Old 4th September 2013, 16:03   #1

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2

Your journey starts beneath the southern skies

Plucked straight from a film set or a coffee-table book of picture-perfect scenery, New Zealand is jaw-droppingly gorgeous. 'Wow!' will escape from your lips at least once a day. It’s here that you’ll experience things you never thought possible. New Zealand is a mix of spectacular landscapes, cosmopolitan cities, and Maori culture offer a diverse range of unforgettable experiences, all delivered with the laid-back, friendly Kiwi hospitality. It is an island country in the Pacific Ocean with a waist size of less than 250 kms! You can cross the country from the West Coast to the East Coast in less than 3 hours! It is one of those geographically isolated countries which were last inhabited by humans due to which it has developed a large biodiversity of animal, fungal and plant life; most notable are the large number of unique bird species.

Self Drive-Self Planned-Self Organized Holiday

Travel is the only thing you buy that makes you richer

It all began when I was planning for a self-drive overseas holiday and Australia (OZ) was my first choice in the southern hemisphere owing to its vast size and beautiful roads. While researching and planning my OZ trip I came across many OZ people (a few of them were my friends living there) who were all praise for New Zealand (NZ) and many in fact recommended clubbing OZ tour with NZ. Once I went through online travel websites, I started to further like the idea of NZ. It looked like a perfect destination for a self-drive holiday. (The Icing on the cake was Indian Driving License was valid for driving in NZ the only condition being it should be printed in English.) It was one place where you can experience all the three seasons in a single day. There is a unique diversity, breathtaking landscapes, beaches, mountains, lakes, rivers, waterfalls, geysers and what not. The more I read about NZ, the more I liked the place. So the decision was made and NZ it was. Visa application process was a smooth one albeit number of documents required was very high. It was my first overseas trip so everything, every activity and every adventure was meticulously planned. Since me being a Research Analyst by profession, research began early about 6 months prior to departure. The most useful website proved to be https://www.tripadvisor.com/ and https://www.rankers.co.nz/. Most of us must be aware of the former website but it’s the latter that provided first hand local reviews about locations, activities, car rentals, etc.

Some of the other noteworthy NZ Travelogues on TeamBHP:PDI Checklist
  • Passport - Check
  • Visa – Check
  • Flight Tickets – Check
  • Hotel confirmations - Check
  • Driving License – Check (I had converted my license to smart card type especially for this trip)
  • Luggage - Check
  • Total luggage weight within limit - Check
  • Digital Duplicates - Check
  • Cameras - Check (Nikon D3100, Sony Digicam, iPhone 4)
  • Mobile Phones – Check
  • Chargers of all electronic devices - Check
  • GPS App on iPhone - Check
  • General Medicines - Check
  • Emergency phone numbers - Check
  • Dry snacks - Check
  • All Set!
Trip Begins

We left home in the middle of the night at 2am and after all immigration formalities and clearance boarded Singapore Airlines flight from Mumbai Airport. It was a never ending flight (18 hours flying time + 6 hours layover at Singapore.) Layover at Changi Airport was like spending time in a shopping mall. Best were the massaging chairs at regular distances to keep foot ache in check. Then we boarded the flight again for the onward journey and next 12 hours from Singapore to Auckland was a bumpy night. We encountered a lot of turbulence that night due to bad weather (worse part was we were seated in the second-last row of seats in the aircraft). Nonetheless, me and my wife had a broad smile when we saw the first glimpses of New Zealand. Our flight landed at Auckland Airport and there we saw one of the strictest Bio-Security measures at immigration. Kia Ora! They are very serious about protecting their agriculture and vegetation industry. After traveling for almost 30 hours (door to door) we crashed into our hotel beds with loads of Jet lag and fatigue.

Itinerary
  • Auckland (City of Sails)
  • Rotorua (Land of Geothermal Wonders)
  • Queenstown (Adventure Capital of the World)
  • Franz Josef (Glacier Region)
  • Christchurch (Earthquake capital of NZ!)
  • Kaikoura (Whale Watching)
Duration: Three Weeks

My Rides:

Kia Cerato 1.8 litre 4 Speed Automatic - North Island
Subaru Forester 2.5 litre 4 Speed Automatic - South Island
Luge Ride, Helicopter, Cruise Vessel, 500Bhp Jet Boat, 8-Seater Aircraft, Beechcraft 1900D, Boeing 777

Highlights of the Trip

When George Bernard Shaw visited New Zealand a reporter asked him his impression of the place and, after a pause, Shaw is said to have replied: "Altogether too many sheep" ....... George Bernard Shaw 1934.

