Old 5th April 2022, 21:30   #16

re: Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km

6-Aug-2019 Continued ...

I rested a while but was too tired to go out for lunch. We ordered veg soup. I decided to clean the car and proceed to see a couple of places around Leh. We had fruits and Poha for lunch and proceeded to visit the Zorawar fort and Sanchi Stupa around 04:00 pm. It was a 2 km drive from the guest house.

The Zorawar fort that early evening bore a deserted look. We entered the museum and read about the history of Ladakh and how Gen Zorawar Singh and the dynasty of Royal families fought to have Ladakh back in India.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-zorawar-fort6.jpg
vittal is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 5th April 2022, 21:32   #17

6-Aug-2019 Continued..

The sun was shining bright, and we got good photographs of the view of the city of Leh from the top. As we finished leaving the Sanchi Stupa, we discovered that many tourists were coming up to see the sunset.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa0.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shanti-stupa6.jpg
vittal is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 5th April 2022, 21:37   #18

We returned to the guest house and went walking to the Leh market nearby and bought some more electral and medicines prescribed for my stomach by my Dr Nephew. We had an excellent early dinner at Radha's café, a pure vegetarian restaurant at the Leh market.

The Leh market was buzzling with tourists, both international and Indian, and had a lot of shopping attractions, from Tibetan art to army shops for travel gear to apricot and dry fruits shops.

We had a relaxed walk back to the guest house, had my medicine and retired to sleep for the day. We had Wi-Fi at the hotel and hence made good use of it by catching up on our messaging and social media.

Article 378 implementation

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-ladakh-freed-kashmir.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-entrance.jpg

Muunu palace Hotel - Leh

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-hotel-stay.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market1.jpg

Thali lunch at Hotel Radha, Leh Market

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market2-lunch.jpg

Jewellery at Leh Market

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market3.jpg

Kashmiri kadai work purses

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market4.jpg

Fresh Gajar, tender with leaves with Ladaki lady selling

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market5.jpg

Traditional Kangri heater indoors

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market7.jpg

Ladaki lady with traditional ladaki attire

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-market8.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:41   #19

7-Aug-2019 (Wednesday) Leh Local

Summary of the day:

Distance Travelled during the day
: 48 Km
Time taken: 07:15 hours (Start time: 09:15 am to 04:30 pm)
Route taken: Leh local
Places visited: TIC, 1. Druk Padma Karpo School, Shey, 2. Arya Avaloke Ta Shora Monastery, Shey, 3. Shey Palace in Ruins, 4. Rocks & Minerals Museum, Shey, 5. Shey Palace & Shey Gompa, 6. Mahabodhi International Meditation Center & Monastery, 7. Leh Palace

We had a good nights sleep, I felt better in the morning. We sat and decided on the various routes to obtain our online permit to visit the Ladakh region. We had breakfast at a small desi café parantha with tea.

We got the online permit and proceeded to the Tourist Information Center (TIC), near the Leh market. We had to take 5 photocopies of the permit and pay at the counter. The lady at the counter was very cooperative and courteous. We also got info that we need to take atleast 3 copies of the permit for each route. We took photocopies @Rs 5 per copy which was too costly but couldn't help as there were no other options. Each permit had a logo sticker on it and a well-organized system.

We took the permit to visit Nubra, Pangong Tso and other places.

Few tips to obtain a permit or also known as Inner Line Permit (ILP), to visit places in Ladakh
  1. Preferably use the online option (lahdclehpermit.in) to obtain a permit. The permits can be obtained manually from TIC or D.C. office in Leh. I.D. proof is required for all visitors (Aadhar card, voter I.D. card, driving license)
  2. Decide in advance all the places of interest to visit and choose from the 8 options provided in the online form.
  3. Online payment option is available using Credit / Debit / Netbanking, but we faced an issue as OTP is sent to a registered mobile phone number, and none of our registered phone numbers works in Leh. So once all options were filled, we took a print-out and went to TIC (Tourist Information Counter), took 4 copies and obtained the necessary ILP.
  4. The cash payment towards ILP is accepted at TIC and D.C. office, so it was easy.
  5. It just took us 10 min to get the ILP from TIC, but it took a bit longer to locate the place. Note that the TIC is situated in the Leh market, near the taxi stand and opposite J&K Bank. I found the taxi stand is quite famous with the locals and easy to locate.
  6. After obtaining the ILP, take adequate photocopies (refer to the photo with the number of Xerox required to travel enroute), which must be submitted at the check-post by retaining the original copy with self.
  7. For a screenshot of the various options to fill the online form, refer to the step-by-step guide posted by DevilOnWheels (https://devilonwheels.com/how-to-get...ermits-online/) which was quite handy to choose from the 8 options to select/enter in the online form regarding the places to visit.
  8. If you are on a self-driven vehicle, you need to look for a parking place, which is an issue near the Leh market. Ask the locals to locate the car parking place. We parked our XUV in the hotel itself and walked down to the Leh Town Center, about 500 mts from our hotel.
  9. The TIC staff was quite pleasant in nature and helpful. There are 2 counters in TIC, one for Direct application (i.e. self-applied tourists for obtaining ILP) and the second for tour operators.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-tic1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-tic2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-tic3.jpg
vittal is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 5th April 2022, 21:43   #20

