Team-BHP > Travelogues
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 24th February 2019, 09:48   #1

A winter drive on the East Sikkim Silk Route in the Endeavour...and an introduction!

Finally after years of lurking around, I decided to become a member of this esteemed forum! Thank you to the moderators for accepting my membership request.

For my first post, let's start with a travelogue for the East Sikkim silk route! Most of the research I did before my trip was on these forums, and it is only fair that I should share my experience here.

Before I begin my travelogue, a few words about myself. I am a geologist by academic background and geophysicist by profession. I spend most of my time on a ship sailing around the world to conduct seismic surveys for Oil & Gas companies. We acquire data on offshore blocks, from which subsurface maps are created to help the O&G companies decide on drilling wells. I have been doing this for over 7 years, straight out of university. I have traveled (& worked) in almost 30 countries across the 6 continents, sailed over the 7 seas and have had loads of adventures on the way!

When I am not on a ship, I live in Calcutta. I spend most of my free time watching (or playing) football, listening to music and driving. Because of my job, I get about 5 months at home every year, and I make good use of that time to travel & drive as much as I can. The first car I bought after I got my job was a first generation Renault Duster RxL. I fell in love with that car doing the test drive and it served me well for over 4 years. When I bought the Duster, I knew I was buying it for 4 years, because I always wanted to upgrade to a proper 4x4 SUV. I went for the Duster because that was what I could afford at that stage (did test drive the Thar, but it was rejected by my family and most of my friends, as it was not practical for more than 2 people on long distances).