Old 28th August 2014, 22:04   #16

Re: Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico

Originally Posted by kraft.wagen View Post
A friend of mine working there had great trouble initially getting settled due to lack of information. You thread should surely help .I guess safety is a major concern only around the US border cities for obvious illegal trades.
Thank You Kraft.wagen .Yes in-fact we too had challenges getting information when relocating. We spent many hours on Google without much use. I decided that I should start a thread as soon as I reach this place , but my lazy bones & muscles only allowed this happen last week.

Originally Posted by laluks View Post
I kind of know your organization , and hope I am not talking to the one heading it for the Indian Wing!!
Thank You laluks.Not sure if you got it right , but Shankar did and no Iam not in such senior positions , Iam limited to a few key stakes.

Ok, let me ask a simple question. If one has a valid US Visa like an L1 or similar, then does one require a valid Mexico Visa to visit for a few days?
Thank You Shankar . Yes any valid visa of USA is good enough to change your location to BLR79%-DFW19%-MEX2% .

cheers,
pdma.

Last edited by pdma : 28th August 2014 at 22:33. Reason: correction
Old 31st August 2014, 23:18   #17

Sorry for the small delay in updating the information on schools and food ingredients as Iam trying to get some pictures related to the information , I plan to update on these topics in the coming week.

In the meanwhile had a chance to see something live in person which I have only seen on television till now.
It was Friday & some of my colleagues invited me to watch a practice session at 9 PM.

Attachment 1280939
Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih7.jpg

Yes its Ice Hockey & not any regular sport so I had a wide grin pasted all across my face the entire time I was watching the session .Some of my colleagues practice regularly at this place after closing hours for general public. This rink is open for everyone till 830 PM on all days and post which these guys booked the entire place for 2 hours for their practice session.

The Warm Up

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih8.jpg

The Action

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih3.jpg

Mist building up

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih1.jpg

The game is so fast and things happen at the blink of an eye.It is very tiring and players keep changing places every 10 min and its nearly impossible to stay longer than that as it is extremely exhaustive, imagine these folks sweating profusely in these temperatures.

I was informed that usually there are 3 sets (5 each) of players for a regular match and each set swaps places every 5 min which means when 1 set is playing , 2 sets are regaining energy to get back to action. After seeing these folks play I had no doubts on what they were saying as It for sure is a very tiring & draining sport.

Shoes on rent for regular skating

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih5.jpg

Flags of various nations at the place.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih6.jpg

Another picture from the place.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ih4.jpg

The entire experience has been a special one and definitely left me in high spirits , an absolute smashing way to end the week .

cheers,
pdma.

Last edited by pdma : 31st August 2014 at 23:47.
pdma is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 15:33   #18

Awesome writeup. So "J" I am

How come that company didn't send me when I was there? Hehehe, jokes apart - great to see you take in all the sights and sounds. Mexico is one place on my bucketlist.
naveenroy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 2nd September 2014, 17:09   #19

Originally Posted by pdma View Post
Thank You S2. Iam not sure if the corcs come up the walk way for sure we found some alligators as captured in the pictures . I know it definitively seems risky however there might be a way they are managing.
A nice insight into Mexico , pdma.
Most of us, at least me, am not aware of how the Latin American culture is since we have few traveling to these countries compared to Europe, Asia and North America. So it is very informative when reading a report like this.

Just a small correction, these are not alligators, they look more like Iguana's which are giant lizards., and many more times dangerous than crocs or gators.

Last edited by tharian : 2nd September 2014 at 17:12.
tharian is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 01:50   #20

Adding information on the Ingredients available to meet our appetite.

The good news is that all the regular ingredients are available in the local market here. The market is called Asbestos and Iam adding the pictures of the stores for easy reference for anyone.

There are three stores where you can get all the required ingredients.

1) Abastos Gourmet

2) La Gellina Feliz

3) Lakshmi Indian Stores

Asbestos is the biggest market yard in the city and you can pick a wide range of fruits and vegetables at wholesale prices.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-potatos-walkway.jpg

The Citrus section

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-abastos-lime.jpg

Vegetables

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-vegetables.jpg

Yes we can get the famous Peda as well of-course don't expect the same taste.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-peda.jpg

Other sweets & savories

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-general.jpg

Mangoes in September , not very pleasing to the taste buds though.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mangos.jpg

Like every market , this too houses a wide variety of street food

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-streetfood-2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-streetfood3.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-streetfood4.jpg

Some grilled chicken

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-streetfood-chicken.jpg

The Abastos Gourmet is an Asian retail stores where you can find the packed masala and different types of atta.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-title1.jpg

Different sauses

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourment2.jpg

Packed Masala

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourmet3.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-giurmet4.jpg

The range available

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourmet7-others.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourmet8-others.jpg

The staple Indian diet

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourtmet5-maggie.jpg

Pickles and rava

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-gourmet6.jpg

La Gallina Feliz famously known as murgi stores by all our desi bandhu's because of the huge picture of the rooster outside the stores.

