #94

Day 03
13th April 2013
Masinagudi

We reached the resort back by 15:00 hours. I sat on the verandah of our cottage and was watching the activities happening around. A lot of kids were around playing.

These two kids caught my attention
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7655edit.jpg

They were watching the sparrows eat the cherries and got one to check out
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7657edit.jpg

Tasting the cherry

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7659edit.jpg

Yes, it seems good
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7660edit.jpg

Contemplating a MPL (Masinagudi Premium League )
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7669edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7671edit.jpg

Jr. PPG joins the game

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7670edit.jpg

Thankfully the swimming pool was closed!
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7672edit.jpg

Somebody has sighted a tiger as per this board!

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7674edit.jpg

This fellow looked serious

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7656edit.jpg

I sat there and dozed off for a while.

continued...
Old 19th May 2013, 22:17   #95

Day 03
13th April 2013
Masinagudi

By 17:30 me and wifey set out to explore further.
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7681edit.jpg

We reached a dead end
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7684edit.jpg

But the place was amazing
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7692edit.jpg

Civvy enjoyed the location
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7693edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7713edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7715edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7722edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7723edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7723editedit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7745.jpg

Wifey was quite happy about this place
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7751.jpg

Civvy enjoying the place

A few deers for company

Time to go back

continued...
Old 19th May 2013, 22:31   #96

Day 03
13th April 2013
Masinagudi

We found this smart girl who was curious as to why we were there in her locality
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7789edit.jpg

The house we saw from Vibhutimala
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7791edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7792edit.jpg

We found another temple

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7811editedit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7835edit.jpg

Civvy gets a click

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7856editedit.jpg

Never More ??
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7858edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7871edit.jpg
We picked up a few items for dinner en route and reached the resort back by 18:45 hours

We have reached the resort after a great exploration drive

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7896edit.jpg

The tyres held up the torture well
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7879editedit.jpg

I have driven around almost a lakh kilometers in India on Good year tyres. But now I have my own little ego issues to make this the last of the Good years on Civvy .

The resort tried to entertain us! Was more of a noise than entertainment
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7925edit.jpg

Jr. PPG enjoys her quail
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7910edit.jpg

Time to retire, by 20:45 we hit the beds
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7931edit.jpg
Old 19th May 2013, 22:34   #97

Originally Posted by PatienceWins View Post
Nice travelogue, your photography has improved a lot.

I have been to Masinagudi and we stayed in Monarch. The natural lawn at the dead end of the road to Monarch looks familiar. Thanks for sharing the travelogue, it has given me a few more places to explore next time.

Where exactly is the stream in Singur?

Thanks PatienceWins.

On the Singur road, once you cross a small bridge the stream is visible on your right side. If you walk a bit into both sides you can get some good spots for yourself.
Old 20th May 2013, 12:54   #98

Originally Posted by laluks View Post
Thanks PatienceWins.

On the Singur road, once you cross a small bridge the stream is visible on your right side. If you walk a bit into both sides you can get some good spots for yourself.
I dont want to put a damper on this thread, but it is not a good idea to get out of the car in an unknown jungle area. A decade back we had gone on the Singara Road and got out on the open place and walked to the stream. There were 5 children with us ages 4-9. The area around the stream was full of elephant dung. We were younger then and not as wise as now and thought nothing of it. Now when I think back, I get palpitations thinking of what we would have done if an elephant or bear was there. The stream around the bridge seems safe since the hordes of people who normally congregate would scare away anything that moves. However the stream meanders through thick vegetation and upstream could be quite dangerous.

The SINgara road gets beautiful after a couple of showers when everything becomes completely green.