Although the human to sheep ratio has changed over the last decade (1:20 earlier; 1:7 now), still the number of sheep living in NZ are far more than the number of humans. This country is dotted with thousands of sheep in its picturesque landscapes grazing under the sun. Visitor facilities are modern, road conditions are excellent and road discipline is second to none. Most of cars that I saw were fitted with bike racks indicating love for biking in this part of the world. I also came across many Harley Riders touring the country on these thumping monsters.

Kiwi hospitality deserves a special mention here since there was not a single soul in my 3 week stay of NZ that I came across as unfriendly or rude. People are warm and welcoming. We travelled places, met local people, ate and stayed with them in their houses (farm stay), bought stuff from road side stalls/shops, gave lift to hitch-hikers and explored everything we could possibly think of. Indians are well respected in this part of the world and we could sense that at a cultural event (Maori Hangi Dinner). At one instance when the GPS on my iPhone was not getting a lock, I asked a couple of locals for directions and he was more than pleased to offer me help, so much help that one can’t even expect in India. Everything in NZ is so pure and natural. The lush green landscapes, crystal clear waters, fresh unadulterated air, untouched beaches, and above all a positive energy which imbibes every traveler. Infact the government and local people propagate drinking water from any water body (river/lake) or tap.

Auckland offers the best shopping experience & Night life whereas Queenstown offers the best of adventure sports. Sky-Diving, Paragliding, River Rafting, 4WD Adventures, Caving, Canyoning, Luge, Balooning, kayaking, you name it Queenstown has it. Rotorua is a small town which literally smells of sulphur (due to geothermal activity). Franz Josef allowed us to experience one of the most magnificent glaciers and snow caves whereas Kaikoura offered us one of a rare opportunity to catch a glimpse of mighty whales and dolphins in their wild habitat. Christchurch is where we stayed in a farm stay (Pete's Farm Stay) which was an experience in itself.

For all food lovers, NZ offers a multitude of options for eating out. Not a single day went where I had slept not getting anything that I wanted to eat. (Indian-Chinese, Punjabi, Continental, Italian, etc.). Infact we ate Wada-Pav and Bhel-puri at Queenstown, something which I hadn't even thought of! The cool climate combined by organic farm produce and of course the talented chefs at those restaurants ensured that I was not far away from home. It wouldn’t be an understatement if I say that I ate better Indian food that what I have ever eaten in Mumbai!

Accommodation:
  • Auckland: Skycity Grand Hotel
  • Rotorua: Novotel Lakeside Rotorua
  • Queenstown: Novotel Lakeside Queenstown
  • Franz Josef: Scenic Hotel Franz Josef
  • Christchurch: Pete’s Farm Stay
  • Kaikoura: White Morph
List of Activities Done:
  • Skywalk
  • Kelly Tartlon’s Underwater world
  • Skyline Rotorua- Gondola & Luge
  • Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park
  • Rainbow Springs
  • Maori Hangi Concert and Dinner
  • Skyline Queenstown- Gondola & Luge
  • Queenstown Garden
  • Milford Sound by Coach-Cruise-Fly
  • Shotover Jet
  • 4WD Nomad Safaris Skippers Canyon Tour
  • Kawarau Bridge Bungy
  • Thunder Jet
  • Franz-Josef Heli-Hike
  • ATV Quad-Bike Adventure
  • Whale watching tour
Route Order

>>Auckland to Rotorua by Cerato
>>Rotorua to Queenstown by Domestic Flight
>>Queenstown to Franz Josef by Forester
>>Franz Josef to Christchurch by Forester
>>Christchurch to Kaikoura and back by Forester

Review of my Rides:

Kia Cerato:
Perfect car size of Kiwi Roads since most of them are two lane roads without a divider in between. Slow to shift but ample torque available. Refinement levels decent.

Subaru Forester:
This one gave me a tough time navigating the twisting roads from Queenstown to Franz Josef. Body roll and wide body proved to be a not so engaging drive in the mountains. Actually you really dont need an SUV in NZ unless you want to do some serious offroading (which too is not covered by insurance).

Luge Ride: Nice sharp steering with direct feel of the tarmac. Its like a go-kart without and engine.

500Bhp Jet Boat:
The most thrilling ride which does 360degree spins too !

8-Seater Aircraft:
Had goosebumps in my stomach in this tiny aircraft.