We took the photocopy of the permit, bought a bunch of fresh baby carrots from the local lady Vege vendors on the pavement, and returned to the guest house. We then left for Shey Palace, and Druk Padma School at 11 am. We visited the Druk Padma School of the 3 Idiots movie fame. The school bore a deserted look, and we were not permitted to enter the school, but all tourists were permitted to visit the site of the shooting set. We had good photo sessions at the wall and the Rancho's café. We tried the taste of sea buckthorn juice (a sour yellow berry found in this region of Ladakh). We visited the souvenir shop. There was a gompa on the other side of the road, which was an excellent spot to get some good pictures with many short white Gompas with no doors/windows or people.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-img_3791.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho0.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rancho8.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:45   #21

There was a gompa on the other side of the road, which was an excellent spot to get some good pictures with many short white Gompas with no doors/windows or people.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-arya-avaloka1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-arya-avaloka2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-arya-avaloka3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-arya-avaloka4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-arya-avaloka5.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:47   #22

We drove down to visit the Shey Palace. The Shey palace ruins could be seen from down, and enroute was the Shey Gompa. We climbed many steps to reach the shrine, which had a magnificent gold plated Buddha with calm blue eyes. The Buddha statue extended to two floors, and from the second floor, one could see the complete statue. We sat there in calm with silent prayers and gratitude.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-ruin1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-ruin2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-ruin3.jpg
vittal is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th April 2022, 21:49   #23

We started to descend and met a few Spanish tourists who came along with a Bengaluru tourist operator. We exchanged a few stories about each other's cultures. At the foot of the Shey Palace was the Rock and Minerals museum, which displayed fossils and various minerals obtained from the Himalayas and also had a demo piece of the singing rock that emitted sounds of notes upon vibrating with another rock. The entry fee to this museum was Rs 50.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rock-mineral-museum1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rock-mineral-museum2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-rock-mineral-museum3.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:51   #24

Shey Palace & Gompa

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-img_7371.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa8.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-shey-palace-gompa9.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:53   #25

Mahabodhi International Meditation centre

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-mahabodhi-international-meditation-center1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-mahabodhi-international-meditation-center2.jpg
Old 5th April 2022, 21:56   #26

We had kadi chawal at a Punjabi dhaba along the same road @Rs 100 per plate.

We returned to the guest house and rested a while. We later drove to the Leh palace, which was very close to where we stayed. Leh Palace was an ancient palace that was once a place of residence of the Namgyal dynasty and had a lot of history in Ladakh. One can drive right upto the palace ticket counter. The Leh palace had a few steps that led to a very cool interior. The chambers had a display of the monuments in Ladakh and India. There were many floors with doors that resembled a "bhool bhulaya" with many entrances and exits. One could get a magnificent view from the top of the palace. One could get an experience of the architecture and also the construction as the interior was very cool and airy while the temperature outside was warmer than usual with the sun shining bright.

We descended and drove back to our guesthouse. I took rest while my wife did a bit of shopping at the Leh market. She bought some fridge magnets and Buddha figurines that were so intricately painted. She also discovered a pure vege Tibetan restaurant, Tsering Dickey, near the TIC at Leh market. We walked up to the restaurant at 08:30 pm and had Thukpa (clear vege soup with noodles and boiled veges) for dinner. We wanted to taste other Ladakhi/Tibetan cuisine, such as Skyu, that is flour dough sliced and cooked slowly (resembles pasta /gatta). Tengthuk, which is thukpa with cooked dough slices in soup. Tingmo was momo with no stuffing. Khambir is the Tibetan bread. We decided to try all of the above, one a day during our travel and yes the Ladakhi butter tea too.

We transferred our photographs from the various gadgets to the laptop, charged them, and were good to travel the next day. Stay in Leh, Ladakh was definitely helping us acclimatize and feel better.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace8.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-leh-palace9.jpg
Old 6th April 2022, 04:33   #27

8-Aug-2019 (Thursday) - Leh local

Summary of the day:

Distance Travelled during the day
: 86 Km
Time taken:
Route taken:
Leh local
Places visited: Hall of Fame, Magnetic Hill, Nimoo, Pathar Sahib Gurudwara, Sound & Light Show