Where exactly is the hill you went - Vibhutimala? I could not place this

Last edited by deepak_misra : 20th May 2013 at 12:55. Reason: Added question on Vibhutimala
Old 21st May 2013, 09:33   #99

Originally Posted by deepak_misra View Post
I dont want to put a damper on this thread, but it is not a good idea to get out of the car in an unknown jungle area. A decade back we had gone on the Singara Road and got out on the open place and walked to the stream. There were 5 children with us ages 4-9. The area around the stream was full of elephant dung. We were younger then and not as wise as now and thought nothing of it. Now when I think back, I get palpitations thinking of what we would have done if an elephant or bear was there. The stream around the bridge seems safe since the hordes of people who normally congregate would scare away anything that moves. However the stream meanders through thick vegetation and upstream could be quite dangerous.

The SINgara road gets beautiful after a couple of showers when everything becomes completely green.

Where exactly is the hill you went - Vibhutimala? I could not place this
I believe that we are all just part of a bigger scheme ...
In his famous work Man's Search For Meaning, which is one of the best works that could have ever happened, Victor E Frankl says "Fear makes come true that which one is afraid of...”

Since it appears that you know Masinagudi quite well, the Vibhutimala is on the left side as you drive to Bokkapuram.
Old 21st May 2013, 21:52   #100

Day 04
14th April 2013
Masinagudi

Woke up early in the morning and went after birdies

Found the serious guy again

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7949edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7960edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7963edit.jpg

What's happening with these bulbuls?
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7966edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7969edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7970edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7971edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7972edit.jpg

Took a break for a while!

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7973edit.jpg

I went behind a mongoose

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7976edit.jpg

Only to scare him
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7977edit.jpg

continued...
Old 21st May 2013, 22:03   #101

Day 04
14th April 2013
Masinagudi

Double Crested BulBul
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7979edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8075edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8076edit.jpg

Robin
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_7990edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8000edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8007edit.jpg

Sparrow
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8011edit.jpg

In search of a cherry
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8013edit.jpg

Gotcha!
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8015edit.jpg

Mehneth ka fal, meetha hotha hai
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8019edit.jpg

Tiny

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8042edit.jpg

Cleaning up
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8045edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8061edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8070edit.jpg

continued...
Old 21st May 2013, 22:17   #102

Day 04
14th April 2013
Masinagudi

After my birding stint I reached back the cottage by 08:00AM. I took some time to make tea in a funny kettle.

The kettle is blue when its on
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8087edit.jpg

It turns read when its heated up
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8100edit.jpg

After tea, we left our cottage to check out

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8108edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8110editedit.jpg

At the reception waiting for the bills

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8135edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8154edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8143edit.jpg

That's a good mission!

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8151edit.jpg

Civvy all set for the drive
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8137edit.jpg

By 08:30AM we drove out of the resort. After finishing a light breakfast at a wayside hotel in Masinagudi we reached Mudhumalai by 09:30AM. Instead of turning left to Bandipur, I turned right to Gudalur, and from Gudalur took upper Gudalur route all the way to Ambalavayal, and Sultan Bathery in Wayanad . After having lunch at Wayanad we left towards Bangalore via Muthanga and reached Gundulpet by 13:30 hours.

I was in no mood to drive back via Mysore road and took the Chamraj Nagar, Kanakapura route

continued...
Old 24th May 2013, 20:45   #103

Day 04
14th April 2013
Masinagudi

I love this tree
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8157edit.jpg

We enjoyed the shade
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8169.jpg

We were here
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8172edit.jpg

Bangalore was another 139 KMs

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8177edit.jpg

We stopped by to enjoy some meadows too
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8180edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8182edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8183edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8184editedit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8208edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8210edit.jpg

continued...
Old 24th May 2013, 20:54   #104

Day 04
14th April 2013
Masinagudi

By 15:00 hours we reached Bhara Chukki Falls.

Note the information

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8212edit.jpg

We were at Bhara Chukki Falls
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8214edit.jpg

Can you spot the falls?
Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8218edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8220edit.jpg

There were a lot of steps

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8225edit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8268editedit.jpg

Civved : Masinagudi-dsc_8227editedit.jpg

Some views while climbing down