The Stores

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l3.jpg

The line up of all the spices you need

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l4.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l5.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l6.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l7.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l8.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-l9.jpg

If you want to organize a birthday party for your little one there is the place where you can get all the stuff you need without burning your pocket.This place is right next to the La Gallina Feliz.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-b1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-b2.jpg

Lakshmi Indian Stores is near the Plaza Del Sol area and i was not able to get more pictures of the stores as it was closed over the last weekend, I will give a more detailed write up on this stores and the prices in my upcoming posts.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-lakshmi.jpg

cheers,
pdma.

For any queries write to : infogdl8@gmail.com
pdma is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 9th September 2014, 12:49   #21

Nice to read about an relatively lesser known country and its culture. Thanks for sharing

Originally Posted by tharian View Post

Just a small correction, these are not alligators, they look more like Iguana's which are giant lizards., and many more times dangerous than crocs or gators.
It is an Iguana - and they are not dangerous.
mallumowgli is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 14th September 2014, 23:08   #22

Originally Posted by naveenroy View Post
How come that company didn't send me when I was there? . Mexico is one place on my bucketlist.
Thank You Naveen,

May be you should have a little stayed longer in the org . The country is a good holiday destination for sure and if you are frequently visiting USA then you should surely plan a short tip here as well.

Originally Posted by tharian View Post
A nice insight into Mexico , pdma.
Most of us, at least me, am not aware of how the Latin American culture is since we have few traveling to these countries compared to Europe, Asia and North America.
Thank You Tharian , I will try to keep this as informative as possible so that it can help some folks.

Originally Posted by mallumowgli View Post
It is an Iguana - and they are not dangerous.
Honestly I never knew a species like Iguana existed , attributed to my poor GK . Thank you both for adding these points.

cheers,
pdma.
Old 22nd September 2014, 01:07   #23

So it was Saturday and along with some colleague we decided to visit Pete's Pizza known to be the best in Guadalajara.
The Place is not huge but the the flavor was excellent.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-opening.jpg

The restaurant had a native Italian feel and had the walls painted to the theme.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-wall1.jpg

The small restaurant

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-view2.jpg

Theme

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-wall2.jpg

We ordered a large pizza and there was an option or selecting two varieties half each to make the full large.
However there was no option of Pollo (chicken) or Piscado (Fish) and hence we we ordered half champiñones ( Mushroom) & the other half champiñones with piña ( pineapple). It was delicious.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-pizza.jpg

cheers,
pdma.
pdma is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 25th September 2014, 18:44   #24

Looking for some great shopping at affordable prices then Las Plazas Outlet should be one of the obvious destinations in this city.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-opening.jpg

There is where we have the factory outlets of all the well known brands.Looks like its an universal convention to have all these factory outlets somewhere away from the main city and this place too is no exception.

The place is tucked away from the city with some amazing backdrop of hills around.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-hills.jpg

There is tons of parking place available.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-parking.jpg

The first look from the outside does not leave any impression as it looks like a huge warehouse painted in blue , however once you step inside its a different feel. A few pictures showing the interiors.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-internal-1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-internal2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-internal-3.jpg

The place also has a multiplex "Cinimex" & a casino inside and if anyone still has something left in the pockets after the shopping you can empty them here.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-outlet-mix.jpg

pdma.
pdma is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 28th September 2014, 20:02   #25

The City Hosted an Auto Expo on 27 & 28 Sep and how would I miss it .

So planned the visit in advance and reached the place immediately after lunch at around 230 PM in the afternoon to avoid the crowds in the evening.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-opening1.jpg

The plan worked well as the expo was less crowded at this time.

In fact I expected a lot from the expo , however this turned out to be disappointing , the expo was more of a promotion exercise hosted by all the dealers in the city.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-opeing-2.jpg

However the show did pack some excitement in small pockets. I also had a chance to see the Mustang 50 year special edition in flesh and I have updated the related pics and details in the thread below.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/intern...evealed-4.html

I also managed to catch a glimpse of the Hyundai Ix25 which probably will be hitting our market.I captured the pictures in the related thread.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...g-india-3.html

RON Concept

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron2.jpg Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron3.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron4.jpg Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron6.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ron5.jpg

Another Concept found at the Renault Stall

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-renault.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old-line2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-renault-2.jpg

Apna Duster

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-renault3.jpg

Found this beauty at a performance goods stall specially for the Camero

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-performance1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-performance2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-performance-3.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-performace5.jpg

The tweaked Bumble Bee

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-bumble-bee.jpg

The Verrano

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-verrano.jpg

The Display of Giulietta , I hated the front grill design

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-guiletta2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-guiletta.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-guiletta3.jpg

The Legend in biking

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-hd1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-hd2.jpg

The Retro Section

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old-line.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old3.jpg

Attachment 1293648

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old4.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-old5.jpg

The VW Stall

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-vw2.jpg

The Peugeot line up

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-pegeot1.jpg

Will be adding more pictures shortly , as currently exceeded the limit per post.

