Old 16th January 2008, 17:42   #1

Namma Benguluru - Amchi Mumbai - Namma Benguluru Round Trip during New Year Week End

Hi Tbhp's Souls!
This was a trip I wanted to make for some time now and precisely 6 months back I thought of cruising on this NH4 stretch but due to lack of time, I could not make it.However, the time had finally come as I got married on the Dec 31st in Mumbai (a very low key affair with close family and friends only) and so I decided to do a road trip from Namma Benguluru to Amchi Mumbai along with another buddy on Dec21st

Getting Ready for the Trip : 1) Serviced the car @ RNS Motors on Hosur Road and changed the clutch plates as this was a long journey and apart from that it was a general checkup.
2) Got hold of maps from Landmark,Forum and from Map my India and also route enquiry details from our own Tbhp with special mention and regards to hvkumar,akroy,spadival,kinetik,viper,abhishek rait,ramkya1,jaggu,sreenidhibr,Dhanasekharan,Prabu dhhadg, Sankar and Selective for their posts in my thread enquiring about the trip and thanks all lot brothers.

-------------------------- Bangalore - Bombay --------------------------------------------------------
Highway: NH4;
Ride : Alto VXI 1.1 with Stock ICE, Stock FFE and Air Filter
Distance : 988 KMs
Duration: 15 Hours Approx; Hours during which it was covered: 3AM to 5:15 PM
Start Point :Bellandur,ORR -- Terminal Point: Andheri West, Bombay;
NH4 Route Taken : The route was excellent except for some 170 -195 Kms stretch or so which was very bad in patches.
1. Bangalore -Tumkur - Sira - Hiriyur -Chitradurga - GOOD HIGHWAY
2. Davanagere-Kodiyal-Ranibennur- BAD PATCHED HIGHWAY
3. Haveri-Bankapura-Shiggaon-Hubli-Dharwad- MIX of SLIGHTLY BAD and GOOD HIGHWAY
4.Hindalgi-Belgaum-Sankeshwar-Nipani -Kagal-Kolhapur-Vadagaon Kasba-Karad-Satara-Shirwal-Katraj-Khandala-Lonavala-Khapoli-Panvel-EXCELLENT HIGHWAY and EXPRESSWAY
5.Mumbai Outskirts to Andheri West Mumbai ---OK excluding the Traffic which took around 2 hours into the terminal stop.
Belapur-Nerul -Vashi-Mankhurd-Govandi-Chembur-Ghatkopar-Andheri East- Andheri West
--------------------------------------

TOLLs paid from Bangalore to Mumbai:
Neelmangla – 22/-
Tavarakere to Anthrasana halli – 40/-
Hubli – Dharwad Bypass – 25/-
Hirebagewadi to Dharwad Section – 30/-
Hattargi to Hirebagewadi Section – 30/-
Kognoli – 25/-
Near Kini – 44/-
Near Tasawade – 44/-
Toll Plaza 748.600 – 25/-
Towards Pune – 13/-
Shivapur – 45/-
Mumbai – Pune Expressway – 118/-
Sion Panvel Highway – 25/-
----------------------------Bombay-Bangalore--------------------------------------------
Same Route taken in the reverse with the only exception of halting in Pune and also my wife accompanying me and the Ride having Viper FFE, Conical Air Filter and new ICE setup with JBL rear speakers and Subwoofer and Component speakers @ the front along with Kenwood 4 channel Amp.
I am not an expert about these writeups as others but thought of just putting down of whatever I had to and recalled.
Pics taken along will be followed.

Last edited by VJ_MAVRICK : 16th January 2008 at 18:01.
Old 16th January 2008, 18:14   #2

Its surprising that you were allowed to drive down by your parents and relatives to Mumbai with your marriage on 31st Dec'07. You are a lucky soul

Ride having Viper FFE, Conical Air Filter and new ICE setup with JBL rear speakers and Subwoofer and Component speakers @ the front along with Kenwood 4 channel Amp
Your car would have happily run to Mumbai to get all these make overs
Old 16th January 2008, 18:51   #3

Congrats on ur marriage..Lucky you !! I had driving "quarantine" period of 10 days before my marriage. But I did the Mangalore-Belgaum-Pune trip soon after .. Got both my better half's (wife and car) at the same time to Pune
Old 16th January 2008, 19:36   #4

@Surprise - yeah the lucky soul i am i got my soulmate and my ride also got its

@spadival Thank you & lucky me though i had tough time convincing !!!!
Old 16th January 2008, 19:53   #5

Some of the pics captured on the trip

Awesome Landscapes off NH4 Near Belgaum

Landscapes off NH4 after Belgaum

Mumbai Pune Expressway Sunrise while returning back

Windmills @ the backdrop near Chitradurga

Clocked 145KMPH (its an achievement for my Ride as its an ALTO) on the Mumbai -Pune Expressway
Old 16th January 2008, 20:01   #6

Good write up (short & sweet). What was the FE the Alto returned and was the a/c used. 15hrs reaching to Mumbai is good. What was the speed you were crusing on? And where all you stopped for b/fast/lunch/dinner and err...drinks.

Last edited by snaronikar : 16th January 2008 at 20:03.
Old 16th January 2008, 20:10   #7

@snaronikar: Thanks dude, my alto gives 16KMPL and a/c was used occasionally and my cousin and pal Srini who accompanied me is a good cook and he cooked nice parathas which we carried along as i did not want to waste time for food and so. Until Belgaum I should say i did clock 110-120 KMPH whenever i had seen a long stretch of black metal and @ times cement road too and most of the stops was for refuelling my ride's tank.
Old 16th January 2008, 20:18   #8

Congratz on getting married
Old 16th January 2008, 20:19   #9

Some more pics off the Mumbai Pune Expressway and the windmills off Chitradurga.

Windmills @ Chitradurga

Taken on Mumbai Pune Expressway

Old 16th January 2008, 20:20   #10

congrats - could it have done more than 145? mere ko bhool gaya kya?
Old 16th January 2008, 20:26   #11

@ Jaggu :thanks Jaggu for the wishes

and some more pics

Old 16th January 2008, 20:32   #12

Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
congrats - could it have done more than 145? mere ko bhool gaya kya?
nahin akshay bhai....
never , infact thanks for the pointer towards viper FFE and Jignesh too had done an awesome job and regarding the shaadi it was a closed affair as my wifey is a muslim and my Sasur jee did not want to draw un wanted attention as he is an ACP in mumbai police...so court marriage @ BKC and then a small gathering @ their farmhouse..

i aint sure about doing more than 145 as its not advisable too and just wanted to zoom in once i was on the expressway

Will meet you next time buddy as i am already in love with NH4 and will do another trip later..
Old 16th January 2008, 20:37   #13

wifey had shot this moving windmill on the return trip

ImageShack - Hosting :: 03012008045tu2.flv
Old 16th January 2008, 20:44   #14

Originally Posted by VJ_MAVRICK View Post
i aint sure about doing more than 145 as its not advisable too and just wanted to zoom in once i was on the expressway
Are you sure that you did 145kmph . Last time I went to Goa in my friends Alto (LXi) and I floored the accelerator. It touched only 120 kmph. Nothing beyond that.

BTW, congrats on marriage and welcome to this side of new innings.
Old 16th January 2008, 20:50   #15

Congrats! Here's wishing you a very happy married life!
Sounds like a fun trip. Nice pics!