Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 28th July 2014, 18:36   #1
BHPian

South India West-Coast Ride. And some more...

Hey Guys,
I would like to share my South India west-coast ride experience with you guys. Hopefully you would like it.

I started riding some time last year in Oct, it was not like I wasn't riding at all, it was just that I started touring on a bike last year. Even though I always wanted to tour on my bike, I always laughed at the idea of me touring on a bike and never actually got into riding.
Thanks to a bunch of friends whom I met on another forum, I learnt the nuances of touring on a bike and started getting better.

In December of 2013 I and my friend Jeevan went on a ride, which we both believe has been the best ride for both of us, at-least for me, until now. Jeevan is on another epic ride !!

I would like to share my version of the ride as I experienced it.
I have tried to keep things short. Trust me even though this is blog is big by my standards I tried my best to keep it short.

Our rides for the trip.

Duke 200 -- Me
CBR 250 -- Jeevan

PLANNING

I was a new rider and had accompanied my friends to short rides in and around Bangalore, e.g Kolar, Horsley Hills, Shivanasamudra et al.
As I started getting accustomed to rides, I developed an itch to go for a long ride and was asking my friends to plan for a long one.
Also since it was the Dec Holiday season, it was easy for me to get leaves in office also.
This is when I started talking to my tourer friend Saquib to come up with the plan to ride to Valparai along with his YRC (Yamaha Rider's Club) friends.
I wanted to do a long ride, and as I had enough leaves, asked Saquib to loop me in. So Saquib spoke to his YRC friends and confirmed to me
that I am in, and the plan was set.
Dec 26th - ride to Valparai
Dec 27th and 28th - Stay in valparai
Dec 29th - Return to Bangalore