7th January 2025, 20:37 | #1 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: Kannur
| Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura First of all, apologies for deciding to post this too late. But still, better late than never right? We had been to japan at the right time, when Japan was blessed with Sakura a.k.a Cherry Blossoms, which was between March and May. It was a 8 day trip. From April 13th - 20th Places covered : Tokyo Osaka Kyoto Hiroshima Fuji All the bookings were done from Bookings.com The detailed itinerary was planned and penned down at least 2 months back, and booking was done accordingly. We had taken a look at the itinerary from so called reputed Travel agents. Looking at the cost and after watching James May in Japan series, Fast and furious Tokyo drift, Hachiko, YouTube etc, oh please! It’s a place you must go by yourself and not depend on anyone. All they show is overcrowded temples, (plural: temples, it looked more like pilgrimage journey rather than experiencing quirks and features of Japan) Yes. You should see temples, but apart from that, we should explore Japan by foot, have a drive around the Fuji by yourself, hop on worlds best and most convenient Metro and bullet train. When in Rome, do as the Romans do I honestly have no idea where to start from. Stay: Hotels were booked from bookings.com. We stayed at the most affordable and cheap hotels. Costing between 7000-10,000 INR, for per night for 3 of us. Cost vary from place to place. It’s pretty easy to find an affordable place, also cross check in google reviews, google maps to see how far you’re from the nearest subway station. But you’re never more than 5 min walk from nearest subway station. At that price, we had gas stove, washing machine, microwave oven, utensils all for ourselves. The rooms were immaculate. No speck of dust, no stains, not even water marks after wiping it down. So when I mean cheap, it’s just that, you get a decent room with all necessary amenities, and you will not be pampered with bringing your bags to room, opening the door for you, etc. You do it on your own. Not even in single hotel, we had a person-to-person check in/out process. The main door and your bedroom will be number locked. Email will be sent on your phone, with all the processes. The commode apart from washing our parts, it also features seat heating. Just like on a luxury car. On the cold mornings you feel relieved before you even take a dump. Travel: Japan Rail pass : it is a prepaid pass which is mainly used for Shinkansen (bullet train) and JR Yamanote line (green line) in Tokyo. We get it for 7 or 14 days pass It costs around 300 dollars per person for 7 days., with unlimited journeys on Shinkansen & Yamanote. But remember, you need to book seats for Shinkansen once you reach Japan. It is valid only for foreigners, you need to book it from your home at least a month prior and they will deliver it to your home. You have to activate it once you reach Japan airport. You CANNOT buy this pass from Japan. Ordered from official website. Suica Card It is just like London’s Oyester Card Used for local transport and many many more things. You can even do shopping from this card, buy things from vending machine, use it almost anywhere in Japan Drive As a BHPian, we are born to drive. We had almost 150km drive around Mt Fuji. Remember, Mt Fuji is far from Tokyo. We did not book car from Tokyo. After first 2 night in Tokyo, on the way to Osaka by Shinkansen, we stopped by Shin-Fuji station. It’s about 60-70km drive from there. Remember, we need to have International Driving Permit to be able to drive in Japan. Airports: There are 2 airports in Tokyo Narita: far from city, about 1 hour travel Air fare will be cheaper. There is dedicated metro just for this airport called Narita Express. There are buses and taxis too. We landed at Narita in Air India. Air India was again a whole different story. We regret flying on Air India. It’s not bad. It’s worse! The in flight entertainment system wasn’t working, the seats are torn, wrappers inside the seat back pockets, food stains on the table. How are we supposed to sit idle for 6-7 hours ?? There is no wifi either. The worst bit, there were so many mosquitoes from Delhi - Bangalore flight. One of the passenger pressed the Flight attendant call button and telling him, “Sir, Flight mein machar hai” How embarrassing The only reason we chose was, it had the fastest and shortest flight time. Malaysian, Srilankan, etc had more