Old 6th July 2007, 09:03   #1

Trip to Digha

Ok guys, was planning on a trip to Digha for quite some time with my team. Digha is a beach around 190 km's from Calcutta so driving down takes around 3 1/2 hrs. The plan was to move from Calcutta by about 5.30 AM on Sunday Morning and be back latest by 9.00 PM hectic, I know, but needed to get out of the city ... even if it was just for the day.

Quite a few people warned us about going there at this time of the year, but I'm glad that we did. On the way, we faced light showers, dark clouds and also sunshine. At one point the clouds were so dark that we thought that it was a bad idea to come, but luckily those clouds dispersed soon.

Won't write much, will let the pics do the talking. Pics were taken by one of my team members and are not of very good quality as they were taken mostly when the car was in motion.

On the way - GQ

Kolaghat Bridge

Rain rain Go Away

Away from the concrete jungle and taking in some greenery.

Off the GQ

It gets cloudy again

And clears up again

Keep Rolling

Time for Breakfast ... Samosa's, Kesaria Jalebi and Kesaria Chai (Picked up earlier from Balwant Singh's Dhaba-Bhawanipore) .. mmmmmmmmm

Burrrpp!! Time to hit the road again.

The sun playing Peekaboo

Old 6th July 2007, 09:04   #2

Contd..

Are we there yet ?

Almost there.

The Hotel Parking Lot

The Beach - And we thought we were the only ones crazy enough to go there at this time of the year ... lookit the crowd !!

The sky on the way back

A tiring but fun day in all. Would I do it again? You bet I would.
Old 6th July 2007, 10:21   #3

Oey!! Hum log ko bola nahi!
Old 6th July 2007, 10:45   #4

What is the route you take to reach Digha? I have been there once, driving from Kolkata to Haldia and then the road from there. Which is the direct route from Kolkata?

And any idea how bad the road is further on from Digha towards Jaleswar? When I went last, there was no road all the 30 kms, it was a lunar landscape.
Old 6th July 2007, 11:48   #5

Turn left from Kolaghat (same route as Haldia) keep going straight till you reach a mini roudabout (i think the place is Mecheda or something) the road straight goes to Haldia, turn right for Digha. Never been beyond Digha but the roads till Digha were ok so i think 30kms further down there should not be any drastic change.
Old 6th July 2007, 12:08   #6

Nice pics....Maan, so many people during this monsoon times !!!
Which is the preferred route for Digha?

One is what u mentioned...There was one more which I saw before Jaleshwar, Left turn for Digha....How is the road there?
I think that distance will be a bit more...

Abhi
Old 6th July 2007, 12:18   #7

Originally Posted by akroy View Post
Nice pics....Maan, so many people during this monsoon times !!!
Which is the preferred route for Digha?

One is what u mentioned...There was one more which I saw before Jaleshwar, Left turn for Digha....How is the road there?
I think that distance will be a bit more...

Abhi
The Jaleshwar route is longer since you first get into Orissa and then back to WB. Plus this route is a total disaster.
Old 6th July 2007, 12:30   #8

nice weather out there..and nice photos also.
Old 6th July 2007, 12:41   #9

Trip tow bada Toiingg hai ....Toiing hai
Nice pics dude.
Old 6th July 2007, 12:57   #10

oye toiingg - nice pics yaar! arey yaar you should have clicked some pics of the OHC. your gallery deserves better pics.
Old 14th October 2007, 00:39   #11

Kolkata-Digha -Whats the best route ?

I also made a trip from Kolkata to Digha .I took a left after Shere-Punjab Dhaba on the NH .The roads were bad for 30 odd kms. Did I take a wrong route? Is there a better route as I plan to go again soon, fell in love with the sea
Old 14th October 2007, 02:41   #12

Kya dude! Bataya nahin?
Nice pics... will plan a Digha trip sometime soon!
Old 14th October 2007, 13:43   #13

@Razor Arre it was a 1 day trip was planned at the last moment by the office team, so had no time to inform. We left in the morning, and were back by night.

@Freyr the roads are much better now.