Old 13th June 2008, 15:31   #76

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Where would I shove my leg baba?
Sam, before you think of places to shove that tattooed leg, beware of the consequences. LOL

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/team-b...tml#post843897

P.S. GDbhai, no offence. Just kidding.

Time to zoom home in the rain.
Sam, I dont see any helmets. Its not very safe riding a 2 wheeler especially on rain soaked streets. Pls ride with some safety gear.

P.S. Sam, I love those pics where the sky is cast with dark rain (storm) clouds and the sea water is all around. Makes a perfect wallpaper. Nice to see that you spend so much time with your close friends and loved ones and of course with nature's beautiful surroundings. All I did in Goa was drink, drink and drink. Hardly ever stopped to admire nature. But that was during the young 'ol days. Gotta make a trip to Goa thats looooooong overdue. Long time since i took a vacation. Your thread inspires me to plan for one at least this year.

Last edited by n_aditya : 13th June 2008 at 15:32.
Old 13th June 2008, 15:48   #77

It seems really economical.

Can you please post more pics of the interior of your room? How is the bathroom? Clean?
Old 13th June 2008, 15:54   #78

@The Mods - Now you know where to send the excess bandwidth usage bill.

PS - Fantastic story Sam, reminds me of my last vacation in Goa. They were doing cloud seeding in Karnatake & it was raining in Goa. lol.
Old 13th June 2008, 16:46   #79

What sheer ingenuinity half pant superman ! I never knew that a bottle could also double up as a funnel.

I am still curious about your choice of the Vahaan(R) for the Yatra(R).

Oh and as aditya earlier mentioned do wear proper riding gear while riding a two wheeler. And yes half pants definitely do not qualify as riding gear.
Again always wear proper denim pants, jackets ,gloves and boots along with the helmet while riding.

As a victim of accidents both in half pants and riding gear I can surely testify about the virtues of the latter. It's a wonderful feeling to be able to walk away unscathed after a nasty accident and continue as if it never happened.

Pardon me for such a lengthy safety note but just couldn't stop my ranting after a recent accident further reinforced my belief in riding gear, man the riding gear made me feel as if I had landed on a mattress instead of hard asphalt.

Ignnore the blabbering if you already follow the above, and continue with your wonderful travelogue.
Old 13th June 2008, 17:06   #80

Arre baba, he has already successfully completed his riding in half pants. So no point in giving him safety advice now.
Old 13th June 2008, 17:29   #81

Sam bhai, Don't forget to visit Curlies@Anjuna.
Goa in the rains is something, was there during the FIFA world cup.
Fooball, Goa, Beer Excellent combo.
Old 13th June 2008, 18:05   #82

End of Day One

The ride home from Candolim is quick but very, very wet.
We get home and wash the sand off.

As usual, the minute we are home safe, the rain stops pouring.

About an hour later, we're dressed.

No visit to Goa is complete without a drink at Tito's. The rain has fizzled down to a drizzle. Another quick ride to Baga and there it is.

This is the famous Tito's, take a look.
The Menu is outside on the board, she takes a good look. Interesting.
It is a testimony to Tito's popularity that even in these lean times where every bar and restaurant is killing time and waiting for the next season, it is almost 60% full.

So what's down at the end of the slope?
Mambo's, let's go see.
No menu.
Can we see your menu?
We have no food.
How about a drinks menu then?
We serve only Tiger beer.
No whiskey, vodka nothing?
No. Only Tiger beer.
?
We realise later that it is a special Tiger Beer night at Mambo.TheOne® likes to eat by 8pm. Even that is late for her. Tito's it is.
A goan singer, some interesting cocktails and some great food. An excellent combination. A few drinks later, they're having a wonderful time.
I've finally left my mobile phone at the room and the two of us have some quiet time together after a whole week.

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0103_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0108_thumb.jpg

After dinner they decide to walk across to the club at Tito's.
500 rupees covercharge please.
Can we take a look inside first?
says he.
The guy at the counter hesitates.
Honey it's absolutely empty inside, see?
OK OK go inside, no problem, no charge.
TheOne® grins and we walk in.

It's full of a few lost souls. Some firangs, some Indians, everyone looking clueless, the music electronic and very loud. Not nice for an empty club.
Either they're very early or it's a dull night.

Soon TheCouple® gets onto The Activa and rides down to baga beach.
Come, come inside, have a drink, no charge, come and see says a smiling man outside a very large place called On The Rocks.
It's nice walkway, full of cabanas, all lit up. Most of the cabans are closed with chairs piled up, not nice. Only 4 cabanas look usable.

A bunch of firang girls are sitting with a bunch of Mumbai boys. Free drinks for them tonight, that's for sure, lol.

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0111_thumb.jpg

Inside the club a few drunk men are dancing with each other to some trance music.

We hit the cabanas and order some Bailleys. It's quick and terribly overpriced.

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0113_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0120_thumb.jpg

We sit back, relaxed and comfortable. neither has a watch or a mobile. We have NO idea what the time is. It has completely stopped raining.

