Team-BHP > Travelogues

Search this Thread
Old 6th December 2018, 00:29   #31
BHPian

Re: Planes, Trains and Automobiles - My Tour of Europe

Amazing travelogue! Two eyes are not sufficient to see the pics! Awaiting eagerly for rest of the travelogue! Have sent across the link to my friends and colleagues and they are equally mesmerized!
Ananthc is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th December 2018, 22:43   #32
BHPian

Day 2 - Rotterdam

Day 2 - Rotterdam

Why Rotterdam? Rotterdam may not be as famous as Amsterdam, but, arguably, this city can be called the world capital when it comes to revolutionary architecture. It is full of buildings that are stunning, quirky, mind-boggling and sometimes plain crazy.

I like architecture. I am not an expert but I’m interested in both traditional and modern designs. I had heard a lot about the architecture of Rotterdam, most notably the cube houses designed by Piet Blom. So, when we were planning the trip, it seemed like an obvious decision to come here.

You can find interesting architecture in many parts of the city, but I think the best place to start is Rotterdam Centrum i.e. the city centre. Particularly the Binnenrotte street or the Blaak station square is full of interesting buildings. If you are short on time, like us, and just want to get a glimpse into the quirky architecture of the city then this is the place to visit.