Pictures

Disclaimer: I am a novice at photography so kindly excuse me for my average photography skills.

Auckland Airport
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-city-sails.jpg

The Skytower at night
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-skytower-night.jpg

The Sky Jump
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-skyjump.jpg

The Skywalk -192 Meters in the air with no handrails
(I have a fear of heights, hence couldnt let go off the rope)
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-.facebook_435907592.jpg

My Ride for North Island
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-my-ride.jpg

Rotorua Farm Tour
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-cows.jpg

Ostriches were plenty
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-ostrich.jpg

Aah! finally convinced him
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-duck-eating-hand.jpg

This one was an isolated one
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-big-bull.jpg

Wild Boar
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-widl-boar.jpg

Kiwi Farm
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-kiwi-farm.jpg

One of the Juiciest and Tangiest Kiwis
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-juciy-kiwi.jpg

They were all over the place
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-they-were-all-over-place.jpg

Some deers too
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-deers.jpg

View from my room, Lake Rotorua
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-view-rot-hotel.jpg

Maori People
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-maori-ppl.jpg

Scenic Lake Rotorua
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-lake-rot-iphone.jpg

Queenstown ! The Best Place in NZ
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-zqn-.jpg

Breathtaking Mountains
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-zqn-mountan.jpg

The biggest lake I have ever seen
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-lake-wakatipu-facts.jpg

South Island offers multiple of such scenic spots every few kilometres, every spot being more scienic than the previous one
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-mirror-lake.jpg

My Best Pic
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-best-pic.jpg

Milford Sound
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-milford-first.jpg

Milford Cruise
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-milford.jpg

Panini Sandwich
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-panini.jpg

Bowen Waterfalls
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-waterfall.jpg

Stirling Falls, Milford Sound. Remember the movie X-Men Origins: Wolverine? Wolverine escapes from the ‘Alkali Lake’ facility
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dsc_0258.jpg

Real Discoveries Vessel
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-mariner-front-fall.jpg

Basking in the Sun
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-otters.jpg[b]

Proud to see an Indian Flag up there
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-indian-flag.jpg

Last edited by rahulsharma2008 : 6th September 2013 at 15:14.
rahulsharma2008 is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 10:48   #2

re: 100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2

Pictures rarely do justice to the beauty of this place. Especially when I was just learning to use my Nikon D3100 DSLR Camera. I had bought this camera way before this trip so that I could explore all the features of this camera and get used to clicking in different conditions. But as Henry Cartier said "Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst"

The 8-Seater Aircraft
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-plane.jpg

Airborne
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-runway-plane.jpg

Gigantic Rivers

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-gigantic-rivers.jpg

Eagle Eye's View
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-zqn-flight.jpg

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dsc02373.jpg

The finest workers in stone are not steel or copper tools, but the gentle touches of air and water working at their leisure with a liberal allowance of time - David Henry, Thoreau
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-chasm.jpg

Kawarau Bungy Brigde
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-bungy-bridge.jpg

Landside prone area of the mountain
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-landslide-prone.jpg

Nature is often hidden, sometimes overcome, seldom extinguished
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-beautiful-road.jpg

Iconic Bridge of South Island
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-flyover.jpg

Delicious Fruits for Breakfast
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-fruits.jpg

Circuit for Luge Ride
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-luge-way.jpg

The Chopper
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-my-chopper.jpg

Franz Josef Glacier
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-glacier-chopper.jpg
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-glacier-rough.jpg

Glacial Ice
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-snow.jpg

Dust all the way from Australian Deserts
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dust-australia.jpg

Our guide making way for us to go down the crevass

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-guide-preparing.jpg

Ice Cave
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dsc_0734.jpg

Hangi Dinner

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-hangi-dinner.jpg

Time to fill her up again
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-happy-tripmeter.jpg

He loved the ride (It was the milder version of the Jet Boat in Lake Wakatipu)
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-kid-jet.jpg

Picture Perfect
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-picuture-perfect.jpg

Pizza Perfect
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-pizza.jpg

Hey did you see my clothes?
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-naked-lamb.jpg

Devastated by Earthquake
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-devastated-earthquake.jpg

My Friend Pratik Gandhi during his Skydive
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-nzon_nzqt_2011_03_12_c1014_9032.jpg

Last edited by rahulsharma2008 : 6th September 2013 at 15:16.
rahulsharma2008 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 11:01   #3

Shotover Jet in Full Glory
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-jet-boat-1.jpg

Maneuvering through the Shotover River
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-jet-boat2.jpg

