Old 7th October 2008, 13:00   #16

H V Kumar - Driving Log Books - KUMAR's DRIVING LOG BOOKS, Bombay to Chattisgarh via Bangalore & Hyderabad, Sep 2008

The above is the link to the log book. In case it does not click through, copy and paste in your browser (I tried it, works all right).

From Hyderabad, there are 2 routes to go to Bastar/Chattisgarh:

Route 1: the one I took via Warangal, Eturunagaram, Bhadrachalam

Route 2: may be shorter, via Suriapet, Khammam, Bhadrachalam

From Bhadrachalam, there are 2 routes too:

Route 1: the one I took, via Konta and Sukhma to Jagdalpur

Route 2: from Bhadrachalam, via Venkatapuram, Bhopalpatnam, Bijapur and Giddam to Jagdalpur. Not sure if this road is open beyond AP-CG border, did not try it.

If you leave Hyderabad early in the morning, with some dogged driving, you should reach Jagdalpur by night. Please remember the Konta-Sukhma stretch could be unsafe for night driving, not sure whether the CPs will let you through.
hvkumar is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th October 2008, 13:03   #17

Distance on the route I took via Warangal, Eturunagaram, Bhadrachalam, Konta and Sukhma is around 700 kms. Great roads except for the 80 kms between Konta and Sukhma.
Old 7th October 2008, 13:20   #18

Mind blowing. Great attention to detail and you are a master story teller. Hats off Kumarji

PS: In the first post you have mentioned Bangalore, Yelhanka as 815pm. Shouldn't it be 815am.
Old 7th October 2008, 13:30   #19

Originally Posted by unni.ak View Post
PS: In the first post you have mentioned Bangalore, Yelhanka as 815pm. Shouldn't it be 815am.
Ya he was there at AM . That was a typo.

And also he mentioned NH212 from Hyd - Warangal which is actually NH202.

Abhi
Old 7th October 2008, 13:37   #20

Yes, Unni and Roy, I stand corrected on both counts. thanks for pointing out the mistakes.

Kutlee and others, if you travel from Hyderabad to Jagdalpur (700 kms), you can return on NH43 via Koraput, Araku Valley, Vizag, Rajahmundry, Khammam. For a change of scene, longer distance of course, but that road is also good.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:23   #21

So does the mumbai blr stretch get completed any time soon??
Old 7th October 2008, 14:34   #22

Originally Posted by maddy42 View Post
So does the mumbai blr stretch get completed any time soon??
Unlikely.
No work is going on in the Ranebennur bypass.
Harihar-Davangere bypass is definitely being constructed, hopefully will get over in the next 3-6 months.
Work seems to be totally abandoned between Davangere and Chitradurga.
Chitradurga bypass - some work seems to be happening.
Old 7th October 2008, 14:45   #23

Hai HVK,

As usual a great travalogue with lots of details and accurate distance / timings and whole lot of goodies.

Tns for sharing and keep them coming and when are we doing the GQ run?

--Ramky
=======
Old 7th October 2008, 14:49   #24

Thanks, Ramky, with your Central India drive coming up this Diwali, looks like Central India will at last get some more publicity.

Alas, Orissa roads are a mess, GQ Drive has to be ideally postponed to Feb next year by which time hopefully the roads would have improved.
Old 7th October 2008, 19:56   #25

Thank you HVK for such a fantastic travelogue. Very very professional. Your trip log is amazing too.

But, I have a question

How do you create such a detailed trip log? Do you stop at every few kms and note down the ODO and make remarks?
Old 7th October 2008, 21:26   #26

Originally Posted by BomBatt View Post
T
How do you create such a detailed trip log? Do you stop at every few kms and note down the ODO and make remarks?
I keep scribbling down in a notebook at each point as I drive by. Takes 5-10 seconds. If I have a co-passenger, he does it. Later on, I type it out, corraborate info and add up any remarks, if any.
Old 18th September 2009, 15:00   #27

Reviving an old thread.

I am planning to do Hyderabad - nagpur - Raipur(CG) next month.

Anyone knows about the current state of this route (Nagpur- Raipur). I was planning to cover it in 4 Hours. but heard that there is some road work going on and people take around 8 hours these days?
Old 21st September 2009, 21:44   #28

Originally Posted by MrinalSinha View Post
Reviving an old thread.

I am planning to do Hyderabad - nagpur - Raipur(CG) next month.

Anyone knows about the current state of this route (Nagpur- Raipur). I was planning to cover it in 4 Hours. but heard that there is some road work going on and people take around 8 hours these days?
No responses yet :(. Please help me out guys!
Old 22nd September 2009, 21:53   #29

My friend drove down to Bhilai 4 months ago, and covered that stretch from Nagpur to Bhilai in 4 hours. Not sure of the current state of the roads.
Old 10th March 2012, 16:31   #30

Re: Bombay to Chattisgarh, via Bangalore & Hyderabad

Hi guys,
can anybody please update the present road condition from Nagpur to Bhilai. I am planning to drive from Hyderabad to Bhilai tomorrow and I have the updates on road conditions from Hyderabad to Nagpur but dont have updates on road conditions from Nagpur to Bhilai. Kindly update me as i have to decide between car and flight as car works out very cheap as we are two of us travelling.