Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th November 2014, 00:21   #1
BHPian

I was inspired by another entry on Team-BHP, by someone who decided to do an impromptu bike ride with wife and kid from Palakkad to wherever the road took them. And finally, the road took them to Nenmara.
It was a simple write-up, with a few well taken photos. But that series made me look at that particular route with new eyes; a trip I had myself done a few times, since I have relatives in Nenmara and all. And these little stories are the ones that would help a visitor to Kerala appreciate these little roads all the more.
Now, I have been a resident of Palakkad since 1995. Stayed and schooled there till the year 2000, when I joined college in Thrissur. After that, trips home were on weekends and term breaks. In 2005, I joined college in Goa for my MBA, got a job in Chennai, and visits home have been just 2-3 a year. I stay about half a kilometer from the beginning of the road I am writing about. Malampuzha dam was one of the few readily accessible tourist spots and a definite part of the itinerary whenever we had cousins from out of state. The road was bad for the most parts; something not very surprising If you know the condition of Kerala roads. There was a railway level crossing that closed very frequently, since it was the busy Coimbatore line, and that part of the road became narrower and even more badly surfaced, since an over-bridge that was to come up took about ten years to complete. But still, for a Palakkadian, Malampuzha was the go-to place for an evening out with family.

I had been home for Vishu in April 2014, had a day to myself with nothing better to do in the morning, and decided to make this trip, my first travelogue so to speak. Astride my mom’s new Scooty (the only other option was Dad’s Alto, but a two wheeler is better for what I had in mind), with my phone with its very pedestrian camera, I set out.