Old 23rd July 2008, 17:05   #61

YetiBLog® - 20th July 2008 - The Road to Bad Nauheim

We're going to Bad Nauheim.

TheOne® was born and raised in this beautiful town. Her family lives here, every one of them. She's the only one who lives in Heilbronn, because of work.

The day is bright, the sun is out most of the time, except for an occasional rainshower while driving.
I'm chilling, sitting back, taking in the road and the weather.

Then I see it. Oh my sinking heart. So close and yet so far.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0741_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0742_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0750_thumb.jpg

I quickly roll the windows down and try to take pictures. We are at the ring, driving past. I can hear whistling and klaxons. Then comes the unmistakable howl of a Formula One V8.

I turn to Jenny who holds my hand sympathetically.
We wouldn't have got tickets today anyways baby.

Oh but look...

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0744_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0745_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0746_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0747_thumb.jpg
I feel really bad, just listening to those roaring engines. We are driving on the other sides of the trees. I feel like reaching into the Hockenheimring.
Nevermind. Life has blessed me with many experiences. I have also seen a Formula One race in Malaysia with my friends. Someday I will see one in Germany too.
I brighten up at the thought.

Besides it's a nice day. 18 degrees, the sun is shining the road is super smooth. Since the camera is out, I take a few pictures of things.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:08   #62

There doesn't seem much of a hedge there. You could have jumped that sitting down. Why didn't you try ?
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:08   #63

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
Since the camera is out, I take a few pictures of things.
A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0748_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0752_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0753_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0754_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0758_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0759_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0760_thumb.jpg

And this last photo for Karlos

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0761_thumb.jpg
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:25   #64

Sam, I'm just loving your blog. Though I have enjoyed reading all your blogs but this blog is THE BEST of all your YETI BLOG's
Thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience.
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:37   #65

YetiBLog® - 20th July 2008 - At Bad Nauheim/Freiberg

The road continues till we reach her picturesque town.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0763_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0764_thumb.jpg

before we go into town, we are to visit her Grandma who is in hospital.
First stop: a cherry and berry farm where we pick up some fresh cherries.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0765_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_07662_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0767_thumb.jpg
From left to right: Dark Red Cherries, Raspberries, Blueberries, Johannesberries, and strawberries.

The cherries are HUGE and Jenny insists these are small.
The taste is just wonderful and we polish off almost half a kilo of these on our way to the hospital, 10 minutes away.

As we are parked, once again we discuss the fact (unthinkable to me) that every gas station has a different price for petrol (or diesel). Repeatedly Jenny has explained that prices change every day, sometimes different prices within a day.
Even though it is controlled, each Oil company can change the price.

Here is a classic example of my confusion.

Look at 2 gas stations BANG opposite each other. Now look at the displayed prices. How can this be?
A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0769_thumb.jpg

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 23rd July 2008 at 17:41.
Sam Kapasi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:46   #66

@ Sam - A friend was reading this blog (and all others that you have written) with me and his only question to me was - any guesses ?

Yeh aadmi kaam kabhi karta hai ? Itna aish kaise kar sakta hai koi ?
normally_crazy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 23rd July 2008, 17:58   #67

Sam, way to go buddy!! Just love this blog. Your pictures conjure up memories of my visit to Germany last August. Loved the place very much. Also sad that my forthcoming trip to Bonn got cancelled at the last moment. I would have been there this weekend Boo Hoo!!!!
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:00   #68

YetiBLog® - Jenny's Granny

Some of you might remember I met Jenny's Oma (Grandma) at new year's eve '08 (from my thread here)

Unfortunately Oma has had an accident and fallen down. She is in this hospital for physiotherapy and will be home pretty soon.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0771_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0775_thumb.jpg

We spend some time with this wonderful, lovely lady with a nice sense of humour. She tells us about the time Elvis Presley stayed in this town (when he was in the army) and where he stayed and everything.
We take a short walk with her and go out to the gallery. The hospital is on a little hill and Oma's room is 5 floors high. The result is a great view of Jenny's hometown.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0772_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0773_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_07762_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0778_thumb.jpg

Oh look at that nice tower, castle whatever.
That's the Adolfsturm, would you like to go there?

Yes, I say smiling. God this place is so peaceful & gorgeous.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 23rd July 2008 at 18:01.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:04   #69

Wow this place looks like it is a part of a fairy tale. One of the prettiest places I have seen. Thanks for sharing this with us Sam.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:07   #70

Originally Posted by ASHISHPALLOD View Post
Waiting for Theone's reaction.
Ashish she is very, very busy planning for IFA (www.ifa-berlin.com). I will be there in Berlin, with her in August 2008. Oh wait, that's in a few weeks lol.

Originally Posted by Bass&Trouble View Post
Ae bhai, tu kaam kabhi karta hai?
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Yeh aadmi kaam kabhi karta hai ? Itna aish kaise kar sakta hai koi ?
Hey come on, I do work. This is the only way I can work or live. If I cannot live life, I cannot work.

I just need to know that I truly lived, before I die.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:08   #71

That's the Z4 'M' in the picture of the two gas stations. The price difference is common everywhere except Asia, I think.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:11   #72

Sam bhai,

Having read all your threads, i hardly find time to reply,(This is my first ever reply to your threads) every post has some surprises springing every time.

Must hand a High 5 for your writing skills.

I share that anthem "LIVE TRULY BEFORE YOU DIE ELSE YOU NEVER LIVE"

Last edited by PAVAN KADAM : 23rd July 2008 at 18:13.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:22   #73

YetiBLog® - 20th July 2008 - The Adolfsturm and surrounding area

We walk into the beautiful Adolfsturm area and I take a few pictures of the surrounding. It is truly beautiful.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0780_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0782_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0781_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0788_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0783_thumb.jpg
Believe it or not, this is actually somebody's home

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0789_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0790_thumb.jpg
I see a beautiful family just relaxing on a peaceful Saturday afternoon.

Soon we're back on the road.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0791_thumb.jpg

Look at that.
OK, what do I see?
That is a physio-Klinik.
A physiotherapy place. OK So?
That's where the Brothers Schumacher come for their physio-treatments and exercise and everything.
Oh wow!!

I quickly take a picture.
A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0792_thumb.jpg

To be continued

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 23rd July 2008 at 18:25.
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:39   #74

The other-side of the world is soo beautiful and stress-free man where are we trapped
Old 23rd July 2008, 18:49   #75

YetiBLog® - 20th July 2008 - At the forest

Just 5 minutes from her home is a forest, huge, dense and beautiful. Since we have a little time before we get to her sister's home, we decide to take a short walk in the forest, near the lake.

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0796_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0797_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0798_thumb.jpg
Plucking berries. Tasting them before spitting them out with a yechhh. lol

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0803_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0807_thumb.jpg
Not a sound in the forest. Shhhhh....

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0811_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0816_thumb.jpg

A YetiHoliday® - A surprise visit to TheOne®-dsc_0826_thumb.jpg
Walking around the lake.

Soon it will be time to visit Jenny's family. We are going to have a little family get-together. The Barbeque may not happen, as it is drizzling and a little cold.
It will be the first time I meet her father.