than 2 layovers and reaches Japan after sunset. It is also cheaper. We could have booked Emirates, they’ve direct flight from Dubai, but the cost is almost twice compared to Air India. Air India has direct flight from Delhi. And reaches by noon, and we have rest of the day to spend in Japan. Also the travel agent’s return flight is from Osaka. It takes more than 16 hours, after 2-3 layovers from Hongkong and Colombo etc. That’s how they trick you into this. But we have to appreciate the Air India Pilots, every landing was smooooooooth like the Citroen DS. Haneda: within city limits, air fare will be comparatively more. Everything in Japan is too damn systematic. There is literally no errors. The booking process, the roads, Subways, sightseeing tickets, VISA process, you name it. You don’t have to be smart to know those things. It’s just how ideal world should work. Just like how instructions will be given on an AC remote. It’s straightforward, simple and to the point and most importantly punctual down to the very second. SIM/ WiFi We rented a pocket wifi from Klook website Everything is given in detail in the website. How to order, where to collect it from, how to return it, it’s completely hassle free. Food: We are Indians. The only thing as an Indian I am proud of us is our food. And the whole world would also agree. Japanese food is not for our desi tastebuds. I do not know why people crave to eat Sushi and Ramen from some of the Japanese restaurants in India. There is no concept of vegetarianism in Japan Ramen smells of pork and beef Sushi is raw. It’s RAW!!!!! (In Gordon Ramsey style) Shopping for food is also difficult in Japan Every thing, from name, ingredients, is in Japanese. Even Google translate struggles to translate it.. let alone you expect locals to be well versed in English. There are no green and red dots labelled on the items. Fruits are expensive and rare in Japan. I have 2 words for their cuisine- Disgusting and Nutritious. Japanese people have the healthiest and longest living people in the world. Only 3% of Japanese are obese, compared to 40% in USA and the tags we Indians are getting every year. From diabetic capital and what not. I have not seen a single person with a remotely convex belly in Japan. Everybody is fit and healthy. Attire: We have to be well dressed in Japan. Neutral colours and Dignified, just like every other person over there. Nobody wears shorts, t shirts, & crocs. If you find someone wearing these, they’re definitely a foreigner. So we blended in with trench coats, formals, shoes. Vending machines : Japan has over 5 million vending machines. It makes it 1 for every 23 person. You just stand and look at any direction from anywhere you’ll find definitely find few. You even get hot drinks like tea coffee latte etc. it will be steaming hot. Just how? Coffee machines in convenience store: Yes. At almost every convenience stores they have coffee machines. You just pay at the counter for coffee and make coffee for yourself. Culture: Japanese are the most modest and dignified people I ever come across. The subway post 6pm will be packed almost like Mumbai local. The fact which boggles my mind is it is pin drop silent inside. There is just train noises and announcements. Every single person stands in queue to enter the train. Nobody sticks to you and everyone keeps distance. On the escalator, you’re supposed to stand on the right, and climb up and go on left side. Every single person follows that. Tokyo is the most densely populated cities in the world, and yet it is so calm and quiet. People in India modify and put custom exhausts for their Swift and Polos and drive like a maniac. I have seen almost all cars from Tokyo Drift and they drive with culture! No show off, no attitude. Forget about major junctions, pedestrians even wait for a green light for small cross roads. And nobody jumps the signal. Toilets Yes. If you remember Japan is famous for funky looking toilets. Also, the moment we landed in Japan, we entered the first toilet in the airport. Every single commode we used in Japan is motorised. Apart from Japanising food and toilet controls, even the washing machines buttons, tv remote, AC remote, microwave every thing is in Japanese! This was the first toilet nearest to the gate, we entered as soon as we entered airport at Narita. Not because it was urgent!. I was clicking random buttons and exploring it. Some of them even features Audio button. It makes fake flush/water flowing noise to