Last edited by pdma : 28th September 2014 at 20:21. Reason: adding details
Old 28th September 2014, 21:36   #26

Ford Fusion, This is one car which I have started loving and If I would have stayed here longer I would have planned to own this.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-board.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion.jpg

Premium looking Sony Audio Console.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion-audio.jpg

Side Profile

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion-side-profile.jpg

The rear view
Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-fusion-rear.jpg

There are some digital markings on the door which I did not understand though

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion-door-markings.jpg

Rear lights lit up

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion-rear-lights.jpg

Sun Roof

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-fusion-sun-roof.jpg

The Interiors are as beautiful as the exterior

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-fusion-interior.jpg

The Ford Escape

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-escape.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-escape-rear.jpg

The Eco sport that we got

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ford-eco-sport.jpg

The MAZDA Stall too had something to show off,

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-board.jpg

The MX5. The car looked a stunning in Flesh than in pictures.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-mx5.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-mx5-external.jpg

The loaded interiors

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-mx5-internal.jpg

The Stall was serving snacks and beverages as well.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-stall.jpg

I saw these two cars parked towards the corner completely covered , may be some new models that are expected to be unveiled later at the show.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-covered1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-mazda-covered2.jpg

Also caught hold of an Autobot at the Chevy display

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-autobot.jpg

The two tone interiors of the Curze looked more exiting than the all black that we have.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-cruz-interior.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-cruz.jpg

A Dodge Challenger exited me equally , this is again a classic American Muscle car

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ram-charger.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-dodge-cgarger.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-dodge-charger-side.jpg

The RAM Display

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ram-opening.jpg

Out of all the Jeeps there I personally liked the Rugged look of this

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ram-jeep-front.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-ram-jeep.jpg

The Nissan Stall

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-nissan-board.jpg

Will be adding the last set shortly , as currently exceeded the limit per post.
pdma is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 28th September 2014, 23:26   #27

Uploading the last set of the pictures from the Auto Expo.

The Suzuki Stall , nothing very exiting here its all the regular stuff.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzki-board.jpg

The below picture just thew me into a small confusion initially.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-kizashi-front.jpg

I for a sec thought if this is the Ciaz , however immediately recollected myself

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-kizashi.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-kizashi-rear.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-kizashi-interior.jpg

One of our most loving cars

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-swift.jpg

And the expected SX4 Cross to be hitting our market.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-sx4-corss.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-suzuki-sx4-cross-rear.jpg

Some random views.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-expo-top-view.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-expo-top-view-2.jpg

pdma.
pdma is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 5th October 2014, 22:06   #28

This weekend we have been to Chappala. Its a small lake town which is approximately 40 Km from Guadalajara. The drive just takes an hour and the evening was well spent next to the water body.

If you are planning to visit this place please have minimum expectations as there is nothing apart in this town apart from the lake side , however its not at all a bad place to spend a few hours.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-arch1.jpg Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-arch-2.jpg

Boats lined up

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-lake-2-boats.jpg

Walkway

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-chapala-walkway-1.jpg

The beautiful chapel

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-church1.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-church2.jpg

A very nice fountain

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-fountain.jpg

The amazing lake side

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-malecom-2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-malecon1.jpg

Chapala grill , the food was excellent

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-grill.jpg

The architecture too is amazing

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-building.jpg

Statue of the Saint in the lake

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-statue.jpg

I love the colour of markets in Mexico.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-2.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-4.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-5.jpg

Tumbler's made of bamboo

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market1.jpg

The best drink anywhere around the world.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market8.jpg

There are numerous buses between Guadalajara and Chapala. The charges are very reasonable 45 persons per person one way , however if you have a car then it works out more affordable.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-bus.jpg

The standard cobbled streets , look at the amazing wall

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-cobbled-streets.jpg

Some more random pictures as a treat to the eyes and the colors make me so happy.

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-6.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-7.jpg

Let's know about Guadalajara! Living & working in Mexico-market-3.jpg

pdma.
Old 28th May 2021, 16:49   #29

Originally Posted by pdma View Post
Hello All ,

As mentioned in my previous posts I have created this email id : infogdl8@gmail.com . Kindly drop in any queries related to the place and assistance needed in relocation and I will assist where ever possible.
Hi, I hope this email ID is still functional, I have dropped a mail. Awaiting your response.