From left to right: Mr. & Mrs. Pancholi, My Better Half & myself; Our
Irish friends Aine and Enda; Our Guide in the background (looks like Andrew Symonds )

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-rafs103102017692.jpg

Team work saw us through in Grade 4 & Grade 5 rapids
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-rafting-teamwork.jpg

Path of Shotover Jet
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-path-jet-boat.jpg

Bungy point
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-zqn-bungy-point.jpg[b]

Thats Pete's Farm and his house http://www.petesfarm.co.nz/
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dsc_08762.jpg

Closer look at his house
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-petes-house.jpg

And Thats Pete
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-pete.jpg

Showing his skills
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-rearing-sheep.jpg

The Alpacas
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-alpacas.jpg

The Sheep Dog

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-sheep-dog.jpg

Doing his duty (not seen in this pic)
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-sheep-group.jpg

Road ki... har mod pe....
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-road.jpg

Common sight in this part of the world
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-thousands-sheep.jpg

Agrodome Show
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-sheep-agrodome.jpg

A Sandwich which had more fries than sandwich
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-sandwich.jpg

Grounded due to rough weather... err... watered due to rough weather
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-sea-plane.jpg

Water is the driving force of all nature.
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-small-waterfall-enroute-milford.jpg

Joy is found not in finishing an activity but in doing it.
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-straight-road.jpg

Climb mountains not so the world can see you, but you can see the world.
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-straight-road-mountain.jpg

Bold & Beautiful
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-suv-front.jpg

If your ship doesn't come in, swim out to it
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-suv-overlooking-lake.jpg

The mountains are calling and I must go.
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-suv-overlooking-mountain.jpg

No other man-made device since the shields and lances of the ancient knights fulfills a man's ego like an automobile.

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-suv-side-profile.jpg

Apex - One of the best car rental companies

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-kiwi-way.jpg

Couldnt get enough of these
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-waterfall.jpg

A Beautiful sunset that was mistaken for a dawn.

100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-dawn.jpg

These three weeks were like an unfolding dream. Never a moment went by where there was a dull moment. Of course the painstaking homework and planning helped me achieve this level of satisfaction, it was heightened by the fact that this was my first international trip and that too on my honeymoon.

Kia Ora Bhpians !

Last edited by rahulsharma2008 : 6th September 2013 at 15:40.
rahulsharma2008 is offline   (26) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 16:07   #4

Thread moved from the Assembly Line.

"100% Pure" -- The words are very apt for a place like New Zealand. Thanks for sharing the lovely travelogue.
Eddy is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 16:16   #5

Wonderful Pictures Thanks for a lovely travelogue. Could you please let us know on the availability/variety of Veg Food in New Zealand?

Last edited by Prodigy07 : 6th September 2013 at 16:18.
Prodigy07 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 16:43   #6

Beautiful Pictures Rahul, and you call yourself a Novice! We hope these are just the teasers!! Please do share more details of the adventure activities done, we did sky diving last month in Cape Town South Africa and it was an unbelievable experience!!

Look forward to more!
Old 6th September 2013, 19:50   #7

Hi Rahul,

Some amazing clicks there! sure you are above the novice level. Truly enjoyed reading your logs.

Could you please share the expenses incured on local stay and travel ?

Diesel

P.S :: Awaiting more pics
Old 6th September 2013, 20:12   #8

Originally Posted by rahulsharma2008 View Post
It was a never ending flight (18 hours flying time + 6 hours layover at Singapore.)
Wonderful travelogue with great pictures and narration Rahul!

Is that the MUM->SIN flight for 18 hrs? I am surprised. I used regular between Chennai->SIN which was just 3.5 hrs. I thought, add ~2.5 hrs to it for MUM->SIN.

Did you venture into SIN city? SIA provides a transit visa and free tour around the city if your layover is more than 6 hrs or so.
Old 6th September 2013, 20:20   #9

Originally Posted by BusyBoyKK View Post

Wonderful travelogue with great pictures and narration Rahul!

Is that the MUM->SIN flight for 18 hrs? I am surprised. I used regular between Chennai->SIN which was just 3.5 hrs. I thought, add ~2.5 hrs to it for MUM->SIN.

Did you venture into SIN city? SIA provides a transit visa and free tour around the city if your layover is more than 6 hrs or so.
Thank you BusyBoyKK. MUM-SIN flight is 6 hours. SIN-AUCKLAND is another 12 hours. So the total flying time is 18hours. I just explored the Changi Airport in my layover of 6 hours.
Old 6th September 2013, 21:28   #10

No wonder NZ is called paradise on earth! Buddy, thanks a lot for sharing such a wonderful log. The pictures are outstanding. Please share maximum pictures .