cover up your noises when you’re doing your business. How smart!! This made me feel like I am sitting on a Throne. It’s not a cafe. This is washroom at Shibuya. Controls on the washing machine. Even the google translate is not able to translate it well. Day 1 and 2 : Tokyo * Yoyogi Park for cherry blossoms. * Tokyo Skytree at night for the best views. * Teamlabs planet (please do check out videos in YouTube) it’s unreal. The memories are still afresh. You need to book in advance. (James may had visited here if you remember) * Asakusa Temple * Shibuya scramble crossing and Hachiko Statue * And some car spotting is must at this Shibuya crossing. Team labs planet. The photos don’t do any justice. It’s a place everyone must visit at least once in their life. Last edited by benbsb29 : 8th January 2025 at 05:52. Reason: Attachment deleted, EDIT2: Formatted some headings in bold for improved readability. |
(47) Thanks |
The following 47 BHPians Thank Vasanth for this useful post: | 14000rpm, adityan27, anilsurya1985, AshiqueS, avchrono, benbsb29, blueberry, brownkaiser, CelestialV12, DasAuto1985, deovrat, digitalnirvana, drrajasaravanan, GeneralJazz, GTO, headbanger, InControl, ishan0278, Juggernaught, Kkumar, LakeWalker, lejhoom, mobike008, mugen_pinaki27, MyLife_MyCar, nasirkaka, NomadSK, PearlJam, PNTEN, RaceHorse, rajaramgna, Red Liner, Rohitthebest, Samfromindia, sanjayrozario, Sen, SILVER-ARROW, sirilu1318, SRISRI_90, unknownartist01, vb-saan, VijayAnand1, Vikash Kumawat, volkman10, W.S.T.R., whitewing, WindmillsFly |
|
7th January 2025, 21:06 | #2 |
BHPian Join Date: Dec 2019 Location: Kannur
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura My mom at Shibuya scramble square, where Han drifts along the whole junction. Nissan R34 and R35 GT-Rs Hachiko the Faithful Dog It was this very subway station where Hachi waited for 12 years for his Master until he passed away. One with Hachi The calm before the storm |
(73) Thanks |
The following 73 BHPians Thank Vasanth for this useful post: | 14000rpm, aargee, ach1lles, adityan27, anandhsub, anilsurya1985, arjab, AutoGalaxy, AZ911, Batfreak, benbsb29, blueberry, Briarean, brownkaiser, catchjyoti, Chandler Bing, cncmachinist, denzdm, deovrat, digitalnirvana, dkaile, dmplog, drrajasaravanan, Dry Ice, fiat_tarun, GeneralJazz, GTO, Happyrev, Highh5, IcarusMan, ishan0278, its359, itspatra, Joseph Jos, JoshuaM, Juggernaught, K a s h, Kkumar, LakeWalker, lejhoom, mugen_pinaki27, MyLife_MyCar, NarediAni7518, NomadSK, oto_freak, PearlJam, PNTEN, PrasadS, premsky, Pythonista, Red Liner, Rohitthebest, Samfromindia, sanjayrozario, Sen, sf-24, SILVER-ARROW, sirilu1318, SithDefender, spiritofmars, SRISRI_90, streetfighter, Turbanator, Umash, unknownartist01, vb-saan, VijayAnand1, Vikash Kumawat, vinya_jag, W.S.T.R., WindmillsFly, wolg, YashodhanGanu |
8th January 2025, 05:57 | #3 | |
Team-BHP Support | Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Thanks for sharing the details from your trip to Japan. There's been such a boom in tourism to Japan and the major cities that the government authorities are now asking people to stagger their visits to include the non-peak season and also smaller towns rather than just the main cities. Quote:
Every cuisine has its merits and while we relish Indian cuisine, some may have differing opinions about the same. Agreed you may not have enjoyed the cuisine but the comments could've been toned down, in my humble opinion. | |
(41) Thanks |
The following 41 BHPians Thank benbsb29 for this useful post: | 1.6S10, 14000rpm, akash_v12, AKTransAM, anandhsub, anilsurya1985, ashivas89, Batfreak, cdmanju, dailydriver, darkchild82, denzdm, DigitalOne, GeneralJazz, ike, JoshuaM, LakeWalker, mjk24, neerajdan, ninjatalli, NomadSK, Paradox p100d, PNTEN, premsky, RaceHorse, RakishRam, rb003, riteshritesh, robimahanta, sanjayrozario, sd37, Sen, shobhit.shri, SILVER-ARROW, Speed.Demon, SRISRI_90, starke, suhaas307, Vasanth, vb-saan, vdi |
8th January 2025, 07:21 | #4 |
Distinguished - BHPian | Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura ^^second @benbsb29. Also there’s a ton of vegetarian and vegan options atleast in the cities; a bit of research in advance would have helped you (eg - threads like these). SE Asian cuisines have their own preferences and styles of cooking; and with benefits to their health too. Probably there’s a reason why you saw everyone fit over there, some (or lot) has to do with their food too. Thanks for sharing your experience - it’s been a lovely read. |