Wanna go for a bike ride?
Now?
Yeah!

Yes, OK she smiles.

And off we go, the bike goes halfway down the wrong road and then back up to the right road. Back to Calangute and then to Saligaon.
I have to show you a church that looks gorgeous by night.
The Saligaon church has always looked beautiful by night, tonight is no different. It has always enchanted me.

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0126_thumb.jpg

While I takes a few low light pictures, something strange happens to TheOne®

I want to go for a bike ride.
By yourself?
Yes.
Have you ridden a scooter before?
Something like this, but many years ago.
Go then, don't fall.

And off she goes, round and round the parking lot and then off into the darkness, giggling gleefully. She's having a blast!!

A YetiHoliday® - TheYeti®, TheOne®, The Activa and a very wet Goa-dsc_0129_thumb.jpg

L Later we're back onto the scooter.

Wanna go home?
If you like.
Wanna explore further?
Yes, why not?
You OK with sitting on the bike for so long?
I'm a bit cold, but OK
she says brightly.

OK, there is a super quiet place called Anjuna. Let's see how it looks by night.
Is it safe? What time is it now?
I don't know, but you're with me.
yeah OK. let's go.

It is late and quite dark. We ride on for another 45 minutes and get lost. While I think about the next turn, I (finally) spot another headlight. I decide to wait for them.
It's a motorcycle, it pulls up right in front of them and stops. It is on high-beam headlights. Bright.

Uhhh... Anjuna?

They pull up closer. it is the Police. Two constables looking very curiously at the couple. He pictures how we look. It's not looking too good. Not to a policeman in any case.

Why you want go Anjuna? Where are you from?
I start speaking in Hindi. Slowly and clearly.

They want to know why they are going there. A firang looking couple is asking directions to Goa's drug capital very late in the night. Not looking good.

I smoothly talk my way out of the mess in Hindi, laughing and explaining how lost we got on the bike.
The policemen escort us back towards calangute. It is a long ride home, taking close to an hour through the little streets of rural Goa.

It's time to go home and get some sleep.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 16th June 2008 at 12:55.
Old 13th June 2008, 18:10   #83

Originally Posted by revvedup View Post
r proper riding gear while riding a two wheeler. denim pants, jackets ,gloves and boots along with the helmet while riding.

Ignnore the blabbering if you already follow the above, and continue with your wonderful travelogue.
I chose a simple little scooter because I intended to ride at 40 kmph in Goa. It's not 100% safe, but if I had wanted to take a proper motorbike, I would not have ridden without a helmet and stuff.
Old 13th June 2008, 19:09   #84

The policemen escort them back towards calangute. It is a long ride home, taking close to an hour through the little streets of rural Goa.
Sam, I have a doubt ! Looks like you were lost so far from home late nite !! Just for a general info, what would be the best choice in case you would not find anyone around to get directions ? You were lucky to find those cops, I dont think any local would have accompanied you for an hour spenting their time and petrol for free. Please throw your tips, atleast people who get lost similar way would be benefited.
Old 13th June 2008, 19:51   #85

thanks sam for rekindling the memories of goa. I visited with my wife soon after we got married in 2005, stayed in calangute and got visibly tanned from roaming around on a hired pulsar all day, even after having a dark skin already .

I hope you spent an evening in chhapora fort. my favorite spot for watching the sunset.
Old 13th June 2008, 22:04   #86

Originally Posted by shajufx View Post
Just for a general info, what would be the best choice in case you would not find anyone around to get directions ?
There are a lot of blue signboards.Calangute/baga beach is very famous. and practically every signboard would hint at either of them and the closer beach. You just remember the order of 2-3 beaches and you will be fine.ofcourse some U turns etc will be needed.and i dont think the goa police is going to be so kind to everyone
Old 13th June 2008, 22:12   #87

That church looks wonderful!!!
Great capture.

-- Torqy
Old 14th June 2008, 01:26   #88

Wow, you guys take my writing more seriously than I thought.

By popular demand this Yetiblog will be re-written in first person. Thank you for your PMs and emails. I agree with you, it's not as nice in 3rd person. It was an experiment and I didn't like it too much either.

I will rewrite the story and ask the support team for some assistance.

Then I'll go on with the next day.;
Old 14th June 2008, 01:46   #89

El fantastico, as always. And like I hoped, you went for a night ride and got lost
Waiting for the next part.

btw, I notice even your holidays involve considerable running around, lotsa activity but no calm unwinding (with the phone off/silent!)

Just a request. Activa is good only on paper. Darn thing has no stability, bumpy ride and barely any braking - you got a new one so tyres were fine, else rains=fishtail time! Maybe next time you go, get an Aviator, if there's one
Old 14th June 2008, 09:15   #90

btw, I notice even your holidays involve considerable running around, lotsa activity but no calm unwinding (with the phone off/silent!)
Oh they DO! But then what am I to write about that?

We always carry books, I also carry a portable iPod dock and we have music. A bottle of wine close by. Sometimes lazing in the room, sometimes under a tree.

I don't write about that time. That time is private.

I write about all the stuff that happened.