We had purchased a lovely bun from Shey palace the previous day and had it for breakfast with jam. We left the guesthouse around 09:00 am and drove towards Nimmo, the magnetic hill of the Zanskar valley. We drove along when we passed by the Hall of fame. We decided to have a few clicks and parked our car. We bought the entrance ticket of Rs 200 per person and had a look at the wonderful tribute to the Kargil warriors and Indian army soldiers who fought bravely and were martyred. The photographs and letters written by the soldiers, the condition under which they fought at the borders, and the displays of the equipment used during extreme climatic conditions were displayed. There were also some interactive displays to learn about the hill points captured by the Indian Army. We came out with a feeling of great gratitude to all Indian Army men who worked so hard selflessly in such hard climate conditions to give us a peaceful sleep. We also wrote messages to them, which will be sent later to the soldiers in remote regions. We left with a very proud feeling of being Indian, and patriotism had reached its peak.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame8.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame9.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame10.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame11.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame12.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame13.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-hall-fame14.jpg
Old 6th April 2022, 04:37   #28

8-Aug-2019 contd...

We drove down to the magnetic hill. As we reached there, we did spot tourists. A display board mentioned placing our car at a rectangular mark, but we couldn't see any mark because of the fresh roads that were laid out.

We nevertheless tried placing our vehicle and driving it along the hill. The magnetic hill is actually an optical illusion. The car is placed at a point that is at a gradient descent, and when the vehicle is placed at neutral, the car will go downhill. However, when observed from behind, the long road appears to be ascending uphill, hence appearing to defy gravity.

We enjoyed our moment there and felt great sitting on the wide road with the mountains as the backdrop, a common click of all Ladakh tourists.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill8.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill9.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill10.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill11.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill12.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill13.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill14.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill15.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-magnetic-hill16.jpg

The drive at Magnetic Hill

vittal is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 6th April 2022, 04:40   #29

8-Aug-2019 contd.

We drove down the road towards Nimmu, which is the point of confluence of the Zanskar and Indus Rivers. The confluence clearly showed two colours, one grey and another brown, and was incredibly beautiful. We sat on the riverbank, and my wife sang to the flow of the river. There was also rafting happening at this point, with first level (good as boating) @Rs 900 per person for 8 km and 1 hr. The second level was @ 1500 per person for 16 km etc. But one needs to reach a starting point many Km away from Nimmu. The raft finally culminates at Nimmu.

We decided to relax as the scenery was too meditative and calming. We cleansed our feet in the cold waters, soaked in plenty of bliss and drove back towards Leh.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo3.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo4.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo5.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo6.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo7.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo8.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-nimoo9.jpg
Old 6th April 2022, 04:41   #30

8-Aug-2019 contd.

Enroute, we stopped at Patthar Sahib Gurudwara which was maintained by the Indian Army. As the legend goes, Gurunakji was meditating uphill when a demon pushed a big boulder on him. The boulder turned soft as wax and upon touching Gurunanak Ji, formed an impression of his body. The Demon's footmark was also formed on this boulder. This boulder can be seen in the shrine here, and Gurudwara is on the hill with a few steps of ascent. We also had langar here and started to drive.

We were fortunate to drop 3 army soldiers who wanted a lift until Leh. We discussed anecdotes from their life and reached Leh Army camp, where we dropped them. We proceeded towards the guest house and rested for the afternoon. We freshened up by 06:00 pm and started for the Hall of fame to see the Sound and light show of the Kargil warriors. We reached the venue much earlier. We still had sunlight to get some good shots of the war memorial and the Indian flag hoisted.

We comfortably seated ourselves in the amphitheatre, and waited for the show to start. The show began at 07:00 pm with a soldier who gave an introduction, followed by a beating the retreat parade. The national flag was brought down with great honour and salute and folded. The flag will be hoisted again with a similar parade the following day. This was a daily routine at the Hall of Fame.

We had a break of half-hour for the Sound and Light show. Since it was an open area, the winds began to blow, and chillness started to set in. We brought our woollens from the car and stayed warm for the show. We observed many helicopters patrolling at 08:00 pm around that area. We sipped into a hot cup of lemon tea from the canteen to beat the cold.

The show began at the promised time. There were two screens and also soldiers who had a role-play of Kargil warriors. The show brought to light the actual situations under which our brave soldiers fought selflessly. The stories that were narrated left us astounded. We had no words to describe our gratitude toward the Indian Army. This Hall of fame is a good attempt to educate and give a learning experience to tourists who can't even imagine such events. "Jai Hind" reverberated and echoed from the mountains as the tourists and soldiers shouted Patriotic slogans. The feeling was overwhelming.

It was 09.30 pm when the show ended, and we reached the guest house after purchasing stock of electral for our high altitude journey that was still ahead of us. We also purchased some buns as stock for our onward journey. We reached the guest house. As it was late, we were too tired to walk to the market, so we made maggie in the guest house kitchen and retired for the day.

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-pathar-sahib-gurudwara1.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-pathar-sahib-gurudwara2.jpg

Bengaluru to Leh Travelogue | Leh Bhai (Bye) Ladakh | 31 days & 7964 km-pathar-sahib-gurudwara3.jpg