(9) Thanks |
The following 9 BHPians Thank ninjatalli for this useful post: | 1.6S10, akash_v12, benbsb29, brownkaiser, darkchild82, mjk24, rb003, sanjayrozario, vb-saan |
8th January 2025, 07:39 | #5 |
Distinguished - BHPian Join Date: Aug 2009 Location: BLR/GAU
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Great start to the travelogue. Looking forward to the Fuji, Osaka, Kyoto and Hiroshima bits. I am not quite sure about the food comments, to each his own. Also Japan Airlines has a direct flight from Bangalore to Tokyo (since you said shortest and fastest and flew to Delhi to take AI). Even JRPass is delivered within a week via Fedex. Thanks for sharing! |
(9) Thanks |
The following 9 BHPians Thank robimahanta for this useful post: | benbsb29, CelestialV12, dailydriver, DigitalOne, Kashi053, RakishRam, sanjayrozario, SILVER-ARROW, vb-saan |
8th January 2025, 10:02 | #6 |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2010 Location: Bengaluru
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Nice write-up! It seems like you researched your places, travel, stays etc well but missed out researching the food part and got a culture shock. Food is culture. Such strong words like 'disgusting' need not have been used. --- This Sunday (12th Jan) there is Japan Habba, India's biggest celebration of Japanese Culture/Food/Anime/Cosplay etc at Chamara Vajra, Bengaluru. Tickets are available on BookMyShow. This event would be a great primer for whoever is planning to travel to Japan and also get Indianized/vegetarian versions of Japanese food . Last edited by DigitalOne : 8th January 2025 at 10:04. |
(7) Thanks |
The following 7 BHPians Thank DigitalOne for this useful post: | anandhsub, benbsb29, Briarean, premsky, Sen, shobhit.shri, SILVER-ARROW |
9th January 2025, 12:08 | #8 |
Newbie Join Date: Jul 2024 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura This is just the guide I needed! Thanks a lot for your informative post as I'm planning to make a trip to Japan for my first solo international trip ever around November 2025. I just had a few queries. 1. Did you know any prior Japanese beforehand for ease of communication? 2. What's the cost of renting a car for a day? 3. How many days would you recommend? 4. Is a budget around 1.5 to 2L sensible or am I being too cheap? 5. What are some things that we do normally in India but should avoid in Japan? Sorry to pester you with so many questions, but that's just me being hyper since like I said, I'm planning for a trip too and this is exactly the guide I needed! Last edited by KarthikK : 9th January 2025 at 12:11. Reason: Removed the non-team-bhp emojis which do not render correctly. Please use the built-in emojis on Team-bhp's post editor |
(1) Thanks |
The following BHPian Thanks AceCombatFanIN for this useful post: | NarediAni7518 |
9th January 2025, 12:13 | #9 | |
BHPian Join Date: Jun 2009 Location: New Delhi
| Great start. Brings back lovely memories of our trip to Japan just before COVID in 2019. Being vegetarians and non-Japanese speaking, I had planned to the last detail for 3 months (in my spare time). We had a great stay and experience encapsulated in my travelogue in the forum. https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/trave...day-japan.html (The Land of the Rising Sun - 20 day holiday in Japan) I would love to go back there for another visit. One tip for anyone flying into Japan - Fly ANA. It is wonderful..and what's more, you will get a free primer on life/ sightseeing/ dos and don'ts in japan through their wonderful infotainment onboard. that really came in handy for us. Quote:
1. No 2. Depends on your requirement and budget. But what you see on the internet is what you get. As the OP said, they are very scrupulous in all their dealings. 3. in 20 days (3 weeks), with the right planning and the right JR pass (3 options 7 days, 14 days and 21 days), you could probably see the whole of Japan 4. It is very much sensible for a solo traveler. 2.5 definitely doable. 5. Just be kind, considerate and polite. They are embarrassingly polite so if you are just being civic and polite as a tourist, will really help you a lot. Take your pick of video game arcades, amusement parks, temples, natural beauties/ trails and make a good itinerary to suit your tastes, will really help you. You can actually afford to plan to the minute because the transport is so punctual. Last edited by vb-saan : 9th January 2025 at 14:21. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Thank you. | |
