Old 8th May 2007, 11:52   #1

From Amreekka With Lou!!

V-16 (Cheapjack) Reporting from the US of A. Spent teh last few days in L.A. That was where i began my first leg of my vaction. Stayed with my cousin in Orange County (now more famous as "THE O.C.").

True to its name a lot of houses in the OC have an orange tree growing in their front yard.

In this leg I also visited Vegas and as Guzzler would've noticed ( if he had taken time off from gambling, that is.) that is the city of excesses in the land of excesses.
Few things ive noticed in this Visit:
1) That America still badly needs car designers. The new ones are useless unless/and they're Italians or Japanese
2) The only good thing they're doing now is that they're going back to the designs of the older muscle cars... these new cars are fantastic (Hemi, Charger, Chrysler 300C, Mustang, Challenger...etc) Retro is in ...big way
3) Americans love XL size cars coz they cant fit in any other.
4) They also love XXL wheels on their cars. The latest fad is Black wheels or colour co-ordinated ones.... with the car body colour
5) The best car deals are got here. This is what we can truly call a buyer's market.

Let me share my pics with you;

Starting with some Classic sightings:

This was parked at Balboa Island in LA.
Dont know what this one is. Very different shape and looks. Very 50's. Was passing by in a car, driving, so could'nt get a look at the monograms too. Maybe Ram can help.

A Mustang in a deteriorating shape near to where i was staying in OC. The guy had a 911 Turbo and a Chrysler 300C too

The Dusenberg from The Mummy Returns at the Universal Studio in LA

The late forty's Ford Mercury and the DeLorean from Back To The Future

A Packard 110 at a Church parking at Laguna Beach, in wedding preparation

The Toyota FJ Cruiser, a cute car but a Wannabe Hummer. Spotted on the ferry to Balboa Island

Another FJ spotted at Beverly Hills...Too much Hummer influence

Had heard about an Englishman in NY buy a Hindustani (read Korean) IN LA. Our very own Optra under a Suzuki badge.

Check out the new Mustangs front and rear.... different cars at different states. The GT looks like a killer and the Saleen is jaw dropping great to look at.

This is a pic i wanted you guys to see. It was very windy and these birds/ducks was flying with us all along the Malibu Highway... just had to click it..made a beautiful sight

America is a land of Trucks and almost every house has to have one. This one was speeding on the road outside the place i lived.. too fast but got a hazy pic of it. Liked its turquoise blue flames on Black paint. It also had a raspy exhaust note.

The new S class S550 for the US market only

The R Class in 4matic version

Wheels of a 6 series BMW and monster mags on a Maserati

More to come but later...gotta take my kids to dusney tomorrow morning...
Signing off for now.. Take care all of you!
Old 8th May 2007, 11:55   #2

Very nice V-16, I enjoyed that
Old 8th May 2007, 11:58   #3

Lovely pics Gogi. Didnt Universal Studios have the Knight Rider?
Old 8th May 2007, 12:00   #4

He V-16 nice trip log. LA is sure a blast. Did you go see the hollywood sign?
There is a small narrow road which goes through a very very rich area to a small hillock. Thats the best place to see that sign. If you look down from the hill you see the whole of LA.
Its a very very unknown spot and we found it when we lost our way!
There were just 2 more people there, that spot is so deserted.
If you are interested I will dig up the old GPS logs which I may still have.
Old 8th May 2007, 12:01   #5

Unfortunately not... maybe it was an MGM production so maybe disney might have it. Kal parsoon mujhe aur kya kaam hai.
And guys i have been shooting all this at the risk of embarrasing my cousins who thought i had gone mad and was clicking away like a tourist...who cares.. did'nt bother to explain to people who have no passion for cars!!
Old 8th May 2007, 12:03   #6

Beautiful pics Gogi. Thanks for sharing them.
Old 8th May 2007, 12:04   #7

Oh you bet i did. I had seen it the last time too but that time i had company and i was single ...if u know what i mean. At night its a great site to see. Thanks buddy!
Old 8th May 2007, 12:09   #8

V-16 : beautiful read. Loved the pic of the speeding blurred truck- looked like it was on fire
Old 8th May 2007, 12:10   #9

Hey V-16 Great pics and have fun.

A small clarification on OCC. Though OCC has Orange County in it's name, it is not located in Orange County, CA. But it is located on the other side of the continent, NY. Paul Sr. himself mentioned in one of the episodes that many people get confused with the name.
Old 8th May 2007, 12:17   #10

Originally Posted by V-16 View Post
that time i had company and i was single ...if u know what i mean.
No please explain in detail.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 8th May 2007 at 12:18.
Old 8th May 2007, 12:21   #11

Lovely, Lovely pics Gogi bhai!!! Waiting for more to come! Enjoy Disney world tomorrow!!
Old 8th May 2007, 12:45   #12

Great Pics! Thanks!
Old 8th May 2007, 12:55   #13

Wow!
Nice pics and writeup there. Enjoyed reading it.
BHAI GOGI, a very big Thank you for sharing it with us.
Old 8th May 2007, 13:04   #14

Nice pics! That V6 mustang looks quite spindly!

BTW: who is "lou"?
Old 8th May 2007, 13:08   #15

lovely pics.. waiting for more to come.