And thanks for the other 3 trip logs. I wasn't aware of them .
Dodge_Viper is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 21:34   #11
SDP

Absolutely lovely set of pics! Loved the travelogue. Thanks for sharing.
SDP is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th September 2013, 22:27   #12

Originally Posted by Prodigy07 View Post
Wonderful Pictures Thanks for a lovely travelogue. Could you please let us know on the availability/variety of Veg Food in New Zealand?
I am glad that you liked the travelogue. Availability of Veg Food is not at all a problem in NZ. At every location that I went except Franz Zosef I could easily find 3-4 options all serving pure vegetarian food. In Franz Josef there is only one Indian Restaurant which serves authentic vegetarian food. It is called Priya Indian Restaurant and is run by an Ahmedabadi along with his family.

While booking my hotels, I ensured that at all places I booked hotels which were walkable distance from these Indian Restaurants.

I hope I have been helpful.

Happy to see an Ahmedabadi Gujju-Bhai in the small village of Franz Josef
100% Pure New Zealand EDIT: New Pictures on Page 2-img_0774.jpg
rahulsharma2008 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th September 2013, 08:19   #13

Originally Posted by Dodge_Viper View Post
And thanks for the other 3 trip logs. I wasn't aware of them .
Sorry I didn't get you. What did you mean by "other 3 trip logs"?

Originally Posted by Dieseltuned View Post
Hi Rahul,

Some amazing clicks there! sure you are above the novice level. Truly enjoyed reading your logs.

Could you please share the expenses incured on local stay and travel ?

Diesel

P.S :: Awaiting more pics
Credit goes to the beautiful locations and landscapes as well as my DSLR for such pictures. I am glad that you liked reading my log. I will be posting more pictures soon.

I stayed in 4 and 4.5 star hotels in most of the places and the average expense of stay per night worked out to be INR 12k/Night. International Return Flight costed me about Rs. 1.20lakhs for two persons. In addition to this I had taken a domestic flight from Rotorua to Queenstown which costed me about Rs. 30k for two people.

I hope I have been helpful.
Old 10th September 2013, 09:05   #14

Originally Posted by Maverick5490 View Post
Beautiful Pictures Rahul, and you call yourself a Novice! We hope these are just the teasers!! Please do share more details of the adventure activities done, we did sky diving last month in Cape Town South Africa and it was an unbelievable experience!!

Look forward to more!

Adventure activities are plenty in the whole of New Zealand whether it is land, water or air. Everything is done in a highly professional way and you can even book online in advance (usually you dont need to for most of the activities since most of them can be bought off the shelf). We did a host of activities as I mentioned. Following are the details:

List of Activities Done:
  • Skywalk - Done at Auckland- You can view the whole of Auckland from one place.
  • Kelly Tartlon’s Underwater world - At Auckland. You get to see some exotic fishes and penguins
  • Skyline Rotorua- Gondola & Luge - Luge Ride was fun.
  • Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park - Pat a Lion Cub and feed Huge Lions.
  • Rainbow Springs - Rotorua, Beautiful springs and rainforest.
  • Maori Hangi Concert and Dinner - Cultural show
  • Skyline Queenstown- Gondola & Luge - Best views
  • Queenstown Garden - Nice evening walk
  • Milford Sound by Coach-Cruise-Fly - Largest Fjord of NZ Breathing taking mountains. World Heritage Site
  • Shotover Jet -Superb fun.
  • 4WD Nomad Safaris Skippers Canyon Tour - Queenstown
  • Kawarau Bridge Bungy - Queenstown
  • Thunder Jet - Lake Wakatipu
  • Franz-Josef Heli-Hike - Refer pics
  • ATV Quad-Bike Adventure - Tour through rainforests and slush n mud
  • Whale watching tour - Kaikoura
The most FFM (Fun for Money) activities turned out to be the Bungy Jump and River Rafting and the best experience turned out to be Whale Watching off Kaikoura.
rahulsharma2008 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 10th September 2013, 11:36   #15

Dear Rahul,

Thank you for a pictorial delight of NZ-your narrative is spot on too. A little details of the cost of all-hiring of cars, the various places stayed at and the activities. Reason -can it be fitted into a budget?? If its possible please do intimate.

Jude
Judemayne is offline   (1) Thanks