(2) Thanks |
The following 2 BHPians Thank handsofsteel for this useful post: | 14000rpm, mugen_pinaki27 |
9th January 2025, 13:34 | #10 | |
BHPian Join Date: May 2009 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Quote:
"Japanese food is not for our desi tastebuds" Speak for yourself. There's a reason why Japanese food is world famous. Many like it, including Indians. Maybe not "pure vegetarians" but even vegetarians are only 30% of India's population. "There is no concept of vegetarianism in Japan" There is vegetarianism in Japan, it's just they're even tinier 2% of overall population. Most Japanese consume meat, especially seafood. "Ramen smells of pork and beef" That's because ramen broth is made from boiling pork and beef, often with the bones of pigs and cows. It's what gives many ramens their creamy broth texture and flavour. It's delicious. I have 2 words for their cuisine- Disgusting and Nutritious. Japanese people have the healthiest and longest living people in the world. Exactly why the Japanese or any lovers of all things Japan, don't want to hear such derogatory remarks from Indian vegetarians about Japanese cuisine. By every metric, Japanese are healthier than Indians -- including "pure veg" Indians -- many of whom are pot-bellied diabetics. As delicious as Indian cuisines is, it is very carb heavy, fattening, and cholesterol inducing. | |
(9) Thanks |
The following 9 BHPians Thank darkchild82 for this useful post: | AKTransAM, drrajasaravanan, graaja, hobbit, mugen_pinaki27, Ponbaarathi, riteshritesh, sai_ace, VijayAnand1 |
9th January 2025, 13:52 | #11 |
Distinguished - BHPian Join Date: May 2010 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura
Guys, I too was a bit astounded by the 'vegetarian superiority' implied in those comments. But it's still a first-class travelogue! Enough of us have highlighted this, so perhaps we can leave it. Travel is supposed to broaden the mind, but if all it does is reinforce a sense of the superiority of 'home', then it's our loss. But let's move on please, I'd love to hear more about Japan, a place I'd love to visit someday and whose people I have a lot of admiration for. Thanks to the OP for posting such a great travelogue! Last edited by am1m : 9th January 2025 at 13:55. |
(15) Thanks |
The following 15 BHPians Thank am1m for this useful post: | Acharya, anivy, ashivas89, cdmanju, dmplog, hobbit, ike, jkrishnakj, Kashi053, Keynote, NarediAni7518, RMN, sachinayak, SDO, Vikash Kumawat |
|
9th January 2025, 16:43 | #12 |
Senior - BHPian | Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Nice Tlog. Brings fond memories of the few days I was out there on a business trip. Stayed near Ikebukuro station in Tokyo and travelled to Ageo by train every day. Lovely and vibrant place. Went to the gaming parlor that was open 24/7. Visited some temples and the adjoining market places. Took the bullet train and went close to Mt Fuji. My visit was in Jan and the weather was not conducive for a hike which is very popular. I wasn't prepared with the right gear too. The country certainly has an intrigue factor across all facets but the most that I recall is the Humility of the Japanese people. They have a pleasant demeanor. But of course history (around WW era) may give a very very contrasting picture. The next that I noticed was efficiency. I went there as part of consulting team to guide a truck manufacturer there on how Smart Manufacturing solutions, which we planned to sell, can increase efficiency. What works in most parts of the world failed us miserably since they were already very efficient without the need for technology investments. Food. Well, OP's opinions, good or bad, are his alone. Much like the others, I love Japanese food. Prior to my travel, all I knew was Sushi. Post my travel, I have a much broader liking to Japanese foods and a better appreciation for authentic Sushi's and Sake's which taste so much better than in the rest of the world. The Sushi restaurant's with the Sushi trains are amazing. Loved how the system works without the need to have anybody taking orders or for payments. Best as I could tell, the Sushi's were made by robots. There was a popular Ramen place in Shinjuku which my colleagues and I loved to bits. We went there on most nights. It had long lines snaking around the building. As we got closer, a waiter would come by to take our order while still being outside. By the time we got in and were seated, our