Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th January 2019, 12:50   #1
BHPian

McLeod Ganj with friends and a wedding in Himachal Pradesh

There is some story telling involved, bear with me please. Please do ignore the bad quality of the photos (at least I could clicked few - you will know why at the end of the story).

Also, apologies in advance as you may not find finer details of the roads, hotels and so on like most of the travelogues on our forum. I am not good at keeping track of such important stuff.

McLeod Ganj with friends and a wedding in Himachal Pradesh-unadjustednonraw_thumb_a64f.jpg

In May of 2018, our dear friend announced his wedding with location as HP state. So it was indeed a right decision to be friends with him is what we three (we are a group of four bffs) could conclude after more than a decade. The wedding venue was a border town in HP just few kms away from PB border. In fact, it was right next to the pong dam.

We wanted to make most of this opportunity as going all the way to HP from Pune just for the wedding wouldn’t be so motivating. I mean who spends so much time and money to witness your bestie getting culled?

So we thought of various places to visit. Right from Leh till Amritsar everything was discussed over conference calls (one of us lives in another part (read town) of the MH state, God knows why). However, we finalised on Mcloedganj, Dharamshala and few places nearby and then the wedding (if time permits) and back to Pune.

Next challenge was to convince the ladies at respective homes about how boring this trip would be and it is purely a formality of attending the wedding. It wasn’t easy but we managed eventually. And so it became a boys only trip!

Initially, the plan was to drive all the way from Pune to Mcloedganj and then to the wedding venue and back. But that was a tricky part: should we risk the whole boys trip for this?