dish was served. Eat, Enjoy and leave. Simple and efficient. I did have my limits tested though when I asked my Japanese customer to suggest his favorite non-touristy restaurant. My appetite dropped immediately after seeing a live tank with eel that was meant to be hand-picked for our next course. That is where I draw the line. An Indian Colleague of mine who was also part of my team had lived in Tokyo for a few years and managed to speak the language. It was of great help to get around to off-beat places. He is a pure Vegetarian and he managed his life pretty well. After hearing my raving about Japan, a childhood friend of mine and his family, had his 2 week holiday there a few weeks ago. He and his family are all veg and they didn't seem to have any issues finding good vegetarian food. As some have also commented, I love their toilets. Can't believe I am saying it but I do. Those things are very expensive but the experience is simply lovely. Who doesn't want a warm toilet seat. wife and I are yet to make a firm plan for a Japanese holiday but we will certainly do one out there. Hope to see some of their famous car-meets too. Something I couldn't during my business trip. Last edited by 14000rpm : 9th January 2025 at 17:05. |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank 14000rpm for this useful post: | catchjyoti, deep_behera, Kashi053, Kkumar, mugen_pinaki27, vb-saan |
9th January 2025, 18:17 | #13 |
Newbie Join Date: Dec 2024 Location: Bangalore
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Your travel experience was amazing! Your vivid descriptions and engaging storytelling made me feel like I was in Japan. Thanks for the various travel tips and for sharing your journey with such passion. It has inspired me to plan my own trip to Japan someday. I look forward to reading more of your travel adventures! |
() Thanks |
9th January 2025, 18:29 | #14 |
Senior - BHPian | Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Lovely. Brought back fond memories. Yes, Japan is a different world altogether. Spotlessly clean, self effacing, disciplined, systematic and process driven. Courtesy towards guests and tourists is unparalleled. Did you check out the umbrella wrapping machines at the entry and exit to shopping malls, department stores etc? During the rains you insert your wet folded umbrella into these standing cylindrical bin like things. There's a sensor inside. It detects an umbrella has been inserted, checks the length, releases a "cling-wrap" which wraps itself around your umbrella so that not a drop of water drips to the floor when you take the wet umbrella inside the store! When you exit, there's a similar machine - only that it works in reverse. It will "unwrap" your "sealed" umbrella and you are good to go! Honesty in Japan is something to be marvelled at. Let me narrate a real life inicdent that had happened with me. While travelling in Yokohama city, the taxi driver was chatting with me, (yes, he was one of the few, rare English knowing Japanese cabbies). In the course of the conversation, he missed the "U-turn" for my hotel! The first thing the cabbie did was to switch off the meter! Because it was his fault that he had overshot the "U-turn" and the next one was a good 2 kms away! And then when he finally dropped me off at the gate of the hotel, the profuse apologies and the bowing! Despite my telling him that it was not an issue. He even gave me his visiting card and said that the next time I wanted to ride with him, he'll ensure that he will not charge me for it, as a "penance" for his mistake! I was left speechless! Arigato gozaimasu! |
(6) Thanks |
The following 6 BHPians Thank arjab for this useful post: | 14000rpm, am1m, blueberry, Dry Ice, sai_ace, vb-saan |
9th January 2025, 19:26 | #15 | |
Newbie Join Date: Nov 2023 Location: UK
| Re: Our trip to Japan: Stunning Sakura Quote:
Was the JR pass delivered securely in India, did they use private Courier or India Post ? Did you return the Suica card for a refund or brought it home with you ? First travelogue where someone researched about the destination country's attire and tried to match with it. Kudos ! Every cuisine deserves to be the top. There is no one best over the other. Given the chance, I'd happily eat a different dish every day, provided someone cooks for me . Taste is subjective – some people even perceive coriander as tasting like soap due to genetic variations. Let's celebrate and respect the unique flavors of all cuisines. | |
() Thanks |